Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Orion Orion Computer Desk With Hutch, Black and Oak

Orion Orion Computer Desk With Hutch, Black and Oak

Create a more organized area for work at home with this elegant and space saving Orion Computer Desk with Hutch Black and Oak. This item has a convenient hutch for your computer unit and other peripherals and equipment. The adjustable shelf and fixed shelf near the compact hutch of this oak computer desk allow you to store some for your favorite books, CDs, DVDs, a small lamp and anything else you may need to keep within reach as you work. This sturdy piece of furniture has a vertical storage system for a CPU, as well as a slide-out tray for the keyboard. The Orion computer desk offers functionality and additional storage space to any room.
Average Customer Rating:
3.718 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(135 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
39
3 stars
17
2 stars
8
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation75%101 out of 135reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 55 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
39
3 stars
17
2 stars
8
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Orion Computer Desk With Hutch, Black and Oak

Great desk

05/28/2009
By ,
Metter, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this desk is exactly as pictured. it is VERY sturdy! it fits my 19 in moniter in the cubby & still has room for another 3 in's or so. i ordered on 5/7/09 & received site to store on 5/22/09. box was extremely heavy so you will need help to pick it up! i highly recommend a power drill when putting together. i dont have one, therefore my hand was sore from all turning! i am 22 yr old girl, and i was able to put it together by myself. it took me 3 hours to put together (mainly bcz of having to use a manual screwdriver) the directions were simple & pieces clearly labeled.
the desk looks very nice & has plenty of shelves for storage. the only thing i wish it had was a drawer over the CPU area.
this is a very nice, sturdy, roomy desk. you cant beat the price for this nice of a desk. i definately recommend to buy!
actual measurements are: desk top is 29 in from floor & 41 in from side to side & 24 in from front to back. top of hutch stands 53 in high.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+144points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Orion Computer Desk With Hutch, Black and Oak

Nice 4 Da Price

03/31/2009
By ,
Kansas City, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very heavy, I will agree. It was clearly labeled and fairly easy to put together. I think for the price its a good deadl. I just hate all the dust it attracts but its black so you really cant expect it not to. I does not fit my 22" moniter but I didnt exspect it to.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Orion Computer Desk With Hutch, Black and Oak

Not happy with purchase

04/28/2011
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This desk is made up of cheap material that resembles wood from outside, but inside is as soft as paper. A chip broke off as soon as I tried to erect it, and I could never install the keyboard rack for the same reason due to one stand being far away from the other in addition to the desk being unstable.
I will not recommend this to a friend.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Orion Computer Desk With Hutch, Black and Oak

Great price for a great desk

07/29/2010
By ,
Willowick, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading several reviews on this desk, I was somewhat worried about the stability and ease of assembly. I ended up getting it anyways, as it had basically everything I was looking for. It arrived just 2 days after I ordered it with (free) standard shipping via FedEx. It took a few hours to put together, but that's mostly because I was watching Sportscenter while I was doing it, so I got distracted fairly often. In any case, the directions were certainly easy enough to follow, and I had no issues with assembly. It's very sturdy, much more so than other reviews would lead you to believe. Obviously it's not as solid as a corner desk, but as long as you're not deliberately trying to shake it, there are no issues. It would be nice to have a drawer above the area where the computer goes, as there is a lot of space. I have a fairly large tower, and I still have about 8 or 9 inches between the top and the desktop. Although they may have done that to improve airflow. In any case, this desk looks very nice, as pictured. It has plenty of space on both the desktop and shelves, and is rather stable. For this price point, I would highly recommend it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Orion Computer Desk With Hutch, Black and Oak

Great desk for the price

12/28/2008
By ,
Spring, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought two of these via site-to-store. They arrived on-time at a local store and pickup was easy and pretty quick, considering it was 3 days before Christmas.
I was a little concerned about the condition they would be in from some of the on-line reviews, but Wal-Mart seems to have figured out these issues and reinforced the shipping box with extra cardboard on the edges. The boxes were in excellent condition and none of the desk components had any crushing or damage to the edges or corners.
Building the desks was easy and quick. Less than 45 mins for the first and about 20 mins for the second. None of the pieces had any noticeable scratches and fit together well. Construction consisted of 2 cam type connectors and a bunch of screws, some wooden dowels and a few nails. I would recommend a cordless drill/driver to make it much faster.
My boys are very happy with the desks and they look nice. Not heirloom quality furniture, but great value. The site-to-store option makes Wal-Mart a winning option for purchases like this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Orion Computer Desk With Hutch, Black and Oak

cheap in every sense of the word

07/13/2010
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pretty much you get what you pay for with this desk. It's not the best, but it is really cheap. If you sit at the desk to play games, surf facebook or write a paper for any length of time, the sharp edges will leave red lines on your arm, leading to the desk gaining the nickname in my apartment as "the wrist cutter desk." It's also made out of a cheap particle board and the hutch is attached by tiny wooden dowels so it is not the sturdiest thing. I would never put something like a TV on this thing, but it would probably hold a normal sized printer. Also, if any water gets on the "wood" it scars and bubbles immediately. I solved this by putting placemats down as the bubbling is very ugly to look at. This is a good starter desk for when you have no money. If you do have money, however, put it towards something better (desk in photo is much nicer looking than one you will assemble). You get what you pay for.
Oh, and by the second day it had large dents/scratches either from shipping or assembly. Not very durable or cleanable. Overall, a bit disappointing.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Orion Computer Desk With Hutch, Black and Oak

