Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Philips Philips 42" Class Full HD 1080P LCD, 42PFL3603D/27

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Philips Philips 42" Class Full HD 1080P LCD, 42PFL3603D/27

ENERGY STAR ® Products that are ENERGY STAR-qualified prevent greenhouse gas emissions by meeting strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The ENERGY STAR name and marks are registered marks owned by the U.S. government, as part of their energy efficiency and environmental activities. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Philips 42" LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation97%29 out of 30reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips 42" Class Full HD 1080P LCD, 42PFL3603D/27

Outstanding!!!!!

05/27/2008
By ,
Paris, Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have really enjoyed this, it has a great picture the colors are so vibriant and clear. It was very easy for my husband and I to install well, he actually installed it by himself but very easy (I did not even learn any new words on this product as with some of the other products that we have purchaced in the passed.)The sound is pretty good too but of course I like my surround sound better. I would recommend this television to anyone and we shopped around for about a year before we made the buy and a good choice we made.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 2 for Philips 42" Class Full HD 1080P LCD, 42PFL3603D/27

Year-long research paid off

08/31/2008
By ,
Laramie, WY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once I decided to buy an HD TV I took my time and researched features, prices, and customers' feedback (like this review). I'm not expert, but the features included on this TV excelled anything else I found for anything near the price. The picture is beautiful, the sound is impressive, operation is easily mastered, and set-up was a breeze. And then I saw the same set in a store for $200 more so I'm convinced I got the best deal around.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 3 for Philips 42" Class Full HD 1080P LCD, 42PFL3603D/27

Awesome but already encountered a problem!!

08/11/2008
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the tv, great picture, and great sound!! I've had it for only three weeks and already encountered a problem. It doesn't make me think any less of the tv or brand though. There is something wrong with the speaker, it makes a light ringing noise when the tv is on. If I mute the tv the sound goes away and same if I turn it off. I called Phillip's and they scheduled someone to come out just within a few days. It's not a big deal, especially for the price!!! I've never heard anything bad about Phillip's. Must have!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Philips 42" Class Full HD 1080P LCD, 42PFL3603D/27

Deployment/Birthday Present

07/17/2008
By ,
Pearl City, HI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this TV for my husband as a gift. He was on deployment, so I had to set it up myself. Let me just say firstly that I am one of the inept people in the world when it comes to electronics. This TV was super user friendly though! All the instructions were super easy to follow, and there was a sign on the back that helped me figure out which cords went.
The picture is incredible. We have a PS3 and I can tell the difference in the resolution! (I usually can't)
I think my husband will love it when he gets back!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Philips 42" Class Full HD 1080P LCD, 42PFL3603D/27

It Is Beyond Our Expectations

09/02/2008
By ,
Desert Hot Springs, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research on HD/LCDs & narrowed the field to the Philips and Sony Bravia. We went with the Philips 42" because of the many features it has, including 3-HDMI connections.
After we got it hooked up we were really taken with the outstanding picture and sound. I especially liked the ease of changing the many picture and sound options.
Our son told us of Philips' lead in the creation of the DVD & players. I am impressed with their HD/LCD Tvs - especially ours.
I highly recommend this awesome TV!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Philips 42" Class Full HD 1080P LCD, 42PFL3603D/27

excellent value

05/31/2008
By ,
Palm Coast Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i shopped all the big box electronics stores and did my research...aftre having a salesman at Best Buy tell me all my exsisting equipment was junk and that I should invest $5000.00 in home theater with him , I went back to Wal Mart and bought this flat screen...easy setup...connected easily to my Dish HD box with HDMI cable and another port is dedicated to my DVD player. Wonderful picture with infinate adjustments , great sound quality..fun to play with the equalizer...and it looks good too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Philips 42" Class Full HD 1080P LCD, 42PFL3603D/27

outstanding!!!

