Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Danby Danby 2.5 cu.ft. Energy Star Compact Refrigerator, Black

Danby Danby 2.5 cu.ft. Energy Star Compact Refrigerator, Black

The energy-efficient Danby 2.5 cu.ft. Energy Star Compact Refrigerator provides ample space for storing your items with the help of the 3 wire shelves. At just over 2 feet tall this Danby compact fridge can be placed on a counter-top or floor that definitely makes a great addition to the dorm room. It features scratch resistant worktop that keeps the shine of this Danby refrigerator black for years. It comes with automatic defrost feature that makes maintenance an easy task. The reversible door hinge allows you to easily open or close the door from both sides. This refrigerator also includes Canstor beverage dispenser and tall bottle storage for convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.543 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(175 Reviews) 151
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
119
4 stars
44
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation96%168 out of 175reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 88 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
119
4 stars
44
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Danby 2.5 cu.ft. Energy Star Compact Refrigerator, Black

Perfect beverage frig for creek or pantry.

07/05/2014
By ,
Northern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were looking for a compact, portable refrigerator for the pump house in the summer (cold beer at the creek) and for the pantry during the holidays (extra storage). The portability is necessary because the creek overtops every winter. We like that there is no mini freezer to take up interior space. It cools very well -- there was a little bit of ice in the bottled beer when turned up all the way (YUM!!).
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Danby 2.5 cu.ft. Energy Star Compact Refrigerator, Black

Great refrig; would be perfect with a light

10/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This refrig is the perfect size for my use (a bedroom). I love the fact that it is 100% refrigerator without the dripping worthless freezer box that comes with most mini refrigerators. Contrary to other users' comments, I also like having the temperature control in the back. I am not sure how the refrig can be placed to make the controls difficult to reach - I just reach over and there is the control. Why take up space in the refrig itself? The control could be marked a little clearer as to warmer versus cooler. I am sure stupidity on my part but when trying to turn up the cold, I first kept turning the knob the wrong way and making it warmer. The only real complaint and the only thing keeping this from a five star rating as many others have noted is no light. I used this refrig to replace one half its size (and half the cost) and even that had a light. Within a couple days of my purchase, I had already gotten up in the middle of the night and had to feel around to find a bottle of cold water (honestly just water!!).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Danby 2.5 cu.ft. Energy Star Compact Refrigerator, Black

Refrigerator Only - GREAT FEATURE

03/21/2009
By ,
Madison, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What attracted me to this product was that it was a Refrigerator only. It did not have the small freezer you find in most compact refrigerators which honestly is a waste as you can't fit much in the freezer and then you have the hassle of defrosting the freezer.
I use this in my office by my desk and it keeps all of my bottled water, soda, coffee creamer and lunch items very cold.
The black color fits in well and it doesn't look like a refrigerator.
I would definitely recommend this product to anyone looking for a small refrigerator.
The cost and the fact that it is Energy Star rated, makes it extremely likeable from the get-go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+84points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Danby 2.5 cu.ft. Energy Star Compact Refrigerator, Black

Good Product But Poor Packaging/Shipping

08/09/2009
By ,
Fremont, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After considerable research and waiting over two weeks to pick-up my refrigerator at the local Walmart, I was very disappointed! Not in the product, but a ugly dent in the door! The outside of the box didn't show any major damage so I accepted it at the store. I don't know if the damage was there when packaged or happened during shipping, but there was very little cushioning inside the box...very poor packing. I did check out the fridge. I liked the "extra" room due to no freezer, the multiple shelf positions and the canstor feature.
I even plugged it in at the max temperature setting...very quiet. I also liked the outside appearance and the "rubber" like no scratch top. By raising the bottom half shelf one level, I was able to put a one-gallon plastic milk container on the bottom level. This fridge sells for about $25 more than it's competition, but appears to be worth the price. I may try again and risk receiving another damaged product and using my gas to make multiple runs to the local Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Danby 2.5 cu.ft. Energy Star Compact Refrigerator, Black

Love it!

