Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Polaroid Polaroid 40" LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLX-04011C

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Polaroid Polaroid 40" LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLX-04011C

Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Polaroid 40" LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation71%17 out of 24reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Polaroid 40" LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLX-04011C

SPREAD THE WORD

09/21/2008
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Im what most would consider an audio/video expert having been in the audio/entertainment business most of my youth. A few years ago I purchased a 32" Polaroid at a price that what would still be considered a great deal even today and was frankly shocked at the picture quality, the stunning colors and the deep black levels. I had a large library of downloaded and compressed movies that looked as one might expect having been compressed and reformatted on my prior TV. To my amazement, these very same movies played from my computer hard drive looked as good as the original DVD's - even as good as today's blue ray movies. I remember watching with a friend, dumfounded. I just acquired a top of the line Panasonic 52" plasma a few weeks ago and decided to upgrade the 32 Polaroid to another Polaroid, the 40" model which is still, amazingly about half the price of other similar size LCD's on the market and once again I was pleasantly dumfounded - and not just by the amazing picture which is disturbingly better than my much more expensive Panasonic but also easier to use. No matter what I plug into the polaroid the picture magically gets reconfigured to exactly the right size with what seem to be the absolute best settings. I've played with my friends new 47" Sony, my new Panasonic and Pioneer Elite at another friends recently and they all have required extensive tinkering and trial and error to get a result that at best, still falls short of my Polaroids.
I can't help but ask WHY does these products get so little attention? I am a very picky buyer with a very critical eye and am, dare I use the word yet again - DUMBFOUNDED - as to why I never see a word about these wonderful LCD televisions.
My only disappointment is that my largest Flat Screen in the Family Theater room is NOT as good as my Polaroid at nearly 3 times the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 2 for Polaroid 40" LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLX-04011C

Didn't last as long as it should have

10/13/2013
By ,
northwest Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this t.v. in 2008 for right at about $800. For almost two weeks' worth of pay, it should last more than five years. For the first few years, it was decent. But, about a year ago, we got this big bar on the screen that went from top to bottom. It didn't block out the picture, but it changed the colors inside the bar. It was very distracting, but we lived with it. It has been connected to our desktop p.c. I really enjoyed this feature because we could watch Netflix on our HDTV. However, tonight I had fired up the computer and had gotten onto the internet to watch a Netflix movie, when poof, no picture. The little LED lights on the bottom right went completely dark for a few seconds and came back on. After they came back on, I pushed the power button, and it started to fire up like normal. Except, it flashed Polaroid across the screen for a split second and then lost power again. I haven't been able to get it to turn all the way on. While it lasted, the picture was pretty good, but the sound was sporadic. Some things the sound was crisp and clean but others were dull. Don't waste your money on this t.v. unless you plan on getting extended protection.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Polaroid 40" LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLX-04011C

Great Buy

08/08/2008
By ,
Omaha, Ne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this TV over a year ago as a temporary stand in until I could find a better more quality television to hang above my fireplace. To my surprize this LCD TV performed like a model that cost $1000 more. I currently have an Xbox 360, Playstation 3, and my computer connected to this tevelision and everything looks great. I have a Sharp aquas in my master bedroom and besides the black level being a little less in this television it is one of the better deals available out there. Most places and stores market this as a 720p but this television does display in 1080p because it tells you on the screen what its current display performance is. I do not use the speakers since I have a great surround system but everything else I have tried works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Polaroid 40" LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLX-04011C

Go for it!

