Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Koolatron Koolatron P20 Compact 12V Cooler

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Koolatron Koolatron P20 Compact 12V Cooler

Average Customer Rating:
4.123 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation86%49 out of 57reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Koolatron P20 Compact 12V Cooler

Of limited use. Koolatron P25 is much better

07/19/2009
By ,
CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The P20 has inner walls that slope inward sothat the base WxL is smaller than the lid opening WxL. It is so small at the base that you cannot seat the all too popular ZipLock square storage containers. It is primarily intended to fit between the front driver and passenger captain chairs in a minivan that has no center console. Additionally, the cooling element protrudes inside the front wall, further reducing the inner space. Cleaning would be difficult since the cooling element and fan must never get wet.
I tried the Coleman 16-Quart thermo-electric cooler. The base is a hair too small to seat two of the square ZipLock containers side by side. The cooling element is built in the hinged lid, which leaves more space for storage. However the fan is noisy.
Finally, I tried and loved the Koolatron P25. It has a very roomy interior, has superior insulation, has the cooling element built into a detachable lid, which makes rinsing the container much easier, and finally has a very quiet fan. The only small negative is the absence of a red LED from the cigarette lighter plug to confirm that cooler is running.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+27points
Review 2 for Koolatron P20 Compact 12V Cooler

Worked great!

05/31/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought the cooler to store our son's insulin for a 1700 mile road trip. The cooler worked great without any problems. We got the converter to plug in the cooler at the hotel and that worked great too! I checked many other websites for prices on the cooler and converter and Walmart had the best price. I had it shipped to our local Walmart so shipping was free. The cooler noise was minimal. We couldn't hear it at all when we were driving. The cooler was large enough for my son's medication, a half gallon of milk and several bottles of water.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+29points
Review 3 for Koolatron P20 Compact 12V Cooler

A very handy item for road trips

09/30/2011
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Koolatron P20 Compact 12 volt Cooler easily fits behind the driver's seat in our car so it can be easily accessed by the passenger, and keeps sodas, snacks, fruits and vegetables, and other items at a good temperature. It is also easily transported and can be brought into a motel room and plugged in if you have a 12-volt adapter so you don't have to load and unload items into a motel refrigerator. The only drawback is the configuration makes it difficult to reach items on the bottom, but careful packing can overcome this. I've thought about perhaps a small rack that would fit into the cooler to make it easier, but haven't found anything yet. The Walmart price was the best by far when I looked for the cooler on the Internet. The cooler can also be used as a heater, but I have not used it in that mode. You have to be careful in plugging in the power cord because if you plug it in the wrong way it heats instead of cools!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 4 for Koolatron P20 Compact 12V Cooler

great find!

04/12/2009
By ,
San Francisco, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just used this cooler on a multi day road trip from San Francisco to San Diego - kept it plugged in while driving and then at night, brought it into the hotel rooms and plugged it in with the adapter (purchased separately) The only downside is that I noticed some of the stuff froze in it, not sure why - but I'd rather the stuff freeze than melt and need to be thrown away!
What a great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+13points
Review 5 for Koolatron P20 Compact 12V Cooler

I'm Happy With It!

09/14/2009
By ,
Salt Lake City, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product to keep things cold while traveling, insulin being not the least of which. I have a hatchback type vehicle but I didn't want to take all my luggage space up with a cooler. This cooler is a very good size as I can keep several sodas or like items in it without taking up the whole luggage area. Since it stands in vertical dimension it fits neatly to one side leaving plenty of room for whatever else I may want to stow. My vehicle has a DC plug in the hatch area, but the power cord that came with it seems long enough to reach forward of most other vehicles.
I've taken a couple trips of 700 plus miles and it did a wonderful job of keeping my stuff cold without freezing. It also kept my items cold after I drove for a couple hours and left if parked in direct sun for several more hours without power. I would recommend a user not leave it powered while parked as it would run off car battery the entire time, although this wasn't an issue to me. It also has the ability to heat as well as cool, but I don't think I will use that function; it is an added feature however.
In summary: Good size and dimension for practical use with good cooling function. I am happy with the purchase and I would recommend the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 6 for Koolatron P20 Compact 12V Cooler

great soda cooler

04/09/2009
By ,
St.Clair,Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I keep this cooler running 18hr days 6days a week in my dump truck and never had problem !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 7 for Koolatron P20 Compact 12V Cooler

Great for Trips

06/29/2011
By ,
Bryan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchsed the Koolatron because I was taking my family on our first long road trip. I wanted to have the ability to have cold items without the mess and fuss of ice. Our trip took 10 days and over 3500 miles going through 9 states. The trip went great in part because of the Koolatron. It kept everything cold and in the colder states (in June the northern states are still in the 60's) it froze the food a bit. I have not had it running in the hot weather (one exception mentioned below), but in an a/c cooled Expedition and hotel rooms it work great. I wish it had some type of thermostat that could turn it off when the interior temp gets too cold or the outside temp is higher than the unit can cool to the current interior temp. Once we stopped for an extended period and the car temp warmed up pretty hot. The Koolatron continued running. It raised the temp in the chamber rather than shutting off to keep a cooler temp. I am not an engineer but I do not think that would be too hard. Overall a great purchase. It worked as advertised. I kept a thermometer in it at all times and found it does exactly what they claim- it is not a refrigerator - it cools the interior to about 40 degrees cooler than the outside temp. Hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+3points
Review 8 for Koolatron P20 Compact 12V Cooler

Love it!

