Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LeapFrog LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Pink

LeapFrog LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Pink

Play and learn on the go, then expand the fun online with the best-selling LeapFrog Leapster2 learning game system. The LeapFrog game system features built-in tutorials and learning levels that adapt automatically to your child's pace. Its touch-screen and stylus help develop motor skills used in writing. And a library of 40+ games lets kids get practice with a wide variety of school skills as they play with their favorite characters. Parents can connect to the groundbreaking LeapFrog Learning Path to see their child's educational play and learning progress. More than just an educational toy, the LeapFrog Leapster2 learning game system will encourage kids to play while they learn.
Average Customer Rating:
4.509 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(224 Reviews) 178
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
159
4 stars
41
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation92%207 out of 224reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
50 Questions | 121 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
159
4 stars
41
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Pink

Grandchild loves it!

01/07/2010
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our little granddaughter and her parents were very pleased with this gift. They already some games from the Leapster her big sister has that she will grow into.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Pink

Leapster 2

10/19/2009
By ,
Eau Claire, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this game for my 3 year for Christmas last year and she absolutely loves it. Recently we turned it on and every time she hit the icon for the cartridge it would automatically turn off and restart. Needless to say she was quite upset because she loves it, so I called Leapster to see if maybe there was a quick fix for it. I explained how old the item was and what was wrong and they are shipping me a new one!!!!! I only have to pay to ship the defective item to them (which I don't think is bad because on there site its says only a 3 month warranty). I was sooooo relieved because my daughter was almost in tears when I told her I couldn't get it to work. I am so happy to find a company that was easy to work with and was willing to except the fact that it was there product at fault and not the consumers and at how easy and nice they were to deal with. I would definitely recommend this product because not only is it wonderful for the kids but they have awesome customer service too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Pink

Daughter loves it!

12/29/2009
By ,
Machias, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my daughter for Christmas this yr and she fell in love with it. She won't put it down. At least twice a day she asks to play with it and it's graphics are great. It even has a section that you can do paint and animation products which is very neat. When you download it to the comp to keep track of progress-they let you choose between 4 games to download for free and we chose the dragon game which is very easy for kids to learn they're numbers and alphabets. We bought the Pink one yet it looks purple for some reason but all in all it's great.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Pink

Cool...very cool...

11/04/2009
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 4 y/o daughter b/c she wanted a Game Boy but I couldn't even see buying one second hand and it getting broke from everyday use. She is still so young and I really want her to have more knowledge than get obsessed with games. She has so much fun with this that we now have to take it everywhere we go. The games are a bit pricey but they seem to get more challenging as they play so it keeps her interested.
I suggest that you also buy the case that is around 14.99 but worth every penny you can put 3 carts in it for travel...one in the game and two will fit inside. Also RECHARGEABLE batts will save you a fortune.
THIS IS A WONDERFUL TOY!
F.Y.I - I also bought the Tag Reading system and it is absolutely wonderful...It is also compatible with the TagJr books. So wonderful buy there...and tag jr system is NOT compatible with the regular tag books.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Coaldale, PA
confused
Posted 12/25/2011
I bought this for my daughter for Christmas and when we opened it today we found out there was no A/C adapter inside. The Leapster will not turn on so now we have to go buy an adapter. I wish someone would have written that before so I would have known to have bought it.
0points
Customer Avatar
Looking to Purchase.....
Posted 08/29/2011
I'm looking to purchase a learning system for my daughter. She will be turning 3 years old in two weeks and I would rather her get a device that she could use to learn with. Would this be a great system for Alphabets (recognizing them), Numbers (counting objects), Colors, Shapes, etc.....
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Pink

Love it!!

11/24/2008
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my 5 yr old daughter. She already had the Leapster 1 in green and I read the description for the Leapster 2 and saw that the features were really worth the upgrade. It's light weight and my daughter really feels like a big girl when she plays it since her aunt has the Nintendo DS. I haven't purchased a memory card for it just yet but she really enjoys hooking it up to the computer with the USB cord and going online to view her progress with the games and completing the online activities. I also recomend the adapter, the charging station, or rechargable batteries b/c the system sucks the life out of batteries
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Pink

Great Buy

07/06/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently purchased this for my daughter's 4th birthday and she loves it! She seems to have figured out the games and buttons better than I can and loves showing me how she can 'play'. I plan to buy another one for her sister when she is a little older.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+94points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Pink

Worthless piece of you know what!

12/11/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one of these last year for my daughter for Christmas after about 2 or 3 months the touch feature on the screan would no longer work. Without being able to touch the screan you can't get past the sign in screan. Over the last year my daughter would ocasionaly find it and want to play with it. I deided to buy another one a couple months ago and guess what happened again! The same exact issue only a couple months after I bought it. I can't immagine that I would be the only one with this issue especialy since it happened twice. When I wrote the company I recieved a generic e-mail about the warranty. Thanks for the wonderful product and great customer serice. I will not spend a penny on any Leapfrog product again. Do not spend the rediculous amount of money for this poorly buil pile of junk you will just end up with a sad child that has a broken toy they want to play with.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Pink

Wonderful Learning Tool!

