Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Okuma Fishing Tackle Corp Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 65 Reel

Okuma Fishing Tackle Corp Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 65 Reel

The Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 65 Reel is one of the top ones in the category with its patented on/off auto trip function. With this function, you can disengage the spool with a simple rear adjustment and allow the line to run freely. This mechanism makes the fish that picks up the bait to run with little resistance. You can then set the hook and fight the fish with the drag system on the Okuma Avenger reel. The gear ratio of four and a half to one allows you to retrieve the bait quickly. The multi-disk Japanese oiled washers on this baitfeeder spinning reel provides maximum fish fighting power with a consistent smooth-hand drag operation. The Hydro Block watertight drag seal retains its superior braking function even when wet or under the strain of a bigger catch. Made from stainless steel, the ball bearings resist corrosion and render smooth operation. The reeling gear is made from precision machine-cut brass and ensures optimum strength.
Average Customer Rating:
4.852 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%61 out of 61reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 37 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 65 Reel

Performed flawlessly first outing

02/08/2013
By ,
Conroe, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were fortunate enough to catch two bull reds on our first fishing trip with two Okuma 65's. One was 35 inches long and the other was 44 inches long. The drag performed smoothly with no suggestion of grabbing or irregular chatter. It was smooth as butter. One of the best features of these reels is the "fish finder".
After you cast out, you engage the fish finder lever and now the line can be taken out by the fish at an adjustable drag tension so the fish does not feel the rod until you start cranking the reel handle. Then the main drag takes over without any adjustment at all.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 65 Reel
06/15/2011
By ,
Greenville, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an amazing reel for a paylake catfishermen i love this reel so much i have only caught 1 fish but it held up prefectly i love this reel the baitfeeder is really nice and it i got in a 21lb cat with it i would say this is a great reel for beginers because i am only 14 and so it fits prefect for me but also a good reel for more expericed people because my dad also uses this reel on his rod to go cat fishing and when i get enough money i am going to buy another one of these reels also
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 65 Reel

works great

08/06/2009
By ,
Williamstown MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the reel performed flawlessly, caught 3 carp in the 25-30 pound range and it worked great, the bait feeder option is the way to go. the reel is actually a little bigger than i thought it would be, now looking at the ABF 50 to replace my aging Penn Good luck fishing and dont forget to take a kid with you :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 65 Reel

Readey for Bubba

04/21/2010
By ,
Camp Springs, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second reel of this type that I have bought from Walmart. It is quite similar to my Avenger Reel.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 65 Reel

one of a kind price to quality ratio

11/09/2009
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
okuma makes great reels at very affordable prices with high built quality and this is one of their best. for 44$ you get so much quality that you will not get even with reels costing more than 300$ (e.g. my $350 Daiwa Infinity X5000BR). this reel works so smooth, it's a pleasure to use. i own two of these and would recommend these to anyone who needs an affordable big pit bait feeder reel of high quality. the only thing that i don't like the reel is the golder paint on some of its bolt heads and spool rim. if these were the same color as the rest of the reel (gray) the reel would have been a lot more stylish. that's not a big drawback though...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 65 Reel

Okuma ABF65

04/13/2011
By ,
SanFranTahoe, CalNeva.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, it was a fantastic price! Lower than Cabela's. Second, FREE shipping "site to store"!
And third, a great product. I have a Penn Slammer760 live liner and quality wise, this Okuma is close. Plus you get an extra spool and the benefit of having a lever to shut off the anti-reverse! My Penn doesn't have that feature.
And finally, Walmart service was excellent!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 65 Reel
08/09/2009
By ,
Rhode Island
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Saltwater reel. I use it with 12 foot surf rod and 30 pound Spiderwire (8 lb diameter) casts very well and bait feeder drag tells you when a fish is on.
Will probably buy a second for my other rod.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 65 Reel

Fine reel for the money

09/16/2014
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality reel for the money
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 65 Reel

Excellent Reel For the Price

11/20/2009
By ,
Fort Lauderdale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My brother bought this reel from Cabella's for $65. Wal-mart pricing $20 cheaper. You can't go wrong. Suggested to anyone wanting to try big-game fishing. I use this reel with 40lb braided line and a 7ft. Ugly Stik Tiger rod. Surf and Pier fishing in ocean and catfishing in the everglades. It can handle anything you throw at it. Performance really smooth. Although you can't tell from the picture, this reel is rather bulky, and is not suggested for your normal everyday fisherman. Haven't really used the baitfeeder function, but it is a nice option of the reel. Casts smooth as silk. Really smooth reeling in, you always feel in control of the fish. Can't say enough good things about the reel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 65 Reel

