Ratings and Reviews
TV
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for The Hunger Games

The Hunger Games

The acclaimed author of the New York Times bestselling Underland Chronicles series delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in a stunning novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to the present.
Average Customer Rating:
4.924 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation98%64 out of 65reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 16 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for The Hunger Games

Great first book in trilogy.

04/14/2012
By ,
Klamath falls Or.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought it for a gift for my daughter who is crazy about Hunger games series, and I read it too and really enjoyed them. We could not put it down and had to purchase next two books in series to see what happens next.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The Hunger Games

The Best YA Book I've Read in a Long Time

09/08/2009
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow. Wow, wow, wow--this book is incredible! Deep and gripping, I couldn't put it down until I was finished. The story was so unique and amazing. It's hard to explain it. It's about a futuristic time when there is one capital city with several lesser cities around it. There was a time when a few of the cities rose up against the capital city, but the uprising was crushed and now the capital is trying to make sure that their authority is never compromised again. As part of this, they subject everybody to the Hunger Games. One boy and one girl from each of the cities have to compete in them. Names are randomly pulled from a certain age group, and everyone has to submit their name. When Katniss' little sister's name is chosen, she steps forward to take her place. This is something no one has done before, because in the bloody Hunger Games, there is only one person to win--the sole survivor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The Hunger Games

Beyond expectations!!!!

07/07/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read a lot of books. I normally dont write reviews for them. This is my first. Lately, it seems harder and harder to find books with good plots that can keep you interested from beginning to end. A lot of books have the same situations and love interests and so on. This book took me by surprise. The author really pulls you in and you feel like you are right there. Would you make the same decisions if you were in Katniss and Peeta's place? Would you be as strong, thoughtful, and caring when your life depends on it? Would you be selfish, cold hearted, and go against everything you believe in to survive? The description of life in this book is so real and bellievable. The situations that Katniss and others are put in will bring you to tears. There is romance as well. I read this book in only a couple of hours. Bought the second book and read it the very next two days. I couldn't stop thinking what would happen when I had to put the books down. Cant wait for the third book. Im still wondering what will happen!! Must have!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The Hunger Games

A deeper look into the darkness of people's heart

06/15/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must say that very few books ever emotionally pull me in, and when I say very few I mean two against the roughly 100 or so books I've read (this is not an overexaggeration either), but by the time I was finished with this novel I could feel that stupid pull at my heart that was telling me I will never forget reading this book and I will never forget the characters. Most of the reason may lie with Katniss to be honest. In the book Katniss hates how the Capitol can just take children away and send them into a game where they have to kill each other. She also finds it sick that the people in the capitol actually sit there and watch the games (watch these people really dieing! Really killing!) and just laugh and bet on it and find it entertaining. My hatered for this kind of thing is the same if not more. I mean really!
But here's the thing. The book is good, and not only is it good, but Suzanne really makes you face the facts. I mean watching horror movies isn't all that different. Even though you know the people arn't really dieing, and that they're perfectly fine, how could you stand to see someone murdered like that? And especially when stuff like that really does happen to people. To say that this book had no effect on me besides being really awesome would be a lie. This book made me really look around at what's happening in the world, and the darkness in people, and in myself.
I think that I might be being to deep for a review, but thats my thoughts and I wanted to let them out somewhere.
And if all this deepness didn't get to you there's romance, lot's of action, and the book keeps you of the edge of your seet the whole time Katniss is in the hunger games (ok well maybe not the whole time, but at least 89% of the time)! I really hope you check it out, because it's a great book! I'm going to get the second one right now!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The Hunger Games
11/29/2011
By ,
Duncan, AZ.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is an amazing book. My 16 year old grandaughter ask me to read it. I couldn't put it down. Keeps you right on the edge all the time, but the ending kind of leaves you hanging as there are two more follow-up books in the series. ABSOLUTELY AWESOME!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The Hunger Games

Excellent read

09/23/2009
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very much enjoyed the book. At first was taken back by the story line, but quickly got realed in and couldn't put it down.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The Hunger Games

Addicted

01/02/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't put the book down. It's awesome! Enough said.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The Hunger Games

AMAZING!!!!

