Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Haier Haier 9,000 BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner w/ Remote

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Haier Haier 9,000 BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner w/ Remote

With this portable air conditioner, you can keep cool in any part of your home. A full-function remote makes changing settings easy, and with 3 cool and 3 fan settings to choose from, you'll always be comfortable. This unit also has a dehumidification function, removing unwanted mold-causing moisture from the air.
Average Customer Rating:
4.147 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation85%29 out of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Haier 9,000 BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner w/ Remote

did the job

08/01/2009
By ,
new jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
first, the site to store free delivery took three days and not the estimated week to ten days which mattered because it was scorching hot.
the unit was easy to install and looked good, which really mattered to my wife who chooses a car based on color. Our 12x12 bedroom was cooled to about 72 with thge temp outside above 90 which wasn't cold but comfortable. At night. with the outside temp around 75 inside it was 65 which I consider cold, but more importantly at 72 or 65, the room was dry.I hate humidity.
Last year, I bought a unit at about the same price, but needed to empty the water ever three hours. That unit went back. As advertised, there is no water to empty with this machine.
My next benchmark will be my electric bill which I expect to be substantially lower, since I've shut my central air off. If that's not the case, I may have to amend this review, but as of now I say: buy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 2 for Haier 9,000 BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner w/ Remote

Good A/C great cooling strength, easy set up

05/14/2009
By ,
San Jose, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This A/C cools my 400-500 sq. ft. studio apartment on the 3rd floor of my complex just fine.
In the south bay area of california it could get quite hot, but this unit can handle it.
The A/C is a little loud. The fan option is helpful (does not require exhaust port hook up, quite, and saves electricity when you don't need need the compressor on.
The remote works well.
The down side is that the oem exhaust port mounting board is only big enough to fit windows. I had to exhaust through a patio door, so I fabricated a piece of plastic.
Another down side is the lack of automatic louvers.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Review 3 for Haier 9,000 BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner w/ Remote

this does the job

07/02/2008
By ,
Batavia,NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It needs a longer extension above for exhaust in sliding glass windows Tnxs
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 4 for Haier 9,000 BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner w/ Remote

Not cool enought

07/28/2008
By ,
Danville, AR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I thought it would cool a larger area and I'm disappointed - our office is 10X12 and doesnot cool it in the afternoon.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 5 for Haier 9,000 BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner w/ Remote

A great air conditioner

04/09/2009
By ,
Houston,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a walk-in closet in my room where I have my computer and it cools the room fast, also with a floor fan I am able to cool my bedroom which is 14'x18' with 10 ft ceilings. I gave the value only three stars because when I purchased it in 2005 it cost almost $500.00
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for Haier 9,000 BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner w/ Remote

A 9,000btu is a 9,000btu

04/28/2009
By ,
TEXAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This may cool down any small to mid sized room easy, but not any un-insulated garage like mine...
To best get the most of it in a garage is to Aim it directly at you like you are in a car or have a fan help it spread out the cool air to drop the garage temp to a few degrees on a punishing Texas Summer.....
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Haier 9,000 BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner w/ Remote

Great portable a/c

06/13/2010
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit is an excellant unit for an average size room. We cool a 300sq ft area with it comfortably. With outside temp 95 and unit set on 68 it cooled the room to about 74 which was very comfortable compared to outdoors. At night when temp dropped below 80 outside it would cycle on and off and keep the room at 68. Unless the humidity is very high you will only need to empty water tank about once a week. Great product for the price and very simple 15 minute installation. Great for side slide windows where you cannot use a conventional window unit. You can order an adaptor kit to vent through a sliding door.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Haier 9,000 BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner w/ Remote

Expensive, but worth it

07/06/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have had this a few weeks now. Room temp. in my upstairs bedroom was only about 81 during the day, with outside temps in the 90's to 100's. Within minutes of setting up and plugging in, the temp dropped to a pleasant mid-70's range. Keeping the door closed and the machine on, could easily reach 68 degrees- maybe more, but that was plenty cool for me!
This is a great airconditioner!
Pros- Great cooling power, no need to ever empty water reservouir, adjustable window venting system, fit into my window just fine, very long, flexible exhaust hose so no problems reaching the window to vent, Wal Mart on-site pick-up saved me tons on shipping and was quite fast
Cons- display light for room temp. *never* goes off while machine is running- had to cover it so I could get some sleep- not a huge deal, just annoying, *is* expensive, while the wheels on bottom do allow you to roll it around- it is still very heavy and has no handles so made it hard to carry upstairs, instructions in manual were baffling and almost useless
Maybe a con, but I was okay with it- it runs very noisily- the motor, fan, and compressor all make noise and when one comes on or shuts off during a cycle the noise can be loud and jarring. For me, personally, I like white noise, esp. when sleeping, so I got used to it. If you are bothered by it, you might re-consider use in a bedroom.
It seems like a very well-made product!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Haier 9,000 BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner w/ Remote

Cool in the valley

08/16/2008
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Living in the Sacramento area the summers get quite hot. Having an upstairs makes for quite a challenge for the central air to keep up with the heat. By early evening, even with the A/C running continuously, the upstairs is still in the low 90's. After I got my portable air unit up and running I set the temp. at 72 degrees. Not only did it keep our large bedroom at 72, the cool air spilled out into the rest of the upstairs making it noticably cooler. Even with the fan on high it was not what I would call loud. To bad I didn't think of this sooner. This is a GREAT product. Buy it ! ! !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Haier 9,000 BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner w/ Remote

Awesome!

