Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for TiVo TiVo HD DVR

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

TiVo TiVo HD DVR

This digital video recorder combines the clarity of HD video and audio with smart, easy-to-use TiVo service. It works with any cable service and connects to any home network for the best of both broadcast and broadband content. TiVo HD downloads movies from the Internet to your living room and provides pause, rewind, and slow motion with razor-sharp HD clarity. It can record up to 20 hours in HD or 180 hours in Standard Definition. TiVo HD connects to virtually any cable service via CableCARDs, so it replaces your existing cable box.
Average Customer Rating:
4.524 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation95%20 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for TiVo HD DVR

No More Cable DVR!!!

05/17/2008
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In 2001 I purchased my first Tivo for Satellite, when I moved to Arizona I had to switch back to Cable and for the last 3 years have lived with the Cable Company DVR but have always missed my Tivo and it's excellent interface, I finally have the best of both!
.
This new Tivo HD is phenomenal, the Tivo interface, cable decoder, Over the Air HD decoder, broadband access for Tivo special programs and (since I have more than 1 Tivo) multi-room viewing and show transfers.
.
The Pro's: The Tivo interface is famous, easy to navigate, the best for finding programs on word, title, actors etc. With a broadband connection you have access to online photo albums, Music VIDEO downloads from Music Choice (not just the song, the video), viral video sites, way too much to mention.
.
One of the best and FREE features is that you can network your Tivo to your home PC where you can store music, photos and videos including dvd movies if you have the right software Videora! You need to download the Tivo Desktop from the Tivo site, but it's easy and fast to setup and is well worth it.
.
The HD capability is the main reason I got this box, record 2 shows at the same time OTA or OTA and Cable, whatever combo you want, there is more than enough room for the shows you're likely to watch that week but don't expect to save them on the internal hard drive forever or you're going to run out of space. You might want to consider an external Western Digital My Book for DVR's to add capacity, but give it a try without and see how you do.
.
The Cons: Not many actually, the first time you turn it on will take about 30 minutes to setup everything, you will need a connection to the internet or a phone line since Tivo has to call home for programming and information without that it's a brick so have connectivity and patience it will pay off shortly!
.
Cable cards, the only way to get full access to everything the cable company has is via cable card, these are basically the same chips that are in the cable company boxes which say what you get or not, yes the Tivo will pickup basic cable but to get your HBO or other digital cable you're going to need to get Cable Cards and the install may be painful.
.
Here in Phoenix the Cable company doesn't allow for a self install of cable cards and since they sub out their installs the installer that arrives at your house may have 1 card and it may not actually work correctly so expect some annoyances with Cable cards. Once they are in however they work like a champ! Demand an M or Multi-Stream card it will save you $$ since the cable company will charge you for the cards but if 1 card does the work of 2 you just saved 1/2 of the money.
.
The Tivo service is less than the rental on a cable DVR or their HD DVR and the 2nd or 3rd Tivo in your home is 1/2 the price of the 1st so you will really save over the cable company with these. If you're just going to use it for Over the Air HD, again great investment.
.
Enjoy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+68points
Review 2 for TiVo HD DVR

Love Our TiVo

06/29/2009
By ,
Denton, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have owned a TiVo before, then used provided DVRs from a satellite co., now we are using an antenna (boosted) and the TiVo for TV service and love it. I read other reviews so was not surprised at the set-up process and need for internet connection and/ or phone line to run it and maintain it. I use the USB wireless connection (connector I bought separately at Radio Shack) for that and pay the "$XX" monthly service fee for the TiVo (I think I'm not suppored to mention prices in this review, hence the "XX"). I am currently receiving most of the local channels in the DFW area and can have their menu and can record what I want, in HD, and watch it when I want. I have not used the on-line downloads of movies or other stuff yet, but I probably will. The wife is happier now with the TiVo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 3 for TiVo HD DVR

Great Way to Enjoy TV

08/23/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A while ago I built a PC that had many of the same features that the TiVo HD offers. It took extra effort to build, and it cost about $850. It worked OK for a year or two, but a few months ago started having problems. About a month ago it stopped working.
The Tivo HD plus lifetime service costs about $600, if you shop around. That's a bargain compared to what my custom-built system cost. Better than that, the TiVo is easier to use and more sophisticated that my previous system could have ever been.
Tip: Walmart has a great price on the TiVo and extended warranty. However, they don't sell the TiVo service. Go to the TiVo website and sign up the one-year plan. Then, if you like the TiVo as much as I do, cancel that plan within 30 days and get a 3-year or lifetime service plan from eBay.
I like it a lot!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 4 for TiVo HD DVR

