Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Haier 12,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Haier 12,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner

This 12,000 BTU portable air conditioner is powerful and efficient. With the auto-evaporation function, there's no need to empty the water tank for the dehumidification function. A full-function remote and 6 settings round out the package, making it perfect for cooling in any room of your home.
Average Customer Rating:
3.889 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation82%37 out of 45reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 12,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner

Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

09/01/2009
By ,
Dallas, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Too much power for my electrical system. I turned it on twice and it blew every circuit. I need a unit with fewer BTUs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 2 for 12,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner

A non-working product

06/19/2009
By ,
Rochester, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product and within 2 days of setting it up, it stopped working. I've written to the company twice, but haven't heard anything back from them. Including the purchase price, the shipping, and the tax, I paid over $400 for a product I can't use. Everyone told me I was paying too much for this item, but it was supposed to be a good product and I was willing to pay the price. I'm no longer as willing and I plan to write to the company once more and then report them if they don't respond.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 3 for 12,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner

save your money and time

08/06/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
had this a/c for 4 days...took it back to walmart got my money back...a/c cools about 5 degrees lower than outside temp....recommend frigidaire window a/c unit 12,000 btu energy star.....this unit will do the job for almost half the price of the haier unit...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+2points
Review 4 for 12,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner

Received Damaged

09/03/2009
By ,
James Island, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Although the packaging & outer casing looked intact and undamaged, the air conditioner never put out cold air. Called service number and they sent out technitian in timely manner. Upon opening the unit, discovered MAJOR damage that was un-repairable. Tried to call Haier Customer Service but neither the technitian nor I could reach for 2 days. Called local Wal-Mart about returning without the original packing box...Manager at Wal-Mart was VERY accomodating and understanding ~ processed refund in a matter of minutes. I replaced unit with another brand/type so, I cannot recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 5 for 12,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner

Size doesn't matter

06/18/2008
By ,
Lehighton, Pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Despite it's 12,000 BTU power it had difficulty even cooling an average size bedroom(10 x 12) on really hot days. I kept the unit on the highest fan speed with the temperature set to 65 but it could not get the room below 79 degrees. Our house is only 5 years old with 2 x 6 construction and R-19 insulation in the walls.
I was really disappointed with this unit: it is big & loud. We have 5,200 BTU rated air conditioners that do as good if not better than this bohemeth.
I took the unit back and bought 5 - Haier 5200 btu units and spread them throughout my home for about the same price as this unit alone.
Just because this unit wasn't good for me doesn't mean there aren't good ones out there. Like I said, the other Haier a/c's that I own work pretty well especially for the price that I paid: $96 bucks each.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for 12,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner
08/20/2008
By ,
Natchez, MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very very disappointed in this product. The 12,000 BTU does not peform the same as a 12,000 BTU window unit. It is not as "portable" as it seems. It is heavy and very bulky. The 2 exhaust tubes that attach to the window will only reach 5 feet, and that is when it is fully extended straight out from the window and will not bend or rotate easily. I have this in a 9x11' breakfast nook, and it barely lowers the temp. The shipping on this product is expensive as well. You cannot repack this product easily if you have to return it, as it sits on a styro platform with a box sliding over the AC to meet the styro held together by plastic bands. Also weighs ALOT! Hate to leave a negative review, but also hate for someone else to be stuck with this monster!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for 12,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner

Don't Bother

08/11/2008
By ,
McArthur, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product and was VERY UPSET by the results. Soon after we started using it, we realized the cooling unit just wasn't working. It was pretty much stuck on fan mode and was not cooling at all. I didn't purchase a $400 fan, so I tried the troubleshooting and even called the manufacturer for help. After they couldn't help they did offer someone to come over and service the air conditioner. Well to make a long story short. . . After five days of dealing with the manufacturer and the servicer they were supposed to have contacted to visit my home. . . NOTHING WAS DONE and I was told to return it to the store because no one in my area could work on this newer machine. WHAT A HASSLE! I had to box it all back up and return it to my local store.
Walmart was good about the purchase and return. The problem was with the manufacturer, Haier, and them being able to fix their own product in a timely manner. Since it was brand new, it shouldn't have even needed to be fixed!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Review 8 for 12,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner

failed the test.

08/12/2008
By ,
SLC, Utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i have been using this product for nearly over a week and it stopped working. i dont know why? i am trying to figure out what the problem is but so far it wont operate.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for 12,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner

Back up Plan

07/13/2009
By ,
Houston, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this unit for a back up because our Central air is down and in Houston, TX that spells HOT. To Hot to Cook or do anything. We have window units in the Rooms but they could not cool the house. We were stuck in the rooms and having to eat out. So this is the alternative, it was easy to set up, they package it Very well. We have Burglar Bars and large Windows so this worked out well However the Bars were aligned different that the Window Kit so I had to install it on the inside instead of right by the window it self. The assembly of the window Kit is tough because when you screw the screws into the plastic no matter how easy you are they pop back out and are stripped so be prepared and have some Epoxy Glue Ready. I let the window kit set over night and stuck the hoses out the window with plastic, ECT. So it can still cool until the assembly was ready. The Coolest I have seen the temp read is 74 in the morning when it’s set on 65 running non stop with a fan helping push the air out. When I get home around 6 after the heat soaks into the bricks of the house the temp reads 82 and so far around that time it’s been around 103 in Houston. I’m not sure how much Square feet its covering but I’m only having it cool the living room with a Vaulted Ceiling and Large Windows as well as the Kitchen. I had to block the Hall and the Dinning Room Off and keep the Door shut to the wash room. I’m sure it will cool better once the temp drops. So I Rate this a 3 because it’s helped this summer be more tolerable. If I had a well insulated apartment with out large windows then I’m sure it would be cooler.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for 12,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner

makes a pregnant woman happy

08/21/2009
By ,
Oregon
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cools down our masterbedroom well. Does not make the room frigid cold no matter that we keep it on all night at the lowest setting - we live in Southern Oregon so it's not that it gets extremely hot here anyways (this week has been in the high 80's - low 90's) . It's "leash" to the window isn't very long, we were hoping we could wheel it out into the living room... but thats not the case. We just position it to point that direction during the evening. It's pretty quiet... no louder then a wired in air conditioner coming on and off.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for 12,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner

Does the job

01/27/2009
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It does well keeping a room cool with a good amount of power for the money. Its not the quetest A/C unit, but you can probably get used to the "white noise". It is supposed to be mobile/portable, but the fragile plastic wheels popped off almost immediately after rolling it just 10 feet from the box it came in, so it needs to be propped up a bit from losing its wheels.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for 12,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner

Does the Job

08/29/2008
By ,
Laguna Beach, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is very good at cooling the office - we've had some that didn't work very well - and it's easy to use. Overall, the employees are happy with the product, as we are all no longer sweating. However, it definitely has some drawbacks. It is extemely loud (can't use speakerphone anymore), the tubes in the back are gigantic, and it's absolutely an eyesore (but what air conditioner isn't, I suppose). It's also rather large, although we don't have a lot of free space in our office.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for 12,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner

Ac Works fine, poor Window Adapter

08/03/2008
By ,
Fremont, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product seems to work just fine for us, we have it in the bedroom where we have a sliding glass door. The adapter provided does NOT fit sliding glass doors as indicated. I had to improvise and use a lot of foam and tape to seal gaps. Front air vent does not auto-swivel like others do... but it works, and the dual exhaust system seems superior to the other one-hose systems out there. Medium to High noise level when operating.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for 12,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner

a great buy

08/18/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This portable ac unit does the job. It is a little unsightly with the two air hoses venting out the window, but it is worth it. The unit cools off our whole downstairs living area. The timer function is also nice. I can turn the unit off at night and set the timer for it to come on before I wake up in the mornings. It turns the compressor off when the room it is in reaches the desired temperature, but keeps the fan going. It has a clean design to it and it's white, which will go with just about any decor. Overall, this is a great product and my husband and I are very pleased with our purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for 12,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner

Great Overall

09/01/2009
By ,
New York, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a single woman in NYC I was not in a position to walk into a store and walk out with an air conditioner. Who's carring it home, and up to the third floor, and putting it in the window? My answer was UPS. This unit is great for the price. I can feel an instant temp drop in my living room when I crank it up. It is a bit large, can be a bit loud, and it doesn't really compliment the room design wise but it does the job. Not sure of my living room square footage but it's kinda large for single NYC living. It does not cool the other rooms of the apartment, but by positioning a fan in the living room and directing it towards the bedroom I can feel a temp change in there as well. Cool enough to sleep comfortably. The remote works well, as does the timer. Overall good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for 12,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner

12,000btu haier portable ac

05/31/2008
By ,
GA.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had this product 1 week easy to install works very well no problems yet
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for 12,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner

A much cooler room for baby!

08/20/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We're very happy with this portable AC unit. It was easy to set-up and does a great job cooling off our newborn's room so we don't have to worry about her overheating in 90 degree weather. I like that it has a thermostat so I can just set it and keep the room at the desired temperature - no more wrapping and unwrapping the baby due to temp. changes.
Two small downsides - it's pretty loud, even when just the fan is running, and it's quite large and heavy. But it's worth it to have the cool air in a room that's not suitable for a regular window AC unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 18 for 12,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner

Worked great

09/07/2009
By ,
Rosebush, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used this several times and it has done a great job. It was no louder than the fans I was running. The assembly directions were not very good but it was pretty simple to assemble. I would definitely recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 19 for 12,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner

all I wanted

06/24/2009
By ,
Sweethome, Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The window passthru/hose conecter is CHEEP !!!! but the unit itself is working and is just what I exceped great way to cool off
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for 12,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner

Beats the heat

08/26/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It cools off very quickly. Its louder than I would like, but it gets the job done.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1 2 3 Next