Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Whitmor Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Whitmor Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

If you need flexibility and control with your shoe storage, look no further. You can efficiently keep your items organized with the Whitmor 36-Pair Over-the-Door Resin Shoe Rack in White. It is coated with durable resin for a glossy and shiny appearance. The non-slip steel bars on this over-the-door rack ensures that your shoes don't fall off. The unique flip up bar feature allows you to store shoes of all sizes with ease. You can easily hang this Whitmor over-the-door shoe rack with the help of an included hook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.209 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(316 Reviews) 276
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
174
4 stars
87
3 stars
23
2 stars
11
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation88%279 out of 316reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 156 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
174
4 stars
87
3 stars
23
2 stars
11
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

PREFECT EXACTLY WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR

10/13/2014
By ,
Brooklyn, N.Y
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
holds what it says and more depending on how you put the shoes I have 31 because I raised two of the racks in reality I could have 37 which is what I love about this shoe rack you can raise the bar to fit in boots and high tops basically hold 3 pairs per rack I built this with my husband assembly fairly easy (you don't need two people makes it faster) I believe my door is normal size really great product made my looking and deciding on shoes much easier than trying to look in a closet showed my mom now she wants one I am now going to order one for her
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Great Product!

11/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've purchased various types of shoe storage systems over the years, but this is the best one I've tried yet! It was simple to assemble (I'm a single female), and the only equipment I used was a small hammer to tap in the metal dowels (btw, be sure to follow the directions and assemble on a firm surface, as opposed to, say, a carpeted floor, as you need to really be sure the dowel supports are firmly seated. If you don't have a hammer, even a soup can will do. You can put a light towel over the product surface if you're concerned about marring the plastic). It fits the back of my closet door perfectly and doesn't add undue weight to the door even when full of shoes, which surprised me. With shoes on it, it keeps the door from opening fully by about 24" or so; I'd assume that could be more if you have larger shoes. I can fit 33 pair on the rack, some of which are larger boots, etc.; I could fit more if more of my shoes were smaller, such as sandals. I imagine the capacity for men's shoes would be significantly less. I'm still able to get into my walk-in closet with ease.
I read some other customer reviews stating the product seemed cheap, not well made, etc. I disagree. I think it's quite well made and solid, albeit a bit awkward to handle once it's assembled because of its size. Again, it's very important to anchor the dowels by tapping in on a firm floor surface, not carpet. There was some excess "flashing" (plastic that oozed over when forming the recesses for the dowels), but just made sure to wiggle each dowel in so it fits inside the flashing, not on top of it, before tapping it in.
I highly recommend this product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Yay, I finally found a good shoe rack!

10/29/2011
By ,
murrells inlet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really does the job and meets expectations of what a shoe rack should be! Good price, holds adult size shoes, really holds 36 prs of shoes, unless you want to place shoes on top of each other then I am sure you could even fit more shoes on this rack. Read measurements to make sure it will fit in the intended area you plan to hand the rack as it does stick out. It fit our needs perfectly. Sturdy construction with easy to follow assembly instructions.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Perfect for closet

01/20/2010
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We actually mounted two of these shoe racks to the wall inside a closet beneath a stairway. Had to cut them to make them fit, but they cut easily and mounted cleanly. Very sturdy. Perfect way to make a "shoe wall" for 72 pairs of wife's shoes.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Frees Up tons of space!

05/21/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shoe rack is amazing! Its very sturdy for just plastic and metal bars. Also doesn't move around at all when you open and close the door. I had a small one behind my door along with a coat hook previously. I had the small shoe rack plumb full, and found this one. I've had to move the coat hook but after I moved all my shoes to this shoe rack it was still 2/3 empty! I was amazed at how many shoes you can fit on this rack. Another great thing, is that the bars angle down towards the door rather than down away from the door. There is no way the shoes can fall out while opening and closing the door like my other small shoe rack. There is also room on the sides bars to hang my high heel shoes by the heel for even more space. Cant do that with a regular small cloth shoe rack either. A must buy! for anyone with limited shoe space in their closet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Room saver

05/21/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the price this product is nice. Just expect a rung or two to pop out on occasion.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Just OK

05/20/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very easy to put together. Must be careful when opening and closing door or shoes will fall off.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Does the job but not high quality

