Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Haier 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Haier 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

This portable air conditioner is as attractive as it is effective. Ultra-compact in size, you can move it from room to room and store it easily when not in use. With a dehumidification function, you can also use this 7,000 BTU air conditioner to remove unwanted moisture in your home.
Average Customer Rating:
3.717 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(92 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
30
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation78%72 out of 92reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
30
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

We got 3

08/17/2008
By ,
Azusa, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is our 3rd unit purchased from WalMart over the last 3 months. Our central a/c stopped working earlier this year and it will cost a bundle to replace it. We bought 3 of this portable a/c, one for each bedroom. They all work just fine and cools each room comfortably. The timer is a greart feature. We program them to turn on about an hour before we come home and the individual rooms are comfortable. Together with a fan, the room temp gets comfortable quiker. Because we are cooling individual rooms as we need them, we have reduced our electric bill compared to when the central a/c was still operable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 2 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

Portable Airconditioner

08/19/2008
By ,
buford Ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The air conditioner works very well in our over the garage bedroom. The only problem is the amount of water the dehumidifer draws from the air. There is an internal drip pan, it is however not large enough to contain all the water. Make sure you have an external water catcher for this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Review 3 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

Great product!

07/20/2008
By ,
Conover, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product. It is small and looks nice and is very quiet. We bought it as an addition to our central air and it works very well. The only complaint that I have is that it does not indicate on the box nor in the description that you will have to vent the hot air outside. It makes reference to the moisture, but not the air. This was a surprise to us, but luckily we had a place to cut a hole for the vent. You can also vent it through a window. An adapter is included. As long as you know this and can accomodate it, it will work well for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 4 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

Perfectly Cool

03/21/2009
By ,
Lexington, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit was exactly what I was looking for. The master bedroom of my condo stays very hot during the summer due to having two exterior uninsulated walls and being fartherest from the cooling unit for my condo, needless to say its miserable sleeping. This unit was easy to install with a little modification because the kit was not tall enough to fit in my side opening windows. My room has never been this cool, without snow on the ground atleast. Usually its about 90 or so in my room this unit keeps it between 68 to 70. I love it. Following the directions keep it from building water up. If you start it the unit and the temp of the room is above what is stated in the directions it has a hard time cooling but ive learned to follow manufactors direction and it works perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 5 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

Does the job..

08/21/2008
By ,
San Diego
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These a/c's just don't get as cold as a regular window unit. But, they do cool the room down enough to make a hot, sticky day comfortable. Just remember to get a higher BTU number than you would a regular a/c. For my tiny apartment this 7000 BTU unit is fine, but for any normal sized house or apartment get a 10,000 BTU at the very least.
Installation was easier than a window unit, the only tool you need is a phillips screwdriver to screw the hose to the window exhaust piece. Actually unpacking the thing was harder than the installation. And you can easily scoot it around (slowly of course) and the hose will bend accordingly.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 6 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

Disappointed in dehumidifier aspect

07/21/2008
By ,
Suffolk Co NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I use it in the basement. I was tired of using the dehumidifier because of the hot air it generated. I thought this would have worked considering it uses the same amount of wattage as the dehumidifier and the manual said it could be used 3 ways -- cooler, dehumidifier, and fan. It does cool down the room, however, it does NOT remove the humidity as the manual describes. So, I still have to use the humidifier.
What I also wish is that you can change the flow direction without having to move the unit. When I move the unit, out pops the ventilation hose. The hose is barely long enough to reach the basement casement window. I will see if I can find an extension kit.
Another negative is that the unit never turns off. My old dehumidifier would. Most A/C do, too. So, the electric bill will be quite substantial in comparison.
Will I return it? No because unless manufacturers make a really small unit that would fit in a casement window, I have no choice if I want COOL AIR -- especially after this recent heat/humidity wave.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

Expected more, but works fine for my use.

