Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Whitmor Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Whitmor Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

If you need flexibility and control with your shoe storage, look no further. You can efficiently keep your items organized with the Whitmor 36-Pair Over-the-Door Resin Shoe Rack in White. It is coated with durable resin for a glossy and shiny appearance. The non-slip steel bars on this over-the-door rack ensures that your shoes don't fall off. The unique flip up bar feature allows you to store shoes of all sizes with ease. You can easily hang this Whitmor over-the-door shoe rack with the help of an included hook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.205 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(331 Reviews) 291
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
184
4 stars
88
3 stars
25
2 stars
11
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation88%290 out of 331reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 157 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
184
4 stars
88
3 stars
25
2 stars
11
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

PREFECT EXACTLY WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR

10/13/2014
By ,
Brooklyn, N.Y
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
holds what it says and more depending on how you put the shoes I have 31 because I raised two of the racks in reality I could have 37 which is what I love about this shoe rack you can raise the bar to fit in boots and high tops basically hold 3 pairs per rack I built this with my husband assembly fairly easy (you don't need two people makes it faster) I believe my door is normal size really great product made my looking and deciding on shoes much easier than trying to look in a closet showed my mom now she wants one I am now going to order one for her
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Great Product!

11/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've purchased various types of shoe storage systems over the years, but this is the best one I've tried yet! It was simple to assemble (I'm a single female), and the only equipment I used was a small hammer to tap in the metal dowels (btw, be sure to follow the directions and assemble on a firm surface, as opposed to, say, a carpeted floor, as you need to really be sure the dowel supports are firmly seated. If you don't have a hammer, even a soup can will do. You can put a light towel over the product surface if you're concerned about marring the plastic). It fits the back of my closet door perfectly and doesn't add undue weight to the door even when full of shoes, which surprised me. With shoes on it, it keeps the door from opening fully by about 24" or so; I'd assume that could be more if you have larger shoes. I can fit 33 pair on the rack, some of which are larger boots, etc.; I could fit more if more of my shoes were smaller, such as sandals. I imagine the capacity for men's shoes would be significantly less. I'm still able to get into my walk-in closet with ease.
I read some other customer reviews stating the product seemed cheap, not well made, etc. I disagree. I think it's quite well made and solid, albeit a bit awkward to handle once it's assembled because of its size. Again, it's very important to anchor the dowels by tapping in on a firm floor surface, not carpet. There was some excess "flashing" (plastic that oozed over when forming the recesses for the dowels), but just made sure to wiggle each dowel in so it fits inside the flashing, not on top of it, before tapping it in.
I highly recommend this product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Yay, I finally found a good shoe rack!

10/29/2011
By ,
murrells inlet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really does the job and meets expectations of what a shoe rack should be! Good price, holds adult size shoes, really holds 36 prs of shoes, unless you want to place shoes on top of each other then I am sure you could even fit more shoes on this rack. Read measurements to make sure it will fit in the intended area you plan to hand the rack as it does stick out. It fit our needs perfectly. Sturdy construction with easy to follow assembly instructions.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Perfect for closet

01/20/2010
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We actually mounted two of these shoe racks to the wall inside a closet beneath a stairway. Had to cut them to make them fit, but they cut easily and mounted cleanly. Very sturdy. Perfect way to make a "shoe wall" for 72 pairs of wife's shoes.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Frees Up tons of space!

05/21/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shoe rack is amazing! Its very sturdy for just plastic and metal bars. Also doesn't move around at all when you open and close the door. I had a small one behind my door along with a coat hook previously. I had the small shoe rack plumb full, and found this one. I've had to move the coat hook but after I moved all my shoes to this shoe rack it was still 2/3 empty! I was amazed at how many shoes you can fit on this rack. Another great thing, is that the bars angle down towards the door rather than down away from the door. There is no way the shoes can fall out while opening and closing the door like my other small shoe rack. There is also room on the sides bars to hang my high heel shoes by the heel for even more space. Cant do that with a regular small cloth shoe rack either. A must buy! for anyone with limited shoe space in their closet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Better than expected

07/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great and better construction than I was expecting.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Great for the price

07/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy install, pretty sturdy but not really meant for high tops or anything over a male size 10.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Allen

07/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product, great value, easy assembly
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Does the job but not high quality

