Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Whitmor Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Whitmor Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

If you need flexibility and control with your shoe storage, look no further. You can efficiently keep your shoes organized with the Whitmor 36 Pair Over-the-Door Shoe Rack White. This 36 pair over-the-door shoe rack is coated with durable resin for a glossy and shiny appearance. The non-slip steel bars ensure that your shoes don't fall off. The unique flip up bar feature allows you to store shoes of all sizes with ease. You can easily hang the shoe rack to the door with help of the included hook. About Whitmor: Whitmor is a leading supplier of storage, organization, garment care and laundry accessory products. Established in 1946, Whitmor is a fourth generation family owned and operated business based in Southaven, Mississippi. It is Whitmor's commitment to provide its customers with value, innovation, outstanding customer service, high ethical standards and quality products that enable users to simplify and enhance their quality of life.
Average Customer Rating:
4.245 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(237 Reviews) 197
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
133
4 stars
65
3 stars
16
2 stars
10
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation89%210 out of 237reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 137 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
133
4 stars
65
3 stars
16
2 stars
10
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Great Product!

11/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've purchased various types of shoe storage systems over the years, but this is the best one I've tried yet! It was simple to assemble (I'm a single female), and the only equipment I used was a small hammer to tap in the metal dowels (btw, be sure to follow the directions and assemble on a firm surface, as opposed to, say, a carpeted floor, as you need to really be sure the dowel supports are firmly seated. If you don't have a hammer, even a soup can will do. You can put a light towel over the product surface if you're concerned about marring the plastic). It fits the back of my closet door perfectly and doesn't add undue weight to the door even when full of shoes, which surprised me. With shoes on it, it keeps the door from opening fully by about 24" or so; I'd assume that could be more if you have larger shoes. I can fit 33 pair on the rack, some of which are larger boots, etc.; I could fit more if more of my shoes were smaller, such as sandals. I imagine the capacity for men's shoes would be significantly less. I'm still able to get into my walk-in closet with ease.
I read some other customer reviews stating the product seemed cheap, not well made, etc. I disagree. I think it's quite well made and solid, albeit a bit awkward to handle once it's assembled because of its size. Again, it's very important to anchor the dowels by tapping in on a firm floor surface, not carpet. There was some excess "flashing" (plastic that oozed over when forming the recesses for the dowels), but just made sure to wiggle each dowel in so it fits inside the flashing, not on top of it, before tapping it in.
I highly recommend this product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Perfect for closet

01/20/2010
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We actually mounted two of these shoe racks to the wall inside a closet beneath a stairway. Had to cut them to make them fit, but they cut easily and mounted cleanly. Very sturdy. Perfect way to make a "shoe wall" for 72 pairs of wife's shoes.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Yay, I finally found a good shoe rack!

10/29/2011
By ,
murrells inlet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really does the job and meets expectations of what a shoe rack should be! Good price, holds adult size shoes, really holds 36 prs of shoes, unless you want to place shoes on top of each other then I am sure you could even fit more shoes on this rack. Read measurements to make sure it will fit in the intended area you plan to hand the rack as it does stick out. It fit our needs perfectly. Sturdy construction with easy to follow assembly instructions.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

I like it

03/05/2014
By ,
Augusta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this product, it was really easy to put together. I saw other reviews where people were saying it didn't hold 36 pairs of shoes and it doesn't due to the fact that I have all types of shoes on it ( heels, wedges, boots, sneaker, sandals, etc.). Also people were saying that it would fall off the door but mine didn't. Because I saw that I went to Wal-Mart and got command strips, they are for hanging pictures without nails, they are in the hardware section and they are way more sturdy than the Velcro that comes with the rack to make it stick to the door. So I would definitely recommend getting the command strips and that problem will be avoided completely. Also my closet door doesn't close all the way because the rack to kind of big once all the shoes are on but that really doesn't bother me so if that is a problem for you make sure you measure your door before you purchase, everybody's closet door is not the same size. Overall I think it is a pretty good product and I haven't have an issue since I've put it together.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Frees Up tons of space!

05/21/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shoe rack is amazing! Its very sturdy for just plastic and metal bars. Also doesn't move around at all when you open and close the door. I had a small one behind my door along with a coat hook previously. I had the small shoe rack plumb full, and found this one. I've had to move the coat hook but after I moved all my shoes to this shoe rack it was still 2/3 empty! I was amazed at how many shoes you can fit on this rack. Another great thing, is that the bars angle down towards the door rather than down away from the door. There is no way the shoes can fall out while opening and closing the door like my other small shoe rack. There is also room on the sides bars to hang my high heel shoes by the heel for even more space. Cant do that with a regular small cloth shoe rack either. A must buy! for anyone with limited shoe space in their closet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Much Better Than Expected

05/22/2010
By ,
Spokane, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a very similar product in the past. However, on that one the plastic hanger broke close to where it mounted to the metal hanger and I ended up wiring it together. I was somewhat reluctant to buy this very similar looking product. But I needed to get the shoes off the floor. I've had it for just shy of two months now and no signs of it weakening or cracking at the plastic by the metal door hanger even though this model is longer and holds more shoes. And I've bumped into it several times! It fits two pairs of men's shoes on each bar. Also, I followed someone else's advice and put the lighter shoes on the top few bars and the heavier shoes toward the bottom. I wear a size 11 men's shoe. The shoes, once on the hanger, stick out about 13" from the door. So far I have been very pleased with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

More shoe friendly than others.

