Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Whitmor Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Whitmor Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

If you need flexibility and control with your shoe storage, look no further. You can efficiently keep your items organized with the Whitmor 36-Pair Over-the-Door Resin Shoe Rack in White. It is coated with durable resin for a glossy and shiny appearance. The non-slip steel bars on this over-the-door rack ensures that your shoes don't fall off. The unique flip up bar feature allows you to store shoes of all sizes with ease. You can easily hang this Whitmor over-the-door shoe rack with the help of an included hook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.262 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(267 Reviews) 227
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
152
4 stars
73
3 stars
17
2 stars
10
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation89%238 out of 267reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 143 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
152
4 stars
73
3 stars
17
2 stars
10
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Great Product!

11/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've purchased various types of shoe storage systems over the years, but this is the best one I've tried yet! It was simple to assemble (I'm a single female), and the only equipment I used was a small hammer to tap in the metal dowels (btw, be sure to follow the directions and assemble on a firm surface, as opposed to, say, a carpeted floor, as you need to really be sure the dowel supports are firmly seated. If you don't have a hammer, even a soup can will do. You can put a light towel over the product surface if you're concerned about marring the plastic). It fits the back of my closet door perfectly and doesn't add undue weight to the door even when full of shoes, which surprised me. With shoes on it, it keeps the door from opening fully by about 24" or so; I'd assume that could be more if you have larger shoes. I can fit 33 pair on the rack, some of which are larger boots, etc.; I could fit more if more of my shoes were smaller, such as sandals. I imagine the capacity for men's shoes would be significantly less. I'm still able to get into my walk-in closet with ease.
I read some other customer reviews stating the product seemed cheap, not well made, etc. I disagree. I think it's quite well made and solid, albeit a bit awkward to handle once it's assembled because of its size. Again, it's very important to anchor the dowels by tapping in on a firm floor surface, not carpet. There was some excess "flashing" (plastic that oozed over when forming the recesses for the dowels), but just made sure to wiggle each dowel in so it fits inside the flashing, not on top of it, before tapping it in.
I highly recommend this product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Perfect for closet

01/20/2010
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We actually mounted two of these shoe racks to the wall inside a closet beneath a stairway. Had to cut them to make them fit, but they cut easily and mounted cleanly. Very sturdy. Perfect way to make a "shoe wall" for 72 pairs of wife's shoes.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Yay, I finally found a good shoe rack!

10/29/2011
By ,
murrells inlet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really does the job and meets expectations of what a shoe rack should be! Good price, holds adult size shoes, really holds 36 prs of shoes, unless you want to place shoes on top of each other then I am sure you could even fit more shoes on this rack. Read measurements to make sure it will fit in the intended area you plan to hand the rack as it does stick out. It fit our needs perfectly. Sturdy construction with easy to follow assembly instructions.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Frees Up tons of space!

05/21/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shoe rack is amazing! Its very sturdy for just plastic and metal bars. Also doesn't move around at all when you open and close the door. I had a small one behind my door along with a coat hook previously. I had the small shoe rack plumb full, and found this one. I've had to move the coat hook but after I moved all my shoes to this shoe rack it was still 2/3 empty! I was amazed at how many shoes you can fit on this rack. Another great thing, is that the bars angle down towards the door rather than down away from the door. There is no way the shoes can fall out while opening and closing the door like my other small shoe rack. There is also room on the sides bars to hang my high heel shoes by the heel for even more space. Cant do that with a regular small cloth shoe rack either. A must buy! for anyone with limited shoe space in their closet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Perfect for my 42 pairs

07/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shoe rack was extremely easy to assemble - took about 10 minutes. As I said, this 36 pair shoe rack is able to hold my 42 pair (the thin flats and sandals are sacked on each other). A great thing about this rack is that it can hold my big bulky hiking boots as well as my heels. I also love that I really don't have to bend over/squat to look for my shoes like I would have had to do if I would have bought a shoe rack for the closet floor. I have this Whitmor rack hanging over the door of my spare room - if I was going to be extremely nitpicky, I would complain that the spare room door will not open all the way because the shoes bump the wall BUT I was expecting that to happen so I am overall very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Much Better Than Expected

05/22/2010
By ,
Spokane, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a very similar product in the past. However, on that one the plastic hanger broke close to where it mounted to the metal hanger and I ended up wiring it together. I was somewhat reluctant to buy this very similar looking product. But I needed to get the shoes off the floor. I've had it for just shy of two months now and no signs of it weakening or cracking at the plastic by the metal door hanger even though this model is longer and holds more shoes. And I've bumped into it several times! It fits two pairs of men's shoes on each bar. Also, I followed someone else's advice and put the lighter shoes on the top few bars and the heavier shoes toward the bottom. I wear a size 11 men's shoe. The shoes, once on the hanger, stick out about 13" from the door. So far I have been very pleased with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

I like it

03/05/2014
By ,
Augusta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this product, it was really easy to put together. I saw other reviews where people were saying it didn't hold 36 pairs of shoes and it doesn't due to the fact that I have all types of shoes on it ( heels, wedges, boots, sneaker, sandals, etc.). Also people were saying that it would fall off the door but mine didn't. Because I saw that I went to Wal-Mart and got command strips, they are for hanging pictures without nails, they are in the hardware section and they are way more sturdy than the Velcro that comes with the rack to make it stick to the door. So I would definitely recommend getting the command strips and that problem will be avoided completely. Also my closet door doesn't close all the way because the rack to kind of big once all the shoes are on but that really doesn't bother me so if that is a problem for you make sure you measure your door before you purchase, everybody's closet door is not the same size. Overall I think it is a pretty good product and I haven't have an issue since I've put it together.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Over all I like it

08/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to put together. Seem sturdy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Really easy assembly. Appears to be as advertised.

