Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Okuma Fishing Tackle Corp Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 40 Reel

Okuma Fishing Tackle Corp Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 40 Reel

The Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder is one of the top bait feeders on the market. It features six stainless-steel ball bearings, as well as a 4:5:1 gear ratio. This bait feeder stands up to saltwater and corrosion, making it an ideal saltwater reel. The patented on/off auto trip bait feeding function means you won't miss a bite. The Hydro Block watertight drag seal on this bait feeder reel gives you years of catching big fish. Also comes with a spare G-tech spool system.
Average Customer Rating:
4.839 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation97%30 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 34 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 40 Reel

First bait feeder reel

03/18/2014
By ,
Southport, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is first bait feeder reel for me. I have used so far just off our dock for catfish and reel is exactly what i needed and expected. When weather warms, will use in the intercoastal and creeks around Southport and Oak Island. Spooled it with Ande 12# high vis green line and so far so good, nothing large so far but reel works very well on a 7 foot MH Shimano spinning rod, very well balanced. Will report later this spring after some salt water fishing results.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 40 Reel

Excellent Product

07/10/2010
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased 10 of the Okuma Avengers. I have several of the ABF 65's and several of the ABF 40's. I use the 65's for monster catfish and I use the 40's for carp mostly. These reels stand up to the most harsh environment you can imagine. If you are looking for a bait feeding reel that meets all expectations for an amazing value, THIS IS THE ONE!!!
Attached is a 35lb 10oz flathead catfish that I caught easily with these reels.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 40 Reel

worth checking out

02/21/2010
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My brother turned me on to these reels 2 yrs ago and this is my sixth one. I gave one to my fishing buddy and he loves his as well. Handles saltwater as advertised, without corrosion or rust. Each reel comes with a spare spool a sturdy bail and easy to reel handle. I especially like the lightweight construction for casting lures.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 40 Reel

Sweet!!!

06/05/2010
By ,
Lodi ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this Reel for striper and catfish fishing out in the California delta. It worked out perfectly. I spooled it with 15# maxima line and put it on a 10' ugly stick... It's the perfect size for this setup. I strongly recommend anyone looking for a reel that's made for bait fishing to pick one of these up..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 40 Reel

wonderful Value

11/10/2009
By ,
Brainerd, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband had been looking for a replacement reel for the one he had lost in Mexico and finally found this one. It is an excellent value and every bit as nice or nicer than the Shimano that he had preciously owned ( and a lot less expensive also). He is very happy with the quality of the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 40 Reel

Just plain great for the money

02/05/2013
By ,
Spacecost
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you want a good all-around reel that you plan to use once a week, once a month, twice a year, get this one and put it on the lightest Ugly Stik you can find, and you you have (1) great baitfeeder capability for live bait, (2) very good casting and retrieval of lures, and (3) the ability to land the big ones with no problemo. It will take 12-lb mono, or 50-lb braid with no issues. Rinse it off gently after each use and it should last years. I have two Okumas (a big 65-series Coronado and this one), fish several times a week, and use the Okumas as much as or more than my Shimanos and Daiwas (I don't have any Penns, but the Fierce reels seem nice for the price -- and I'm all about value).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 40 Reel

great all around reel

06/28/2012
By ,
Homestead FL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What can be said about Okuma's that their owners don't already know. Best drag on a reel in the business, saltwater proof means it is, they cast great, bait feeder never fails to trip, or ingauge. Okuma is the best reel for the money, no matter what price range you buy in, all the way up to their Makia series saltwater open top. I own several Okuma's, from the 40's,50, 65, all in ABF series, two Classic's, and the Makia. Absolutely the best bang for the buck !!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 40 Reel

Great Reel

08/10/2012
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son landed a 24.2 pound carp last night and he is just 11 years old with this reel. It put up a great fight but the reel did not flinch. The drag is so smooth and a pleasure to use. We have not had the reels but a couple of months but have already caught maybe a hundred carp on four of these reels. They seem to handle the pressure well and are still going strong. After fishing I just hose them down and wipe them off. I added some hotsauce to them, dont know if it needed it but I figured it would not hurt.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 40 Reel

seems good

11/13/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used it first time in the gulf yesterday, seems like a nice reel, everything works as stated, drag is very smooth as the whole reel is. Bait feeder feature works very good, makes it really easy to get out of the rod holder when you have something pulling on it!! Caught several small shark on it and it is more than capable. I am used to a smaller reel and will need to get used to it, also used to a faster line retrieve same there, a matter of getting used to it. You can't beat the value here, it is really smooth especially at such a low price! Go for it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 40 Reel
03/24/2009
By ,
Hamilton,NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great reel, well balanced. Good for larger freshwater fish (Carp,Catfish) and light saltwater.
Smooth baitfeeder drag.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 40 Reel

Great Surf Casting Reel!!

10/13/2013
By ,
Topsail Beach, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned an Okuma Avenger 50 on a 10 ft surf rod for about 4 years with no problems - it's been a great reel - so when I needed to replace an Epixor on a 9 ft surf rod, this was a no brainer. You really can't beat these reels for the money. Smooth casting and the bait feeder light drag system works flawlessly. One quick turn of the handle and the main drag engages for the hook set and working that fish to the beach. Low maintenence, reliable and fun to fish with - no down side to an Okuma Avenger 40 or 50 Bait Feeder.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 40 Reel

Great reel

08/31/2011
By ,
Calif.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it got the 40 and will be getting the 50 later good feel I have had other brands a at 2 - 3 times the price, and this is just as good. The wife also loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 40 Reel

Great Cat fish reel

05/13/2012
By ,
Eastern panhandle of WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this reel mainly for cat fishing at night. The bait feeding system works great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 40 Reel

Okuma Avenger 40 Reel

08/09/2013
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent price, better than the sport outlets. This reel is a great reel, I use it for strippers and salmon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 40 Reel

great product!

04/26/2013
By ,
Savannah. Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own two Okuma Coronada series reels and couldn't be more happy. When I saw the Avenger 40 series was available for less than 50$, I had to have it. I bought two and will use it for light to medium saltwater action, and if they perform anything like thier larger cousins I'm sure to be very pleased! The 2 year replacement plan was also too good to pass up. Happy fishing!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 40 Reel

ehh...

06/06/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i had the 6500 and liked it enough to get a smaller one... this one however broke on my first cast... walmart has replaced it so I will try again...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 40 Reel

Love this reel

04/07/2013
By ,
Hyde Park NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Caught 4 brook trout today with the reel, this is my third Okuma and they are a very good value. I usually go after large lakers and browns. The reel performs well every time. It's the only reel I use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 40 Reel
04/05/2013
By ,
Syracuse NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great reel at a great price. Bought for salt water. Nice size for surf fishing. Probably a little too big and heavy for continous spinning.Weighs about a pound !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 40 Reel
02/27/2013
By ,
Palm Coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the reel to go with a new rod from Walmart. On line price lower than store by prox. $15.00, same as Amazon. It has the capacity that I wanted and similar to reels I already have. Have two other Avenger reels also, no problems. good deal overall.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Okuma Avenger Bait Feeder 40 Reel

Excellent Reel for the money!

12/30/2009
By ,
Baltimore Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these reels. I first got introduced to them on a Chesapeake Bay stripped bass charter boat last spring where it was the only kind of reel the skipper had on board. I was pretty impressed with them and decided to get a couple for myself. I don't think there is another reel on the market that can compete with the value of these reels. They're super smooth, have plenty of drag power, and are very inexpensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next