07/08/2009
By ,
Mankato, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little frig. I'm so glad it does not have a freezer inside it. It has lots of room. I have it in my office area and it is very quiet and the black color blends in so well with the desk, etc. There is absolutely nothing wrong with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Danby 2.5 cu.ft. Energy Star Compact Refrigerator, Black

highly-rated fridge exceeded expectations

10/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arriuved ahead of schedule in perfect condition. Ratings by a national testing agency led me to this brand (which is not sold everywhere). It came out on top in many areas. Quiet operation and good temp control.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Danby 2.5 cu.ft. Energy Star Compact Refrigerator, Black

Perfect for what I needed

05/20/2008
By ,
Waterbury, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfectr size to replace a 1.7 ci that I had for over 10 years. The black color works well with my office decor and I especially like the door layout and the wide variety of shelf positions. The lack of a small freezer is actually a plus since I would probably never use it and it adds to useable space. It is quiet ans appears to keep things perfectly cool
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Danby 2.5 cu.ft. Energy Star Compact Refrigerator, Black

Good for drinks ONLY

10/05/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this for drinks and that is all for which it is good. There is a 10-12 degree temperature difference between the bottom shelf and the top shelf as noted in other reviews, but most drinks are cold enough at 45 degrees. I would not recommend this for food.
Danby could have done a better job with shelf location to maximize use for cans and bottles.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Danby 2.5 cu.ft. Energy Star Compact Refrigerator, Black

Excellent buy

07/21/2009
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't say enough good things... effecient, quiet, roomy. So good at chilling things, can't turn past medium or will start freezing drinks. Quiet enough for my bedroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Danby 2.5 cu.ft. Energy Star Compact Refrigerator, Black

A great fridge!

01/12/2012
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this fridge for our 17 year old son for in his bedroom.
This fridge is perfect.
Just the perfect size.
We were looking for just a fridge not with a freezer and this is just what we were looking for.
As far as getting cold, it gets very cold, had to turn the thermostat down.
It holds quite a bit.
This is mainly for my son's beverages and snacks.
It looks great in his room, he loves it!!
He had an older fridge w/freezer, it was a different name brand but we did not like how the freezer would ice up that was a pain.
So if you are looking for a great compact fridge that really keeps things cold and runs so quietly this is it.
I was so surprised at how spacious this is.
We ordered this "site to store" from Walmart and there were absolutely no damage of any kind, it was packed so secure.
A great buy!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Danby 2.5 cu.ft. Energy Star Compact Refrigerator, Black

Great Fridge

10/28/2010
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really like this product. I had purchased two Haier under counter refrigerators in the past year for our office. Both had failed. One after 10 months and one after 2 months. This one seems to be better made and for a tight spot (we don't have much space in our file room) it was a perfect fit. It arrived on time in perfect condition and worked perfectly after we plugged it in and gave it a day to cool. Just right for office or dorm.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Danby 2.5 cu.ft. Energy Star Compact Refrigerator, Black

Disappointment

10/15/2009
By ,
Sykesville, MD
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this model to replace an older compact refrigerator that was always leaking from ice build-up in the freezer compartment.
Although there is no freezer in this model, the rear wall ices up continually, plugging the small drain hole. I've tried different setting and re-leveling the unit to no avail.
I have to keep a towel on the bottom shelf to keep the water from flooding the floor.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Danby 2.5 cu.ft. Energy Star Compact Refrigerator, Black

Does not work!

