Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LeapFrog LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

LeapFrog LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

Play and learn on the go, then expand the fun online with the best-selling LeapFrog Leapster2 learning game system. The LeapFrog game system features built-in tutorials and learning levels that adapt automatically to your child's pace. Its touch-screen and stylus help develop motor skills used in writing. And a library of 40+ games lets kids get practice with a wide variety of school skills as they play with their favorite characters. Parents can connect to the groundbreaking LeapFrog Learning Path to see their child's educational play and learning progress. More than just an educational toy, the LeapFrog Leapster2 learning game system will encourage kids to play while they learn.
Average Customer Rating:
4.371 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(299 Reviews) 247
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
199
4 stars
58
3 stars
16
2 stars
6
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation90%269 out of 299reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
76 Questions | 189 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
199
4 stars
58
3 stars
16
2 stars
6
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

Very durable

11/27/2009
By ,
Central, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It isn't very often that I review a product, but I just had to share my experience with my son's Leapster. I accidentally left his leapster on top of the van roof. We were heading down the highway going around 65mph when we heard a loud thud sounding like something fell off the car. We circled back devastated to find out it was his leapster. It was covered in scratches but when I pushed the power button, it fired right up without a problem and works to this day. If this thing can survive a fall going 65mph, It should be fine for a toddler to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+215points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

Almost Great

12/29/2009
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Santa brought the Leapster 2 for our almost-6 year old this year. He loves it, but as a lefty, it's a little difficult for him to use because of the cord on the stylus. It's attached on the bottom right-hand side of the console and when stretched over for a left-handed user, there is absolutely no slack.
I contacted LeapFrog voicing my concern and was blown off by them because apparently their designers think that there isn't an issue. My 5 year old & I respectfully disagree.
Overall, the system is great. There's a big variety of games, and the player does actually use his little brain!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+111points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
VA
Thank you...
Posted 02/16/2012
for sharing your comment! Both of my kids are lefty's and now I'm thinking of reconsidering buying it for them. Don't you need the stylus to write on the screen? Would make it very difficult for them to use. Wish Leapfrog could make it more versatile!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

great for beginner.

04/07/2014
By ,
Alabama
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My grandkids loves this. I am going to have to order another one.
Good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Learning Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

Kids love it!

01/08/2010
By ,
Oregon, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am happy with the Leapster 2 overall. My kids are having a great time with them, we purchased one for our daughter who is 5yo and one for our son who is 3yo. I thought our 3yo would be too young but he is able to turn it on and get his game started all on his own. The one compliant I have is that the screen scratches really easy, so my husband but self adhesive covers on them like you would use on a cell phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

great product!!

05/01/2009
By ,
ksmo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We absolutly love this leapster! My 2 1/2 year old son can play it. I was excited to see they had thomas the train game because my son is a thomas fanatic!! I would recommend this to EVERYONE!!! Love it Love it Love it!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

Great product

09/20/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this for my 3 yr old son and he just loves it. he plays with it everyday and just keeps him busy for hours. the only thing i say to buy with this is the ac adapter or rechargeable batteries because if your kids are like mine the batteries will die in no time. but overall i think this is a great product and would def. buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

Not thrilled with Leapster2

12/29/2011
By ,
SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you're thinking of purchasing the Leapster2 - buy the Leapster Explorer instead! My husband and I purchased the Leapster2 for our (4) year old and the Leapster Explorer for our (8) year old and the Leapster 2 doesn't get touched - they both LOVE the Leapster Explorer! The screen isn't clear or bright like advertised and the startup screen is hard for the kids to navigate because two of the options (out of four showing) are for parents to use, not kids. My four year old got frustrated with it and when I tried it out for myself, I figured out why. We should have went with two Leapster Explorers for them to begin with. The Explorer has so many more options, a bright and clear screen and fun apps (already included) none of us want to bother with the Leapster2. I'm taking it back and exchanging it for another Leapster Explorer :)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Educational Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
LeapFrog Leapster Explorer Learning Experience, Green
4.6 out of 5(214)
 
 
 
 
 
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

Great Product!

12/04/2010
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought 2 leapsters last year for Christmas for our kids 5 & 6. After reading the reviews between leap frog and vtech I knew we had to buy the leapsters. I must say we have been very impressed with them. We have since purchased many games. The kids are always excited about new games. All games are packed full of educational content. My only complaints about this system would be 1. The price point, by the time you buy the system, games $20-25/each and the power supply it gets pretty expensive. It is worth it for the educational benefits, but they could price it better or at least give you a break on the games. We decided to go with rechargeable batteries, at the time we just couldnt spend another $40 to buy two battery packs! The rechargeables work good but we have to charge often! We have found that most 12v home chargers will play the system (ie the plug in to our battery charger is the perfect size) and we got a cheap universal car charger at a local hardware supply. 2. We had 2 speakers go completely out on our systems, if you blew into the speaker it would come back on for a second, so we were able to exchange them at walmart for a new one but for the price Ive paid thats a pretty big problem. However it was working with earphones! Overall I would highly recommend this product to anyone, I would suggest buying this product as young as possible, 3 or 4. My daughter is about to turn 7 and she is ready for a DS. She has mastered all of her games! There are several games that a 3 or 4 yo could do, and having it for a longer period of time would not only offer educational benefits early but you would also get more bang for your buck, we have probably $300 invested in ours and our daughter only really got a year out of hers, my son however is still very interested!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

AWESOME

10/21/2008
By ,
Gulfport, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been more than satisfied with this product. It has met and exceeded my expectations. I have 5 year old twin boys and they are in love with their Leapster. My mother and I also take time out and play. Fun for all ages.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

Love it! Had it for Years!!

