Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Philips Philips 47" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV, 47PFL3603D/27

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Philips Philips 47" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV, 47PFL3603D/27

ENERGY STAR ® Products that are ENERGY STAR-qualified prevent greenhouse gas emissions by meeting strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The ENERGY STAR name and marks are registered marks owned by the U.S. government, as part of their energy efficiency and environmental activities.
Average Customer Rating:
4.634 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation94%77 out of 82reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips 47" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV, 47PFL3603D/27

Very Pleased

08/02/2008
By ,
Crestview, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our first purchase of an LCD, did all the research etc. Even got advice from the cable guy!
:-) I can honestly say that we are very pleased wih this Phillips 1080P LCD. The picture quality is superb, HDMI connect is a must if you want your moneys worth. Although the sound quality is good a 5.1 Home Theater will make it WOW!!! The price is reasonable for the quality of TV you get. I highly recommend this Phillips to anyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for Philips 47" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV, 47PFL3603D/27

great tv

09/29/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tv is nice only one thing that is wrong with it when you change the channel there is a box that takes up alot of the picture on the left side {so the picture is blocked} that says the settings the tv is set up to and what channel its on and there is no way to get rid of it.I called Philips and they said sorry but there is no way to take that off.It goes away after about 5 seconds
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 3 for Philips 47" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV, 47PFL3603D/27

Great TV for the money!

08/29/2008
By ,
Omaha, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I normally don't write reviews, but I figured that I would for this buy! This TV rocks! It has plenty of inputs for all the toys! Xbox 360 looks great in 1080p with an HDMI cable. The sound that comes through the speakers isn't bad. I would highly recommend hooking this up to a surround sound system. The settings that you can change on this TV is great. Sometimes the Automatic viewing option gets annoying when watching regular TV as it always trying to adjust the picture ratio during commercials and other news channels. Channel surfing is a little slow on the regular tuner, but if you use a cable or satelite box it doesn't matter. The remote isn't backlit and seems a little cheap. But no biggy there. The contrast ratio is awesome on this TV. The colors are more vivid than the display TV they have at the store. Overall this TV is a great one for your money. I am really happy with it. I would recommend it to those who want a good TV and don't want to break the bank.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Philips 47" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV, 47PFL3603D/27
05/28/2008
By ,
elkhart, indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the benefit of selecting this tv side by side by side, in the store from a 46" Vizio, and Sony Bravia 46". The picture clarity and colors just seemed sharper with this model over the Sony and Vizio which were higher priced. Normally, I would have purchased the Sony because of name recognition. However, after seeing them side by side I determined that having the Sony name was not worth the extra $300 I would have had to pay to get it. I believe this tiv is a great value for the money I spent. In my home the sound fills the room, the comercials on tv are not sound elevated. I am extremely impressed with this model and I dont even have it hooked up to HD yet. I couldnt ask for a better value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 5 for Philips 47" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV, 47PFL3603D/27
05/25/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great tv! we have had a magnavox 31" tube for almost 15 years with no problems so we went with a brand we trust. great picture and sound is actually relatively good! getting HDTV this week from brighthouse and we are really please with the quality so far
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 6 for Philips 47" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV, 47PFL3603D/27

Grrrrreat product!!!!!

06/20/2008
By ,
Pueblo, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great TV. Watch out that you get this model number if you buy the TV in store. I purchased the Philips 47" in the store and bought last years model. I didn't even know it until I started to register the TV with Philips. I had to bring it back and get the right model. Of course Wal Mart is easy to bring stuff back and they were apologetic to me that I had to go through buying last years model. The manager told me that there were three different model numbers for the Philips 47" in there store room, get this model 47PFL3603D/27. You will love it! Great picture! With the other model, my wife kept saying that the picture did not look as good as the one in the store. She was right. Get this model and you will love it. PS: The sound isn't bad with this set, but I purchased the Philips $198.00 sound system and the sound is great. Not the best sound system I have ever had, but it works great with the TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Philips 47" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV, 47PFL3603D/27

