Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Presto Presto 6-Quart Aluminum Pressure Cooker

Presto Presto 6-Quart Aluminum Pressure Cooker

The Presto 6-Quart Aluminum Pressure Cooker is an ideal option to cook meat, poultry, seafood, and vegetables. From family-favorite recipes to exotic soups, you can make a variety of dishes in minutes. This must-have Presto aluminum pressure cooker help retain the flavor and nutrients, so the dishes are not only delicious, but healthy as well. For even cooking, this small pressure cooker features a heavy-duty lid and strong inner sealing ring locks the steam in. Made from heavy-gauge aluminum, it not only offers durable performance, but easy to clean as well. The stay-cool, ergonomic plastic handles offer fine grip while cooking. This Presto 6-Quart Aluminum Pressure Cooker can tenderizes lean meats and lets you make juicy pork and beef. Along with a rack for steaming, this pressure cooker also includes a recipe book and an instruction manual.
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(178 Reviews) 138
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
138
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation93%165 out of 178reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 143 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
138
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Presto 6-Quart Aluminum Pressure Cooker

Presto 6-Quart Aluminum Pressure Cooker

04/01/2009
By ,
Ewa Beach, HI and Champaign, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always watched my grandmother use her pressure cooker and was always amazed at how it worked. Meats and vegetables always turn out very moist and tender, bursting with flavor.
I finally bought my own a few days ago, and I have to say, it is one of my best purchases in a long time. The Presto pressure cooker is so easy to use, I was able to bring it home from the store, wash it then cook my grandmother's beef stew recipe and had food ready within 30 minutes! In the past, to achieve tender vegetables and meat, I had to boil the stew and lower the heat to let it simmer for over an hour, slowly cooking. With the pressure cooker, it is much faster and the contents are much more tender and flavorful.
I notice that I'm the only guy who has ever written a review for a pressure cooker, but I'm doing it because I highly recommend it to any bachelor out there wanting to make a quick REAL meal.
It's also very impressive to be able to cook such flavorful ridiculously tender food on your own.
My future pressure cooked meals are-
-BBQ pulled pork- (it'll be very tender super moist fluffy pork roast which will be easy to pull and soak in BBQ sauce.
-Hawaiian style shoyu chicken- fall off the bone chicken wings
- BBQ ribs- pressure cooked in a rub, then soak in bbq sauce, which will just fall off the bone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+125points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Presto 6-Quart Aluminum Pressure Cooker

Better than a microwave

11/26/2008
By ,
Warner Robins, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have become obsessed with this pressure cooker, child a pressure cooker cooks chitterlings in 25 minutes, pig feet, neck bones and boiling meat for collard greens in 25 minutes, and another 20 minutes and bam you got the best tasting green on this side of the world. My sisters ain’t got nothing on me anymore. In the pass they have informed by that I don’t get the best out of my cooking cause I always cook in a hurry and my food don’t have time to savor, well now I can still cook in a hurry and get the favor- savor what ever you want to call it at the same time. I have a six quart one but by the end of the day I will have an 8 quart one also (Wal-Mart $39.00) , that way I can have two things cooking at once. Man all these years people have been afraid of pressure cookers, that goes to show that man fears what he doesn’t understand because the lack of knowledge there of.
I know you all might think that I am crazy but when I find something that works for me I live by it and wants everyone that I know to explore the benefits thereof.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Presto 6-Quart Aluminum Pressure Cooker

AWESOME

12/31/2007
By ,
Portage, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS IS THE BEST PRODUCT IN THE WORLD
great size, great quality, greater price !
And you can use the CHEAPIEST CUTS OF MEAT.
I walked in from work, put a pork roast,
some onion, celery, carrots, a little seasoning,
& 2 cups of apple juice in, locked my lid,
put it on the stove, went and changed,
came back and turned the flame down,
and in 20 minutes,
(by the time I made the salad, set the table
& got soft drinks), the pork roast was done,
so tender & juicy !!! It's the best when you
want to serve great meals and have a little time.
But read the directions ! If you've never used one, you could get hurt if you don't know what your doing, read the directions !! It's so simple & easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Presto 6-Quart Aluminum Pressure Cooker

Save me 50% of energy !

07/17/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1. Pressure cooking saves time
For example, cook brown rice in 15 minutes, dried beans in 12 minutes, and lentils in 7 minutes.
2. Pressure cooking saves money
The energy savings from shorter cooking times means lower gas or electric bills.
3. Pressure-cooked foods taste delicious
4. Pressure-cooked foods are healthy
5. Pressure cooking is safer than you think
6. Pressure cookers are helpful for preparedness
Since very little steam escapes during the cooking process, maximum flavor is preserved. Pressure-cooked meat is moist and tender, and dried beans are more flavorful than canned, which sometimes have an aftertaste.
Advice: I bough a 6Q cooker for two person. You should buy a bigger one if you have more than two...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Presto 6-Quart Aluminum Pressure Cooker
07/29/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great. I have a stainless steel one but prefer the aluminum because the stainless steel would scorch sometimes, it seemed to have a hot spot that would scorch roast or soup if I didn't stir frequently when finishing up after coming off pressure. I have a smooth top stove .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Presto 6-Quart Aluminum Pressure Cooker

Bad sizing

12/25/2013
By ,
central wisconsin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Here is why. I love presto. I use there pressure canners and there pressure cookers all the time.
When my old Mirro 6 quart pressure cooker went bad I was going to replace it with this presto 6 quart. But it is the same diameter as the 4 quart but deeper and if you cook a lot of meat in it as I do, it is not wide enough for even a chuck steak. you would have to cut and stack the meat adding to the cooking time for thickness. I already took this back to Walmart and ordered an 8 quart which I know is bigger in diameter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Presto 6-Quart Aluminum Pressure Cooker

Good one...Satisfied with it...