06/24/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this TV as a replacement of a Polaroid 42".
What a difference! This TV blows the Polaroid out of the water. The colors look so good. I didn’t know what I was missing. This TV surpassed my expectations. The pixel perfect that this TV runs makes a big difference, from TV, xbox to pc. They all look better. It also has a light sensitive setting to read room lighting and adjust the brightness of the display, witch is awesome at night. No more hurting eyes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 8 for Philips 42" Class Full HD 1080P LCD, 42PFL3603D/27

A great Philips value

07/08/2008
By ,
Flanders, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had previously purchased a 32" Philips HDTV and was very impressed by the quality and value. Especially after reading reviews here. I went with the Philips 42" HDTV and, again, have been impressed. It's a terrific value. The picture is great and the sound is very good. Set-up is a breeze.
I also have a 42" Sony Bravia. That picture and sound are superior but the cost is also superior (higher.) But the Philips is reliable and I reccommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Philips 42" Class Full HD 1080P LCD, 42PFL3603D/27

Excellent TV

09/20/2008
By ,
Huntsville, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It says out of stock online and can't buy in store, however I went to my local Walmart and they had a display and stock in the backroom. The sound is awesome and the picture( I have HD cable) is wonderful. Easy set-up and easily accesible to get out of the box, but you do need two people. The up convert 1080i Philips player also does a good job simulating 1080i picture from a non Blu-Ray disc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Philips 42" Class Full HD 1080P LCD, 42PFL3603D/27

I love this TV

07/07/2008
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After a lot of careful research, I decided to go with this TV. I am not disappointed. It was easy to set up, it looks great and the picture is fantastic. The sound is really good too and after listening to several other TVs, this one had the best sound as well. My brother recently paid $2300 for his TV and mine has just as good of a picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Philips 42" Class Full HD 1080P LCD, 42PFL3603D/27

BUY IT WHILE YOU CAN

07/29/2008
By ,
Darien, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BUY IT WHILE YOU CAN!!!
There is a whole lot more to say about this TV set. But I would get to the core. 29000:1 contrast ratio, awesome sound, pixel perfect picture, great black finish and yes, dirt cheap, under $1,000. Check it out at your local best buy, they sell it for $1,300.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Philips 42" Class Full HD 1080P LCD, 42PFL3603D/27

Great Buy!!!

06/08/2008
By ,
Daytona Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very impressed with my Phillips 42". The picture is crystal clear with Direct TV high def. The features are simple and easy to understand. The greens and yellows really stand out well. I have a 32" Samsung flat panel tv in my bedroom and the Phillips has a much better picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Philips 42" Class Full HD 1080P LCD, 42PFL3603D/27

never again

08/20/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was a gift. Good picture but within a week the
screen went blank. After spending some time online with Philips they told me it had to be sent
in for repairs, so we returned it and purchased
another brand instead. Quite a hassle packing
it back up and returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Philips 42" Class Full HD 1080P LCD, 42PFL3603D/27

Philips 42 1080 HD

07/14/2008
By ,
Okla City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got a great price @ Wal.Mart. We love the picture quality,sound is great. They are going to install HD this week, can't wait!!! Best TV for your
money. The remote control is cheap, but is OK.
We would recommend it,absolutely!! Very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Philips 42" Class Full HD 1080P LCD, 42PFL3603D/27

well worth the money...beautiful

08/06/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this tv is beautiful. It has the most amazing picture - clear and incredible in HD or standard either way. The screen is very flat and with the blue ray discs looks awesome...sound is great too! get one...I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for Philips 42" Class Full HD 1080P LCD, 42PFL3603D/27

does great

08/12/2008
By ,
Cadiz, Ky.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
picture is great, sound is through surround so cant really coment on that part. plenty of hdmi ports and usb ports on both rear and side. took a little while to get adjusted in but now the picture is outstanding
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Philips 42" Class Full HD 1080P LCD, 42PFL3603D/27

Perfect quality, clear pictures...

07/20/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At the first time I was looking for a Sony TV but looking the specs in others tvs I found the Philips 42PFL3603D with 29000 contrast and Response time 5 ms and 1920x1080 !!! It is the best tv in the market.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Philips 42" Class Full HD 1080P LCD, 42PFL3603D/27

Wow

06/05/2008
By ,
Anderson, Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First time to own a big TV. this one, being a 1080p, was only a few hundred more then the 720's and has a place for me to plug in my laptop, digital camera, etc. Very high-tech for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Philips 42" Class Full HD 1080P LCD, 42PFL3603D/27

Great value for the price

08/26/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Short of using this TV for gaming purposes it has everything you need and good overall performance for regular TV viewing. 100% satisfied with the performance for the cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for Philips 42" Class Full HD 1080P LCD, 42PFL3603D/27

WOW

07/29/2008
By ,
Valley Springs, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The clarity of the the picture on this product is outstanding. It has exceeded my expectations. I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next