Great TV. quite versatile

10/12/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tv to use both as a new monitor for my HTPC (computer), and to watch tv on.
It looked like a good value for what you get: a 47 inch tv with 1080p/1920x1080 resolution.
Upon buying i wasn't sure if PC hookup was an option. The sales placard said it supported a pc, but there are no native pc inputs (ie VGA/DVI). I had to buy a DVI -> HDMI cable to hook it up. Now it works great. PC games look unreal on a 47 inch screen. one small note, is if you are using a pc, you will need to hook the audio into a seperate device (i use the auxillary input on my stereo).
HD tv looks awesome, and non hdtv looks no worse then before. I use my pc to upconvert dvd's. considering getting a blu-ray drive. I imagine blu-ray looks pretty nice.
Pros:
-Great picture/sound. Good value
-tons of inputs. built in mp3 player/picture viewer via usb input
-Size is great. it is much easier to plug/unplug things, compared to a boxy tube-tv.
-Matte finish helps reduce glare
-full 1080p
Cons:
-No Picture in picture
-automatic sizing sometimes gets confused on analog (non-hd) stations, this can be fixed by setting the picture format to 4:3 or something other then automatic.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Philips 47" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV, 47PFL3603D/27

Pretty, but come on...

06/02/2008
By ,
Saint Louis
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After having the TV for a few days I was just getting used to the beautiful picture and the HD life. Then after having it set up for less than 48 hrs the pictutr began to distort and turn pink. Now I have a 1400 black plastic box in my living room, that I have to wait on a repair man to come and fix. Not a very promising start... my 80 junktv i got on sale has worked for over 6 years, and this "nice' tv didn't even make it one week.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Philips 47" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV, 47PFL3603D/27

Flat Panel HDTV - Good Value

06/28/2008
By ,
Branson, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have always been a Sony Man. But til lighting got our 50" Sony . . . I was able to shop around for a new TV. Flat panels are the wave of the future so I began comparing and reviewing customer comments at various websites. Samsung, Sony, Vizio and Philips were often mentioned. But, Sony and Samsung are higher priced when compared to other not so familiar brands that have similar features. Vizio has become a U.S. leader in flat panels (CA. based). I was seriously considering the Vizio 46". However a couple of visits to Walmart and looking at the pictures between the Philips 47" and Vizio - I decided on the Philips for a $100.00 more (Also liked the cabinet better on the Philips). Only have had it for 2 days and really like the set. We have dish network without HD. But, still apprectiate the great picture and sharpness of images. Sound is good but with kids running around we find ourselves turning it up. We also purchased the HTS3565D/37 Philips Home Theater System with Easy Link and IPod Dock for $198. The 2 together are great (Used a HDMI cable for best connectivity and picture). I didn't rate the Features a five because it wouldn't be fair as I haven't got a chance yet to review all the features.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Philips 47" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV, 47PFL3603D/27

Great Value

09/21/2008
By ,
SE, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shopped for a year before I bit the bullet. Great picture and decent sound. Easy set up. Do wish it was available in the store but I ordered on Sunday, had it first thing Thursday. Tremendous number of inputs for all your HD and other devices. The only complaints I have is the automatic video setting tends to flutter between settings during a scene. Not a big deal. Also the sound is very level across stereo channels even with AVL and other enhancements turned off. Drowns out announcers with crowd noise during a game. I'm still playing with the settings for this. I run audio output from my box to my surround sound system to remedy. Comparable picture quality with sets costing hundreds more. It's great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Philips 47" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV, 47PFL3603D/27

Big TV Small Price!

06/17/2008
By ,
Brandon, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this tv. I have done extensive research on LCD televisions, and Walmart had the best price. Other retailers want over $2000 for much smaller tvs with the same features. The sound quality is great, and setup is easy. The menu will walk you right through it step by step. Most retailers are avertising the dynamic contrast ratio on lcd tvs ( which is always a big number ), in which this tv is 29,000:1. I believe the static contrast ratio on this tv is 1,500:1. I have had this tv for 3 weeks now, and it is hard to turn off. With the 5 ms response time, playing my ps3 is awesome. So if you are on a budget or want to save money and looking for a great tv, this is the one. Thanks Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Philips 47" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV, 47PFL3603D/27

Beautiful TV

08/12/2008
By ,
Bay City, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This LCD TV has as good of a picture as any Plasma and uses less juice. You won't find a better picture. It only fades a little when you are nearly beside it. I won't even need to order the HD package from my cable provider. Most channels have a perfect picture. You can see every pimple and even cracked lips without the HD package.
The sound is incredible, needs to be tweaked a bit with the equalizer, but it's really easy to hook up and get running,, 5 minutes. If I had known how good the sound was I wouldn't have bought a surround system, although it is nice to have surround sound for special movies or events.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Philips 47" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV, 47PFL3603D/27