07/13/2008
By ,
Riverside County, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this unit for my small studio that is about 150-200 square feet. The air flow from the vent seems slow or restricted. For a unit this size I expected more air flow, it would just take some time to cool down the area. I wish it had an automatic feature that would allow the unit to turn when it reached a certain temperature. Only draw-back is it has a required window ventilation kit that needs to be installed. The window kit does not fit my window; the kit does not extend high enough since my window is taller and opens side to side not up and down. Overall, it is a value if you use the site to store option. Just wish Wal-Mart would put the dimensions of the window kit so consumers would know if it would fit their windows or not. I measured the window kit to be about 37 inches tall. On a good note, if you use the site to store option, you SAVE on shipping and it got to my store within 5 business days! The great thing about this unit is if you have a car similar to a Ford Taurus, it will fit just fine in an empty trunk.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 8 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

OVER RATED

08/10/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WELL IT HELPS BUT THE SUGGESTED ROOM DIMENSIONS ARE COMPLETELY OVERRATED. MY BEDROOM IS 12 X 13 AND THE COOLEST I COULD GET THE ROOM WAS 78 DEGREES. IN MY SMALLER OFFICE ROOM (10 X 10) IT PERFORMED VERY WELL. ANY ROOM BIGGER THAN THAT IT WILL JUST TAKE THE EDGE OFF. FOR THE PRICE IT DID OK AS A BACK UP WHEN THE CENTRAL UNIT WENT DOWN. THE FAN AND DEHUMIDIFIER FUNCTIONS WORKED BETTER THAN THE A/C DID.GOOD MODEL FOR A SMALLER APARTMENT, CABIN OR TRAILER TYPE HOME. BETTER OFF SPENDING THE EXTRA $30 AND BUYING THE 9,000 BTU MODEL.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 9 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

Inexpensive and Efficient

08/18/2009
By ,
Tacoma,WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had this air conditioner delivered to our home well-packaged with additional accessories. This model works great for such a small unit. It cools a medium sized bedroom in my apartment nicely. There is a nice long flexible air hose that attaches to the a plastic panel included. So, you can position your air conditioner away from the window a good distance. You will have to get use to the noise, like you hear in some motels. The only minor problem we had is the open/close cover over the air flow outlet doesn't open far enough flat to allow more airflow straight out and not upward, so I may have to remove it. The air flow will work fine for most people. Temperature control and controls work fine. You may have to make some manual temp adjustments along the way if you get too cold or hot. Fits basically any size window. We live on the second floor so it gets pretty hot on warm days. We've had it for about three weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

Does a nice job

07/02/2008
By ,
Kansas City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally purchased the unit to supplement my central a/c in my master bedroom, on the west side of the house. It serves that purpose nicely and I have also used it to cool the room when the central a/c was turned off. It performed quite well to cool the one room and it allows me to turn my thermostat higher on the central a/c, or even leave it off.
I also like the evaporative moisture removal system. Others I had looked at required draining a tank, much like a dehumidifier. This evaporative process works quite well and I have yet to have the overflow tank need draining.
The biggest drawback I see is that all controls (except on/off) are through the remote control. Lose that, or the batteries go dead, and you cannot change any settings on the unit. Aside from that, the operation of the unit is very efficient. I would still buy it again. Good value for the price paid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

could be great

07/30/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This system works well to cool the air; HOWEVER, the panel which is supposed to fit into the window was way too short (even when fully extended). I tried using thick insulation foam (easy to cut); but it wasn't sturdy enough to attach the hose to. Will have to get wood cut to fit. (It has already been more work than I anticipated.)Also, the item sticks out further into the room than expected (because of the stiffness of the hose), so angled from a corner works best. I used in a front facing bedroom window. You can hardly see the hose from the front of the house (which had been a big concern). It operates ONLY from a remote, which fits in a slot on the top.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 12 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

