Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother Computerized 294-stitch Project Runway Sewing Machine PC-420PRW

Brother Brother Computerized 294-stitch Project Runway Sewing Machine PC-420PRW

The Brother Computerized 294-Stitch Project Runway Sewing Machine is a great sewing machine for both beginners and professional designers. This limited edition Brother Project Runway sewing machine features a My Custom Stitch creation program that lets you design your own stitches and save them to memory. Its programmable thread trimmer, advance needle threading system and quick-set bobbin make this sewing machine easy to use. And with built-in utility, quilting, decorative and heirloom stitches with 3 alphabet styles, you will be performing complex stitch patterns in no time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.419 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation87%27 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 41 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother Computerized 294-stitch Project Runway Sewing Machine PC-420PRW

Who knew? I can SEW!!!!

11/12/2012
By ,
Muscle Shoals, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this product to make santa bags for my children and grandchildren for Christmas. I knew that, since I had chosen very difficult fabrics and have not done any sewing for over 40 years, I would need a machine that was extremely versatile and, hopefully, user-friendly. I was not disappointed on either count. The instructions are very well written; the machine itself has the threading and bobbin sequence numbered and, for most people, would be foolproof.
My sister and I have had a lot of laughs over my novice attempts but the machine itself is a true pro. My daughter can't wait to get her hands on it.
I would recommend this machine to anyone who sews, regardless of their expertise, without hesitation. The number of features and ease of use are just short of miraculous. Happy Sewing!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brother Computerized 294-stitch Project Runway Sewing Machine PC-420PRW

Did I just get a lemon?

05/06/2012
By ,
SE N.C.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After reading positive reviews for this machine here, on Amazon.com and PatternReview.com I decided to purchase the PC-420PRW. I am a veteran sewer of 40+ yrs and was looking for a 2nd machine, one to use for classes and for when I was embroidering on my other machine I'd have something to continue to sew with. This machine had the two main features I was looking for in a 2nd machine: thread cutter and knee lifter.
Other than the thread cutter and knee lifter I was very disappointed in this machine. It's decorative stitches were all out of line, just horrible. The tension was iffy as well on all the stitches. It made a funny whiny noise when sewing, not sure if this is normal for this machine or not. I changed the needle/ rewound bobbins with different threads, tried various fabrics with the machine and the stitch quality was so bad no matter what I tried.
Did I just get the proverbial 'lemon'? I returned this machine after two days. I almost ordered another to just to see if it would stitch better but decided on a Singer Quantum 9960 instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brother Computerized 294-stitch Project Runway Sewing Machine PC-420PRW
10/26/2012
By ,
Goldendale, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my Brother 420 Runway Sewing Machine. It is so easy to operate and the feature of the threading and cutting your thread is the most wonderful invention ever made. Beginners in sewing should have no problems with this machine. There is one thing which my husband did for me and that is in one of the brushes I have in my other Brother machine, he drilled a small hole so I could hold the needle I wanted to replace without using my fingers which were slippery at times and now it is so nice an easy to do. I suggest Brother should do this to all of their brushes. I have had other expensive well known machines and nothing beats the Brother's. If your looking for a machine that does it all, then be sure you select a Brother above all others. I love love love this machine...I'm 71 years of age and I feel like a kid with s brand new toy....Thanks Brother..Sincerely, foreversewing
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brother Computerized 294-stitch Project Runway Sewing Machine PC-420PRW

Feed dog problem. Clues??

06/10/2012
By ,
USA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Today after stopping free-motion (FM) work and removing the FM foot, the FEED DOGS will not raise up again. Bummer ! I tried the switch many times after checking the instruction manual. I turned the machine on and off and tried again. I rotated the wheel to engage the needle. I tried everything I could think of. Even got my hubby in to give it a try.
NO LUCK ! This was my 2nd time with FM work so the feed dogs did return to up position the last time. But not this time.
I rate this machine as 'average' since it does what a sewing machine should do.
It is likely I will never use all the stitches.
I bought it because the FEED DOGS dropped and it seemed like a value machine.
And I would recommend it since it seems to run and sew fine. But I am disappointed by this problem already. I have had the PC 420 for only 3 weeks :(
Any help or ideas for a fix would be a great help. Thanks.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hesperia, CA
Feed Dog position
Posted 05/13/2014
I had the same problem.... I was told to move the wheel and reposition the needle.
Try it, if you haven't already,.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Brother Computerized 294-stitch Project Runway Sewing Machine PC-420PRW

A great machine for the money!

