Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LaCie LaCie 1TB Neil Poulton Desktop External Hard Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

LaCie LaCie 1TB Neil Poulton Desktop External Hard Drive

The user-friendly Lacie 1TB Hard Drive adds sophisticated style to your desktop, yet its presence is quiet and unobtrusive. The drive features a cool blue LED strip on its underside that creates an ambient glow, and the all-black design blends perfectly into your workstation. Design by Neil Poulton.
Average Customer Rating:
4.674 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%46 out of 49reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LaCie 1TB Neil Poulton Desktop External Hard Drive

Not Worth the Money

04/05/2011
By ,
Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is my 2nd LaCie drive. The first lasted a few months, when the blue light began to fade. After phone calls to tech support (their headquarters are not far away), I was asked to send it back - at my expense, which did not make me happy.
After investigation, I was informed there was a problem with a circuit board. They returned a new, larger drive in its place. First I thought that was a cool gesture, until I realized I paid out of my pocket to ship it back, had lost all the data on the drive, and had to be without the drive for the time it took them to realize they couldn't repair it.
The 2nd drive lasted a few days past the 2 year warranty period. It just died, with no advance warning. Even though it had a 2 yr warranty, I tried to prevail upon management to replace the drive, as a goodwill gesture, since it was just days out of warranty. They refused, in spite of the problems they knew I'd had with the 1st drive.
While this may seem like an attractive price, I would never take a chance on this brand ever again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 2 for LaCie 1TB Neil Poulton Desktop External Hard Drive

Excellent Buy

11/29/2008
By ,
Oakland, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Typical of all LaCie products for the Mac. I literally took it out of the box, plugged everything in and turned it on. No fuss, no muss. After researching the price over the internet, found it here at Walmart.com for the best price. Ordered it online over a weekend, it was there in 2 days. Can't be beat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 3 for LaCie 1TB Neil Poulton Desktop External Hard Drive

great value, good drive

10/13/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This drive was a great value -- especially for mac users as it is one of the few that includes software (such as for backups) for mac. It's quiet and small and quick. It "sleeps" automatically when the computer sleeps. The only downside is that the computer will "wake" before the drive and if you have left programs open (like final cut), the files can show as offline and you have to reconnect them. Solution: quit all programs first and let it have it's brief moment to wake up. I can live with that.
As for getting it through Wal-Mart - I'm sold! I did store-to-site and was told something like 7-10 days; it was there in 3!! I love that I have access to seeing the product before purchase and of course WMart's return policy if needed. And, since the price beat everyone's, I've pretty much dumped all my other online shopping. (No, I really don't work there; I just had a great shopping experience -- a novelty these days!)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for LaCie 1TB Neil Poulton Desktop External Hard Drive

One Bad Thing

08/01/2009
By ,
Southern California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The software that came with the drive, on installation claimed it was a hacked registration number. Upon contacting the company they offered a solution that worked.
Overall product is good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 5 for LaCie 1TB Neil Poulton Desktop External Hard Drive

Great Value! Excellent HDD

04/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just purchased this LaCie Hard Drive from Walmart.com and have been very happy with the whole process. The HDD was at a great price and I ended up receiving it in 2 days even though I chose ground shipping. Gotta love that. The drive was easy to setup and even has a utility to format and partition the drive. It even supports Mac and Linux.
Definitely recommend the hard drive and would buy again with Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 6 for LaCie 1TB Neil Poulton Desktop External Hard Drive

What a deal

04/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this drive on sale from Wal-Mart for only $57.00 plus tax. What a dea! Although this drive is only USB it's plenty fast enough for my intended purpose. You can't find a drive of this quality for the same price point I purchased it for.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for LaCie 1TB Neil Poulton Desktop External Hard Drive

LaCie 1TB Hard Drive, Design by Neil Poulton, USB

06/14/2010
By ,
Tulare Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice hardrive with plenty of storage. Great sleek look with blue light shining fron from the bottom. The USB cord was very short so I purchased a longer one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for LaCie 1TB Neil Poulton Desktop External Hard Drive

FAST SHIPPING

09/16/2008
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The actual hard drive is great. NICE PRICE...160 plus shipping for a terabyte drive....nice...I paid 5 bucks for 5-10 day shipping and received it in 3 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for LaCie 1TB Neil Poulton Desktop External Hard Drive

