Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Andis Andis Ceramic Plate Flat Iron, 1 Inch

Andis Andis Ceramic Plate Flat Iron, 1 Inch

Andis Ceramic Plate Flat Iron, 1 Inch
Average Customer Rating:
4.478 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(184 Reviews) 158
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
134
4 stars
27
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation90%164 out of 183reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 76 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
134
4 stars
27
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Andis Ceramic Plate Flat Iron, 1 Inch

Great product!!!

01/28/2009
By ,
S.Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was just what I was looking for. I previously owned a very weak iron and it would never straighten my hair.
I have coarse hair and I wanted something that would straighten without frizzing back up in a couple hours. I've found it. It straightens well and it's not messing my hair up. It's not burning my hair up either.
I was also loving the price. Glad I didn't have to pay $200 to get and acceptable flat iron.
I'm going to add my pic to show what my natural hair looks like, if it straightens my hair it should work for just about anyone.
I do not like putting much heat on my real hair, so I decided to get a weave for straight hair. But I needed a great iron to straighten what I left out in the front. I don't even have to use it everyday! I'm so excited! Great product andis!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Andis Ceramic Plate Flat Iron, 1 Inch

Amazing- The Best Flat Iron Experience...

04/07/2013
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This review is well over-due because I've been using this flat iron (the same one) since 2009 and it's now 2013. When I say that this flat iron heats up extremely fast, it really does. You can literally see the heat coming from plates like steam. I used to use level 8, but with my 3B/3C thick, curly hair, I've increased the level to the max of 20 which gets my hair bone straight.
On days I need to just touch up my hair I'll use level 15, but 20 makes my hair look like I have a relaxer. No matter what level you use (1-20) this flat iron will suit your straightening needs because it will commence giving off heat within 30 seconds of turning it on. It also does not strip or pull hair strands- just a smooth, flat ironing experience. I will never use an expensive flat iron and will continue using the Andis line.
I use Fructis Flat Heat Protectant Flat Iron Spray which gives my hair great shine when using it with this flat iron.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Andis Ceramic Plate Flat Iron, 1 Inch

Cheap but not as good as i had thought

07/10/2009
By ,
Bellevue, WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had the original CHI flat iron which didn't have the different temperature adjustment so I was looking for another flat iron that allowed me to lower the temperature. I didn't want to spend that much money on another CHI and a friend of mine said she liked her $20 flat iron that she bought at Walmart so I thought I would give it a try. I thought CHI was expensive because of its brandname. I thought all ceramic flat irons are the same. However this Andis flat iron pulled on my hair. It hurt and I lost my hair too! I was curious how it could be different from a CHI, it was only a flat iron, couldn't be that complicated. How could the CHI ran so smooth on my hair but not this one. I looked and realized the ceramic plates on the CHI were flexible so they could turn in the direction of them going down your hair. The Andis' ceremic plates were rigid, they don't move at all so they pulls on your hair. That's the $90 difference! I had to go back to my orignal CHI and need to save money for the CHI Turbo which has the temperature adjustment.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Andis Ceramic Plate Flat Iron, 1 Inch

A Great Buy!

03/23/2010
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this iron just a few days ago, and so far it has worked great. It is easy to use. This is the first time I have used a flat iron and have not had any problems at all with using this iron. From reading reviews of other flat irons, I have learned that sometimes flat irons can pull or snag you hair. I have not experienced any situation like this with this iron. Since I have fine hair, I just use the lowest setting. and it does the job. Again I have read how some flat irons can get very hot and this flat iron may as well, but I was impressed with how
I was able to use the lowest setting which doesn't produce any steam from extensive high heat, and yet my hair was straightened very well. I was concerned about using such high heat on my hair.
Because of the low setting option my concerns have been eliminated. The only negative I can find is that the box said it heats up in 60 seconds or some such little amount of time. Even at the lowest setting I am using, it takes at least 5-10 minutes. This is not a problem in my mind, but since it is a departure from the company's claim I thought I'd note the difference. Overall this is a great product at a great price. I bought it at the store for approximately $15.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Andis Ceramic Plate Flat Iron, 1 Inch

$15 GOLD!