02/22/2010
By ,
Denver, CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
With shipping I paid $42 for this item. It is not worth it. The plastic sides that the metal bars go into are so cheesy it is ridiculous. To get the metal rods into the plastic was almost impossible. It took all my might to hammer each one in. And still I couldnt get 3 of the rods in on one side which now makes it lopsided when hung. But I still feel like it will hold together. Because believe me I put it to the test when I loaded it up! There are many of the rows I can only fit two pairs of shoes side by side and for the third position I have a pair of high heels stacked on top of each other. But this rack will hold it all. I have all my boots and tennis shoes and high heels and sandals on it. I only have one row left open I have so many shoes. But it has left so much room in my closet now. The door is heavy when opening and closing but my door is open 98% of the time anyway. So like my title says this does the job but it is not high quality and if you have to have it out in the open I would find something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

I like it

03/05/2014
By ,
Augusta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this product, it was really easy to put together. I saw other reviews where people were saying it didn't hold 36 pairs of shoes and it doesn't due to the fact that I have all types of shoes on it ( heels, wedges, boots, sneaker, sandals, etc.). Also people were saying that it would fall off the door but mine didn't. Because I saw that I went to Wal-Mart and got command strips, they are for hanging pictures without nails, they are in the hardware section and they are way more sturdy than the Velcro that comes with the rack to make it stick to the door. So I would definitely recommend getting the command strips and that problem will be avoided completely. Also my closet door doesn't close all the way because the rack to kind of big once all the shoes are on but that really doesn't bother me so if that is a problem for you make sure you measure your door before you purchase, everybody's closet door is not the same size. Overall I think it is a pretty good product and I haven't have an issue since I've put it together.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Solid and adjustable

03/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
but once you put it together, it's very difficult to get apart. It comes with 3 sections, so if you only need it 1/3 or 2/3 length, DON'T put any more than that on or you won't be able to get it off again. It looks very cluttered when it's the full-legth, but it gets the shoes off the floor and adjusts for boots, etc.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Perfect for my 42 pairs

07/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shoe rack was extremely easy to assemble - took about 10 minutes. As I said, this 36 pair shoe rack is able to hold my 42 pair (the thin flats and sandals are sacked on each other). A great thing about this rack is that it can hold my big bulky hiking boots as well as my heels. I also love that I really don't have to bend over/squat to look for my shoes like I would have had to do if I would have bought a shoe rack for the closet floor. I have this Whitmor rack hanging over the door of my spare room - if I was going to be extremely nitpicky, I would complain that the spare room door will not open all the way because the shoes bump the wall BUT I was expecting that to happen so I am overall very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Perfect Shoe Rack

02/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shoe rack was perfect for what I needed! It went together quickly (although pushing the rods into the holes is a little hard on the hands). It hangs perfectly on the door and it never moves. I am very pleased with the amount of shoes I can store on this rack and I am pleased with how sturdy and sound it is, plus it was a very reasonable price. I would highly recommend this product to anyone who needs to get their shoes off the ground and organized over the door.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

It was disappointing

04/16/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros:
1.The price was right
2.36 pair of shoes was a win!
3.The look
Cons:
1.Shoes would fall out the back of the rack
It was an irritation,in the 2 years of having this rack the only issue was that on the slightest impact all my shoes would fall out the side facing the door.
To some it might not be an issue,but to me if the original price is expensive for something that shouldn't be at that price then you happen to catch it on a great sale,you would expect it to live up to it's original pricing. It was just disappointing to always have to get my shoe of the floor when i opened my room door. I don't use it anymore,got sick of always putting my shoes back on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

A well-made product & an awesome company !

