Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Whitmor Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Whitmor Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

If you need flexibility and control with your shoe storage, look no further. You can efficiently keep your items organized with the Whitmor 36-Pair Over-the-Door Resin Shoe Rack in White. It is coated with durable resin for a glossy and shiny appearance. The non-slip steel bars on this over-the-door rack ensures that your shoes don't fall off. The unique flip up bar feature allows you to store shoes of all sizes with ease. You can easily hang this Whitmor over-the-door shoe rack with the help of an included hook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.242 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(302 Reviews) 262
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
168
4 stars
85
3 stars
21
2 stars
10
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation89%270 out of 302reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 152 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
168
4 stars
85
3 stars
21
2 stars
10
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

PREFECT EXACTLY WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR

10/13/2014
By ,
Brooklyn, N.Y
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
holds what it says and more depending on how you put the shoes I have 31 because I raised two of the racks in reality I could have 37 which is what I love about this shoe rack you can raise the bar to fit in boots and high tops basically hold 3 pairs per rack I built this with my husband assembly fairly easy (you don't need two people makes it faster) I believe my door is normal size really great product made my looking and deciding on shoes much easier than trying to look in a closet showed my mom now she wants one I am now going to order one for her
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Great Product!

11/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've purchased various types of shoe storage systems over the years, but this is the best one I've tried yet! It was simple to assemble (I'm a single female), and the only equipment I used was a small hammer to tap in the metal dowels (btw, be sure to follow the directions and assemble on a firm surface, as opposed to, say, a carpeted floor, as you need to really be sure the dowel supports are firmly seated. If you don't have a hammer, even a soup can will do. You can put a light towel over the product surface if you're concerned about marring the plastic). It fits the back of my closet door perfectly and doesn't add undue weight to the door even when full of shoes, which surprised me. With shoes on it, it keeps the door from opening fully by about 24" or so; I'd assume that could be more if you have larger shoes. I can fit 33 pair on the rack, some of which are larger boots, etc.; I could fit more if more of my shoes were smaller, such as sandals. I imagine the capacity for men's shoes would be significantly less. I'm still able to get into my walk-in closet with ease.
I read some other customer reviews stating the product seemed cheap, not well made, etc. I disagree. I think it's quite well made and solid, albeit a bit awkward to handle once it's assembled because of its size. Again, it's very important to anchor the dowels by tapping in on a firm floor surface, not carpet. There was some excess "flashing" (plastic that oozed over when forming the recesses for the dowels), but just made sure to wiggle each dowel in so it fits inside the flashing, not on top of it, before tapping it in.
I highly recommend this product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Perfect for closet

01/20/2010
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We actually mounted two of these shoe racks to the wall inside a closet beneath a stairway. Had to cut them to make them fit, but they cut easily and mounted cleanly. Very sturdy. Perfect way to make a "shoe wall" for 72 pairs of wife's shoes.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Yay, I finally found a good shoe rack!

10/29/2011
By ,
murrells inlet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really does the job and meets expectations of what a shoe rack should be! Good price, holds adult size shoes, really holds 36 prs of shoes, unless you want to place shoes on top of each other then I am sure you could even fit more shoes on this rack. Read measurements to make sure it will fit in the intended area you plan to hand the rack as it does stick out. It fit our needs perfectly. Sturdy construction with easy to follow assembly instructions.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Frees Up tons of space!