Love it

12/13/2008
By ,
Pasadena, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first DVR and after doing the research, I picked TIVO. I love it. We are so spoiled now that we can't watch live TV anymore. Commercials? No way. I live near L.A. so don't need cable or satellite. Just OTA and also hooked up wirelessly to the internet. We've downloaded movies and TV shows and it works flawlessly for that. I love being able to program it from anywhere there is a computer. Sometimes, I program it from my laptop even when I'm sitting right in front of it. Love it, love it, love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 5 for TiVo HD DVR

Very good DVR

07/08/2008
By ,
Austin, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enough people have already bragged enough on this product--and I love it. But here are some negatives I've experienced:
It's very pricey.
It periodically just freezes and I have to reset it.
I don't like signing up for a monthly service.
I've found the Internet-based features lacking.
I downloaded a movie, and it must have been 480i. It looked bad on my 1080P HDTV.
Other than that, it's a Tivo--very good overall.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 6 for TiVo HD DVR

A Wonderful Product

11/16/2008
By ,
Marion, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tivo has been in the DVR business longer than everyone else and they have learned some valuable lessons. The set has inputs for both antenna and cable and allows us to view the new programs offered by broadcasters on their sub dtv channels. Menus and programs may not be as fancy as some other cable DVR's but they get the job done. This Tivo even connects to our home wireless web network to download tv shows and movies, but like us you will need to purchase tivo's wireles adaptor or connect an ethernet cable directly. If we upgrade to digital cable, Tivo is ready to use a digital card available from the cable operator. Our tivo records programs just fine and keeps a list of tivo suggestions of other things we might want to watch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for TiVo HD DVR

I love TiVo, but HD TiVo has some flaws

09/29/2008
By ,
austin, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a TiVo fan from way back, since 2001. I love the concept of DVRs in general and TiVo in particular. The TiVo team has gotten the UI and interaction down pat. It's really great, and they have always run rock solid for me. I got the HD TiVo about 8 months ago. Overall I am very happy with it, but this HD TiVo is not as rock solid as the previous versions. There are lots of annoying glitches. I have an external hard drive hooked up, and if the cable connecting the TiVo to the hard drive is disturbed at all the TiVo will restart. I have to use a signal booster on my cable signal to get my TiVo to record some HD channels. The sound drops out on some channels. I think that's it for bugs. They are annoying, but not show stoppers. I love my TiVo so much that I still gave it 5 stars, even with bugs, and even with the cost of the unit and service.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for TiVo HD DVR

Excellent product

01/09/2009
By ,
Pottstown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I installed by TiVo HD about 2 weeks ago, and the cable company installed the multi-stream card a couple of days later. So far it's great. Since I did not have a cable box previously, I'm getting channels now that I did not get before, but that's just due to the multi-stream card, not really because of TiVo. The only problem I've encountered so far is two shows I set up to record every new program, did not work. Still not sure why, but probably something I did wrong, because the other show I set up have been recording just fine. I wish I had spent the money for the TiVo before I bought a new DVD recorder. Could have saved some money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for TiVo HD DVR

Versatile

02/06/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unfortunately this HD TIVO does not work with our local carrier, so we are taking it back today...we were hoping to be able to record our fav shows on it & that was something that didn't work for us at all. Tivo itself can be used to connect with Netflix (Which we were able to do and was really fun!) but the Tivo support folks said that we'd be able to get regular TV channels with it but that wasn't possible, maybe it was our remote location but even after a couple runs to buy antenna's it didn't work! I know folks who have them and they LOVE them but for us, it didn't work out! "(
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 10 for TiVo HD DVR

Great Product

08/23/2008
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy setup, connect to TV (yes 480i if you want) and input UHF antenna / cable service, visit tivo.com to purchase programming service ... than give the controller to the closest 7yr old to program.
20 hours of HD is not enough, we had to purchase the "My DVR Expander" that gives an additional 65hrs allowing everyone the ability to keep their shows without conflicts.
Tivo is simply the best DVR out there hands down. We love to rent movies using Amazon Unbox and watch Youtube and music videos. We love our new tivo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for TiVo HD DVR

Love it!

06/15/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ive been a TiVo user for three years and recently decided to try our cable provided DVR when we switched companies. It was awful, not user friendly and not worth the 20 bucks a month. I purchased this TiVo, which just needs a cable card (my company installed it for free and charge $3 a month for it) and it is fantastic! It holds a LOT of hours of tv, is super easy to use and has great extras. Love TiVi- will never go back!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for TiVo HD DVR

Great Over The Air Receiver

03/01/2009
By ,
Jacksonville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We can record 2 different over the air channels at once or record one channel and watch another. I like that the TIVO records shows that it thinks I would like to watch. We ordered NETFLIX and we can get their on demand shows included in the regular price. This is great for what we use it for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for TiVo HD DVR

First time TiVo user

08/13/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've never had cable or satellite service (still don't), but this TiVo is so easy I've been able to teach everyone in the family (except the dog) to use it. It is SOOOO much better than a VCR!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for TiVo HD DVR
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5