08/29/2014
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Received today. Really easy assembly. Appears to be exactly as advertised.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Useful

08/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple and useful
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Better than previous shoe rack!

08/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this shoe rack - it's better than any I've ever seen. The only thing I don't like about it is I can not get 3 pairs of shoes flat on one shelf - one pair has to sit on it's side. But for the most part it is durable and sturdy and I can get all my seasonal shoes on the rack at one time. Much better than the previous rack I had where you slip your shoes in the plastic slots. They tear and rip. This is a good purchase for the price too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Shoo Fly

08/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has allowed me to get my shoes off the floor, get rid of the boxes, and have a neat closet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Does the job but not high quality

02/22/2010
By ,
Denver, CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
With shipping I paid $42 for this item. It is not worth it. The plastic sides that the metal bars go into are so cheesy it is ridiculous. To get the metal rods into the plastic was almost impossible. It took all my might to hammer each one in. And still I couldnt get 3 of the rods in on one side which now makes it lopsided when hung. But I still feel like it will hold together. Because believe me I put it to the test when I loaded it up! There are many of the rows I can only fit two pairs of shoes side by side and for the third position I have a pair of high heels stacked on top of each other. But this rack will hold it all. I have all my boots and tennis shoes and high heels and sandals on it. I only have one row left open I have so many shoes. But it has left so much room in my closet now. The door is heavy when opening and closing but my door is open 98% of the time anyway. So like my title says this does the job but it is not high quality and if you have to have it out in the open I would find something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Piece of junk

06/19/2014
By ,
San antonio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Made of plastic and I guess metal for poles that you have to put together. Once put together, the place where you put your shoes, sticks out about 8 inches from base of door. When you open closet door, it will bump you so you have to open door all the way to clear yourself to get into closet. Doesn't fit onto standard door as advertised. Took it back and I hardly ever return merchandise. If I didn't know what it was, never would have figured it out. No recommendation on this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Maximized storage space

07/27/2014
By ,
NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great way to get my shoes off the floor and really use every inch of my closet by getting the shoes onto the back of my door. I like how the bars are angled so that the shoes really stay in place. My flats would never stay on my old free-standing shoe rack that I used to have. I also like how you can fit taller boots on this, which was another downside of my old free-standing shoe rack.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

It was disappointing

04/16/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros:
1.The price was right
2.36 pair of shoes was a win!
3.The look
Cons:
1.Shoes would fall out the back of the rack
It was an irritation,in the 2 years of having this rack the only issue was that on the slightest impact all my shoes would fall out the side facing the door.
To some it might not be an issue,but to me if the original price is expensive for something that shouldn't be at that price then you happen to catch it on a great sale,you would expect it to live up to it's original pricing. It was just disappointing to always have to get my shoe of the floor when i opened my room door. I don't use it anymore,got sick of always putting my shoes back on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Good to buy

07/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's worth the price and I like it a lot! Keeps all my shoes in place.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

A well-made product & an awesome company !

05/07/2013
By ,
Amesbury, Ma.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't be happier !! After searching high & low for a well-made rack that would fit on a thicker door (almost 2" thick), this Whitmor is the best - well-made, with grippy bars that shoes don't slip off of & ease of assembly.Bought one first from The Container Store,one of two that claimed to adjust for a thicker door,only to find you have to snap a metal bracket with pliers(almost impossible), then screw the bracket into the top of the door. This rack was returned, needless to say !
I then ordered the Whitmor one. The company sent me a pair if brackets(metal, not plastic!)to fit my door, free of charge & were so nice to deal with !! The rack went together easliy & sturdily & has flip-up arms that allow you to put boots or bulkier shoes on any rung, a feature I've never seen before on these racks. Love it !
After assembling it, I called the company to thank them for such a well-made product. Such a joy in a world of cheap, flimsy stuff. Thanks again, Whitmor !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Love it!

07/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It accomodated all of my shoes. A bit tricky to set up but I made it. You need a small hammer to put it together. When you attach the rods, to a twisting motion as you drill it down to the holes to ensure a snug fit. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White
01/31/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product is made well and has nice features. Unfortunately due to the depth of it you can't use it on the back of a bedroom door that opens towards a corner wall, which is where I was going to put it, because when you open the door it hits the wall & does not allow much room to get in or out. Otherwise, if used on the back of a closet door (depending on the distance of the clothes rack) or a door that can open all the way up it would be perfect. Unfortunately, I don't have either.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 228 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next