05/21/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shoe rack is amazing! Its very sturdy for just plastic and metal bars. Also doesn't move around at all when you open and close the door. I had a small one behind my door along with a coat hook previously. I had the small shoe rack plumb full, and found this one. I've had to move the coat hook but after I moved all my shoes to this shoe rack it was still 2/3 empty! I was amazed at how many shoes you can fit on this rack. Another great thing, is that the bars angle down towards the door rather than down away from the door. There is no way the shoes can fall out while opening and closing the door like my other small shoe rack. There is also room on the sides bars to hang my high heel shoes by the heel for even more space. Cant do that with a regular small cloth shoe rack either. A must buy! for anyone with limited shoe space in their closet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

The best over the door shoesaver

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went thru a few of these so called shoe racks. All garbage until now.i happen to stumble on this product and by far the best. East assembly and very sturdy. If you are looking for a serious product that will hold up this is it. My husband who has no patience could not be more happier. This product rocks
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

So far so good

01/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Didn't take long to put together. I recommend a hammer to lightly make sure the poles are securely attached to the racks. It's been on the door for a week without a problem. The rack has the maximum number of shoes (three on each shelf). It's much easier finding the shoes I want to wear. The best part is that the shoes are off the closet floor. This is the best use of space. I was also thinking about buying clear shoe boxes. But that would have taken up so much floor space.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

SIMPLE

01/23/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simple to put together. No tools. Yay! grease the ends makes it easier to get in and a touch of Gorilla glue will help keep it together better and longer.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Awesome

01/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. Bought this together shoes off the floor in closet downstairs. Easy to put together. Took 10 minutes. And my wife loves it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

I like it

03/05/2014
By ,
Augusta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this product, it was really easy to put together. I saw other reviews where people were saying it didn't hold 36 pairs of shoes and it doesn't due to the fact that I have all types of shoes on it ( heels, wedges, boots, sneaker, sandals, etc.). Also people were saying that it would fall off the door but mine didn't. Because I saw that I went to Wal-Mart and got command strips, they are for hanging pictures without nails, they are in the hardware section and they are way more sturdy than the Velcro that comes with the rack to make it stick to the door. So I would definitely recommend getting the command strips and that problem will be avoided completely. Also my closet door doesn't close all the way because the rack to kind of big once all the shoes are on but that really doesn't bother me so if that is a problem for you make sure you measure your door before you purchase, everybody's closet door is not the same size. Overall I think it is a pretty good product and I haven't have an issue since I've put it together.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Winning Size Shoe Rack

01/09/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great over the door shoe rack! I can fit all my winter and summer shoes on this rack! I realize it all depends on how many shoes you own. I'm very happy with this unit. The only thing to remember is to tap the rod in tight to the plastic sides. Once my husband did that it was solid.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Surprisingly sturdy BUT holds less shoes than 36

10/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros:
- very easy to assemble. I had mine put together in about ten minutes.
- the horizontal rods are coated in a rough finish that keeps the shoes from moving about/slipping as you open and close the door
- you can store hiking boots on the shelves if you lay them sideways. They wouldn't fit on other shoe holders where you slide the shoe over the vertical piece for each shoe.
- door still opens wide enough with the rack full of shoes.
Cons:
- does not hold as many shoes as indicated unless the shoes you have all very small and/or heels, slip-ons. I wear mostly sneakers and unless you put the shoes on top of each other you can really only fit five shoes alongside eachother so realistically 2 1/2 pairs per row not 3 which means 30 pairs of shoes.
Overall I am VERY pleased. The rack looks nice and neat and with the exception of one pair of snow boots all my shoes are on it.
Also highly recommend using the free "Ship to Store" option. I ordered on a Sunday night and Friday was text messaged that my package had arrived. Went to my local store, showed my ID and signed for it. Easy!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Does the job but not high quality

02/22/2010
By ,
Denver, CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
With shipping I paid $42 for this item. It is not worth it. The plastic sides that the metal bars go into are so cheesy it is ridiculous. To get the metal rods into the plastic was almost impossible. It took all my might to hammer each one in. And still I couldnt get 3 of the rods in on one side which now makes it lopsided when hung. But I still feel like it will hold together. Because believe me I put it to the test when I loaded it up! There are many of the rows I can only fit two pairs of shoes side by side and for the third position I have a pair of high heels stacked on top of each other. But this rack will hold it all. I have all my boots and tennis shoes and high heels and sandals on it. I only have one row left open I have so many shoes. But it has left so much room in my closet now. The door is heavy when opening and closing but my door is open 98% of the time anyway. So like my title says this does the job but it is not high quality and if you have to have it out in the open I would find something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Shoe Rack