Don't waste your money

07/21/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I'm not at all satisfied with this desk, it was hard to put together, the pieces were scratched, once I got it together it looks ridiculous the desk top and shelves are black and the rest is wood grain. The picture made it look nice but in person the black is a dull matte finish the picture looks shiny. I guess I am stuck with it because it is too bulky to return and to much trouble to take apart. I also do not like the cubby hole where the processor fits it is very large a makes the desk look cobbled together, there should have been some sort of door covering the opening. Also the tray where the keyboard sits doesn't work it should glide smoothly back and forth but it doesn't I ended up having to remove it because it wont shut all the way.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Orion Computer Desk With Hutch, Black and Oak

exactly how it looks

04/09/2010
By ,
atlanta, ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
when i ordered this desk on 3-17, the site said it wouldn't be at the store until 4-6 but it arrived on 3-29. other reviews are right, it was alot of screws but its not that big of a deal. it looks exactly how its pictured, holds my 20'' widescreen monitor and the adjustable shelf is a nice feature. needs a drawer in the tower area but overall an excellent desk for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Orion Computer Desk With Hutch, Black and Oak

A pain to put together

07/26/2013
By ,
Akron, Ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this desk because I needed a new desk, My other one was sagging. I liked the fact that it had the hutch that came with it. I have put together many pieces of this type of furniture, so I was not going in blind. Half the parts were not labeled, I had to look at the picture to try to figure out which part was what. The directions were vague. It did not tell you where the finished edge went. I ended up putting parts on upside down and had to take it apart and start over. It also has you putting the 3 legs on first. and there was nothing to hold it in place while you worked on the other side. The first side kept falling, I ended up with dowel pins that broke and pin that just pulled out of it. It was somewhat of a disaster. Now it is very wobbly, and I am going to buy a couple of boards to put on the back to hold it square.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Orion Computer Desk With Hutch, Black and Oak

Only because it looks okay

10/19/2013
By ,
MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Well...you get what you pay for; lesson learned. Spend a few extra dollars and buy something of quality. It was put together according to directions, which was the first mistake. The slightest movement caused the first board to tilt, which ripped the screws out. Tried to move it and a piece broke off. You need a PhD to read and figure out the directions. About half of the pieces weren't labeled and most of the assembly time was spent trying to figure out which way the pieces actually went and then taking it apart to put it back together the correct way. Stuff didn't line up right and it was near impossible to sit up right to finish assembly without it falling apart. The finished product is very wobbly with no real back support to keep it steady. It looks nice but it was beyond a pain in the butt to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Orion Computer Desk With Hutch, Black and Oak

Don't Buy This One

06/14/2014
By ,
Kansas City
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor Quality. VERY difficult to assemble. Ended up returning it and purchasing something else. Don't waste your time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Orion Computer Desk With Hutch, Black and Oak
06/08/2011
By ,
Springfield, mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I turned it into a project. Really fun and not extremely time consuming.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Orion Computer Desk With Hutch, Black and Oak

Very nice for the price

06/22/2011
By ,
Fruitland, Id
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks nicer in person than online. Good quality for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Orion Computer Desk With Hutch, Black and Oak

Do not buy this!

04/15/2010
By ,
91387
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Put it togather, then put the printer on it when it fell down snapping my printer tray. The pressed wood is not well made and pulled apart. Pass on this item
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Orion Computer Desk With Hutch, Black and Oak

Listen to the reviews!!!!

03/18/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Before buying the item I read the reviews and ignored the reviews. I thought maybe some people had high expectations. When the item arrived I put it together. I notice some of the pieces didn't have labels so I had to figure it out myself which part as C or D. Three pieces were cracked and some pieces were scrapped. Other than those concerns the desk was assembled and stable. The woods use to make the item are plywood so nothing sturdy. But it's "what you get for what you pay for."
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Orion Computer Desk With Hutch, Black and Oak

listed incorrectly by walmart

07/30/2011
By ,
Las Vegas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I did NOT open the box or assemble this desk because the dimensions were listed wrong on the websight. The width and height are reversed which means this desk is 40.75 inches long and 23.75 inches wide and 53.25 inches high. It is not what I wanted or ordered. It will be returned as soon as I can figure out how to lift it. It is very heavy in the 2 boxes it came in.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Orion Computer Desk With Hutch, Black and Oak

Just what I needed

04/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This computer desk is perfect for what I needed. Holds the books I need and use pretty much every day. Love the adjustable shelf, I put smaller accessories on that one. My monitor is 18 & 1/2" widescreen and fits really good with about an inch and a 1/2 left on each side. The top self, I used the top for the little what-nots and keepsakes. Keep in mind the top self may not hold a printer since it's only about 9 & 1/2 wide. My printers all ready had a place & I didn't need the top shelf for that when I ordered it. My nephew put it together for me with very little help from me. Just keep this in mind, if you are limited to what you can do, get help.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Orion Computer Desk With Hutch, Black and Oak

Problems from the step one. Literally.

11/09/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I looked around at a lot of desks for awhile before finally deciding that this one would be the best for my needs. I had it shipped site to store and it came in a lot earlier than expected. I got all of my tools out and ready and emptied the box. When I read the first step, I opened the parts bag to get out the 2 little screws I needed, unfortunately, there was only one. I am boxing this desk up and returning it asap. There is no way I'm going to wait around with 10 pieces of a useless desk laying around my room while I wait for one little screw to arrive at my door. Definitely won't be ordering anything online anytime soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Orion Computer Desk With Hutch, Black and Oak

not worth it

06/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The unit arrived with most parts unlabeled and several parts with chipped corners. I have had this desk for less than a week and condensation from a water glass has already caused severe bubbling in the finish. This wasn't worth the time it took to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Orion Computer Desk With Hutch, Black and Oak

No good

03/12/2009
By ,
east meadow ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is very unsturdy and not rliable. I put it together and it fell apart on me before i had time to put the hutch on. Very insturdy
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 113 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next