06/02/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this machine after seeing the Brother Innovis I-80 at a dealer. I didn't want to work with dealers anymore and I didn't want to trade in my trusty singer which, while it doesn't have fancy stitches, is still a great machine.
The auto- threader is great! The directions are written well which is a plus and I'm very happy with the machine. I did a lot of research before buying a machine (consumer reports, dealers, epinions, brother website) and brother seemed to offer the most features for a good value. A good example is the automatic one step buttonholer. I would have had to spend at least a 1000 dollars (plus tradein) to get this feature in a pfaff. No thanks! The only question I have (the 3 star) is on durability because I don't know how long will it last but it was rated high in consumer reports and so I'm thinking it won't be an issue. Also, I've looked at other machines in the same price range and I'm just not sure any of the brands are making machines like they used to with steel parts etc. FYI on appearance- I told the dealer I was interviewing that even the $600 Innovis seemed very "plasticky" which gave me the impression that "it was a beginner machine and he said that is just what it looks like- it is a good machine". And, I've experienced it first hand- It does everything I currently do very well and I can grow with it with the newer features I haven't had in my past machines.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+79points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brother Computerized 294-stitch Project Runway Sewing Machine PC-420PRW

I cannot believe this perfect machine!

08/11/2008
By ,
Albany, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned at least 100 sewing machines over the last 30 to 40 years. Most of them were top of the line. I haven't bought a TOL for a number of years now, but NEEDED a good basic machine. When I saw this one had Needle up/down, thread cutter, AND a knee lift, I flipped. For about $600 I thought I was getting just that. However, when I got it I was even MORE enthusiastic. I like to sew straight with 3.0 stitch length setting. On this machine you can actually set it permanently, EVEN THE ZIGZAG! I am still discovering things about it that 'love' doesn't describe. If you are a new sew-er, this is the most perfect machine invented. THANK YOU BROTHER!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brother Computerized 294-stitch Project Runway Sewing Machine PC-420PRW

Great Machine for all sewers!

09/26/2011
By ,
Frisco, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had my machine for over a year. It does a great job of everything, except a satin stitch. It skipps stitches. I have learned to do almost everything with this machine including several quilts. I have one problem with the machine and it is my fault. You should NEVER oil the machine. I have always had to oil the machine and thought this one should be oiled as well. Now the computer is no longer working on the machine. I love it so much that I ordered a new machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brother Computerized 294-stitch Project Runway Sewing Machine PC-420PRW

better than expected

03/02/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this machine because I wanted to make a good keyhole buttonhole without spending thousands of dollars. This machine makes an excellent one and much more. The stitch selection is extensive-more than I will ever need. It has a nice feel while sewing. It is easy to use, although you will need to reference the manual for a while. I cannot attest to its durability, having had it only a couple of weeks, but overall I am very pleased with its performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brother Computerized 294-stitch Project Runway Sewing Machine PC-420PRW

Great Sewing Machine

03/15/2010
By ,
Cincinnati, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research before I purchased this machine. I even went to dealers - found that I could do the purchase online more reasonable. The machine is a great machine. Especially when it threads itself, easy to learn how to use, and I am still in the process of learning all the new stitches. The Brother Sewing Machine 294 stitch is all that they advertise it to be. I highly recommed anyone who wants to get a nice sewing machine to get this one. I love this machine, wish I would have purchased it sooner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brother Computerized 294-stitch Project Runway Sewing Machine PC-420PRW

very smooth machine

06/01/2009
By ,
Lake of he Ozarks, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for a good sewing machine for several months ( did lots of research) I wanted the best machine for the money, and this is it! Easy to use, very smooth operation. I am having fun exploring all of the functions!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brother Computerized 294-stitch Project Runway Sewing Machine PC-420PRW

