Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Suncast Suncast 72 Quart Food Storage Bin

Suncast Suncast 72 Quart Food Storage Bin

The Suncast 72 Quart Food Storage Bin is made from durable resin that will last for years to come. It has an easy-access front flap, and you can keep the lid open as desired. This container has a 72 quart capacity and holds up to 50 pounds of dog food. It can be stacked with or without the lid to help you save on space. It is ideal for recycling and storing pet food or other materials. Keep your home tidy with this dog food storage bin.
Average Customer Rating:
4.029 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(241 Reviews) 218
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
116
4 stars
73
3 stars
18
2 stars
11
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation83%200 out of 241reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 89 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
116
4 stars
73
3 stars
18
2 stars
11
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Suncast 72 Quart Food Storage Bin

Disappointing

04/16/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
These are not appropriate for food storage at all. They are flimsy, and if I fill them with dog food, they will not be sturdy enough to pick up and move. The biggest problem is that they are not airtight. There is no seal at all, and an actual gap you can see through across the lid at the hinge. One of the lids does not even stay down, and one corner sticks up. The only plus about them was they were inexpensive, so at least I can use one for potting soil, and maybe another for outside dog toys. But food, no. Should have bought the kind we usually do, but thought this was such a good deal. Now I know why! Going to buy the brand we usually get. Might be twice as much, but worth every penny.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Suncast 72 Quart Food Storage Bin

Be Aware the Lids Don't Latch Tightly

04/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These do a good enough job but the lids don't really latch. So, if you are looking for something that a curious animal can't get into this may not be it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Suncast 72 Quart Food Storage Bin

Great for laundry!

03/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have been using these bins for about 8 years for sorting laundry. We have 8 children, so there is lots of laundry. Each bin is labeled for a different color of laundry: darks, reds, colors, whites, dirty whites. When the kids gather the dirty laundry they simply sort it into the appropriate bin. I have assigned each day of the week for a different load of laundry. For example, every Monday the reds get washed, etc.
The bins are sturdy, and stackable. The flip lid props open (as pictured) so it's easy to put laundry in or out without constantly re-opening the lid. Just don't put anything damp in the bin. It will get mildew.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Suncast 72 Quart Food Storage Bin

Great bins

01/26/2010
By ,
New Hampshire
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 2, one for dog food and the 2nd for cat food. They are just what we needed for dog/cat food storage in the basement. I by bigger bags of dog/cat food and no worries about not being able to hold all there food.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Suncast 72 Quart Food Storage Bin

Does not seal

05/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Its a good storage container - but a terrible FOOD storage container. There is a gap along the whole seam of the hinge, the top clicks to the tote but it sit's on it fairly loose - It doesn't even attempt to seal at all. Doesn't look like they intended to make this for food, maybe an afterthought marketing ploy? I got this for storing livestock feed but the food gets stale quickly.
If you area looking for a storage bin the clicks shut, get it. If you're looking for something even remotely airtight to keep feed fresh, don't get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Suncast 72 Quart Food Storage Bin

Just what we needed

01/04/2012
By ,
Waynesboro, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had read the reviews prior to buying this, i wanted to make sure the price didn't reflect the quality. So took a chance & bought 3 of them. After having them for about a month i can say we are really satisfied with them. We have cats & dogs and, one of our cats is able to get the lid open, but unfortunately that has been a battle for 10 years! They do seem a little chincey, but we have all three containers stacked on top of one another and so far, it hasn't toppled over, and it seems pretty sturdy once they are stacked. Very please with product, we are going to purchase more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Suncast 72 Quart Food Storage Bin

love it

02/22/2014
By ,
Big Sandy, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 4 dogs and they have chosen to eat 2 different kinds of dog foods. So to keep a months worth fresh and in one place I tried these bins. I love them. of course they're a bit bulky but what do you expect if you want an easy access lid opening as well as stack-able. They are durable and light as well. Try them you won't be dissatisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Suncast 72 Quart Food Storage Bin

Great space saving product

09/30/2010
By ,
Flower Mound, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We always buy in bulk so these containers helped with the dog and cat food storage. They aren't as airtight as other products, but cost 3x less too. Great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Suncast 72 Quart Food Storage Bin

Ok for storage

10/16/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This bin is large enough to store food for my two small dogs for a good while, and traps all the smell that an open bag was having. My one complaint is that the lid just sits on top. It has some clips that should hold it down, but they aren't made large (or well) enough to keep the lid secure on the base. It literally just sits on top. We stacked dog treats and other items on top of it to weigh it down.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Suncast 72 Quart Food Storage Bin

would not buy another one

02/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The base is fine.it holds the dog food. The top is made so cheaply that it does not fit well and the pieces that surround the hinge have already cracked of from gentle use. I guess you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Suncast 72 Quart Food Storage Bin

Great for recycling!

03/01/2012
By ,
NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although these are described as food storage, I was looking for covered recycling bins and these seemed like they might work. They are perfect! Holds the same amount as a standard recycling bin, and the covers keep everything hidden. I have two of them stacked in a nook in my kitchen and they fit perfectly. The covers open easily to toss things in.
One thing to note if you are buying them for food storage, the covers don't snap on very tightly, I don't think they'd be airtight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Suncast 72 Quart Food Storage Bin
06/30/2012
By ,
orlando, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was originally a bit leary about the strength of the containers. the sides were not as thick as some of the others I'd looked at, but stacked with 50 lbs of food in each, hold up great! excellent deal for the price!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Suncast 72 Quart Food Storage Bin

Bad choice could of gotten something better

07/28/2014
By ,
ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Took 2 weeks to get, then when I got it its cheap plastic the top doesn't close tightly, the lid my dog could open with a bump of his nose. Just poor quality for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Suncast 72 Quart Food Storage Bin

This product is not good for pet food

08/01/2014
By ,
Maryland
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The container is not air tight. There was a gap when closed you could put our pinky into. We returned it back to Walmart.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Suncast 72 Quart Food Storage Bin

Not Helpful

08/27/2009
By ,
TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The bin isn't airtight to preserve food and opens
with a snap which shows me it will wear out
quickly. It also should have wheels.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Suncast 72 Quart Food Storage Bin

It's "ok"

01/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It gets the job done I guess you can say.. The lid doesn't really seal tightly, therefore toddlers can still get into it . It can be a pro or con, depending what you are using the container for .
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Suncast 72 Quart Food Storage Bin

Easy to access and stack!

01/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great solution for small storage area. Easy to get into and lids come totally off for full access to clean and refill.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Suncast 72 Quart Food Storage Bin

Stack it

01/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't think I paid that much but even if I had they are worth it. Holds 50 pounds of dog food, and I can stack them and never have to move them again. Love it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Suncast 72 Quart Food Storage Bin

Great Product So Far!

09/21/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for two dog food storage containers to fit in our apartment and not take up too much room. We used to use small trash cans with clamp-on lids, but the wonderful thing about these storage bins is that they stack! They really do look nice and I LOVE that the lids stay open on their own. My only gripe would be that they could possibly tip forward because of how they're made (especially if stacked). Once you add 30-50 lbs of dog food, the likelihood of that happening lessens, but it's something to be aware of if your dogs like to "check out" the containers their food is kept in.
Also, I've noticed that most of the negative reviews on this product are because people are trying to keep them outside and pests are getting into the containers. These are NOT outdoor storage units. They are not airtight, and the lid does not lock in place.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Suncast 72 Quart Food Storage Bin

Fantastic for storage of doggie food and bird seed

11/22/2012
By ,
Warren, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful for storing dog food and bird seed, easy to scoop out, refill and stack for convience and small spaces.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 219 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next