Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Beer Mr. Beer Premium Edition Home Microbrewery Kit

Mr. Beer Mr. Beer Premium Edition Home Microbrewery Kit

With the Mr. Beer Premium Edition Beer Kit, you can brew 2 gallons of beer in just 2 weeks. This reusable brewery kit includes a 2-gallon fermenter, refill brew backs, and eight reusable plastic bottles with caps and labels. Made from FDA compliant plastic, the reusable fermenter is lightweight and shatter resistant. The included 4-step instructions make it easy to brew your own beer. A perfect gift for any occasion, this Mr. Beer home microbrewery kit is the cost-effective way of brewing West Coast Pale Ale premium beer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation93%13 out of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mr. Beer Premium Edition Home Microbrewery Kit

Fun starter kit with everything

08/31/2009
By ,
Montgomery, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The kit comes with everything to make your first 3.7% alc/vol beer. It makes 2 gallons (~8 liters) and takes 4 weeks. The sales pitch always says ready in 2 weeks, but that's rushing it. Normally fermentation takes 2 weeks in the keg they give you and carbonation takes another 2 weeks in the bottles they also give you. The “gotcha” for most people is during both fermenting and carbonation, you need to keep the keg/bottles in a dark place at about 70 degrees. Not doing this contaminates the process, messes with the yeast, and causes the skunky taste. I actually ended up buying a small fridge and a Johnson Control thermostat to regulate the environment better after my first batch.
Buying the refill kits from walmart instead of mr. beer also saves a ton on shipping alone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mr. Beer Premium Edition Home Microbrewery Kit

PERFECT for beginner brewing!

11/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have brewed a couple batches of beer with other equipment before, when I stumbled onto a Mr. Beer kit. I went ahead and bought it. The Mr. Beer kit is ABSOLUTELY PERFECT for beginner home brewing! The brews I have done in the past were more complex and took quite a long time to do. Mr. Beer, as their website says, is about as easy as it can get. Honestly, when I first got into brewing, I was very intimidated because I was scared of completely screwing it up - it came with directions but it was a pretty involved process. I wish I had started with something as simple as the Mr. Beer kit. I STRONGLY recommend this to anyone wanting to learn about brewing, is clueless about the whole process like I was, and wants to dip their foot in to test the waters. The process is fun and easy, you get a good example of what is involved in brewing, and the cost per bottle is comparable to cheap party beer but tastes a whole lot better. Also, Wal Mart online offers the 3-pack refills for thirty bucks, plus free shipping to your local store. GET IT. It's the best deal on refills anywhere, period. The only downside is Wal Mart doesn't carry more variety on refills!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mr. Beer Premium Edition Home Microbrewery Kit

Good Hobby

03/17/2010
By ,
Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Makes good beer the first time with easy to follow instructions.Not as time consuming as I thought and really very simple.I had everything I needed with this kit and common kitchen utensils.Read the brewing book in addition to the instructions before you get started.There is more helpful info in the book.The website Mrbeer.com is very good also.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mr. Beer Premium Edition Home Microbrewery Kit

G.O.#1

02/25/2010
By ,
Tikrit, IQ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
when deployed over seas beer is not allowed. So if your willing to bend the rules...this little gem is a god send. perfect for that hush hush relaxing late night. note: wal mart is NOT responsable for your actions.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mr. Beer Premium Edition Home Microbrewery Kit

home brewery

01/07/2013
By ,
Maquoketa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good home brewery. At first, you have all the stuff you need to bew 2 gallons of beer. If you do it the way they say it, it comes really good. The only problem is: where can I find the refills at ? I got the entire pack 2 weeks ago, i brewed it and now that i want to do it again, I can't find any place where I could buy more malt extract. I tried Theisen's, WalMart... The only option is to buy it on MrBeer's website but it doesn't work if you don't have a credit card (like me). Anybody got a solution ?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mr. Beer Premium Edition Home Microbrewery Kit

Mr Beer - Great Gift

03/16/2009
By ,
WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a gift for my husband. He just loves it. It's easy to use and he was very happy with the results.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mr. Beer Premium Edition Home Microbrewery Kit
01/02/2010
By ,
Aransas Pass,tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased Mr. Beer, for a christmas present to my brother, and he loved it. He has his first batch already aging. I thought it was an awesome gift, now other members of my family requested it as a gift for them also, in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mr. Beer Premium Edition Home Microbrewery Kit
09/21/2009
By ,
Maine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is exactly what I wanted to get started with this hobby. The end result is about the same price as buying from the store except this is fun to do. I like showing off to people what I have done.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Mr. Beer Premium Edition Home Microbrewery Kit
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5