Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for GE GE 1.1 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, WES1130

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

GE GE 1.1 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, WES1130

The GE 1.1 cu ft Microwave oven WES1130 makes cooking easier. This countertop microwave oven with 10 customizable power levels lets you cook your favorite recipe with ease. The GE microwave oven can be operated with the one-touch cooking controls. With the auto defrost feature, you can defrost meat, poultry, and fish in a short amount of time. The child lock microwave prevents your children from touching the controls and operating the oven. The LCD display on the oven indicates the temperature of your food in digital format. The 12-inch glass turntable helps to cook your food evenly. The oven also features an end of cooking signal that notifies you when your food is finished cooking. This countertop microwave oven is compact in size and provides great style and function.
Average Customer Rating:
4.276 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(1024 Reviews) 775
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
614
4 stars
261
3 stars
43
2 stars
30
1 star
76
Customer Recommendation87%895 out of 1,024reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
614
4 stars
261
3 stars
43
2 stars
30
1 star
76
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GE 1.1 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, WES1130

Don't waste your $!!!

12/06/2010
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this microwave 9 months ago and was thrilled at first. Now I am so disgusted with GE I will NEVER buy another microwave by them. The paint has worn off where the turntable turns exposing the metal underneath. My microwave is now unusable and GE won't help. This is the second one to have done this to me. I HIGHLY suggest picking another brand. Don't waste your money like I did!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 2 for GE 1.1 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, WES1130

Good Value Plus G.E. Stands Behind It's Products

08/17/2011
By ,
Muhlenberg Township, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ordered it on Monday August 1 and it was by my door Wednesday August 3. This unit is an identical replacement of a unit that was purchased in March 2008. There was an issue with that unit and I contacted General Electric. To make a long story short GE stands behind it's products and I bought this for a replacement. As for Walmart, the service is excellent! FEDEX delivered the unit in excellent shape. I kept the glass plate from the old unit just in case of an accident.
The only thing I never liked about this model is that it sits too low on the counter. There are no "feet" on the bottom and I was concerned about scratching the counter top when moving it out to clean. I removed the feet from my old Emerson microwave and put them on the GE back in 2008 using screws. This time not wanting to void the warranty on my new unit I unscrewed the feet from the 2008 GE and installed them on the new one using heavy-duty two-sided tape instead of drilling holes. Works great. I added pictures to show you what I'm talking about. These feet can be found at any hardware department or store. You might want to consider adding those to the bottom of yours.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 3 for GE 1.1 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, WES1130

Love having it...

09/12/2008
By ,
Austin, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love having a nuker after saving up for 10 years for it. Hate the key pad.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for GE 1.1 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, WES1130

Inside Paint Peeling Off

02/13/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this GE Microwave oven from Walmart in Feb 2010. Less than a year later, the paint on the inside starts peeling off. I will NEVER buy GE again.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+15points
Review 5 for GE 1.1 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, WES1130

Perfecto!

07/28/2010
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So I decided to to buy this microwave after reading the reviews on this site and other websites, it was worth it!! I got my microwave in one day which was a big surprise top me so the shipping was very very very fast.
Took it home plugged it in and puff the microwave works great and its pretty quiet. It also seem to cook or heat up fast and evenly. Although I don't do much cooking its perfect for me to heat up ordered out food. I don't have a big kitchen so its fit just right and its not big, its a nice compact size.
I haven't programmed anything yet but the light stays on when cooking and when the door opens. The center glass plate turns, one touch cooking, it has pretty much everything you need even for a chef, the microwave look is great, modern and advanced. So far so good....... Trust me buy it the price aint bad although the technology is old so I would think the cost of a microwave would be cheaper but its worth the price, I know this will last me for a long time.....................
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+123points
Review 6 for GE 1.1 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, WES1130

Just what I was looking for

01/29/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a low cost m/w, and bought another one but the features were not right for me. Bought this one and had everything I wanted so returned the first one. Love the one-touch cooking, as well as the plus-30 button. The timer can be used to time other things, even while cooking. Great design. Only had it two weeks, hope durability is good too.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 7 for GE 1.1 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, WES1130