Awesome

01/19/2009
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works great. Just got it out of the box, plugged it in, and its all set to go. Great for my macbook.
Super glad I got it before the price raised $30.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 10 for LaCie 1TB Neil Poulton Desktop External Hard Drive

i love my new Terrabite

06/06/2011
By ,
Logan, Ut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my only regret with this is that i didn't get one sooner. i am a student and have lots of files that are lost when my computer crashes. not any more. my wife and i put all our home videos, pics, word docs., and music and still have 850 gb of memory left. this thing is great. i plan on using this for a long time. i couldn't be happier. you have to plug it in which can be a pane, but i guess it makes it faster when it has it's own power source. great tool to have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for LaCie 1TB Neil Poulton Desktop External Hard Drive

Does the Job, too loud

04/20/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got the exact same deal from Walmart two weeks ago.
Pros : Very stylish looking, The blue LED looks great, compact enough, Fast read/write.
Cons: Just too loud, read/write constant click.
It becomes very bothersome after sometime if you are in a quiet room and have it right next to you. Does the job of a 1 TB hardrive. I will rather pay 20$ more and get a better quieter product next time.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 12 for LaCie 1TB Neil Poulton Desktop External Hard Drive

Great Product--Great Service

07/27/2009
By ,
Marne, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this LaCie 1 TB hard drive in the evening and in less than 24 hours, it arrived at my home half way across the country. The service was outstanding, as is this product. It takes up very little room, installed in mere minutes and is now storing a great bulk of my pictures. Thank you Walmart for great service and thank you Neil Poulton and LaCie for a great product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for LaCie 1TB Neil Poulton Desktop External Hard Drive

Lacie 1Terabyte

04/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely wonderful product. Arrived within 4 days. Meets all expectations. Hooks straight up to my laptop (PC) without any software and is ready immediately for use. Very quick process to load all of my photos onto it. The price is amazing, and coming from a person who can be skeptical about low prices equating to good quality, you will not be disappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 14 for LaCie 1TB Neil Poulton Desktop External Hard Drive
05/11/2011
By ,
WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1st of all, PRODUCT is GREAT!!
2ndly, I was not able to implement (probably due to my own lack of experience) the on board LaCie '1-Click' Backup Software program. I chose to use my tried & tested & true Backup Software. It worked fine with this LaCie 1TB Neil Poulton External USB HDD. I will order again from LaCie.
1st & LAST of all, PRODUCT is GREAT!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 15 for LaCie 1TB Neil Poulton Desktop External Hard Drive

EASY TO USE PRODUCT

11/05/2009
By ,
GROTON CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PURCHASED THE LACIE 1TB DRIVE 6 - 7 WEEKS AGO AND IT DOES A FANTASTIC JOB. LOADED OVER 16000 PICS AND VIDEOS OF FAMILY (80 GB) AND NOW HAVE A WEALTH OF STORAGE FOR FUTURE USE. JUST HIGHLIGHTED AND SELECTED THE MAIN FILE FOLDER AND HIT COPY. DID NOT USE THE SOFTWARE THAT CAME WITH THIS PRODUCT. GREAT TO HAVE A SIMPLE AND MASS STORAGE FOR OUR FAMILY PHOTOS.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 16 for LaCie 1TB Neil Poulton Desktop External Hard Drive

Rocks!

05/31/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for an external hard drive with large storage for a home network backup. While looking at the usual suspects, I came across this Lacie drive for an excellant price. Shipping was prompt, the price was right, and the unit functioned perfectly right out of the box. The elegant look as well as the functionality fit my network perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 17 for LaCie 1TB Neil Poulton Desktop External Hard Drive

LaCie 1 TB Drive

12/21/2009
By ,
Soap Lake, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an excellent product for both Mac & PC users. It has backup software for both platforms. It is also compatible with Apples Macintosh Time Machine software It may not the fastest since it only uses USB but it is very reliable and the price is excellent. I have been using computers since the 1970's, the stone age.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for LaCie 1TB Neil Poulton Desktop External Hard Drive

very good product!

04/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i thought this hard drive would be EXTREMELY large, but it's actually not.
it's sleek, thin, and compact. of course, it's not a portable hard drive so it isn't that small, but I really like it.
(only thing is you would have to connect it to the wall as it's not wireless, and has a long somewhat long cord)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 19 for LaCie 1TB Neil Poulton Desktop External Hard Drive

Just as Advertised

05/11/2011
By ,
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product at a great price through Wal-Mart. I was able to back up my entire desktop and laptop without missing a beat. The system backs up all of your files while you continue to work! Plus, this was delivered to my house in 5 business days with no additional charges.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 20 for LaCie 1TB Neil Poulton Desktop External Hard Drive

Good value

05/19/2011
By ,
Pittsburg, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At the present time I am just using this product for backup and it is really more that I need but for the price, I didn't figure I could go wrong. I just hope that it keeps working but only time will tell. I don't believe it has a cooling fan it it but I wish that it did.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1 2 3 Next