Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sand N Sun Sand N Sun 13' x 42" Metal Frame Pool

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sand N Sun Sand N Sun 13' x 42" Metal Frame Pool

Easy to set up, this fun back yard metal frame pool comes with everything you need and is ready for water in 45 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.451 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(122 Reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
76
4 stars
34
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation93%114 out of 122reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
76
4 stars
34
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sand N Sun 13' x 42" Metal Frame Pool

Summer Fun!!

06/17/2008
By ,
Crescent City, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great pool for the $!! It was our first metal sided pool (last summer we had the easy set pool with the inflatable top ring and it was horrible) and I was worried it would be hard to assemble. I put it together by myself and it took about 2 hrs including breaks because it was so hot. I was able to get all the wrinkles out of the bottom and even though our yard is not COMPLETELY level it didn't make any difference (unlike the other pool). It is the perfect size for our 3 kids ages 5-15 and their friends plus Mom and Dad. I am soooo glad we got it and would advise anyone with a smaller area that may not be totally level to purcahse this pool.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Sand N Sun 13' x 42" Metal Frame Pool

A great pool at a great price!

08/03/2008
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pool can make the hot summer not seem so hot and unbearable, making wakes and memories in the process. Its very important in the prep work setting up a good foundation before you even assemble the pool. The ground must be level and smooth. Any stones or sticks can tear through the bottom of the pool when it's being filled due to its massive weight. A gallon of water weighs just over 8 pounds, so a 2500 gallon pool weighs a scale tipping 20,000 pounds! When we first erected the pool, there were unseen sticks in the soil that were forced out when the pool was at capacity. Kids should love splashing around in it for hours!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Sand N Sun 13' x 42" Metal Frame Pool

good

08/04/2008
By ,
tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this pool is a great way to cool down right in your own yard!! but be careful we were putting it up and the bottom is super thin and a weed in our grass that we missed poked a hole in the bottom.. quick fix with the kit.. we just went and got a few tarps to put underneath it.. over all my kids love it!!! they give it a 5 !!! wks for me, because they are super happy
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Sand N Sun 13' x 42" Metal Frame Pool

So Much fun!

06/26/2008
By ,
warminster, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so happy with this product, my kids love it.. and its big enough for adults too..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Sand N Sun 13' x 42" Metal Frame Pool

Keep the Box

07/24/2008
By ,
Illinois
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this product on July 4 - put it up myself in about 2 hours and filled it. Within a couple of days we discovered the pool was very unlevel - checked into that and discovered that the plastic footings on the support pipes had broken and the support pipes were sinking into the ground. Out comes 2 ton hydraulic jack and a bunch of lumber to stack the jack on and shore up the pool side - discovered that some pipes had punctured the tarp I had the pool on - broke their footing and sunk six inches or more into the ground on one side. After one week the filter pump quit working so after a couple of days of trying to fix it and pouring bleach into the water to try to keep the water swim safe we dumped the 1900 gallons of water and are returning the pool . . . It is a great pool - size wise and cost wise, but I would recommend that if you set one up you put something beneath the footings - wood or tile or something larger than the little circles they give you or you will be sinking too . . .
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for Sand N Sun 13' x 42" Metal Frame Pool

Great Family Fun But BEWARE!

06/14/2008
By ,
New Jersey
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This item is great family fun but beware that the quality control on them is extremely poor. I went through 4 of them before finding one that did not leak. I started with the 12x3 bladder model and it leaked air. Every six hours I had to pump up the bladder. Then based on reviews I switched to the steel frame model by the same manufacturer. I went through setting up and breaking down 2 of them before finding one that did not leak. Most unsuspecting owners probably set it up on their lawn area so will never notice the pin size leaks coming from the seams. I had mine set up on a large paver patio following all instructions not to drag it and even layed down a tarp liner to protect the thin liner bottom. The leaks were clearly seen on my patio after having the pool sit overnight. I don't know why INTEX did not reinforce the bottom with a double liner whereas the walls are triple lined. WALMART was great in handling the returns. The instructions that came with the pool stated "Do Not Return To Store" but WALMART took the defective pools back without a problem. On the other hand INTEX customer service was TERRIBLE. After waiting for 20 mins to speak to customer service they could not help me and stated that they would have a supervisor call me in 24 hrs. That was 6 days ago. I should get Father Of The Year for going through this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 7 for Sand N Sun 13' x 42" Metal Frame Pool

