Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Canon Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Optical Image Stabilizer Telephoto Zoom Lens (2044B0020)

Canon Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Optical Image Stabilizer Telephoto Zoom Lens (2044B0020)

Designed with Canon's Optical Image Stabilizer technology, this Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Optical Image Stabilizer Telephoto Zoom Lens is incredibly compact and lightweight. You'll love this Canon EF-S Lens as the high zoom ratio is equivalent to a focal length of an 88-400mm in the 35mm format (when used on Canon EOS cameras compatible with EF-S lenses). The image stabilizer effect of this Canon Telephoto Lens is equivalent to a shutter speed about 4 stops faster than the same size lens without Image Stabilizer. This Canon EF-S Lens also uses a UD-glass lens element to correct chromatic aberration for excellent image quality throughout the zoom range. Get this Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Optical Image Stabilizer Telephoto Zoom Len for excellent image quality.
Average Customer Rating:
4.621 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(211 Reviews) 159
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
147
4 stars
53
3 stars
8
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation96%202 out of 211reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 106 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
147
4 stars
53
3 stars
8
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Optical Image Stabilizer Telephoto Zoom Lens (2044B0020)

A quality product

07/01/2009
By ,
Olympia WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The image stabizer on this lens works well. Great color and details.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Optical Image Stabilizer Telephoto Zoom Lens (2044B0020)

Good Lens/Great Price

06/29/2010
By ,
Williamsburg, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought it and gave it a workout the next day. I took over 300 photos. Shot indoors and outdoors and it performed well in both situations. IS works great, auto focus works great, overall I would say good lens at a great price. A little fuzzy at the 250mm end but for the price you can't beat it. I took some portraits of my neice that turned out beautiful. This lens on the Rebel XTi is a great pair for photography at a reasonable price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Optical Image Stabilizer Telephoto Zoom Lens (2044B0020)
08/07/2009
By ,
Fresno, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only used this lens a few times, but it is a great lens. Stays very clear at full zoom. Here are two pictues that I took at full zoom (250).
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Optical Image Stabilizer Telephoto Zoom Lens (2044B0020)

Amazing lens for the money!!! Love it!!

07/05/2012
By ,
Portland, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my new favorite lens.
I have been using it for everything! Weddings, babies, pets (see examples).
Highly recommended!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Optical Image Stabilizer Telephoto Zoom Lens (2044B0020)
03/25/2012
By ,
Springfield, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice lens for when you are ready to "go one step above" the lens that comes with your camera. You will definitely be able to tell the difference weight-wise. It's a little heavy. It also drains your camera battery life a little faster. By faster I mean instead of having 8 hours of battery life, you might get 6.5 hours when using the bigger lens. Not so bad that I would not purchase this lens again. I have two batteries so it's not a big deal. Unlike the lens that comes with your camera, when you hold the button half way down prior to taking the picture, you will hear a noise. At first I thought there was something wrong with the lens but I contacted Canon and was assured that this was normal. Having said all that, it takes great, sharp, up close pictures. I am just an average person who enjoys taking pictures of family, friends and anything that moves. Not even close to a professional. But the lens makes my pictures look close enough to professional for me. :-) I would definitely recommend this lens.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Optical Image Stabilizer Telephoto Zoom Lens (2044B0020)

Wonderful

09/15/2010
By ,
Luther, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love this lens! I have got some GREAT shots. No complaints here! In the picture, I am a little more than 1/2 a mile away. (wish it would show a little bigger so you could see better) Just took it this morning.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Optical Image Stabilizer Telephoto Zoom Lens (2044B0020)

Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Optical Image Stabi

02/18/2011
By ,
Onancock, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product does meet my expections and then some. I love that I am able to take close-ups of the birds in flight. I actually can see the wing span of the bird. This is quite important to me, as I am an artist and I need to see detail.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Optical Image Stabilizer Telephoto Zoom Lens (2044B0020)