03/22/2014
By ,
Turner, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a cheep metal over the door shoe rack. It made creases and marks on my shoes. I got this as it is more like a store shoe rack. It is great, no marks or creases on my shoes, even the sparkle ones. I like how you can fold up a level to allow for boots and platform shoes. I was able to stack sandals and house slippers together to get even more per shelf. Really helps me keep all the shoes off the floor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Really Big!!!

02/16/2014
By ,
Irving, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I still have room for ten more pairs of shoes!!! Never expected it to be this big and so easy to set up!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Great shoe rack

04/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great shoe rack. easy to put together for a 72 year old woman. and it is
a great conversation piece.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Great!

04/09/2014
By ,
Buffalo, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best thing I have purchased in a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Awesome shoe rack

04/07/2014
By ,
Covington, La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shoe rack was very easy to put together. I'm very pleased with this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Perfect for making room & organization

03/27/2014
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This shoe rack happens to be a great one but does have its CONS. My only complaints are that I have a lot of different (styled/sized) heels & wedges that don't fit sitting up, so I've had to lay them sideways. The only other complaint I have is that the bars have a rough feel on them similar to sand paper. Some of my shoes are made from suede and leather so I just have to be extra careful when taking them out or placing them back on the rack. Other than those things, I like my shoe rack and it's doing the job!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Does the job but not high quality

02/22/2010
By ,
Denver, CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
With shipping I paid $42 for this item. It is not worth it. The plastic sides that the metal bars go into are so cheesy it is ridiculous. To get the metal rods into the plastic was almost impossible. It took all my might to hammer each one in. And still I couldnt get 3 of the rods in on one side which now makes it lopsided when hung. But I still feel like it will hold together. Because believe me I put it to the test when I loaded it up! There are many of the rows I can only fit two pairs of shoes side by side and for the third position I have a pair of high heels stacked on top of each other. But this rack will hold it all. I have all my boots and tennis shoes and high heels and sandals on it. I only have one row left open I have so many shoes. But it has left so much room in my closet now. The door is heavy when opening and closing but my door is open 98% of the time anyway. So like my title says this does the job but it is not high quality and if you have to have it out in the open I would find something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

I love my new Whitmor shoe rack!!

03/25/2014
By ,
Summerville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Whitmor 36 pair over the door resin shoe rack is wonderful. It is very sturdy and holds 36 pair just as advertised. I like it so much that I plan to buy one for my mother.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Not what I was expecting.

03/09/2014
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very misleading pictures and advertising. It says you can fit up to 36 pairs of shoes. This is the main reason I bought it-for holding 36 pairs of shoes. You would need to put 3 pairs of shoes on each row to do this. it really only comfortable fits 2 1/2 pairs of shoes on each row. Even my dress pumps which are narrow do not fit 3 pair on one row. The last pair you have to partially stack. The shoes hit the door so the door is going to get all scuffed up. It is bulky looking and not sure if the poles will stay in the holes to keep it together.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Great product

03/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lived up to all expectations. Tried another similar product first, returned it, then purchased this one.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Nice shoe rack

03/22/2014
By ,
Lake park, ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sturdy, fairly easy to put together
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

A well-made product & an awesome company !

05/07/2013
By ,
Amesbury, Ma.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't be happier !! After searching high & low for a well-made rack that would fit on a thicker door (almost 2" thick), this Whitmor is the best - well-made, with grippy bars that shoes don't slip off of & ease of assembly.Bought one first from The Container Store,one of two that claimed to adjust for a thicker door,only to find you have to snap a metal bracket with pliers(almost impossible), then screw the bracket into the top of the door. This rack was returned, needless to say !
I then ordered the Whitmor one. The company sent me a pair if brackets(metal, not plastic!)to fit my door, free of charge & were so nice to deal with !! The rack went together easliy & sturdily & has flip-up arms that allow you to put boots or bulkier shoes on any rung, a feature I've never seen before on these racks. Love it !
After assembling it, I called the company to thank them for such a well-made product. Such a joy in a world of cheap, flimsy stuff. Thanks again, Whitmor !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Practical

03/14/2014
By ,
El Paso
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Very practical. So far any part haven't been loose. Not like a similar product acquired that the sticks got loose very easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Doesn't fit 36 shoe pairs...

03/06/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's a tight squeeze to fit 3 pairs (6 total shoes) on one row. I have women's 8.5 high heels, tennis shoes, flats, etc., and struggled to fit the 3 pairs together. On several rows, it would work if I placed 2 pairs of heels and then a pair of flats, one on top of the other. I know - first world problems. All together, the rack is easy to put together and convenient for storage.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 198 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next