Wonderful Machine

12/26/2008
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this machine for the embroidery patterns and because I thought I could download more designes from the internet, but that's the only thing I can't do with it. It does come with some graph cards to make your own designs and then you have to program them into the machine yourself (which looks really too technical for me), but maybe in a few months, I'll feel comfortable enough to try. I tried every design it makes when I first used it and I've been sewing with it ever since. I had my husband put my old brother machine up in the closet. I'm wanting a serger now, but I don't know if I'll really need one, becausae this machine comes with a cutting foot also. I love this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brother Computerized 294-stitch Project Runway Sewing Machine PC-420PRW

Great Buy and Excellent Quality

03/22/2013
By ,
Northwest Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this model after ALOT of research. I truthfully didn't want a Brother's machine. I currently own a White, but they are no longer in business. I also purchased and returned a Singer Superb. I felt the singer was cheaply made. The reviews on this machine are what convinced me. I also read reviews from HSN network for this machine, and it was customer pick of their machines. This machine is $100.00 cheaper through Walmart than anywhere else, yet you still get all 13 feet, leg lift, and a hard case to protect it. If you would like to upgrade to a better sewing machine with more features, this one is it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brother Computerized 294-stitch Project Runway Sewing Machine PC-420PRW

AWESOME!

07/10/2008
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have sewed my entire life and just love this machine. It does everything that the expensive machines do without the price. I just love all the freatures, the quality of the machine, all the stitches, the knee lift, the ease of use, everything! I spent hours just stitching the 294 different stitches and loving every minute of it. I will own this machine the rest of my life.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brother Computerized 294-stitch Project Runway Sewing Machine PC-420PRW

Fantastic Machine!

10/30/2011
By ,
juniata nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great sewing machine - Have serveral Brother machines including a serger - and all work great! But this one is the best so far! Have been eyeing this one for long time now and finally decided to purchase and glad I did. Has all the bells and whistles of higher priced machines at a much more affordable price! Thank you Brother!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brother Computerized 294-stitch Project Runway Sewing Machine PC-420PRW
10/30/2011
By ,
Mabank, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this machine, I have several other Brother machines, embroidery and sewing and embroidery machines, and will only buy Brother. This is a real heavyweight machine and sews like a dream.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brother Computerized 294-stitch Project Runway Sewing Machine PC-420PRW

great value indeed

06/11/2013
By ,
Lake Elsinore, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did not expect to like this machine so much so I was pleasantly surprised. It has many bells and whistles that you would not expect on a machine at this price point like the auto needle threader (works better than the ones on my two high end machines) a knee lift, and a walking foot and fmq foot included . It sews like a dream and is quiet and stable. very satisfied. I was looking for a light weight machine to take to sewing classes because my high end machines are quite heavy, now I find I use it all the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brother Computerized 294-stitch Project Runway Sewing Machine PC-420PRW

Love this sewing Machine

03/31/2014
By ,
South Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was surprised, for this machine is very different from others I have used. yet the directions are very easy to follow. I enjoy using all the different decorating stitches. looking forward to many hours of sewing on my 294-stitch Project Runway Sewing Machine
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brother Computerized 294-stitch Project Runway Sewing Machine PC-420PRW
12/22/2012
By ,
San Antonio, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wife was using an ancient Singer, she loves this new Brother and all it does for her! It cuts the thread, threads the needle and more with a push of a button. The stitches are amazing and she can even design her own stitches.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brother Computerized 294-stitch Project Runway Sewing Machine PC-420PRW

OMG - What a machine!!!

03/04/2013
By ,
Lawrenceville, G
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so completely thrilled with this machine. Comparable machines would have cost double what this one cost. The attachments included alone is worth half the cost. I love it and am so glad I purchased it. It came with so many feet and complete instructions on how to use each. I have had 2 other Brother machines and this one tops the list.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brother Computerized 294-stitch Project Runway Sewing Machine PC-420PRW

NOT A VERY HAPPY CAMPER!

01/07/2010
By ,
Eatonton, Georgia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I found this machine way more trouble than it was worth. You have to go through to many steps just to change from one funtion to another. The directions in the manual are very hard to understand. It seemed to be poorly made and I didn't feel it would last over time. It cost $150.00 more do to the fact that it said Project Runway. When ever you turned the machine on you had to remember to change the needle position. I'm VERY thankful that Wal-Mart cheerfully refunded my money.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1 2 Next