08/09/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is AMAZING! for $15, i could not have asked for anything better. i just got it today actually, and i love it. it is a little hard to grip but im sure itll become easier the more i use it. it straightens better than my $35 one from conair, except that it does leave a crease, but im sure if you held it lightly or practiced that would go away. i used it to curl my hair and i loveeee how it turned out. it is small, so easy to store and it has a lock too, also a plus. gets hottt, straightens my thick and wavy hair. makes your hair look smooth and soft, without even using any product. what else can i say? i cant think of anyhting else, but BUY THIS! its such a bargain and works wonders. :)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Andis Ceramic Plate Flat Iron, 1 Inch

♥ love it

11/09/2008
By ,
the lost city of atlantis
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am amazed. I'm 14 with thick, wavy, dried out hair. The straightner i had took an hour and a half for it to kind of work. This product took me 15-20 minutes and made my hair stick straight. My friend has a chi straightner and up until now that is the only straightner that has ever worked on my hair. The andis straightner actually works better that the chi i think. I ♥ this staightner. Not only does it striaghten hair but it can curl it too.
I give it five stars but my computer is being stupid and won't let me.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Andis Ceramic Plate Flat Iron, 1 Inch

Does what its suppose to!

10/02/2012
By ,
surrounding atl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm black/indian/creo with frizzy hair that doesn't stay straight very long after a flat iron.The product works pretty well definitely better than my last flat iron. Its been about 4 hours and my hair is still considerably straight. Best to use any flat iron with heat protection.I paired this product with Ultra Sheen Flat Iron Spray and my hair has bounce and straightens basically the first time through. I used the setting of 5 and below. Don't need a lot of heat on my hair but just enough to do the job anything above that's really kinda hot so be careful and know its not really necessary. I love how i have body, bounce and straight hair. For us ethnic women you can give it a try but pair it with heat protection and it should do just fine. Of course its not the best around but i like it. If your not of colored ethnicity you should be very satisfied with this product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Andis Ceramic Plate Flat Iron, 1 Inch

Better than my Chi

10/15/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally bought this straightener to hold me over until i got my Chi fixed. And i usually don't write reviews on stuff i buy but oh my gosh this straightener works so much better then my chi ever did even my sister thinks the same. It gets way hotter and straightens better the curls are even tighter and i love that you can change the temperature so you can have looser or tighter curls !!! BUY it you won't be disappointed!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Andis Ceramic Plate Flat Iron, 1 Inch

Great Flat Iron for the price

03/11/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this flat iron for about 6 years now. I have had to replace it every so often because I use it daily. I have tried other irons (most cost more too) only to find that they just don't work like this one. It heats up quick and stays hot. This is a great flat iron for price and I don't mind having to replace it every year or two. It used to be sold in stores, but now I can only find it online. Wish they would bring it back to the store! Definitely worth a try...I'm pretty sure you won't be disappointed. However, don't expect it to last forever if you use it often/daily, as the coating on the plates will start to wear off and it does start to emit a "hot" smell when it's had it's share of use #typically around a year old#. But for the price it's cheap enough to replace every year. I say give it a try!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Andis Ceramic Plate Flat Iron, 1 Inch

Awesome!

10/30/2010
By ,
Kaysvill, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this andis for over 5 years now, It hasn't had any problems and has never broken on me. I love to curl my hair with it, it is better than my curling iron. I straighten my hair every day and I always have this with me. I promise you'll love this product!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Andis Ceramic Plate Flat Iron, 1 Inch

Good but not great.