Loud and Bulky

07/01/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this unit thinking it would help cool my room at night to help me sleep. The following were problems I had with the unit:
1. You need the remote control to operate the unit and to control temperature. Without batteries, you cannot set the temperature or change the mode.
2. The unit makes alot of noise at night when it is condensing air into water. The noise is very annoying. I don't mind the mild humming noise that it makes when it blows cold air out but when it starts condensing water, it sounds like plastic wrap being twisted.
3. The exhaust comes out the back, you need at least 3 feet between the unit and your window/wall. An exhaust out the top would allow the unit to sit closer to the window/wall. My unit practically sat in the middle of my room.
4. The exhaust panel did not stay locked when I screwed in the side screws allowing hot air from outdoors to leak in (according to the instructions it said it was suppose to lock if you screw in the side screws).
5. Its ugly.
I was actually planning on returning my unit today although I threw out the box, Walmart said it would still take it back. Thank you Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 13 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

Well Engineered

07/03/2008
By ,
Nashville, TN. Old Hickory Lake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Haier 7000 BTU air conditioner was installed on a 30 foot sailboat in the aft starboard berth. It was vented into the stern lazarette meaning that the lazarette cover must be open when the unit is on. The front or cool evaporator portion of the unit faces the cabin and the vented rear or hot condenser portion of the unit faces aft. I plan to partition around the unit to separate the two parts in hopes of decreasing the influence, of the vacuum created by the condenser fan, of drawing outside hot air into the cabin area. I also plan to cover windows and hatches with reflective material and use a sun shade installed over the full length of the 13 foot boom. .
At present and without the above improvements, the inside temperature can be lowered about 8 or 10 degrees F below the outside temperature. The lower temperature, good air movement and lowered humidity makes the inside environment very comfortable.
It performs as expected and is ideal in size, weight, and power consumption for use on a sail boat at dock.
Its shape and size made it reasonably easy to improvise a method to lash it down and make it sea-worthy while sailing in rough waters.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 14 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

These units are the GREATEST!

07/03/2009
By ,
Dallas,Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had over time,had 3 of these units-different brands,BUT-the GREATEST thing now is that the prices are nearly,in many cases,almost HALF of what they were 6-8 years ago!!
My 16th floor condo gets REALLY hot,to me-we have an HVAC(sp.?) here-and the bills are all paid in HOA dues,in Texas,it's now so humid,that in summer I have to empty the water tank every 3-4 hours-BUT-at least the smaller units are LIGHTWEIGHT...water is heavy!!-When you come home after 8 hrs. out,it only takes @ 20 minutes with unit on 62 degrees to feel cool-in 1,600 sq.ft.!! Also,I'
m a disabled grandma-and I have even FIXED my older 10,000 btu unit...they really are a FANTASTIC product-you can buy a cute "screen" and hide them from view..I also suggest buying a round large hot water heater drainage pan to put underneath-then flooring is protected!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

Nice air conditioner

06/19/2008
By ,
Binghamton, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I picked up my AC at WalMart last week. When we opened the box to set up the AC we noticed two coaster wheels were damaged. The wheels are just one part of the AC and we are sure either WalMart and/or Haiers will make good on this dilemma for us. In regard to the air conditioner, it worked amazingly well in our master bedroom. This is not a small room and the AC worked nicely to cool down the room to an even temp. This gem from Haier was so easy to set up. We had no problems setting up the window exhaust and placing in our window. Of course we want the coaster wheels replaced for the portability and easy storage capabilities provided by this model. Otherwords, the words portable will not apply to the one I picked up. The air conditioner is small and compact; looks nice. No more having to drag yourself out of bed to change the settings on your air conditioner when necessary. The remote is on the night stand within reach. If the air becomes cooler than you want, turn the AC on to fan or boost the symbol upwards to bring your room to a higher temp, or turn the mode down to slower -- all by remote. Going back to easy portability, roll it to another room in the daytime & set it up. Not hard to do at all. The exhaust is that easy to fit in to windows. When the seasons change, no more heavy lifting In & out of storage or drilling holes in your window casing to secure a window AC. Just roll your AC in to a closet. And in summers it comes out of hiding just as quick. Easy Peasy. I couldn't ask for any thing more in an air conditioner.
Except for two replacement wheels please ; )
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 16 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver
04/20/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hi
I pickup my product from wall mart store (super idea to order to store and money saving) so far I still testing but cooling unit working super if you understand this unit is designed for small room I using it in my rv trailer 100sf
this unit is small and looks very good(silver color ) so far we do not have yet over 90 but cool well and spread air very good fan working perfect special if you put vent pipe inside room and is quiet compare to roof units
I well recommended this unit
Bobe
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 17 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