Nice Reel

09/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The reel is balanced , smooth and tough. Just a little bigger than I wanted , but that's ok too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 65 Reel
09/26/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great reel for the surf. Lots of line capacity, especially if using braid. Very smooth.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 65 Reel

Great Catfish Reel

02/19/2010
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great channel cat reel, I don't fish for blues or flathead. The ABF65 will handle fish up to 25 pounds (accidentally caught a flathead). Used in conjunction with an Eagle Claw Cat Claw 8' rod and trilene XT 20 lb line. The bait feeder option works very well for finicky cats, when they hit you will hear it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 65 Reel

Watch out Shimano

03/20/2009
By ,
Gulf Coast,Ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never owned anything but Shimano reels...so when it came time to replace one of my baitrunner reels, I happened to run across this reel at walmart...I decided to get it simply because the price was so good...I was blown away by how well built this reel is...It gives Shimano a run for its money...I am going to order two more, and give my older baitrunners to a friend...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 65 Reel

Great Reel

02/26/2011
By ,
Boonville, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought 2 and put them on a 10' Berkley Glow Sticks for catfish'n and it's a great setup. Reel works great and the bait clicker really helps while fishing at night. Walmart's price couldn't be beat and got them in 4 days!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 65 Reel

Great Reel

06/02/2010
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this reel for the intent of big game fish.I'm here to tell you this reel is as good as the name thats on it.I have used this reel twice since I've purchased it just a couple of weeks ago and its as smooth as any Phluegher or Penn that I own.You want be disappointed with this reel and for the price you want beat it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 65 Reel

A very good reel for the money

09/25/2009
By ,
Castro Valley, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very good reel but I had to return it and order another one because this one had a bad drag. It sticks with every revolution so it was a lemon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 65 Reel
07/26/2011
By ,
St. Marys, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very durable. Great set hook feature that allows the fish to run with your line instead of pulling it in the water. With one switch you set the hook. If you're wanting to go fishing for the big ones this is the reel for you. I would buy this again! Plus its a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 65 Reel

First Time Buyer

11/07/2009
By ,
Bronx, Nw York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have heard of Okuma products for a few years and decided to give this reel a try. I shopped around online and this was also the cheapest price! I purchased 2 of them.
I was extrememly pleased with the look and feel of the reel. The extra spool is a big Plus! I have used it at least 10 times since September and am pleased with the way it hangles overall. It casts really far and the retrieve is Fast and smooth! The BaitFeeder feature is a joy to use. I love to hear that
drag when a fish picks up the bait and runs with it. I have caught only small blues so far with it but will be going for Stripers soon!
Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 65 Reel

A reasonable priced spinning reel

08/13/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this reel. It feels good and is well balanced.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 65 Reel

Awesome Huge Reel

09/08/2012
By ,
SSM, Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This reel i just got two of them today and i must say they are huge, everything i wanted and expected a huge reel that can hold a lot of line. I have 20lb test line 0.45 thinkness and i bought a spool that had 570yds i am lucky if there is at lest 30-50 hards left on the line spool between the two reels.
I am using them on 6.6" Ugly Stick Rods and yes they are much heavier then i have used before, but for what they can hold in line and the quality of the reels is Awesome.
Walmart has the best price on them no matter what, i ordered site to store and WOW i ordered last Thursday and Paid at store Last Friday and they Arrived Yesterday, picked them up today Sat Sept 8, 2012. Thats a week shipping even though they said 7-14 days.
Walmart is Awesome!
The reels are of High Quality and smooth casting is smooth, reel is smooth, the baitfeeder works awesome, make sure you setup the Front Drag as when u let off the Feeder drag you don't want your fish to break your line or still that it to oblivion.
The anti-Reverse bearing is Awesome, but takes some getting used too at first as to when you should stop the Bail in order to Cast, so just takes a few times to know.
I am going salmon fishing soon as i caught a 16lb Chinook 4 days ago on the Cheapy reels the ugly sticks came with, but remember This 15lb Test line only gave me around 200 FEET of line an d boy i almost lost the fish, so i am glad these new reels came in.
I will post how bad or good they are at standing up t salmon, but from what i read these reals stood up to 150lb fish, so 16-25lb salmon is nothing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 57 total reviews
1 2 3 Next