Good for the money

06/03/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always heavily research things I buy with Consumer Reports and customer reviews. Surprisingly, I didn't see Brand ratings, just individual microwaves. Consumer reports rated the Kenmore really well, but I was hesitant since my second Kenmore in 2-3 years died suddenly. After reading customer reviews, I chose this GE microwave because it cost about half as much, had about the same power and was about the same size. It seems like microwaves in general aren't made as good as they used to be. I have high hopes for this GE after reading the reviews, and decided that if it dies in 2 years like my last two, I at least had equally as good a microwave for half the price.
This microwave is thus far performing well, and I don't notice a difference between it and a more expensive microwave.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+106points
Review 8 for GE 1.1 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, WES1130

Excellent Deal

06/05/2008
By ,
Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product for the price, appearance and operation. It runs very quietly and heats your food excellently. I purchased this product for our department at work and I will probably purchase another one for our church kitchen. I recommend this product to anyone looking for a great deal that is not expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+390points
Review 9 for GE 1.1 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, WES1130
05/12/2008
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to understand/set up. I like the fact that the timer keeps beeping letting you know that you need to take item(s) out. A little smaller than my 1000 watt older microwave and fits conveniently on my countertop with excess room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+105points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NJ
I guess I got a bad one?
Posted 09/24/2011
I barely had mine a little over 2 yrs and it died. I contacted GE and they were so nice about it. They are sending me a $75 gift voucher towards the purchase of a new one. In this day and age, you don't see that very often. I will give them a shot and buy another GE microwave.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for GE 1.1 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, WES1130

GREAT MICROWAVE..EXCEPT...

01/02/2010
By ,
IOWA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I BOUGHT THIS BASED ON ALL THE POSITIVE REVIEWS AND HAVE NOT BEEN DISAPPOINTED..THIS BABY REALLY COOKS! SUPER VALU FOR THE PRICE..ONE THING REALLY KINDA STICKS IN MY CRAW ABOUT THIS THING THOUGH WHICH I NEVER NOTED IN THE REVIEWS..THE BUTTON TO OPEN THE DOOR ONLY WORKS ON THE SIDE..ALL THE OTHER MICROWAVES I LOOKED AT, THE BUTTON PUSHES IN FROM BOTH SIDES OR MIDDLE..THIS ONE OPERATES LIKE A HINGE I GUESS IS THE BEST DESCRIPTION..WHY DOES THAT MATTER YOU ASK? WELL, I'M LEFT HANED, SO WHEN I GO TO OPEN THE DOOR ,I HAVE THE ITEM IN MY RIGHT HAND..THE BUTTON ONLY WORKS ON THE RIGHT SIDE AND IT'S AWKWARD FROM THE OTHERS THAT OPEN THE FULL LENGTH OF THE BUTTON..I KNOW, THIS SOUNDS PETTY, BUT HEY IT'S STILL NOT THE BEST DESIGHN I'VE EVER SEEN FOR SOMETHING YOU USE EVERYDAY.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 11 for GE 1.1 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, WES1130

Looks good/ not good

12/08/2010
By ,
Dallas, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this producet for the office in April 2010. I'm writing today Dec. 2010 becaues I'm online trying to buy another one. This product looks good, has excellent features, but the life span is very short. I guess when U pay less than 100 bucks what more should I expect? We don't use it that often. Not quite sure why it just died. This is the second purchase of the particular microwave. I bought one for my home, it at least work 18 months. I would not recommend this product.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+37points
Review 12 for GE 1.1 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, WES1130

Good value for the price

12/13/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for the price (4 stars) but not quite perfect. Side panels feel a little thin/cheap, and front panel feels a little loose, but the door is sturdy and opens/closes well. The express buttons may be love/hate relationship. My previous microwave required pressing start even after selecting one of the fast cook buttons, but this one starts instantly upon pressing any of the express buttons. So I try to keep a cup of water in it just in case one of the express buttons accidently gets pushed so it doesn't start without something in it. When setting the clock you also have to be really fast or it will cancel in middle of doing it (and if you hit one of the numbers that are labelled as express it will instantly turn on). So you probably want to have the door open or have something inside just in case when setting the clock so it doesn't accidently turn on without something in it. Other than the above mentioned, it cooks really well, and for the size/price its definately worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for GE 1.1 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, WES1130

Very pleased, great deal!

