Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Haier 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Haier 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

This portable air conditioner is as attractive as it is effective. Ultra-compact in size, you can move it from room to room and store it easily when not in use. With a dehumidification function, you can also use this 7,000 BTU air conditioner to remove unwanted moisture in your home.
Average Customer Rating:
3.717 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(92 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
30
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation78%72 out of 92reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
30
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

Disappointed

08/14/2008
By ,
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product was not up to my expectations. It never cooled the small room it was in. The hose never fit into the opening on the air conditioner, had to tape it. The temperature gauge malfunctioned from the beginning. I ended up returning this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

Not of value

08/03/2009
By ,
Chester, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The unit does not turn off when it reaches the room temperature reaches the set temperature. The fan runs all of the time, even after the compressor shuts down. It is supposed to run for only three minutes after reaching the set cooling temperature.
The unit is larger than two small air conditioners which is what I should have purchased after my experience with this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 3 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

Terrible experience

06/28/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The remote that came with the product was the only way to control the temperature, only it was broken, leaving me to suffer through 100 degree days with no A/C. As you can imagine, I returned it immediately.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 4 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver
07/10/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I PURCHASED THIS PORTABLE AIR CONDITIONING UNIT FOR MY DAUGHTER'S APARTMENT. SHE HAS AIR CONDITIONING IN THE LIVING ROOM OF HER APARTMENT, BUT HAD FANS FOR THE BEDROOM. WE SET UP THE UNIT, SET IT ON 72 DEGREES, CLOSED THE BEDROOM DOOR, AND TWO HOURS LATER WENT INTO THE BEDROOM AND IT WAS STILL 83 DEGREES IN IT. I AM EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED WITH THIS PRODUCT AND I AM RETURNING IT THIS WEEKEND. IT COULD BE THAT THE UNIT I PURCHASED IS JUST NOT WORKING PROPERLY, BUT I AM NOT TAKING ANY CHANCES AND WILL NOT BE BUYING ANOTHER ONE.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 5 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

Dissapointing

06/18/2008
By ,
Pasadena, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Doesn't work like I imagined. The room never gets less than 80-85 degrees (it's a 10x10 room), and it has to have an output through a window. It's not just portable to anywhere in any room.
I can't get the remote to work after the 2nd day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

Broken on arrival.

08/20/2008
By ,
Brooklyn NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I live in NYC on the top floor of an apt with very little window ventilation. I normally hate airconditioning and prefer fans, but this summer was brutal and decided to go for the AC. Thing is both windows in my apt were odd sizes and no airconditioner would fit. So a friend told me she bought this portable model and it was fine. SO..I did the same, trusting her judgement.
This thing never ran for more then one hour, pretty much on the dot, since DAY ONE. It would shut off and fill up with water. And the stupid thing about the water spout is that it's about a half inch away from the floor and if you unplug it the water gushes all over the place. There's no room to place a bowl or a cup underneath. And it's quite a bit of water. So I tried to lift the unit onto a chair to have access to the spout. It's extremely heavy, doesn't feel portable at all. So this went on for a few days of shutting off and not cooling off my shoebox of a bedroom and draining a ton of water. So I called the customer service line and they said they would send someone out. Which they did (free of charge--which was nice). They said the fan was broken and they would have to order the part, and come back A WEEK later to replace it. (mind you, it had been about 85-95 degrees everyday this summer in NYC). When they came back a week later to replace it, what seemed what should've taken about 20 minutes, took 2 hours. And then they figured out the ENTIRE UNIT was broken and that someone would be coming out to give me a replacement.
I bought this on July 28, received it July 30. It's now August 20, and I'm still waiting for someone to just CALL me about sending the replacement unit. I've OWNED this AC for pretty a much a month and have never actually been able to use it. By the time I get the new one, the leaves will be falling off the trees and will be time to put the AC into storage and I won't be able to test it out to see if it works until NEXT summer. Doesn't seem worth $322.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 7 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

Loud and Bulky

07/01/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this unit thinking it would help cool my room at night to help me sleep. The following were problems I had with the unit:
1. You need the remote control to operate the unit and to control temperature. Without batteries, you cannot set the temperature or change the mode.
2. The unit makes alot of noise at night when it is condensing air into water. The noise is very annoying. I don't mind the mild humming noise that it makes when it blows cold air out but when it starts condensing water, it sounds like plastic wrap being twisted.
3. The exhaust comes out the back, you need at least 3 feet between the unit and your window/wall. An exhaust out the top would allow the unit to sit closer to the window/wall. My unit practically sat in the middle of my room.
4. The exhaust panel did not stay locked when I screwed in the side screws allowing hot air from outdoors to leak in (according to the instructions it said it was suppose to lock if you screw in the side screws).
5. Its ugly.
I was actually planning on returning my unit today although I threw out the box, Walmart said it would still take it back. Thank you Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 8 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

VERY OVERRATED PRODUCT

07/16/2009
By ,
Mundelein, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this product Site to Store, the specification for the room for this product are totally over rated. I did a thorough research on this product and then bought it but it was not able to even cool the studio in which I live even 6 degrees less even though the temperature was around 75 which is not that bad. It is basically a dehumidifier not an AC unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 9 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

So Bad...