02/22/2010
By ,
Denver, CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
With shipping I paid $42 for this item. It is not worth it. The plastic sides that the metal bars go into are so cheesy it is ridiculous. To get the metal rods into the plastic was almost impossible. It took all my might to hammer each one in. And still I couldnt get 3 of the rods in on one side which now makes it lopsided when hung. But I still feel like it will hold together. Because believe me I put it to the test when I loaded it up! There are many of the rows I can only fit two pairs of shoes side by side and for the third position I have a pair of high heels stacked on top of each other. But this rack will hold it all. I have all my boots and tennis shoes and high heels and sandals on it. I only have one row left open I have so many shoes. But it has left so much room in my closet now. The door is heavy when opening and closing but my door is open 98% of the time anyway. So like my title says this does the job but it is not high quality and if you have to have it out in the open I would find something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Love this shoe rack !

06/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to put together, takes up little space, sturdy!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Over the door shoe rack

06/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like the idea of this rack, if there would be one thing I would change is that my door only closes half way. Like the other readers mentioned, you can't get three pairs of shoes on one rack so I turned one facing the door and the other one facing out. I wear a size 6 1/2 so they aren't too big.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Over the door shoe rack

06/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect over the door rack easy to view and make your selection not having to go through many boxes
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

I like it

03/05/2014
By ,
Augusta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this product, it was really easy to put together. I saw other reviews where people were saying it didn't hold 36 pairs of shoes and it doesn't due to the fact that I have all types of shoes on it ( heels, wedges, boots, sneaker, sandals, etc.). Also people were saying that it would fall off the door but mine didn't. Because I saw that I went to Wal-Mart and got command strips, they are for hanging pictures without nails, they are in the hardware section and they are way more sturdy than the Velcro that comes with the rack to make it stick to the door. So I would definitely recommend getting the command strips and that problem will be avoided completely. Also my closet door doesn't close all the way because the rack to kind of big once all the shoes are on but that really doesn't bother me so if that is a problem for you make sure you measure your door before you purchase, everybody's closet door is not the same size. Overall I think it is a pretty good product and I haven't have an issue since I've put it together.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Impossible to put together

06/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The rods were different lengths and it was impossible to put together. After many attempts to put it together, I returned it a few days later.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

good for heels

06/14/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Flat shoes don't stay on anchors. Best for heels.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Great for the child-free

02/10/2013
By ,
Missorui
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It took me longer than I'd like to admit to figure out that the secret to keeping the shoes in place is to keep them toe-out. For the longest time, we did toe-in. We've had trouble with some of the rods popping out from time to time but it only seems to be an issue on a couple of the rows. I was pretty happy with this item until our toddler decided it was fun to start yanking on the thing. He pulled the lower anchors lose and I have not been able to come up with anything that will keep this thing secured to the door. We've tried something from 3M. I even made a go of it with duct tape. (Yeah, I'd laugh at me too.) That sort of worked until the toddler came along again. Without the velcro holding the bottom against the door, the shoes go all over the place. So the moral of the story is, if you don't have kids and put the shoes on the right way, this thing is pretty great. If you have kids, I suggest you go for a wall-mounted model. Also, it definitely does impact your ability to fully open the door if it's in a corner like ours.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Perfect for my 42 pairs

07/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shoe rack was extremely easy to assemble - took about 10 minutes. As I said, this 36 pair shoe rack is able to hold my 42 pair (the thin flats and sandals are sacked on each other). A great thing about this rack is that it can hold my big bulky hiking boots as well as my heels. I also love that I really don't have to bend over/squat to look for my shoes like I would have had to do if I would have bought a shoe rack for the closet floor. I have this Whitmor rack hanging over the door of my spare room - if I was going to be extremely nitpicky, I would complain that the spare room door will not open all the way because the shoes bump the wall BUT I was expecting that to happen so I am overall very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

definitely a great value!

06/06/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Usefull, space saving. Sturdy! this has been great for my children's shoes. I now have 3, however, I think I will buy one more for my room too
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Organized now

06/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have tried a couple of other shoe organizer/storage units -- which promptly fell apart. I'm a shoe lover with lots of shoes & boots. This does the trick. It is sturdy and actually does hold 36 pairs of shoes. A good buy for the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Whitmor 36 Pair Over the Door Resin Shoe Rack, White

Excellent. Awesome

06/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Definetively
Love them. Bought 2 and I just open my door to a beautiful view of my shoes, so each to choose
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 292 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next