11/03/2010
By ,
Chandler, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this cooler because we had a plug in one in the past but it was big and bulky so I was looking for something smaller that would fit in the backseat on the floor of the car and didn't want to mess with ice.
This cooler is perfect - fits great and is easy to access from the front seat while on the road. We also find that it is great to take with you into the hotel / motel room (get the adapter) to keep your things cold since most rooms do not come with a fridge, this is very handy. It is so compact yet holds a lot, I don't know what I would do without it now.
We love it and would recommend to anyone looking for a compact cooler you don't have to put ice in to keep things cold.
Kay
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 9 for Koolatron P20 Compact 12V Cooler

Great for on the road!

01/15/2011
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this cooler for my Bf who is an OTR trucker. He loves it. Fits nicely in the cubbie hole in his cab. He says that it's the perfect size for him. He is out on the road for 6 days--but says if he was out for a couple of weeks he would need a bigger one. But fits his needs well. It is light weight and easy to get into. He uses this with his lunchbox heater--so he can have meals anywhere. Keeps food very cold. I would definitely reccomend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 10 for Koolatron P20 Compact 12V Cooler

Something is missing

08/21/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this cooler to replace one that we used on the road daily (full time RVers). It does an excellent job of cooling but does not have a thermostat to regulated it. Consequently it ices up after about three days and has to be de-frosted. The size and ability to store tall drinks still makes it a great little cooler.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 11 for Koolatron P20 Compact 12V Cooler

Good option for travelers

07/19/2009
By ,
New York NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this cooler both while driving and while staying in hotels (the latter using the optional adapter). For the most part, it does a good job of keeping food quite cold. Although it will hold quite a bit, it works best when it is not packed full, allowing air to circulate around its contents. It is relatively quiet, and only occasionally does the cooling unit itself freeze up (i.e., cover up with ice, requiring defrosting). Overall this is a definite improvement over a previous cooler I had purchased from Coleman. NOTE: By reversing the plug, the unit can also be used to keep foods warm; but I have not used it in that manner.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Koolatron P20 Compact 12V Cooler
07/24/2011
By ,
Bellevue, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Holds tall bottles and cans, also holds larger gatorade bottles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 13 for Koolatron P20 Compact 12V Cooler

First Use and A Problem

07/19/2009
By ,
Fort Washington, MD
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I just used the cooler this weekend and I had a problem with it. The cord was hot to the touch and it blew two fuses. I now want to contact the company that made this cooler to find out waht to do about the problem
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Review 14 for Koolatron P20 Compact 12V Cooler

Ideal for truck drivers

01/07/2009
By ,
Chatsworth, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is an ideal size for truck drivers because of the limited space inside the cab. Works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for Koolatron P20 Compact 12V Cooler

Great Cooler

09/30/2011
By ,
bay area california
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased a Coleman cooler initially and brought it back to the store within a week. It barely kept things cool. Not worth the high price tag. We were hesitant to try another cooler, but we opted to try this one. Although it's smaller than the Coleman, it was like night and day and it was almost half the price of the other cooler. Everything inside the cooler is COLD! We are very happy with our purchase. It fits nicely behind the seat for long trips. If we ever had to replace it, we'd buy this one again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 16 for Koolatron P20 Compact 12V Cooler

LOVE IT!!!!!!!

10/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my 1st one lasted over 2 years of daily abuse! kept drinks colder than the large 40qt hero kind, no puddles of sweating from appliance/ref . for sanitary reasons, weekly/bimonthly i would empty and soak up small amount water in btm. of old unit and it lasted 2 1/2 years! most units i have tried, sweat soo much they freeze up cooling unit daily and pain in the .. not worth all the work! But not the case here, this jewel rocks!! i pray my 2nd is as dependable as 1st!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 17 for Koolatron P20 Compact 12V Cooler

Good for short jaunts.

10/07/2011
By ,
New Milford CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased because we were taking a fairly long trip & needed to take food on both legs of the trip & didn't want to be bothered by having to buy ice. The return trip also meant bringing some fresh frozen fish. The unit fit in the car where wanted. However, while the bottom of the cooler maintained a reasonable temperature, the upper half did not keep items cool, so that items were spoiled and others had shortened retention times.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 18 for Koolatron P20 Compact 12V Cooler

Great little cooler

12/01/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This thing is a beast ! It will cool drinks down to a much colder temp than most gas station coolers. I drive over the road and this thing runs 24/7 with no trouble at all. I would give it five stars but it took too long to get to me via FedEx ( my number one competitor ). The price was a little steep considering that TA truckstops sell the same one for $89.00.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Koolatron P20 Compact 12V Cooler

A great value.

04/03/2009
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The cooler performs comparibly to other thermoelectric coolers I have previously owned and the overall quality of construction - particularly lid design and seal - appears to be quite good. Noise level is relatively low. Overall a very good value for the cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Review 20 for Koolatron P20 Compact 12V Cooler
11/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VERY HAPPY with this product. Used on 5 trip x-country without a hitch. Used AC adapter in hotel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1 2 3 Next