Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LeapFrog LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

LeapFrog LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

Play and learn on the go, then expand the fun online with the best-selling LeapFrog Leapster2 learning game system. The LeapFrog game system features built-in tutorials and learning levels that adapt automatically to your child's pace. Its touch-screen and stylus help develop motor skills used in writing. And a library of 40+ games lets kids get practice with a wide variety of school skills as they play with their favorite characters. Parents can connect to the groundbreaking LeapFrog Learning Path to see their child's educational play and learning progress. More than just an educational toy, the LeapFrog Leapster2 learning game system will encourage kids to play while they learn.
Average Customer Rating:
4.371 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(299 Reviews) 247
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
199
4 stars
58
3 stars
16
2 stars
6
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation90%269 out of 299reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
76 Questions | 189 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
199
4 stars
58
3 stars
16
2 stars
6
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

Ours is Junk!!! :(

02/15/2010
By ,
kansas city
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just bought this. My son opened it for his b-day. Put batteries in and did the online things. He has 6 games. Every games freezes up/locks up after 1 to 2 minutes of play. The screen also blacks out and locks up. I have never ever had issues with leapfrog products. This has been very disappointing to say the least. I'm returning it back to Walmart today. Also, glad I bought the extended warranty that was offered. I will buy the extended warranty again on the replacement one that we buy. I'm hesitant to get another one from the same store as I am afraid the whole shipment that the store got might be a bad shipment.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

Toy Came BROKEN!!!

08/11/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this toy for my 5 yr old as a birthday gift. Imagine the shock and disappointment when we opened on her birthday to find that it was broken and not working at all. I called customer service and made an arrangement to go instore to to have it replaced. Will give an update on how that goes. Cannot really rate the full product as we never got to use it. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

Do Not Buy!!!Leapfrog is No Longer Supporting!!

03/03/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this!!! I bought this at Walmart for my 4 year old for Christmas 2012. When I tried to download games from Leapfrog, I discovered they are no longer selling downloadable games or cartridges for this product. You can only download the free game that comes with it and access some very basic on line features. I was really disappointed. I can't believe Walmart is still selling this. If I could go back in time, I would buy the Leapster GS. Leapfrog has many cartridges and downloads for that system. If you buy the Leapster 2, you will not be able to download games and you will have a hard time finding game cartridges for sale.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

Bought 2, BOTH were BAD!!

10/02/2012
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought 2 of these for my son and daughter. They had them a total of 3 days and all that was on them was the one free game download that came with the system. Within these three days, (AS EARLY AS THE FIRST NIGHT, mind you), they were BOTH glitching and freezing up!! I thought maybe the batteries were just no good, so I put more in. Same thing. I took them back and bought the vTech MobiGo2, and they are WAY better! they come with better games on them, AND they came with 3 free downloads, instead of just 1! I would definitely recommend the MobiGo2 over the Leapster2!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

disapointed!!

02/06/2013
By ,
acworth
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got a leapster2 for my son from walmart on blaxk friday & it stopped working 2weeks ago the screen just,stopped working i will neveer buy another,one i am very upset i payed 20$ thinking i got a good deal but i was wrong
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

$60 for a game

01/20/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The total is between $50- 60 (including tax) and there is only one free game (you can choose one out of 4 free games online). This free game is boring. My 3 year old son got bored with it after 10 minutes. So $60 for 10 minutes. He does not like it.
You have to buy other games to load on the machine. Their games are from 10 to 20 something. The images on the screen are blurred. The only thing good is that you can carry it with you anywhere. But if the game is not fun to kids, they won't want to carry it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green
12/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
on number 4 of these. they are made poor. plastic glue together with old broken software used for recycleing old computers. save ur money
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green
01/01/2013
By ,
Chicago
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When this game system first came out, I hear it was $80 plus. Which would have been a BIG rip off. The graphics are very poor, it is not too easy to control. Bought it for under 40 bucks, and then I find out that Leapster 2 games are very hard to find. It does take some punishment though. Also it was a real pain to go into their website and register and download the free game. It is nothing like the DSI or any other touch pad system.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

DO NOT BUY!!!!!