Great Lens, Great Photos, Great Value

07/02/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After a ton of research and nail-biting, I chose this lens as my first upgrade from the 18-55mm kit lens, that came with my new Canon Rebel XS.
I love it. For the price, I don't think I could have purchased a better lens.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Optical Image Stabilizer Telephoto Zoom Lens (2044B0020)

well worth the price

02/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a replacement lens for me. I bought this lens not wanting to spend too awful much as I am not a professional just like taking photos of my children and family. And this lens works wonderful for that !! It takes wonderful clear pictures and 10x's better lens than what came with my camera !
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Optical Image Stabilizer Telephoto Zoom Lens (2044B0020)
09/26/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this lens! As a beginner to slr photography I think this lens is a great accessory.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Optical Image Stabilizer Telephoto Zoom Lens (2044B0020)

A great 'kit' lens

07/14/2010
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recieved this lens as part of my Canon T2i kit. It actually takes pretty great pictures. So far, I haven't needed more telephoto than this offers, but I don't take wildlife shots (yet) either. The IS system does it's job well, and I don't have any problems with the lens focus speed either. Very clear, bright, sharp photos with this lens. I'm no professional however- so but I doubt that if you are a pro you're buying anything buy L glass anyway.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Optical Image Stabilizer Telephoto Zoom Lens (2044B0020)

Great lens for a great price!!

08/18/2011
By ,
West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this lens for zoom purposes, as an upgrade from the kit lens. I am very pleased, it does exactly what I want it to, and I didn't have to pay a huge price. I use it for amateur photography, but I get some awesome pictures. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a nice lens, but not an expensive one!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Optical Image Stabilizer Telephoto Zoom Lens (2044B0020)

A good second lens for more distant shots

10/10/2012
By ,
Stayton, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The basic Canon DSLR's (T3, T3i) come with what is called the EF-S 18-55mm IS "kit lens". A good lens for general purpose use, it's zoom capabilities run out a couple hundred feet away. That's where this lens takes over, with the ability to zoom in on smaller objects in the near distance and larger objects in the much further distance than the 18-55mm lens. With image stabilization built-in, I got good photographs with it off the deck of a cruise ship in mildly rolling seas without any difficulty. Professional reviews with the specifications of the lens can be found at multiple locations online.
The price of the lens at Wal-Mart is middle of the road - it's $50 off retail, but it can be gotten for cheaper online. However, there is a certain comfort in knowing that if there are problems it can be returned to Wal-Mart, and I also was able to pick it up at my local Wal-Mart the day after ordering it online, which I couldn't have done with an online-only retailer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Optical Image Stabilizer Telephoto Zoom Lens (2044B0020)

There's better

12/14/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: It has a long zoom range. It has Image Stabilization. Beginner Portraits for cheap
Cons: Slow lens, especially at the long end (f/5.6). IS helps, but you don't get the really nice out of focus background. It isn't really sharp. Its acceptable, if you're only doing 4x6 photos and some 8x10s.
Given the cons, I'd skip it. I like really sharp optics.
Buy this lens if: This is your first canon DSLR and you're used to point and shoots. If you don't plan on doing big enlargements. If you want a lens good for doing amateur portraits (the slight un-sharpness of this lens makes it so you don't see so many skin imperfections).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Optical Image Stabilizer Telephoto Zoom Lens (2044B0020)

Good for still pictures.

10/31/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This lens is very good for taking still pictures but it's not good for video. The auto-focus does not use a stepper motor and is noisy. You can hear it quite clearly while watching a video made using this lens to the point of being a distraction.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Optical Image Stabilizer Telephoto Zoom Lens (2044B0020)