08/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The refrigerator does not work at all. Also, the manual says there is an interior light....NOT! The manual also says there is a temp setting "on the ceiling" of the unit......NOT. The on off dial at rear of unit does nothing. Now, we have to dig the packing material out of the trash, repack it, and take it to Walmart. I will say, though, that we were pleased to get it a lot sooner than expected. Had it worked, it would have been terrific. And, it does look great.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Danby 2.5 cu.ft. Energy Star Compact Refrigerator, Black

Very Good

05/16/2011
By ,
Milford, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good compact refridgerator and I use it every day. I got it for my bedroom, which is smallish and it is VERY quiet. The temperature adjustment area is located at the back of the fridge, which isn't practical, but unless it is in a confined area, it will surely suffice. The biggest problem was the lack of lighting. There is no backlit LED so... thats my biggest problem. Other than that, it is great!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Danby 2.5 cu.ft. Energy Star Compact Refrigerator, Black

Great Nursing Home Refrig.

06/04/2009
By ,
Yulee, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered the refrig (Yes, it has a compressor) thru the Site to Store for my Bro-in-law in a nursing home. It is great to keep drinks cold. There isn't a freezer section, but it would be in the way. He has had it so far thru 2 weeks of his man-handling and it has survived. DO NOT buy one of those "thermo-electric" type "coolers". They only work at room temps below 70 degrees!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Danby 2.5 cu.ft. Energy Star Compact Refrigerator, Black

Quiet compact fridge

03/24/2010
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased the Danby 2.5 cu. ft. fridge after reading the favorable reviews. It is fairly lightweight, compared to our old fridge that had a freezer. It is definitely very quiet. Our old compact fridge's compressor ran all the time, put out a lot of heat, and was somewhat noisy. This fridge is so quiet that it's amazing that it does cool the beverages we keep in it. It doesn't seem to blow out hot air. And it's Energy Star rated and a good price.
You will need to set the thermostat on the middle point to get about 38 degrees. The location of the thermostat is a negative, as it's on the back of the fridge. Also, there is no shutoff switch on the front, so when going on an extended vacation, it is not as convenient to just switch it off without pulling it out of the cabinet opening we set it into.
We had read that several reviewers received fridges that had dents on the door. Ours did, too, right on the lower right front of the door. We just decided to keep it since it appears to be a manufacturing process problem when they handle the units. There was no guarantee that if we replaced the unit that the next one would be any better.
Overall, we are happy with our Danby fridge after having it for about 10 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Danby 2.5 cu.ft. Energy Star Compact Refrigerator, Black

Very well made compact refrigerator.

03/31/2011
By ,
Hudson, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product because it was a self-defrosting compact refrigerator, which I intend to use mainly for beverages. It is very well-made, runs so quiet I still cannot believe it, and looks good (though a stainless steel door would have looked even better) beneath a small wet bar so the refrigerator is visible to guests. I only wish the manual thermostat had been located within the unit instead of on its backside, though the present arrangement is only a nuisance for the first day or two while finding the optimal desired temperature; of course, (hint to manufacturer) an interior digital thermometer would be far more customer-service oriented. Still, all things considered, I am very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Danby 2.5 cu.ft. Energy Star Compact Refrigerator, Black

Everything we expected

07/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Met all expectations - plugged it in, filled it with sodas & have enjoyed cold drinks ever since day one. We take it with us on camping trips - light weight and will hold about sixty 12 oz cans - keeps the kids outside
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Danby 2.5 cu.ft. Energy Star Compact Refrigerator, Black

Good Not Perfect

02/26/2010
By ,
Napa, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall very nice unit. Do not care for the beverage can holders on the door. Not useful to me and takes away from usable space in the main part. Would have preferred just an extended shelf.
Did really like the all refrigerator (no freezer) style.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Danby 2.5 cu.ft. Energy Star Compact Refrigerator, Black

Very quiet. Best feature: no "freezer".

08/20/2011
By ,
Santa Rosa, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased online and shipped to the store closest to our son's college campus. He rented a ZIP car on campus and then drove to Walmart to pick it up. Looks great, runs VERY quiet and has no 'freezer' to add noise to his tiny dorm room. Ultra low energy use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 152 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next