01/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everyday is a busy day! We're always in a hurry and often can't find the right pair of shoes, because they are lost or buried under clutter in the closet. Well, that no longer has to be a problem and you no longer have to be late for work because you lost time looking for your shoes. A shoe rack is a fulfill solution and the best way to keep your shoes organized.You can also visit: http://tiny.cc/Shoe-Rack--
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Versatile

12/25/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
One of the major pros of this shoe rack is how you can fit any height shoe because each rack can actually fold up allowing for more space. What I was disappointed by was that only 2 shoes fit per row, rather than 3. I have teeny feet as well (womens size 6) and I definitely couldnt fit 3 in the row. My third issue was that putting it together was a little bit of a struggle because the pieces didn't quite "click" together but that was the least of my worries.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Perfect for my 42 pairs

07/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shoe rack was extremely easy to assemble - took about 10 minutes. As I said, this 36 pair shoe rack is able to hold my 42 pair (the thin flats and sandals are sacked on each other). A great thing about this rack is that it can hold my big bulky hiking boots as well as my heels. I also love that I really don't have to bend over/squat to look for my shoes like I would have had to do if I would have bought a shoe rack for the closet floor. I have this Whitmor rack hanging over the door of my spare room - if I was going to be extremely nitpicky, I would complain that the spare room door will not open all the way because the shoes bump the wall BUT I was expecting that to happen so I am overall very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Nice rack but......

12/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's a nice shoe rack. Easy to assemble just make sure to assemble on hard floor not carpet. Need firm surface to help push rods in place. Easier for me to locate shoes and my toddlers don't scatter my shoes everywhere anymore. They don't touch the rack how ironic. I failed to measure my closet door width so it's too wide for my closet door. Have it hanging in my bathroom on the door in my bedroom. So I go in my bathroom to get my shoes, lol. However it's a great rack!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

It was disappointing

04/16/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros:
1.The price was right
2.36 pair of shoes was a win!
3.The look
Cons:
1.Shoes would fall out the back of the rack
It was an irritation,in the 2 years of having this rack the only issue was that on the slightest impact all my shoes would fall out the side facing the door.
To some it might not be an issue,but to me if the original price is expensive for something that shouldn't be at that price then you happen to catch it on a great sale,you would expect it to live up to it's original pricing. It was just disappointing to always have to get my shoe of the floor when i opened my room door. I don't use it anymore,got sick of always putting my shoes back on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Serves It's Purpose

12/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This shoe rack was perfect for what i intended it for... It fits almost the entire length of my door which is 32"w x 80"L. It is lightweight and assembly was easy... just as the directions say (15 mins). It also accommodates whether you want to use the full length or shorten the length. And ALL the racks can close upward when not in use.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

A well-made product & an awesome company !

05/07/2013
By ,
Amesbury, Ma.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't be happier !! After searching high & low for a well-made rack that would fit on a thicker door (almost 2" thick), this Whitmor is the best - well-made, with grippy bars that shoes don't slip off of & ease of assembly.Bought one first from The Container Store,one of two that claimed to adjust for a thicker door,only to find you have to snap a metal bracket with pliers(almost impossible), then screw the bracket into the top of the door. This rack was returned, needless to say !
I then ordered the Whitmor one. The company sent me a pair if brackets(metal, not plastic!)to fit my door, free of charge & were so nice to deal with !! The rack went together easliy & sturdily & has flip-up arms that allow you to put boots or bulkier shoes on any rung, a feature I've never seen before on these racks. Love it !
After assembling it, I called the company to thank them for such a well-made product. Such a joy in a world of cheap, flimsy stuff. Thanks again, Whitmor !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 263 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next