09/11/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall, this straightener works great. It straightens my thick, wavy hair just fine.
However, it takes 20+ minutes to heat up (on the high setting, which is recommended for normal/thick hair) and the little finger grips at the top that are meant to protect your hands from the heat get extremely hot (defeats the purpose). I would recommend it for the price point.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Andis Ceramic Plate Flat Iron, 1 Inch

Very happy

04/30/2010
By ,
Dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this product for 3 weeks and use it at least 4 times a week. It works very well on lower heat setting resulting in less damage. My last straightener severely damamged my hair, but with this one my hair looks much better.
My only complaint is the dial that holds the unit in the closed position. The slightest bump will turn it, so I find the unit in the closed position during the middle of use. It gets annoying having to stop and turn the dial AGAIN. Other than that I am very happy with the product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Andis Ceramic Plate Flat Iron, 1 Inch

3 years and counting

01/15/2009
By ,
sac, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love, love, love this iron. I've had one for two three years and would not dare by another. Was bummed because I didn't know that Walmart offered $10 less than the andis website. Only bought a new one because the old one was dirty. It still worked perfectly. So so glad I did not spend my money on a Chi which is also good for find hair. Best way to flat iron for me is to part hair into 4 section do back first working from left side to right,side parting small sections. So, so so glad I did not buy an expensive iron.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Andis Ceramic Plate Flat Iron, 1 Inch

Awful!!!!

08/15/2012
By ,
miami
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this straightener because it had good reviews and was relatively cheap. I was going out of town and did not want to take my nice straightener so I decided to buy this Andis flat iron. This flat iron snagged my hair like crazy and was pretty uncomfortable to straighten my hair. Not only that, your hair smells like burnt hair and my boyfriend noticed that the iron gave off an awful burning plastic smell. This is by far the worst cheap flat iron I have ever encountered!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Andis Ceramic Plate Flat Iron, 1 Inch

Best Flat Iron Ever Used

07/08/2010
By ,
Blackfoot, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used a variety of flat irons, and this is, by far, the best. I have naturally curly, very thick, very coarse hair, and other flat irons did not get hot enough to straighten my hair. This sucker gets hot enough to straighten my hair with one quick pass. It doesn't burn the hair, makes it soft and shiny. The smaller plate gets right up close to the scalp, so there aren't any waves in that area. The iron also works great for flipping the hair up on the ends. With one pass, I can make my hair lay flat and straight. It's wonderful! My whole family uses this brand only!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Andis Ceramic Plate Flat Iron, 1 Inch

Magnificient

03/31/2014
By ,
mshappy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this flat iron and it is absolutely stunning! My hair glides through the plates like butter! It is a outstanding price for such a wonderful tool, and not only does it offer a five year warranty, but you don't receive that impression that it will break before then. Highly satisfied!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Andis Ceramic Plate Flat Iron, 1 Inch

over four years!!!

12/16/2010
By ,
LOS ANGELES ,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
have had this product over fours years now and iv loved it the whole time works great, best 15 bucks every spent . but i will say its starting to not heat up as well..but come on .its over 4YEARS old. but i will be buying one again if and when i need too
also I've had a chi , conair & vidal sassoon
and on a scale from 1-10 , 10 being the best
CHI = 10
ANDIS=9******
VIDAL SASSOON=6
CONAIR =4
SO ANDIS IS A GREAT DEAL WHICH NOT MANY PEOPLE KNOW ABOUT
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Andis Ceramic Plate Flat Iron, 1 Inch

awesome product

08/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I seriously thought that because it was so cheap that it would be a great product. I was underestimated, this is one of the best curlers I have ever used.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Andis Ceramic Plate Flat Iron, 1 Inch

Was not sure.......

04/20/2011
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was not that sure about this because some reviews were great and some was not but any who I just said I'll but it and I just got it on april 20th 2011 1st let me say that im a black woman and we need flat irons that heat up quick and is good at what style we are trying to get my hair is thin curly/wavy I have red and jet black color in my hair so I needed a better flat iron since my hair ir curly/wavy and thin it really don't take that much heat to get my hair strig anyways I put it in and it heats up so quick I was so happy with that my other bigger flat iron didnt even do that also this is my 2nd flat iron ever because I was so use to using my bigger VIDAL SASSOON flat iron I really didnt think anything else worked my bigger flat iron heats up in about 30 to 45 min but the andis 1' heats up in sec so this is a must have
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Andis Ceramic Plate Flat Iron, 1 Inch

bad

08/04/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
it was great for like a week but then the ceramic coating started to come off and it smells like its on fire everytime i use it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 159 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next