Nice little pool

07/13/2008
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We only had room for the 13' though I would have liked one of the bigger ones. The "45 set up time" is a little amibitious. It took my wife and I about 2 hours to stand it up and make it ready for water, not including ground prep. The 13' pool did not come with a ground tarp. Matter of fact, it didn't with come much at all. Basically a pump, a ladder and the pool. I bought two plain, square tarps to lay underneath. It seems to have helped a lot, though the liner itself is pretty thick on it's own. We originally thought it had a leak right off the bat, but it turns out that the drain plug was not secure and was dripping. Easily fixed. So far I don't have any major complaints, and for $200, it's not a bad way to cool off in the afternoon. Be prepared to spend a little extra money on accessories like a cover, a solar heater and such, and don't forget the chemicals. All in all this little guy is definitely worth having.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Sand N Sun 13' x 42" Metal Frame Pool

Great Pool

08/17/2008
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pool is a great value for the price. It was easy to set up and serves the purpose. It is better than the blow up ring pool I had previously and is more sturdy than the ring pools. I definately recommend this pool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 9 for Sand N Sun 13' x 42" Metal Frame Pool

Great Product

07/24/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We picked up the pool at the store, and set it up when we got home. Set up went fine. We used about 3-4 people, and it didn't take very long. Probably about 2-3 hours. We started filling the pool, and stopped when it was about 1-2 inches deep. We then walked around in it, and smoothed out all the wrinkles. We thought we had a leak, but the drain valve wasn't tight. We then filled it up little by little each day, just to make sure there were no leaks. We didn't fill it the whole way, just enough to cover the filiter hole. We were surprised to find out how fast it would fill up. It was full two days after setting it up. We had to buy a seperate cover, and we couldn't find any 13' covers, so we had to but a 15' cover. It works just fine. I strongly reccomend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Sand N Sun 13' x 42" Metal Frame Pool

Fair & Honest

05/16/2008
By ,
FLA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Two D-I-Y women and a 10 yo boy put it together in about 2 hours. We found the most level spot to set up, but it is still not "perfectly" level, & we are in FLA. We used a level to get the legs straight, followed all the instructions, etc. It was not as difficult to put the frame together as you might think. It doesn't "seem" real sturdy, and the ladder is not real sturdy & rather narrow, but so far so good.
One problem we have found is that the drain plug leaks ever so slightly which ran under one leg & made it settle down-this required jacking the frame up and shoring up that one. (Wish the foot pads were slightly larger around!) It is about what I expected for the money, and we are enjoying it. Wish I could give it more stars, but I honestly can't.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Sand N Sun 13' x 42" Metal Frame Pool

great pool

06/22/2008
By ,
Hays Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this pool 2 days ago and so far we love it. We wanted a pool to "float around in" and this pool can easily accomodate 3-4 air mattresses. My 20 yr old daughter and I set up the pool while my husband was at work. We were a little intimidated when we first saw how many parts and pieces there were. But we were pleastantly surprised to find it set up very quickly and easily. It took us a total of 90 minutes--from the time we opened the box until the time we had the filter pump hooked up and ready to start filling. That time includes reading all the instructions. Used it today and we loved it. It is very well made and sturdy. Great buy for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for Sand N Sun 13' x 42" Metal Frame Pool

A very good pool

06/10/2008
By ,
Severn, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this pool after much disappointment with the easy set pool. Our backyard is not completly level so we weren't having much luck with the other one. I saw this one in the store, and explained my situation to the sales associate, who highly recommended it. It took no time for my husband to assemble, and it was able to withstand the excitement of about 15 kids at a birthday party. I would suggest buying a better pump and filter system if used everyday. As with any above ground pool, be prepared to also get accessories, i.e. pool cleaning supplies, etc. It can get a little pricey in the beginning, but it is truly a great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Sand N Sun 13' x 42" Metal Frame Pool

So far so good

07/17/2008
By ,
Terryville, CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pool was easy to set up, ladder was harder to set up than pool. Only concern is the bottom liner is superthin and we could not find a tarp 13', so just have it on the grass. Hope it does not rip. The sides are very thick, wished they did same on bottom. The pump works good, pretty strong. If we get a couple summers out of it without a leak, it will be worth the $200 we paid. The kids 5 and 7 are over the moon about this pool. I did not want to buy the inflatable ring pool because with one leak in the ring, the whole thing come down, so this one seemed the better choice. I will post back end of summer.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Sand N Sun 13' x 42" Metal Frame Pool