08/24/2009
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great in my garage
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Haier 9,000 BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner w/ Remote

Very Useful Product

08/04/2008
By ,
Chillicothe, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very happy with my purchase! My room gets extremely hot in the summer, as the central air doesn't cool it off as much as the rest of the house. Even though this product is a little pricey, I believe it was well worth it. It cools off my room VERY quickly! The window venting is a little inconvenient, but the trade-off is well worth it. I do get some tiny little gnats in my room up by the light at night, even though I have the venting installed correctly and taped up, but at the most, I see two or three of them (no big deal). I recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Haier 9,000 BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner w/ Remote

an excellent cooling source

02/05/2009
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this unit. What makes it appealing is that there is a built in heater to evaporate the water so you do not have to worry about draining water pans or installing a water line. The only issue I had was that the venting pipe wasn't long enough and the vendor had to find a local area where it could be purchased. My unit is used in my office to cool it because of the computer equipment. I don't have windows for venting so the hot air is being directed through the ceiling tiles. I am extremely happy with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Haier 9,000 BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner w/ Remote

Good unit for up to 300 sf

06/11/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this a/c hoping to cool down my 400 sf garage. But the Florida heat is just too much for it. The best it could do was keep it around 80, even though the garage is fully insulated. I thought it might do the job based on other reviews that said it would cool 400-500 sf. There should be a square footage rating in the item description, but there isn't. There isn't even a sf rating on the package or in the manual. It's a nice unit overall but I think its probably good for about 300 sf at best.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 14 for Haier 9,000 BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner w/ Remote

Disappointed

08/21/2009
By ,
NW
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Disappointed in the "tankless" feature portion. The unit shuts off every 30 minutes because the tube in the back is filled with water. The plug is located so low on the unit that we have to stick a bunch of towels and a cookie sheet to collect the water. Reviews did not seem to indicate that others had this problem with condensation occurring so frequently. I would prefer to have had a reservoir and have it run for 4 hours straight.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Haier 9,000 BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner w/ Remote

Relief!

07/26/2009
By ,
Washington State
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have short bursts of hot weather where I live, but are having a record hot spell lasting several days now. This works great, it cools the open floor plan of my living room, dining room and kitchen. The noise is what I would expect from any window AC. No problems with the remote, no issues with autoevaporation. The exhaust hose could be a bit longer and more flexible, but it was easy to set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for Haier 9,000 BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner w/ Remote

THE WINDOW PIECE IS WHACK

07/01/2008
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The device itself runs pretty well. The dehumidifier option is actually better than the cooling option. However, I had a horrible time getting it in the window. The window piece left about a 1" of space between the the top and bottom edges of the window opening and the plastic. Who designed this part? Anyway, good price once you figure out how to work around the faulty window piece.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Haier 9,000 BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner w/ Remote

Works pretty good

07/17/2008
By ,
New Hope, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
During these hot Summer days, it is refreshing to have this product. It cools in the matter of minutes of being turn on. when first put on it displays the temperature of the room. All you need to do is adjust the temperature to your desire level and in no time the your room reaches your desire temperature, thanks to the modern technological design of this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Haier 9,000 BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner w/ Remote

blissfully cool

06/29/2008
By ,
buffalo, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new air conditioner. I am disabled and would have to wait until someone was not too busy to put my old air conditioner in the window. This one I did myself. It cools both my living room and my dining room beautifully.
I recommended this product to a friend of mine and she went out and bought one too. This is the best purchase I've made in a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Haier 9,000 BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner w/ Remote

so-so

08/18/2009
By ,
Central Maine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I found it doesnt cool as well as I had hoped and the exhaust hose gets very hot.. it is also very noisy ,,the one good thing is it made me more sure I would buy a different brand of portable airconditioner I have a friend who bought a GE and it cost about the same is quieter and seems to cool better.. Walmart didnt have the same thing when I was shopping
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 20 for Haier 9,000 BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner w/ Remote

Haier 9000 portable air conditioner

07/16/2009
By ,
Marietta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product does work well. It is a little loud, but the sound it makes is akin to white noise. Based on reading other reviews upfront, this product appeared to be low maintenace versus other similar products. After owning the product for a few months now this observation still holds true. I would recommend this product to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next