05/07/2013
By ,
Amesbury, Ma.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't be happier !! After searching high & low for a well-made rack that would fit on a thicker door (almost 2" thick), this Whitmor is the best - well-made, with grippy bars that shoes don't slip off of & ease of assembly.Bought one first from The Container Store,one of two that claimed to adjust for a thicker door,only to find you have to snap a metal bracket with pliers(almost impossible), then screw the bracket into the top of the door. This rack was returned, needless to say !
I then ordered the Whitmor one. The company sent me a pair if brackets(metal, not plastic!)to fit my door, free of charge & were so nice to deal with !! The rack went together easliy & sturdily & has flip-up arms that allow you to put boots or bulkier shoes on any rung, a feature I've never seen before on these racks. Love it !
After assembling it, I called the company to thank them for such a well-made product. Such a joy in a world of cheap, flimsy stuff. Thanks again, Whitmor !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White
01/31/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product is made well and has nice features. Unfortunately due to the depth of it you can't use it on the back of a bedroom door that opens towards a corner wall, which is where I was going to put it, because when you open the door it hits the wall & does not allow much room to get in or out. Otherwise, if used on the back of a closet door (depending on the distance of the clothes rack) or a door that can open all the way up it would be perfect. Unfortunately, I don't have either.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Seemed GREAT, Didnt Deliver!

07/25/2013
By ,
LI NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It was just the ticket, or so we thought. We bought two, his and hers. We mounted them permanently to a wall to make them solid. Here is what happens:
1: If you have a womens size 8 or larger you will not get three pairs on it
2: If you have a mans size 11 you will not get three pairs on it
3: If the shoes are too heavy the shelf will pop out of its mounting
4: When this happens they fall and like dominoes it takes all the shelves of shoes below it out too.
5: Contacted Whitmor Twice and they just dont care about these issues.
Resolution: I can only put two pairs on each shel,f you lose shelves if shoes are too high also.
I had to screw the shelves in place from the sides to stop shoes from falling off the shelves.
WALMART SHOULD GO AFTER WHITMOR FOR THEIR POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE. $60 bucks of merchandise, lots of extra work and only holds a fraction of the shoes it says it does.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Much Better Than Expected

05/22/2010
By ,
Spokane, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a very similar product in the past. However, on that one the plastic hanger broke close to where it mounted to the metal hanger and I ended up wiring it together. I was somewhat reluctant to buy this very similar looking product. But I needed to get the shoes off the floor. I've had it for just shy of two months now and no signs of it weakening or cracking at the plastic by the metal door hanger even though this model is longer and holds more shoes. And I've bumped into it several times! It fits two pairs of men's shoes on each bar. Also, I followed someone else's advice and put the lighter shoes on the top few bars and the heavier shoes toward the bottom. I wear a size 11 men's shoe. The shoes, once on the hanger, stick out about 13" from the door. So far I have been very pleased with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Awesome!

01/19/2013
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have three of these at my house because they are fabulous! Sturdy, holds lots of shoes of all sizes and heights, including boots, with the fold up or down "rungs." Doesn't rattle when I open/shut the door. Easy to assemble. I ordered this one as a gift for a friend who is moving to a small apartment in NYC. She is delighted. I bought others at another retailer but Walmart's price was a bit less.
I have tried other shoe racks and storage devices - the racks with pockets don't fit many shoes, and forget boots. The store under the bed zipper ones simply don't work (I cut the dividers out of mine and now use it for quilt storage..)
Two drawbacks: One is that once you put the side rails together you can't undo them without damage, but unless you need to pack it in a suitcase you shouldn't need to take it apart. Second is that if your door frame is flush on the end of a wall (no space behind your door when you open it) your shoes will bump the wall and you may not get the door open all the way. Still worth it in my book if you need to get those shoes off the floor!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Wonderful Shoe Rack

04/19/2011
By ,
Griffith
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never been so please with a product! My husband put it together in a snap using no tools. He put it on the back of my bathroom door. Door can still open half way with plenty of room to enter room. My shoes are a size 8-8-5 and can get 3 pair to a roll. I have more then 3 pairs of flip flops on a roll. Holds so many more shoes then the shoe bag that I had before. Really nice and sturdy. Wonderful shoe rack!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

MUDROOM ORGANIZATION

02/28/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This shoe rack is the answer to my dreams. r I needed an over-the-door shoe rack to hold the various shoes my husband and I use during the week on a daily basis. We have boots (because we have horses), tennis shoes (for walking exercise), and a pair of shoes apiece that we wear daily (including bedroom shoes).
The unit is lightweight and hangs easily on the rear of our mudroom door. Being an over-the-door shoe rack I don't constantly trip over shoes when I enter the house.
If you're looking for organization and cleanliness, and very easy to assemble, this is the one for you.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 277 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next