Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Altec Lansing Altec Lansing Orbit-MP3 Portable Audio System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Altec Lansing Altec Lansing Orbit-MP3 Portable Audio System

The palm-sized, lightweight Orbit MP3 speaker system is an ideal iPod or MP3 player companion when you want a break from headphones.
Average Customer Rating:
3.889 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation67%6 out of 9reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Altec Lansing Orbit-MP3 Portable Audio System

Not What I Expected

12/26/2008
By ,
Owensboro, KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product was very disappointing to me. I tried to use it for my Zune 120 GB and I did not find the quality of the sound to be near what other reviews have stated. I suppose that it is an "okay" product if you have to have something for "on the go" and you have a good supply of batteries. Personally, for home use, I found that my Creative Labs PC speakers (about the same price) with a 3.5 connection worked 10 times better with a much more amazing sound. They do not require batteries, have stereo sound, separate volume control, and you can charge your Zune with your PC connection or separately purchased wall charger all at the same time. It really depends on your needs; however, I can't imagine this product being a wise choice for anyone. There are better options. I returned this and bought another pair of PC speakers just for use with my Zune. Works for me! I hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for Altec Lansing Orbit-MP3 Portable Audio System

Do not buy this if you want any kind of sound!

07/07/2009
By ,
Hot Springs, Ar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Althought this little speaker looked really neat online...and yes, we WERE looking for something small and portable....it has terrible sound. I was not expecting a HUGE LOUD sound....but I WOULD like a sound where I could at least understand the words of the songs we were playing. This little speaker is very cute...but is VERY "tin can" sounding...and has alot of static when played. We tryed turning it down, but still has mostly static. You can barely hear it unless you hold it to your ear. Turniing it up only results in more static...with a few words in between. This is a shame as it IS very cute AND WOULD be cool if it has even a DECENT sound. Sorry, I do not recommend this and will be returning it at my earliest convenience!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 3 for Altec Lansing Orbit-MP3 Portable Audio System

Awesome Speaker

11/22/2008
By ,
Johnson City, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As an associate in the electronics department this speaker caught my attention when we first got them in, however I had bought a small speaker before and was really unhappy with it, so it was returned. Our Anderson Rep. ended up using this speaker to promote a new mp3 player that we carry and I was blown away by the sound quality, I bought this one right away. It works wonderfully with my Zune, I couldn't be happier and it was well worth the money. I paid $14.99 in the store, and ended up buying the last one we had. If you're looking for a small portable speaker that will work for any mp3 player this is the way to go, it even comes with an adapter so you can play music off your phone if it has the headphone port.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Altec Lansing Orbit-MP3 Portable Audio System

Great sound for a little speaker

12/11/2008
By ,
Denham Springs, La.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little speaker is great when you don't want to use headphones. It's only about 3 and a half inches in diameter but it really sounds great for the size. I bought mine in the store after reading some very good reviews. It costs less in the store--14.88. It uses 3 AAA batteries on the bottom and has an on/off switch on the top that you turn like opening a jar (You control the volume with your mp3 player) I am really glad I bought this one because I can bring it around the house with me and also when I go to the beach.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Altec Lansing Orbit-MP3 Portable Audio System

A disappointing purchase

11/29/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I needed a small, very portable, external speaker for my iPod to play informal, weekly accompaniment for a children's group (Not performance! I was not expecting miracles!) Reviews I read previous to buying make me think this might play loudly enough for my purposes. At the volume I needed it to play, however, I got lots of static, and thus had nothing but frustration. Not recommended for anything but personal listening.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 6 for Altec Lansing Orbit-MP3 Portable Audio System

great quality

10/19/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works much better on my computer than it does with the mp3 player. This tells me that the speaker is not the problem, which really sounds great on my computers stereo system, and that it is, in-fact, the mp3 player that causes the 'good, but not awesome' sound. Problem is, I bought it to hear the mp3 player on-the-go. I give this thing 2 thumbs up. It deserves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for Altec Lansing Orbit-MP3 Portable Audio System
09/22/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little speaker kicks out so much more than I thought it would. When I have it plugged into my zune, it sounds like an actual stereo, even into the rest of the house!
It doesn't translate computer sound, well, there is a lot of feedback.
Strongly recommend for an mp3 player. Make sure you have batteries!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Altec Lansing Orbit-MP3 Portable Audio System

Great Little Speaker w/Big Sound!

11/06/2008
By ,
Providence, RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little speaker for portable music. Plenty of volume with my iPod Touch. Sound simulates stereo with only one speaker. Similar to my Bose Wave radio. Got mine for only $15.00 at WallyWorld. Great value and sound for the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Altec Lansing Orbit-MP3 Portable Audio System

What a great speaker!

12/01/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great sound, great price! Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points