05/13/2009
By ,
Lithia, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We did not want a microwave for the counter but when we figured we weren't going to easily be able to get one to go above the stove, I found this microwave after looking around several places. I did the site to store pick up. They told me my delivery date to the store was going to be like two weeks later...that was awful! Well, fortunately for us it came in almost a week sooner then expected and right before our company came in to town. Though I should have just had it shipped to my house, in the end it did not matter. The microwave is exactly what I wanted, with the 30 second button, etc. It came in great condition and we have had no problems with it so far. We have already had it a week. This is a great buy and I recommend it! It is nice looking on our granite counter top as well! The only thing is I wish it had a door handle and I think that would make it perfect. But that's no biggie. If you are really pondering this deal...ponder no more! Buy it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 14 for GE 1.1 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, WES1130

it almost blew up

04/21/2009
By ,
Beaver, WV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We moved from a home with a built in microwave, also a GE and we used that oven for over five years with no problems. That's why we purchased this one. I must admit that we use our oven an awful lot but It should last much longer than it did. Today I put in some pop corn and suddenly the oven started making a very loud noise and a flashing light was coming from the side of the oven. At first I thought it was the light but it was coming from behind a panel on the side of the oven. I'm just glad I was in the kitchen when it happened. I don't know if a fire could have broken out or not but I'm not willing to take a chance.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 15 for GE 1.1 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, WES1130

GE microwave

04/23/2011
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great microwave, I couldn't believe the power with cooking in this, gets things done very fast. Use some caution with the time in this one, seems to get things done quicker than others that I have owned. I would highly reccomend this for some looking for an inexpensive microwave that definately does the job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 16 for GE 1.1 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, WES1130

great so far!

08/05/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't comment on durability since I've only had this microwave for a couple of weeks. But so far, everything else has been great and just what I was looking for. I was willing to pay more for a new microwave when my old one died to make sure I got a good one. But I was definitely happy that for $69 I found one that met all my requirements: it doesn't have too many buttons that go unusued and crowd the touchpad (like all the ones to heat up or defrost specific types of food), it doesn't show dirt or fingerprints like the stainless models I was considering, it has 6 express cook buttons which I use all the time (1-6 minutes) plus the "add 30 sec." button, it's just the right size and it's conservatively attractive without trying to hard to look modern or cool. I also like that the beeping stops once you open the door and that it gives you a short reminder beep if you forget to take something out after a couple of minutes. The door is not particularly quiet or loud when shut.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 17 for GE 1.1 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, WES1130

Just what I wanted

02/11/2011
By ,
Saugerties NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the micro. It has all the functions I wanted. The auto and manual defrost is the best. The wattage is great for the size of the appliance. The volume on the inside suits my needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 18 for GE 1.1 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, WES1130

Great budget microwave

03/09/2010
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this microwave because we had to have one, not because of its features. I was pleasantly surprised at its cooking power. It seems to cook quickly and evenly and has more features than most people will ever use. If you are looking for a good cheap one, try this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Review 19 for GE 1.1 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, WES1130

Didn't even last through the warranty period

08/06/2011
By ,
Shell Lake, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this GE microwave in Dec. 2010 as a replacement for a GE that I had nearly 10 years. Since my old one was so reliable for so long, I though a GE replacement would be the best option. Apparently not, as this one is already not working. The power will not stay on unless you press hard on the top of the cabinet, and in no certain area, a different place every time. I have to reset the clock every time I walk into the kitchen. I'm a little afraid that being it's an electrical problem to leave it plugged in. Anyway, I contacted GE to see what my warranty options were and they said to return to Wal-Mart. The only problem I see that might happen is I don't have any of the original packaging materials since it's been 7 months since I purchased it. I do have all documentation, receipts, shipping confirmation, and reply from GE instructing me to return for refund or exchange. Crossing my fingers I can return the thing. All-in-all, I will not buy the same model, or maybe not even a GE. Be informed that this microwave did not make it through 1 year of moderate use.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Raleigh, NC
Uhh....
Posted 08/16/2011
The reason you need to set the clock every time you walk in the kitchen is because you unplug the microwave every time you leave the kitchen.
When you unplug it, the clock defaults to factory settings.
Have a great day!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for GE 1.1 cu. ft. Microwave Oven, WES1130

Bought for office

06/11/2009
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good basic microwave. Maybe smaller than I would buy as a family's main kitchen cooker (go larger and more power), but nice unit and awesome for the price! Everyone loves it at the office and it handles tall "extra large" coffees very well.
Product Attributes:
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
1-20 of 767 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  39 Next