03/10/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a Leapster for my now six and five year old three years ago for Christmas. They still work, even after being dropped into a dog bowl full of water. I just recently bought a Leapster 2 for my three year old and he loves it just as much as his brothers love theirs. The six and five year old still play with them.We moved to NM from Alaska last year and these kept my two oldest busy for hours. I am planning on getting my two year old one for his birthday this month. We are thrilled with this product. It will literally last for years. It is well worth any price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

Indifferent Discision

11/14/2008
By ,
Baker City, Or
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My kids' dad and I bought a leapster II for our son, who was turning 7, for his birthday. I was disappointed at first that non-of the batteries we had or bought from the Dollar Tree held enough juice to power the thing long enough to play. I finally purchased a wall plug and now all three of my older kids are playing it. My 4 year old daughter's learning path is right along side that of her 7 year old brother. However, when purchased, we were under the impression it came with two of three free games, to our disapointment and theres, the games are downloadables that don't seem to be able to connect with the Learning Path program. Not to mention the SD card we purchased for that purpase, quite often the machine doesn't even reconize there is one. It seems to be a chance of luck when it desides to see the extra games saved on an SD card. I DO LOVE THE LEARNING PATH PROGRAM. And if we can work out the bugs, I plan to get my other kids one aswell.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

Not recommended

02/20/2010
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My parents bought the Leapster 2 for my boys 3 and 4. They loved it played for about 3 or 4 months and then they stopped working. I went out to get a second one. The same thing happened with the second set. I would not recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

Best $ I ever spent!!!

04/11/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is going to be a long review because we are just so thrilled with this product. We bought two leapsters for the kids for xmas. My son then 4 and my daughter 6. We also bought them two games each. It was their favorite present on xmas day, they wouldnt put them down. We debated getting them DS's but when we saw how they did with these we know we made the right decision. The games are set up where they teach you many different lessons inside of having interactive games. A DS is more just for entertainment. We have just about every game that leapster makes and my kids still play them every chance she gets. My daughter literally wakes up in the morning and walks out with her leapster under her arm. We did have to return both of their initial leapsters because the speaker stopped working. I believe we just got a couple of lemons, because that happened right away and our new ones have been fine. Walmart gave us no problems returning them! Secondly I would recommend getting either the rechargable battery pack, the plug in or rechargeable batteries. Because the best reg. batteries only last about 2 days. So it will be a money pit if you dont find a cheaper solution. My only other complaint would be that the price point could be a little better on these. If you watch sometimes the games go on sale..We have to buy two every time so we spend about $50 every ime we get new games. Despite my critiques, these are invaluable to us, the kids have learned so much from them, it gives them a creative outlet, and sneaks in a lot of learning. 5 stars all the way!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

$60 for a game

01/20/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The total is between $50- 60 (including tax) and there is only one free game (you can choose one out of 4 free games online). This free game is boring. My 3 year old son got bored with it after 10 minutes. So $60 for 10 minutes. He does not like it.
You have to buy other games to load on the machine. Their games are from 10 to 20 something. The images on the screen are blurred. The only thing good is that you can carry it with you anywhere. But if the game is not fun to kids, they won't want to carry it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

Disappointed

01/09/2013
By ,
St. Augustine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very disappointed. I purchased the Leapster 2 for my niece for Christmas and it seems the company no longer supports the Leapster 2 so it is basically useless. I don't understand why Walmart would sell an item that is not supported by the company. We will be returning this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

Buy the extended warranty

11/09/2010
By ,
reno nv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this product because the kids learn as they play. i recommend other people to get the additional warranty, our leapster just stop working for no reason.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

Do Not Buy!!!Leapfrog is No Longer Supporting!!

03/03/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this!!! I bought this at Walmart for my 4 year old for Christmas 2012. When I tried to download games from Leapfrog, I discovered they are no longer selling downloadable games or cartridges for this product. You can only download the free game that comes with it and access some very basic on line features. I was really disappointed. I can't believe Walmart is still selling this. If I could go back in time, I would buy the Leapster GS. Leapfrog has many cartridges and downloads for that system. If you buy the Leapster 2, you will not be able to download games and you will have a hard time finding game cartridges for sale.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

Leapfrog Connect Never works

06/22/2012
By ,
RI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Device is a great toy. Just don't bother trying to connect to your PC. It never works right. Software 101 is having the app let the user know the progress of any update. The window just blinks, after 10 min have to assume its hung up. Waste of time, they need to hire a better development team.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green

not sure if this is true learning toy

12/08/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i haven't given this to my 4 yr old yet. the dragon game i downloaded free doesn't do very much except bump into numbers.
i really hope there are games that help my son learn numbers letters and other things. i will need to try them.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Green
03/29/2012
By ,
Tabor City, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not impressed. The color and clarity of the screen is awful. The origional leapster came with rabbit river, shape shop, chicken coop, and an art game. This only has the art game. You can only pick one of the 3 for your free download, either rabbit river, chicken coop or shape shop. In order to get the other 2 downloads you have to save over 7000 points for each, (which takes forever). No other games are available for downloading to this leapster. Only purpose this system has is if you have several games from the first leapster, they can be used with the leapster 2. Spend a little extra and get the explorer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 248 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next