10/07/2008
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was one of the best books I've read in some time. I could not put it down and read it in just one sitting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The Hunger Games

ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I'VE EVER READ!!

06/20/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is about a goverement that controls everthing and the 12 districts. To remind everyone that the goverment has control they have the hunger games. Two kids, a boy and a girl, from the ages 12-18, have to go into the hunger games. There is a total of 24 kids, 2 from each district, only 1 will survive. Katniss Everdeen's little sister is choosen but, Katniss takes her place instead. And then Katniss must go into the games....
I think this is 1 of the best books I've ever read! It has adventure, action and about everthing else. This a great book for teens and girls.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The Hunger Games

WOW! More than I hoped for.

03/07/2011
By ,
Windsor, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book includes a intricate plot centered around a young woman living in a new world where children pay for the mistakes of the past and the government tries to control the working class through hunger and fear. This brave new world in which she lives is only a few steps from our own and you can quickly see how easily this story could be a reality.
This book has adventure, suspense, mystery and a love interest which makes it a good book for everyone. Where the world is cruel, violent and unjust, this book is still appropriate for even a 4th grader to read.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The Hunger Games

The great ruiner

06/04/2010
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife was always making such a big deal about this book and its sequel "Catching Fire" but I have to tell you, after reading it, she wasn't making a big enough deal. This book/series is absolutely grim and dark but hopeful and captivating. The way Suzanne Collins writes has simply ruined other books. She is descriptive enough to envision being there with Catniss (the main character) yet never slows you down with mundane detail. She lets us craft their world for ourselves. Cannot wait for the third installment "The Mockingjay"
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The Hunger Games

AMAZING

01/09/2012
By ,
Oklahoma City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely loved the book (the series, as a matter of fact). I was sorry to get to the end. My kids and I bought 2 sets of the books, for the 5 of us to share, and were still calling anxiously when one would finish before someone finished the next one. Looking forward to the movie, tho I'm sure it won't do it justice. My nephew just started mandatory reading of the series in high school, and I am delighted.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The Hunger Games

Absolutely Amazing!

03/15/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was absolutely amazing. I'm not a big reader myself, but when my friend told me if I wanted to see the movie with them, I had to read it. So I did, and now I am addicted. I am on the third and last book. You get very attatched to the characters. I can barely put the books down now, as I spend hours at a time reading them. Get this book and you will not regret reading it! YOLO
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The Hunger Games

Great book

10/02/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, the whole Hunger Games series is awesome. Definitely buy these books, it is worth it.
Also, if you want a hardcover of this awesome book, you can't beat Wal-mart's online price. i shopped around and even if you choose to have it shipped to your home instead of site to store, it is still cheaper than buying it anywhere else. Came in a timely manner and in perfect condition.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The Hunger Games

Not long enough!

11/06/2008
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book! It was kind of a blend between Lord of the Flies and 1984 with a little bit of romance thrown in. I can't wait to read the next book! My only complaint about The Hunger Games is that it's too short and it ends in a terrible place-I want to hear more More MORE!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The Hunger Games

AWSOME!!!!!

06/02/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read a LOT!!! but this book was by far the best book I have read this year! I can not wait to go and get the second book. It was a very susspensfull love story,all people: living in a crewl world. I couldnt put it down! EVER!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The Hunger Games

Love2read

03/20/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow!!!! What a great book. I couldn't put it down once I started reading it. I am now going to Walmart today to buy the other 2 in the series. I know they will be equally good or better then the first!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for The Hunger Games

ADDICTED

01/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love, love, loved this book, once i finished the first i was so hooked, i went out and bought catching fire the next day! never read a book so fast in my life
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for The Hunger Games

Awesome!!!

08/24/2010
By ,
ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is no doubt is on the top of my list, cant wait for Mockingjay!!! I would also recommend Graceling and Fire by Kristin Cashore.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for The Hunger Games

entertaining

10/11/2008
By ,
mesa, az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this book. I stayed up several nights, reading through it. I would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1 2 3 Next