Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Whitmor Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Whitmor Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

If you need flexibility and control with your shoe storage, look no further. You can efficiently keep your items organized with the Whitmor 36-Pair Over-the-Door Resin Shoe Rack in White. It is coated with durable resin for a glossy and shiny appearance. The non-slip steel bars on this over-the-door rack ensures that your shoes don't fall off. The unique flip up bar feature allows you to store shoes of all sizes with ease. You can easily hang this Whitmor over-the-door shoe rack with the help of an included hook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(260 Reviews) 220
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
147
4 stars
71
3 stars
17
2 stars
10
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation89%231 out of 260reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 141 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
147
4 stars
71
3 stars
17
2 stars
10
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Great Product!

11/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've purchased various types of shoe storage systems over the years, but this is the best one I've tried yet! It was simple to assemble (I'm a single female), and the only equipment I used was a small hammer to tap in the metal dowels (btw, be sure to follow the directions and assemble on a firm surface, as opposed to, say, a carpeted floor, as you need to really be sure the dowel supports are firmly seated. If you don't have a hammer, even a soup can will do. You can put a light towel over the product surface if you're concerned about marring the plastic). It fits the back of my closet door perfectly and doesn't add undue weight to the door even when full of shoes, which surprised me. With shoes on it, it keeps the door from opening fully by about 24" or so; I'd assume that could be more if you have larger shoes. I can fit 33 pair on the rack, some of which are larger boots, etc.; I could fit more if more of my shoes were smaller, such as sandals. I imagine the capacity for men's shoes would be significantly less. I'm still able to get into my walk-in closet with ease.
I read some other customer reviews stating the product seemed cheap, not well made, etc. I disagree. I think it's quite well made and solid, albeit a bit awkward to handle once it's assembled because of its size. Again, it's very important to anchor the dowels by tapping in on a firm floor surface, not carpet. There was some excess "flashing" (plastic that oozed over when forming the recesses for the dowels), but just made sure to wiggle each dowel in so it fits inside the flashing, not on top of it, before tapping it in.
I highly recommend this product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Perfect for closet

01/20/2010
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We actually mounted two of these shoe racks to the wall inside a closet beneath a stairway. Had to cut them to make them fit, but they cut easily and mounted cleanly. Very sturdy. Perfect way to make a "shoe wall" for 72 pairs of wife's shoes.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Yay, I finally found a good shoe rack!

10/29/2011
By ,
murrells inlet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really does the job and meets expectations of what a shoe rack should be! Good price, holds adult size shoes, really holds 36 prs of shoes, unless you want to place shoes on top of each other then I am sure you could even fit more shoes on this rack. Read measurements to make sure it will fit in the intended area you plan to hand the rack as it does stick out. It fit our needs perfectly. Sturdy construction with easy to follow assembly instructions.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Perfect for my 42 pairs

07/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shoe rack was extremely easy to assemble - took about 10 minutes. As I said, this 36 pair shoe rack is able to hold my 42 pair (the thin flats and sandals are sacked on each other). A great thing about this rack is that it can hold my big bulky hiking boots as well as my heels. I also love that I really don't have to bend over/squat to look for my shoes like I would have had to do if I would have bought a shoe rack for the closet floor. I have this Whitmor rack hanging over the door of my spare room - if I was going to be extremely nitpicky, I would complain that the spare room door will not open all the way because the shoes bump the wall BUT I was expecting that to happen so I am overall very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Frees Up tons of space!

05/21/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shoe rack is amazing! Its very sturdy for just plastic and metal bars. Also doesn't move around at all when you open and close the door. I had a small one behind my door along with a coat hook previously. I had the small shoe rack plumb full, and found this one. I've had to move the coat hook but after I moved all my shoes to this shoe rack it was still 2/3 empty! I was amazed at how many shoes you can fit on this rack. Another great thing, is that the bars angle down towards the door rather than down away from the door. There is no way the shoes can fall out while opening and closing the door like my other small shoe rack. There is also room on the sides bars to hang my high heel shoes by the heel for even more space. Cant do that with a regular small cloth shoe rack either. A must buy! for anyone with limited shoe space in their closet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