01/04/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Leapster is great and my son loves it Very Durrable but the problem Im having is that Leapfrog does not support this product anymore. You can not buy the games or the downloads.......It does use the old leapster and L-MAX games but can not use explorer games or the App center
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

Dissapointed

01/07/2013
By ,
Chicago, Il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just bought it for Christmas from Wallmart and looks like they do not gonna make it anymore. There are no games for it or app's. Do not buy it!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

this game acutally cost $240

03/30/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I brought this game for my 4y.o. He will play the game for about 4 hours within a 5 day period and the batteries are dead. I am buying batteries once a week for this game. And it requires 4 AA batteries not 2. So you figure the price of the game and the cost for the batteries at $3 a pack x 52 weeks = $156 a year plus the games $60 and the add'l games at $25 a pop that's at least $240 for this junk. I'm just going to invest in the nintendo dsi xl for christmas.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
-24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

Not recommended

02/20/2010
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My parents bought the Leapster 2 for my boys 3 and 4. They loved it played for about 3 or 4 months and then they stopped working. I went out to get a second one. The same thing happened with the second set. I would not recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green
12/23/2011
By ,
North East Tennessee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can not review this product correctly due to the fact that I was never shipped the item. Item was lost in transit. Even thou I was sent and email saying that the product would be ready for pick up. Needless to say I am very disappointed due to the fact that it was a Christmas present for my 4 year old grandson. So I had to start all over in ordering from a comparator. And they were able to deliver the product on time for him.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green
03/29/2012
By ,
Tabor City, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not impressed. The color and clarity of the screen is awful. The origional leapster came with rabbit river, shape shop, chicken coop, and an art game. This only has the art game. You can only pick one of the 3 for your free download, either rabbit river, chicken coop or shape shop. In order to get the other 2 downloads you have to save over 7000 points for each, (which takes forever). No other games are available for downloading to this leapster. Only purpose this system has is if you have several games from the first leapster, they can be used with the leapster 2. Spend a little extra and get the explorer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

Was great while it worked.

03/10/2013
By ,
sedalia,mo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this for my duaghter and it only worked for one week. It will turn on but the screen will not let you make any selections. This now makes the second leapster we have had this issue with. Hope I will be able to get my money back from Wal-Mart as I purchased this on line, I have one unhappy little girl!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green
01/05/2013
By ,
Weehawken, nj
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It comes with no charger nor a demo game or something!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green
12/28/2008
By ,
Oklahoma City,OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this for my four year old for Christmas.I also bought kid games like PreK - 1st grade for him.He is really smart and he can't play the games.The games are too hard for kids this young.I think $70.00 is too much money to spend on something they can't really play because the games are too hard.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

Disappointed

01/09/2013
By ,
St. Augustine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very disappointed. I purchased the Leapster 2 for my niece for Christmas and it seems the company no longer supports the Leapster 2 so it is basically useless. I don't understand why Walmart would sell an item that is not supported by the company. We will be returning this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

Already not working

03/08/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this item. This is my second leapster, because the first one broke. It keeps reading no batteries, despite new ones. This newest Leapster lasted one week before the screen stopped recognizing the pen. Will attempt to return. I am very disappointed in the Leapster as a product and only bought the second one because I already had lots of useless games from the first one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

No longer supported by leapfrog

12/31/2012
By ,
Sandwich, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just bought this system (in pink) for my 3 year old. I was so excited to get it set up and maybe download some games on it. I get on the LeapFrog website and THEY DON'T SUPPORT THE STUPID THING ANYMORE! You cannot find games on their site to buy and have shipped to you so you have to trust that stores will have a game you want. You cannot download any apps onto it because the site doesn't have anything there for it at all. Don't waste your money on this system... save up and buy one of the newer ones because there is nothing you can do with this one anyway!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 248 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next