06/24/2009
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a dehumidifier and don't let the box tell you any different. I bought it because I have a tiny apartment and an inconvenient window. The air vent was very easy to install in the window, and the unit does blow "cool" air. But it was 88 in my shoebox of a bedroom and after 12 hours it wouldn't cool past 82 and sometimes went up a degree or so. I had even set it to 68 and still no relief. After being without ac ALL DAY in 104 degree weather I am livid. My 5,000 btu window air conditioner would've cooled it off in no time, but it was so inconvenient that I decided to try this. It's definately going back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 10 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

Disappointed in dehumidifier aspect

07/21/2008
By ,
Suffolk Co NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I use it in the basement. I was tired of using the dehumidifier because of the hot air it generated. I thought this would have worked considering it uses the same amount of wattage as the dehumidifier and the manual said it could be used 3 ways -- cooler, dehumidifier, and fan. It does cool down the room, however, it does NOT remove the humidity as the manual describes. So, I still have to use the humidifier.
What I also wish is that you can change the flow direction without having to move the unit. When I move the unit, out pops the ventilation hose. The hose is barely long enough to reach the basement casement window. I will see if I can find an extension kit.
Another negative is that the unit never turns off. My old dehumidifier would. Most A/C do, too. So, the electric bill will be quite substantial in comparison.
Will I return it? No because unless manufacturers make a really small unit that would fit in a casement window, I have no choice if I want COOL AIR -- especially after this recent heat/humidity wave.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

dont get it

06/27/2008
By ,
chicago,il
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
i went to the store to pick up the product and the box looked torn and when i got the air conditioner home that night i hooked it up and turned it on the remote worked the next morning i woke up it didnt work no i didnt drop it all it just didnt work and never has ever since so i got to take it back
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

Didnt cool a room as expected

07/22/2008
By ,
Illinois
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought this for our little hard sided camper that is only about 10x6 in size. Took it on a trip, plugged it in on a hot day-maybe 85deg. with low humidity, went out for 4hrs and expected to return to a cool environment. It was cooler outside. We also tried this on our 12x15 sunroom that has a fair amount of insulation, and still no luck. Cool air blows out, but not enough to cool even a small room. We are disappointed and we are returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

Disappointed with unit - remote broke immediately

07/11/2008
By ,
Hudson Valley, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We received the AC and immediately set it up. The remote - which controls the settings and temperature of the unit - had fresh batteries and did not work. I called Haier Customer Service who asked that we send a copy of the receipt. After two weeks, have not received the replacement remote and when I called the CS I was told it is on back order (which could take up to 90 day - basically the whole rest of the Summer)
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 14 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

Did not meet expectations!

08/18/2008
By ,
Kansas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I read all the printed info about this air conditioner and I assumed that since it was portable that the exhaust would not have to be expelled through a window. Was I wrong. Doesn't do me any good since I don't have a window in the room I am wanting to use it in. Doesn't exactly make it portable then, does it?
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Review 15 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

Doesn't Work Very Well

08/21/2009
By ,
Long Island, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this product about two months ago (in June) and the only reason I chose this a/c was because it was cheap and it was the only model that the store had left. Well..... installation was easy to set up, I have to drain the water from back spout every day and it makes my room about 3-5 degrees warmer than what it is outside. The square footage of my room is 10x12. It blows out cold air but you wouldn't know it unless you stand directly in front of it. Even right now as I type this review it is 77 degrees outside and 83 degrees in my room. I would NOT reccommend this item to anyone. Buy something with a BTU higher than 7,000
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

Portable AC

09/09/2008
By ,
Chicago, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
the product is sleek, and pretty, but the ventilation hose won't stay attatched, resulting in not working properly to cool the apartment/room. I spent alot of money and I am not satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

Too much for too little

05/21/2009
By ,
El Paso, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought a window unit for about $100 and it was 5,300 BTU that works way better than this unit, it hardly cools and it has 7,000 BTU, not worth the buy
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver
08/19/2009
By ,
Seattle, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered this A/C to use the two or three times a year we need it in Seattle. It took almost 2 weeks to arrive. When it arrived, we plugged it in and realized the digital display was half working. I sent it back for an exchange on August 13th. They have not received the damaged one yet, so the jury is still out on whether or not it cools.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 19 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

airconditioner

08/18/2008
By ,
Indiana, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We were disappointed when the "portable room air conditioner " arrived and we unpacked it as no where in the advertising or the pictures on the packaging suggested that the air conditioner needed to be vented to the outside and it needed an independent receptical in order to operate properly.
As it didn't meet our needs, we retu4rned it and bought a regular window air conditioner.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 20 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

Some Relief from the heat

06/20/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
While it does cool the area around it, it does not cool the room like I was expecting. I have to turn on a fan to help cool the room with it on. It is fairly noisy, I have to turn the tv way up to hear it and then I can't hear the baby cry if he wakes up with the fan, air, and the tv on! Very easy to setup and it does come with 2 remotes which is nice in case you lose one. Only recommended if using in addition to central air or live in cooler climates.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 76 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next