01/08/2010
By ,
Saint Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first Presto...I am totally happy with this cooker...I had a whistling cooker before and everyday landed up scaring my 6 month old daughter with the loud noise...but this one has solved my problem...now i can cook her stuff when shez sleeping too..doesnt make too much noise...its big enuf to make stuff for 4 ppl...with so much of indian cooking, i am happy with it...using it twice a day...gr8 to prepare dals, rice, veggies, potatoes..etc etc etc...what else wud one want with this price..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Presto 6-Quart Aluminum Pressure Cooker

just what i wanted

08/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
came as expected just the right size
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
earth
then why 1 star?
Posted 08/17/2014
if this is what you wanted, not sure why 1 star.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Presto 6-Quart Aluminum Pressure Cooker

Very light

04/04/2011
By ,
Fort Wayne Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Presto 6 quart cooker is good for me because it is light and makes the perfect amount for a meal and a leftover. As I have gotten older, it is harder to pick up the large stainless steel cooker I already have and I no longer need to make tons of food all the time since the kids have grown.This pressure cooker fits.
Makes great chicken stock then soup all in an hour.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Presto 6-Quart Aluminum Pressure Cooker

Outstanding Product

03/09/2011
By ,
Monroe Township, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned the older version of this pressure cooker for 30 years, so now that its time to replace it I will get the same one. Looks great. Cooks great. I made the right choice again after 30 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Presto 6-Quart Aluminum Pressure Cooker

Well worth he price

10/24/2013
By ,
fairhaven, ma.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Many years ago I owned a pressure cooker. I bought this new Presto, and became reacquainted to pressure cooker cooking. It is awesome. I cooked a meatloaf, and baked beans last weekend. They came out perfect. I am still wondering why I stopped using a PC. Quality great. Buy at least a 6 qt. You cannot fill it more than 2/3 full. I love this cooker!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Presto 6-Quart Aluminum Pressure Cooker

Great value for the money !!

11/06/2012
By ,
Lakeland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars was that the bottom handle comes loose and must be tighten quite frequently. The lid is tricky to put on, but once you learn how ( line up the arrows, you MUST close lid from right side to left ) you won't have any problems. Love the rack, keeps food off the bottom of the cooker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Presto 6-Quart Aluminum Pressure Cooker

Buy it now.

02/05/2011
By ,
washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I eat a lot of beans and now I am making them from scratch with this pressure cooker. The difference in taste from canned beans is incredible. I made split pea soup in less than 20 minutes and it was spot on perfect. Buy it now, you won't be sorry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Presto 6-Quart Aluminum Pressure Cooker

excellent

07/09/2014
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cook hard to cook meat
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Presto 6-Quart Aluminum Pressure Cooker

Great first pressure cooker

08/05/2012
By ,
ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The aluminum pot is nice and light. It was very easy to put together and my room mates were surprised that I didn't blow myself up as they had never seen a pressure cooker before. The seals leak while pressure builds up but this is expected. Once the pot is up to pressure the seals hold like a rock. This is a great size for a couple and the time savings are amazing. The inside does build oxides but this is safe and merely a cosmetic defect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Presto 6-Quart Aluminum Pressure Cooker

Good overall experience

04/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered it over the weekend and was delivered super quickly.
Was impressed with the shipping time.
Really easy to assemble, it took me less than 5 minutes overall. (I skipped reading the manual)
Good quality as well.
Thank you Walmart.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Presto 6-Quart Aluminum Pressure Cooker

Good Aluminum Pressure Cooker

04/26/2014
By ,
Raleigh, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only used this once but it worked well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Presto 6-Quart Aluminum Pressure Cooker

Had to return

04/01/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The handles would not line up on this product no matter how hard we tried, therefore it wouldn't seal properly. Had to return. We are probably going to buy another one in the hopes that the one we bought was simply defective. If the 2nd one doesn't work we'll try a different one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Presto 6-Quart Aluminum Pressure Cooker

Maybe Good but it is different that Indian cookers

02/02/2011
By ,
TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
To all those friends who are looking to replace their old made in India pressure cookers - a word of caution. This cooker looks same but behavior is different. It does not whistle (just rocks steadily!!) when the pressure is right. So you need to know your cooking times exactly and will need a stopwatch .... I returned it as it means complicated cooking for me and my family
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
usa
where do we get one of those whistling ones?
Posted 08/29/2013
i would like a whistling pressure cooker if they work better for safety. i use a whistling teapot and might need a whistling pressure cooker too, as i don't pay that good of attention!
So can anyone tell us about them, what brand to buy or if they even exist in the usa? thanks a whole bunch!
0points
Customer Avatar
fl
Whistling Pressure Cooker?
Posted 06/16/2013
Sorry never heard of these maybe in india
are you sure you are not confusing this with
a Tea POT?
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 20 for Presto 6-Quart Aluminum Pressure Cooker

Have only used it once, but...

03/07/2011
By ,
Altoona, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far this seems to be a well made, easy to use cooker. The instructions were very clear in how to put it together. The only problem there was that one screw was missing from the packaging and it took a couple days to locate a replacement. I didn't want to return the cooker for that.
There is a booklet with quite a few recipes, which has been very helpful. It includes details of what foods can be cooked (dried beans require alot of care, for ex.). It also gives a guide of how to convert regular cookware recipes. They offer a large cookbook you can order also, $20 with s/h.
The recipe I used from the booklet that came with it was very exact and correct. You can't go off and leave the cooker for most recipes. The heat under the pan needs careful adjustment. It is amazingly fast though and I'd certainly recommend it. Happy cooking.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 139 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next