Great telephoto lens to complement your kit lens

09/01/2010
By ,
NC, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
his is the first lens that I've purchased and kept outside my kit lens (18-55). I mentioned kept because believe it or not, I bought the 70-200 F4L non-IS. I won't be giving any technical review about this lens as that is pretty much covered by the other reviewers here. I'll just share my story to help out other beginners who are having a hard time as well contemplating on what lens to get to complement their kit lens.
At first, I definitely wanted to buy a telephoto lens so I can shoot objects from a distance and I really like to try the lens out in a zoo. I then narrowed my choices between EF 70-300 IS USM and 70-200 F4L non-IS (didn't want 55-250 then because I didn't like the plastic mount). Since the latter would end up costing almost the same or even less (comes with hood and pouch plus the free filter amazon offers), I went for it without even thinking. Before the package arrived, I already had second thoughts and tried to cancel the item. Since I tried out the amazon prime 2 day shipping, the package came really fast so I wasn't able to cancel but returned it as soon as I got it.
So why did I return the 70-200 F4L and settled for an EF-S 55-250?
- I don't get paid taking pictures, it's just a hobby.
- No one will really sit down and scrutinize the pictures I take. All Canon lenses take great shots compared to other brands. It's not like I'm posting the pictures I take in the net for public view.
- The beige color of the L lens is somewhat too loud for me. I don't want people to think I have that much cash or evern comment that I only have an XS body.
- No IS, I realized that I really need IS because I don't have any plans of getting a tripod soon and my hands are really shaky.
- Cost!
- Weight.
- Performance of 55-250 that I was able to research over the net. Of course it's nothing comapred to the L lens, no doubt about that. But if the pictures are viewed alone, without comparing to L lens, they are great.
- Max range is only at 200, I get an extra 50mm with 55-250.
- Missing the 56-69 mm.
Ok, the last 2 are just for my piece of mind because I opted with 55-250 but they don't really matter if you have the L lens. If you do become a pro in the future, you'd definitely get something better than the 70-200 F4L.
Bottom line, this lens is no where in the league of L lenses. As one of the reviewers mentioned, it does the job. For value of money, I really love this lens. About the plastic mount, I realized that I wouldn't be using my camera that hard anyway. Plus, it'll be lighter.
I'm going to steal one of the reviews I read, it basically says that if you like the performance of your kit lens (18-55), you'll defintely like this as well. I totally agree, fast AF, sharp pictures, longer range version of 18-55.
Note that this is NOT a comparison between L lens and 55-250, or even 70-300. Just a decision experience that I wanted to share with a number of beginners out there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+95points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Optical Image Stabilizer Telephoto Zoom Lens (2044B0020)

i love this lens

02/25/2011
By ,
indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so sick of taking my kid to get his pics done at a studio and only getting okay looking pics. So i decided that i could do it myself, or at least try. I was so surprised that a lens at this price would be so great and the pics I'm getting of my kid now are wonderful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Optical Image Stabilizer Telephoto Zoom Lens (2044B0020)

Excellent value

08/10/2010
By ,
Boston, MA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The 55-250 is not the most expensive of lenses, and the build quality reflects that price point. With significant use of lightweight plastic it is easy to tell the difference in quality between this lens and, say, a 15-85. With that said, the 55-250 is an excellent bargain - the optics are very good and there is no noticeable wobble even when fully zoomed, so if you can pick it up for a price you are comfortable with (right around $200 would be right) then you definitely should.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Optical Image Stabilizer Telephoto Zoom Lens (2044B0020)

Works Well

09/16/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While the lens seems to work just fine and it acts exactly how I had expected it to, it seems just a little cheaply made to me. I am used to Nikon products and bought this lens to go with my new Canon EOS Rebel T2i. I wanted a DSLR that could shoot 1080p video, and its hard to argue with Canon's 18 megapixels. So far the camera has been awesome, and this lens has done what I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Maryville, TN
Nikon adapter
Posted 11/30/2012
If you have any Nikon lenses, have you thought about buying a lens adapter? I have always used minolta, and have some great long lenses. I bought my daughter a minolta-to-canon adapter so she can use my lenses. Mounts up nicely. Of course, all being as they are, and older lenses, she will have to use them in manual mode.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Optical Image Stabilizer Telephoto Zoom Lens (2044B0020)

Once upon a time

05/02/2011
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used the lens extensively in the past two weeks. From stills to motion indoors and out. If you have done any review on this lens you will have read this isn't a Canon L series lens. The value is that a $250 lens with image stabilization works. The images are sharp (better than the kit lenses). The Image Stabilization (IS) lets you step down a few F stops but not 4 like Canon advertises. The IS can stop some of the photographers shake. This lens has a plastic mount (not good if you are rough on lenses), is fairly light and has a plastic feel to it. For $250 you get a decent telephoto lens that works. If you want more reviews research it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 95 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next