Great TV

07/29/2008
By ,
Fort Worth, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The picture on this t.v. (particularly watching programming in HD is awesome), you see a lot more definition on your morning journalist. The depth of texture and sharpness is incredible (and I only use an s-video cable). This T.V. was an upgrade from the 32in. I used in the living room. I use the s-video connection for regular viewing. (Will go HDMI in a few months since this one is used mostly for gaming.) The sound is good, but I upgraded to theater surround sound (also, Phillips). This T.V. has 3 HDMI connections, 3 component, composite, s-video, side usb etc... great value for the money too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Philips 47" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV, 47PFL3603D/27

Ok for awhile

09/27/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tv in august and was disappointed by how blurry it was with my direct tv. I called to ask why it was like this and was told their is an update to my tv thta needs to be installed. The information on the phillips website is compressed and I could not get it to be recognized by my tv throigh the ubc port so they are sending me another stick. I really think that 1000 is too much for me to have to spend more time calling and installing software. Thsi should have been done in the factory!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 15 for Philips 47" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV, 47PFL3603D/27
06/21/2008
By ,
SHARON, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RECEIVED THIS LCD 47" TV FOR FATHERS DAY. EASY TO INSTALL AND I AM VERY HAPPY WITH IT'S PERFOMANCE, BUT WITHOUT SOME SORT OF GUIDE YOU HAVE TO SCAN TOO MUCH TO SEE WHATS ON AND WHEN, WHICH OF COARSE IS THE FAULT OF COMCAST. THEY WANT YOU TO UPGRADE BUT NO WAY OF KNOWING WHATS ON.
GREAT BUY AND EXTENDED WARRANTY IS VERY REASONABLE, I WISH I COULD HAVE GOTTEN THE 3 YEAR EXTENDED WARRANTY BUT THAT COULD ONLY BE DONE THRU THE INTERNET, AND MY KIDS WANTED TO SURPRISE ME.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 16 for Philips 47" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV, 47PFL3603D/27

great product

07/10/2008
By ,
corbin ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
after carfull considration and research this phlips tv was a great buy . we are very happy with it its easy to use and pleanty of controls to adjust the picture the way you want it .
with strong colors and good contrast and also has an equlizer to change sound. with a fast responce time of 5 wich is very good most tvs are 6 7 0r 8 this tv is great .
we also bougth a phlips dvd player with up convert wich tranforms your normal dvd.s into hd very good picture .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Philips 47" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV, 47PFL3603D/27

Great for the money

08/24/2008
By ,
Northern IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking to upgrade my TV for my PS3/Blu-Ray and this set looked good. After fiddling with the picture and sound as well as updating the firmware through Philips' website, I'm very satisfied with this television. Navigating the menus are tricky at first. Eventually I'll get a surround sound system for the full movie experience, but the sound on this TV has a decent range. A great starter for folks just now upgrading to a flat panel. Overall : A to A-
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Philips 47" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV, 47PFL3603D/27

An Excellent Product

10/15/2008
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love our new Phillips 47" HDTV !! We have had a RCA 36" tube tv for over 20 years and since it was Analog we thought it would be the right time to change to Digital, especially with the changes coming. It took us several months to decide on this TV but we couldn't be happier with our choice. We just had Dish Satellite installed and wow it's like being at the movies !! We plan to purchase Phillips surround sound system to enhance the sound quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Philips 47" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV, 47PFL3603D/27

A good value tv

07/12/2008
By ,
Bentonville, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TV has average picture quality without a digital cable/satellite subscription. Picture quality improved with the installation of my digital cable and HDMI cable I purchased at WMT for under $27.00. HD channels look good, although I have seen better on more expensive sets. This set has 3 HDMI inputs which is great if you have a Blue Ray player and/or a gaming console. Overall, TV is a good for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Philips 47" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV, 47PFL3603D/27

simply great

07/07/2008
By ,
westfield ma.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv is amazing i have been looking for about a month trying to find a combination of piture and price. This phillips excceeds that through amazing picture. but with an hd cable box. Blu-ray and hd dvd look perfect and upconvert dvd's look very good. like with all lcd and plasma tv's regular analog signal will not look good. This tv has picture and features of tv's costing hundreds more. Buy it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next