I like it

03/05/2014
By ,
Augusta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this product, it was really easy to put together. I saw other reviews where people were saying it didn't hold 36 pairs of shoes and it doesn't due to the fact that I have all types of shoes on it ( heels, wedges, boots, sneaker, sandals, etc.). Also people were saying that it would fall off the door but mine didn't. Because I saw that I went to Wal-Mart and got command strips, they are for hanging pictures without nails, they are in the hardware section and they are way more sturdy than the Velcro that comes with the rack to make it stick to the door. So I would definitely recommend getting the command strips and that problem will be avoided completely. Also my closet door doesn't close all the way because the rack to kind of big once all the shoes are on but that really doesn't bother me so if that is a problem for you make sure you measure your door before you purchase, everybody's closet door is not the same size. Overall I think it is a pretty good product and I haven't have an issue since I've put it together.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Much Better Than Expected

05/22/2010
By ,
Spokane, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a very similar product in the past. However, on that one the plastic hanger broke close to where it mounted to the metal hanger and I ended up wiring it together. I was somewhat reluctant to buy this very similar looking product. But I needed to get the shoes off the floor. I've had it for just shy of two months now and no signs of it weakening or cracking at the plastic by the metal door hanger even though this model is longer and holds more shoes. And I've bumped into it several times! It fits two pairs of men's shoes on each bar. Also, I followed someone else's advice and put the lighter shoes on the top few bars and the heavier shoes toward the bottom. I wear a size 11 men's shoe. The shoes, once on the hanger, stick out about 13" from the door. So far I have been very pleased with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Love it!

07/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It accomodated all of my shoes. A bit tricky to set up but I made it. You need a small hammer to put it together. When you attach the rods, to a twisting motion as you drill it down to the holes to ensure a snug fit. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

great shoe rack

07/21/2014
By ,
vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased several shoes racks and I must say this one is the best.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

space saver

07/21/2014
By ,
Brooklyn,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product help me to save space that many shoe occupied. Every hidden from sight, it an essential to have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Got those shoes off closet floor

07/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arrived quickly, assembly only took minutes, quality materials. I can now walk into closet without stepping on/over multiple pairs of sneakers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

great size & useful

07/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really liked the size of it. I was able to fit 36 shoes (I'm a 7 1/2 shoe size). I've read other reviews where they mention they weren't able to fit 36 as the product says. And no they're not stacked on top of one another. The only complaint is that I wish the lower racks would be up against the door as it tends to have a small gap between door and rack. The set up was so... simple didn't need to look over instructions to figure it out. Even my 3 year old was helping attache the rods he enjoyed it as he likes puzzles.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Good product

07/09/2014
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy to install and sturdy however only holds approximately 2 pairs of (sneakers or heels)shoes per row. Third pair may be able to fit if you stack one shoe on top of the other or place it side ways.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Does the job but not high quality

02/22/2010
By ,
Denver, CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
With shipping I paid $42 for this item. It is not worth it. The plastic sides that the metal bars go into are so cheesy it is ridiculous. To get the metal rods into the plastic was almost impossible. It took all my might to hammer each one in. And still I couldnt get 3 of the rods in on one side which now makes it lopsided when hung. But I still feel like it will hold together. Because believe me I put it to the test when I loaded it up! There are many of the rows I can only fit two pairs of shoes side by side and for the third position I have a pair of high heels stacked on top of each other. But this rack will hold it all. I have all my boots and tennis shoes and high heels and sandals on it. I only have one row left open I have so many shoes. But it has left so much room in my closet now. The door is heavy when opening and closing but my door is open 98% of the time anyway. So like my title says this does the job but it is not high quality and if you have to have it out in the open I would find something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Excellent

07/05/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this shoe rack............ I have had one in the past and just love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Good buy for price

06/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price, this is a good buy. However, if you have high heels/wedges it cannot fit as many as 36 shoes but still worth the buy and saves a lot of space in my closet!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Piece of junk

06/19/2014
By ,
San antonio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Made of plastic and I guess metal for poles that you have to put together. Once put together, the place where you put your shoes, sticks out about 8 inches from base of door. When you open closet door, it will bump you so you have to open door all the way to clear yourself to get into closet. Doesn't fit onto standard door as advertised. Took it back and I hardly ever return merchandise. If I didn't know what it was, never would have figured it out. No recommendation on this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

great product

06/26/2014
By ,
Fremont, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is nothing to complain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

very useful

06/21/2014
By ,
Chicago
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I can only put two pair of shoes on each track, still very useful though
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Love love love

06/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to assemble, fits perfectly in my closet. So good I ordered two more! Fits all my flats, heels and sneakers.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 221 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next