Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Glass Butter Keeper

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Generic Glass Butter Keeper

Based on a turn of the century European design, our #1096 2-piece glass butter keeper keeps your butter at the perfect serving temperature right on your countertop. Butter stays fresh and spreadable outside the refrigerator. Pour a little water in the base, invert the bell into the base and the water seals out the air.
Average Customer Rating:
4.056 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation78%14 out of 18reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Glass Butter Keeper

Butter Keeper

05/24/2009
By ,
Ridgecrest, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No wonder the boxes they were packed in looked like they had been in the warehouse for at least ten years. What a mess! The instructions to use these butter keepers aren't mentioned in the item description, so let me fill you in. They are heavy square shaped glass with lids. When you take the lid off, attached to that lid is a big glass bell shaped type thing. Now, after you soften your butter or margarine, you are instructed to put the softened butter (spoon it in) into the bell. Then, you fill the square container a little less than half with water. Place the lid filled with butter into the square that is half full of water. This is supposed to prevent spoilage. Well, maybe so, but, I didn't have the time to find out. All I had was an oily mess to clean up. Who in their right mind would like this mess on their table? No wonder the packages look as old as the hills! No one wanted them twenty years ago either. Needless to say, they didn't work for me, and they certainly aren't worth the 13 bucks apiece. They're going baaaaaccccccckkkkkkk! UGH.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 2 for Glass Butter Keeper

POOR KNOCKOFF...

08/31/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is a bad imitation of the original butterbell crock, which was featured on FoodNetwork. I thought I would save a few bucks by purchasing this glass butterbell, only to find out that it does not work nearly as well as the original butterbell crock. The fact that it is glass, leads to the product absorbing heat, which doesn't work well with butter. The fact that it is glass, leads to messy clean ups and streaking...don't waste your time dealing with the headache, take it from someone who has the glass and original butterBell crock.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 3 for Glass Butter Keeper

lass Butter Keeper

12/26/2008
By ,
Russellville AR.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since I've used a butter keeper for more than 2 years I can say that this was a wonderful buy. My 2 daughers were spoiled to the butter keeper and when they both moved out they missed having one. Well I went on the internet and googled the butter bell butter keeper and was happy to find the Wal Mart had them. They are much cheaper than the butter bell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Glass Butter Keeper

A Great Gift Item

09/29/2008
By ,
Cheektowaga, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I no longer have to soften my butter in the microwave! The glass butter container stores & keeps the butter fresh and soft right on my counter. Wal-Mart was also the lowest priced for this item. I will probably purchase a few for Holiday presents. Plus, save on S & H charges by having it sent to my local store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Glass Butter Keeper

Met my needs

08/10/2008
By ,
WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had spent considerable time looking for " the butter dish" plasticware containers would become to greasy and leaving the butter out on a saucer did'nt seem right. When I came across this dish I thought I'd give it a try. I'm satisfied with the look and even the storage of the butter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Glass Butter Keeper

perfect butter dish

08/25/2008
By ,
Marietta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love that I can have soft, spreadable butter with out the mess! This dish is looks great and works perfectly.
Other, ceramic butter dishes I've had, crack in the dishwasher and then the oil from the butter seeps in. Not with this one. I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for Glass Butter Keeper
10/01/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had this product for a 1.5 weeks, but so far I love it. I put in a stick of organic unsalted butter. I'm so glad I can get away from using so many processed food products and disposable containers polluting the earth.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 8 for Glass Butter Keeper

Great Butter Keeper

11/23/2008
By ,
Dawsonville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first experience with a Butter Keeper. I am using it with butter and margarine. It is so pleasant to spread your toast with butter/oleo that doesn't tear your toast! It's attractive and inexpensive. A great inexpensive gift!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Glass Butter Keeper

What's Old is New Again

09/30/2008
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first the kids thought this was the weirdest thing....thought the butter would go bad. It doesn't! Butter is always ready to be spread. No more breaking the toast or microwaving the butter so it's soft. I really like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Glass Butter Keeper

Butter falls in the water

11/20/2008
By ,
Central California
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I followed instructions and thought how cool this is if it worked. Well, a couple of days after setting this up, the butter fell in the water. What a waste of my money. Maybe I can use it as a candle holder.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 11 for Glass Butter Keeper

Truly delivers

02/14/2009
By ,
Wayland,MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this product. It keeps butter at room tempreture and makes it easy to spread. I recommend it to everyone. It was also a good value, I have seen some for almost 20 dollars.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Glass Butter Keeper

Very Useful item

01/28/2009
By ,
Calabash, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved this product. Works well and keeps butter at room temperature without spoiling. Have ordered another for my daughter -in-law.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 13 for Glass Butter Keeper

The Worst

07/21/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Butter continually falls into the water -- pretty nasty. Would not recommend this product at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 14 for Glass Butter Keeper
09/10/2008
By ,
santee ,CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
overall a nice item the only problem is that it needs mor texture to hold the butter in.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Glass Butter Keeper

Butter Keeper

12/12/2008
By ,
JT Calif
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I LOVE it wish had yrs back!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Glass Butter Keeper
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5