Family Fun-time Product

07/28/2008
By ,
Orange, CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Prior to purchasing this pool, we had the 12x36 easy set pool. This pool is only 1 foot wider and 1/2 foot taller, but seems MUCH larger. It's great for the younger children too and feels more supportive with the metal frame. The pool was not very complicated to set-up and took about an hour to put together.
The only con to date, is the drain plug is slowly dripping water no matter how much I tighten the cap. I plan to call the Intex company to ask for a replacement. It is perfect size for the price (I paid $199), especially if you are not ready to purchase a permanent pool for much more money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Sand N Sun 13' x 42" Metal Frame Pool

Good pool for the money

06/10/2008
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this due to good past experiences with Intex pools and wanted a bigger one this year. This is a good pool for the money. Plenty of room for the 5 of us using the pool daily.
Hardest part for us was trying to get the ground level...We got it within 4 inches but the "deep end" settled making it more noticeable.
Filter does fine as long as you clean/replace cartridges.
Wish I had noticed it did not come with a tarp or pool cover. We are using an automatic floatign chlorine dispenser and have had no problems with the 3 weeks it's been up. You'll need to buy a skimmer too, of course.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Sand N Sun 13' x 42" Metal Frame Pool

worth the money

06/28/2008
By ,
lake almanor, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good size for my children, twins 8 yrs old and my 3 year old floats with me. Very fun. Last weekend I had 5 kids and 3 adults in the pool making a whirlpool and it held up fine, and my pool is off in some spots by about one inch or so. Great summer entertainment. If you live in mountains, get your self a nice solar cover from somewhere else. I bought wal mart solar cover and does not heat up water like my neighbors does. If you live in a hot valley you will be fine without good solar cover. Also if you live in mountains find a place in your yard that is sunny for most of the day and flat.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Sand N Sun 13' x 42" Metal Frame Pool

Love this pool

07/05/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had a few intex pool and we keep getting a little larger one every couple of years. Although our yard is rather small so we cannot go much larger than this size. This pool is super easy to put up and is the perfect depth for younger kids my daughter is 10 and all her friends love the size of this pool. We did purchase a large filter because over the years we have learned the filter you get with the pool is not big enough to keep it clean. The filter would be the only thing I would not rate well. The larger intex filter works great. We paid 45.00 for a larger filter online.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Sand N Sun 13' x 42" Metal Frame Pool

A Cool Dip

07/12/2008
By ,
Calimesa, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all $200.00 for a pool is very inexpensive, and we thought it would be just okay...BUT it turned out to be great. This pool is made very well.
My husband and I set it up in about an hour. It was very easy and non-complicated.
We are surprised at how sturdy it is. The ladder set up is really cool and very easy. It's very sturdy, as well.
It's not huge, but our grand kids LOVE it, and we get in it every day. What a way to cool off.
We actually use a floating lounge in it. So it's not too small. In a couple of years or so, we may go for one of the bigger ones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Sand N Sun 13' x 42" Metal Frame Pool
07/07/2008
By ,
London, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pool is great for anyone who cannot spend a lot of money on one, but wants to be able to get wet and have a little fun. Ours has been up over a month now and we have used it quite a bit. It is not completely level and toleraters it well. It's only off a couple inches. The pump works well for the size of the pool. Between buying chemicals and accessories, we have spent more than we initially thought, but it has been well worth it. Our three kids love it too. The worse problem so far has been not being able to keep a dry towel in the house.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Sand N Sun 13' x 42" Metal Frame Pool

Wonderful Purchase

05/17/2008
By ,
Canton, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took me (with my sisters help) about 1 hour to assemble...believe it when they say to pick a level area to set up on!! Every thing seems to be working fine. The pool is bigger than I expected it to be. My only complaint is that I wish the instuctions included more about the maintenence. Its been trial and error dealing with the right amout of chemicals to use. However, my next purchase will be the salt water system so I won't have to deal with the chemicals too much longer! Overall I think this is a great pool, especially for the money!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 110 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next