12/29/2008
By ,
Midwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this for Christmas for our 3 yr old daughter. I thought that she might not be ready for the console,because the age recommended is 4, but I was wrong! She loves it! She really does play the games and learns from the games. It keeps her attention and she doesn't get frustrated, because she can do whatever the game requires. She changes the cartridges when she wants to play different games. We purchased this game on Cyber Monday, so I got the console and 2 games for $68, plus I did the Site to Store option and I had the game in 4 days, plenty of time before Christmas. I haven't hooked the Leapster up to the computer, to review her progress, but I am hoping to do that soon, she just won't put it down:) I love the wide array of games that they have also. We haven't had to change batteries yet, but we did buy rechargables, as other reviewers have suggested. All and all I can recommend this product for anyone, and I can't think of reason that we don't like it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Pink

GREAT PRODUCT!

12/25/2010
By ,
Miami, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This game system is a great educational tool for toddlers and preschoolers. My 2 year old daughter LOVES It!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Pink

we love the leapster2

02/18/2011
By ,
Blaine, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We Love the Leapster2. My daughter plays with it all the time and is rough with it and it takes a beating. The thought of getting her a Nintendo DS has crossed my mind but she would have broken it several times over! If you are going to buy one... do not forget to get the charge pack and charger sold separately. Or you will be out of batteries ALL THE TIME.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Pink

Not REALLY for 4 year olds...

12/12/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's a cool game, and my niece (who is 4) loves it, but she can't play it by herself. She JUST turned 4, so maybe as she plays it a little more, she will get the hang of it, but right now, she isn't coordinated enough to maneuver the characters around with the arrows AND make them jump or breath fire or whatever with the A and B buttons. She doesn't get that you have to perform certain tasks. She just wants to watch it like a movie, which would be fine, except that it turns itself off if she doesn't move the buttons for a few minutes. Don't get me wrong, she LOVES it, but she just doesn't have the skills, coordination, and the ability to understand how it works yet. It may be that she hasn't ever played any kind of video game before, so she just doesn't have any experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Pink

Read if your child is left-handed

12/30/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recently bought this product for my 4 yr old daughter for Christmas.
So far she really enjoys the games, and they seem very educational.
The problem...the attached pen is not functional for a child that is left-handed. The pen is located on the right side of the unit and the attached string is not long enough to allow her to hold the pen correctly in her left hand. Shes hold the pen akwardly, and often touches thing on the screen that she does not want to.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Pink
07/22/2011
By ,
St. Louis, Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My three year old loves her new Leapster!It keeps her occupied and the best part is that she is learning. She loves to play the Nemo game and I was so impressed that she is learning her colors and numbers thru just this little game.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Pink

Terrible Customer Support & Warrany from Leap Frog

04/23/2012
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Never buy ANYTHING from Leap Frog!!! I bought a Leapster 2 for daughter's birthday less than three months ago. She was using one of the cartridge games, and the part that goes inside the unit snapped off. The unit won't work. It's not her fault, she was sitting quietly on the couch and didn't try to take the game out or put it in on her own. It's very obviously a defective game cartridge. But Leap Frog is refusing to replace it. WOW! Anything you buy from Fisher Price, they guarantee for a year (Leap Frog only three months# and they don't care how it got broken. I know who'll have my business from now on! So a $100 wasted #I bought a case and a/c adapter for the unit, too).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Pink

a good learning product, but....

12/26/2008
By ,
PHILLY PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was a little annoyed to find out it's another product that nickels and dimes us. It does not come with an AC adapter or a charger. It all has to be bought seperately., and they're not cheap. We want our kids to have fun while learning, but does it have to be so expensive to do so !?! It's a very smart learning toy but be prepared to be hit in the pocket.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Pink

A TEMPORARY USEFUL PRODUCT

01/21/2010
By ,
Greenwood, SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this game for my 3 year old daughter for christmas. I thought it would help her learn easier. She did not have the device a year before it broke. She very seldom played it the first few months. Never abused it, but one day the stylus stopped workin. The LeapFrog website had instructions for resetting the touch callibration. However, it was unsuccessful. I called the customer service department to see if there was any way I could have the game sent to a service department to fixed. The info I got was worthless, they don't have a service or trouble shooting department and was told to go out and purchase another game while it was on sale. I was extremely disappointed. I had purchaed many games for my daughter to play on the leapster 2. Had I known what I know now, I would have left the game in the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Pink

Not A Great Value

12/29/2008
By ,
Mineral Wells, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My 5 yr old is in love with my Nintendo DS. I have purchased several games for her on it, so when I saw this, I thought it would be a great thing to get. A little more kid friendly and tougher.
The graphics were not very good, kinda fuzzy and hard to see. The games were a bit on the difficult side as well. There was game that was a bit like "Zuma" but you had to match up letters and but you have to use the arrow pad to turn the letter shooter around. She still can not quite do it.
I would have to say, by the time you spend the money on this, and the games, you might as well have bought a better system like the Nin. DS.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Pink

A great toy!!!

12/07/2009
By ,
Austell, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this game! I brought it for my 3 year old daughter for Christmas so she has not gotten to play with it yet, but I have! My only problem with it is having to buy batteries. My daughter is very active and is not going to be one of those children to sit still and play while it is plugged in. I wish it would have came with a battery pack.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Pink

My Daughter Loves It

01/08/2010
By ,
Seattle, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Though we've only had the Leapster 2 for a couple of weeks now, my three year old daughter loves playing with it. She does require help on quite a few of the games though. I would recommend it to other parents with no problem, other than to advise them to be near-bye for help when the little ones start calling for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for LeapFrog Leapster2 Learning Game System, Pink
12/29/2008
By ,
MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was excited to give my daughter (5) the Leapster 2. I was a bit disappointed that you could not use the stylist for more of the games - instead you have to use the arrows, which is more difficult for the younger children to do. Otherwise she seems to like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 179 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next