Nice Portable Cooling

06/23/2008
By ,
Springfield Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Master Bedroom windows are at the Head of my bed, so a window a/c unit wiuld just blow on my headboard. The Haier portable 7k BTU was the ticket! This little unit works great in a medium size room. It was a breeze to set up. It cools good and has a good blower to deliver the cold air. The only thing I don't like is the remote control, it's small and hard to read the functions. It could be designed a whole lot better. But other than that, The portable unit does a good job. The ship to store was faster than expected too. I'm looking into buying a 10k to 12k portable unit for another part of the house. These portable units are sure easier to set up and store than the bulky window units. I'm sold on the ease of use they offer. I'm handicapped, and these make set up easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

So Bad...

06/24/2009
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a dehumidifier and don't let the box tell you any different. I bought it because I have a tiny apartment and an inconvenient window. The air vent was very easy to install in the window, and the unit does blow "cool" air. But it was 88 in my shoebox of a bedroom and after 12 hours it wouldn't cool past 82 and sometimes went up a degree or so. I had even set it to 68 and still no relief. After being without ac ALL DAY in 104 degree weather I am livid. My 5,000 btu window air conditioner would've cooled it off in no time, but it was so inconvenient that I decided to try this. It's definately going back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 19 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

air conditioner review

08/05/2008
By ,
LUMBERTON/MT.HOLLY, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THE PRODUCT IS OKAY,IT WAS A LITTLE TOUGH
TO PUT UP(GET IT RUNNING).THE INSTRUCTIONS
AREN'T AS SIMPLE AS COULD BE, ALMOST THREW
OUT AN ACCESSORY BECAUSE OF YOUR VERY GOOD
HIDING PLACE(WITHOUT INDICATING THAT WAS
WHERE IT WAS. THE INSTRUCTIONS FOR USING THE
REMOTE AND ITS FUNCTIONS ARE VERY COMPL-
ICATED ALSO IT COOLS VERY WELL BUT NOT
ENOUGH INFORMATION/DETAILS ON THE AREA THE
UNIT CAN COVER(FEET ETC. OF SPACE), IF IT DID
STATE IT EITHER IT COULDN'T BE FOUND OR WAS
TOO,TOO HARD TO UNDERSTAND, ESPECIALLY
THE 3-CONTROL BUTTONS(AIR,DEHUMID.,FAN)..
VERY CONFUSING OF EACH OF THEIR FUNCTIONS
IN DETAIL.....OF COURSE AIR MEANS...BLOWS
OUT THE AIR,BUT THE NUMBERS SHOWN(ACTUAL
TEMPERATURE/ROOM TEMPERATURE?)...ETC.,
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for 7,000 BTU Commercial Cool by Haier Portable Air Conditioner, Silver

Doesn't Work Very Well

08/21/2009
By ,
Long Island, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this product about two months ago (in June) and the only reason I chose this a/c was because it was cheap and it was the only model that the store had left. Well..... installation was easy to set up, I have to drain the water from back spout every day and it makes my room about 3-5 degrees warmer than what it is outside. The square footage of my room is 10x12. It blows out cold air but you wouldn't know it unless you stand directly in front of it. Even right now as I type this review it is 77 degrees outside and 83 degrees in my room. I would NOT reccommend this item to anyone. Buy something with a BTU higher than 7,000
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 76 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next