10/29/2008
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We waited until it went below $650 and are totally amazed by this t.v. We went to both Circuit City, Best Buy and Cons and nobody came close to this deal. We've had it for several weeks now and hooked up our home theater speakers/dvd system and are extremely happy. We read the reviews first, and also bought the extended warranty. The picture is so clear that we notice details we couldn't before. For example, the clarity of football games is so brilliant that you freel like you are at the stadium. The grass on the field looks so real! We mostly watch movies/dvds, so we don't have cable, but we do get more channels now since there are several extra digital channels, enhancing even the existing local stations. Get the t.v.!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Polaroid 40" LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLX-04011C

Nothing to complain about

10/06/2008
By ,
Hazleton, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually only have this TV for 3 days now, but no complaints whatsoever. My husband and I picked for our bedroom this affordable TV without getting a little peanut screen in the other brands. It comes with the standard 1yr warranty so we figured what the heck, let's try it. This unit looks so much nicer than in the store on the shelf, we were happy as soon as it came out of the box. The picture is great and has many settings to change for different types of programming. The sound is awesome! Better than our new RCA LCD. The remote is one that you can change the channel with it under the blankets, so you don't have to lift your arm or even move! Highly recommended (and I am a nit-picker).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Polaroid 40" LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLX-04011C

Great TV for Price

09/28/2008
By ,
Toledo, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was told this TV had been returned by other customers. For our price range & room size we took a chance & bought. Have had for 4 weeks with no problems. Picture is Great as good as the higher priced brands. Four screen modes normal , full, wide & zoom. Everyone in family has their favorite screen mode. Sound is great to. If you don't have a lot of $$ try this TV. Ours is wall mounted. Would recommend taking 2yr service contract for the price may never need, but for the money, could'nt hurt.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Polaroid 40" LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLX-04011C

Polaroid 40" LCD

10/07/2008
By ,
Crystal lake, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this LCD TV over a year ago, hadn't heard of Polaroid TV before, but it was on a close out and figured it was worth a try. Outstanding buy for the money a year ago and still priced hundreds lower than most of comparable size and features. This LCD is a daily use and it is simple enough for my 3 yr old to turn on to watch DVD's. Disapointed that there is no PIP function, but for the money it was a great buy, and will look for Polaroid again when I look for a larger TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Polaroid 40" LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLX-04011C

Waste of money

09/28/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this TV about 20 months ago when it was about twice the price. Although the sound and picture has been good, it is now going out and only has the picture on half of the screen. Sometimes when I turn it on it has no picture. For the price it should have lasted longer! A one year warranty is all this TV comes with, so if you choose to purchase it, get an extended warranty, or you will be throwing your money away. I will NEVER buy this brand again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 9 for Polaroid 40" LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLX-04011C

Excellent Purchase

10/22/2008
By ,
Johnstown Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first LCD TV i purchased. Had it for about 2+ weeks. So far I have no complaints. Didn't get HD service till a week or so after I bought the TV and until then the picture was great even with standard definition. Now that i have the HD service it is just unbelievable. The picture quality is so much better than it looked in the store. Very impressed with this TV. No problems with this TV at all and I would recommend it to anyone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Polaroid 40" LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLX-04011C

Piece of Junk

10/29/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tv for $1700 two years ago. It just randomly quit cutting on properly, started making fuzz noises, and the screen was turning blue before finally dying. Research the blogs before thinking about buying this product. Hindsight being 20/20 there are too many people with this same issue. Poloroid is horrible to try to work with. So now I'm out nearly $2k for a tv that lasted 2 years. What a waste.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 11 for Polaroid 40" LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLX-04011C

Nice but lacking!!!

08/29/2008
By ,
Cleveland, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just got my Polaroid 40" LCD HDTV with Built-in Tuner, TLX-04011C
$698.00
Was $798.00
40" LCD screen
1200:1 contrast ratio
1080i
Built-in DVD player
Model#: TLX-04011C
Very nice tv. Good picture, sound everything except no built-in dvd player. That was kind of disappointing but Walmart took care of it. I recommend this tv for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Polaroid 40" LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLX-04011C

Very Satisfied

09/18/2008
By ,
Talbotton, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love this TV. The price was great compared to other names. In my opinion the pix quality is just as great as the higher priced televisions. We use this tv in our family room. It is not on a wall mount, we have it on a tv stand and it has been very entertaining to for our family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Polaroid 40" LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLX-04011C

Best Deal for the buck!!!

10/30/2008
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While not as high tec in technology as samsung sony and some of the other leading brand names this TV delivers and amazing picture quality for the price on it!!! A sound system, however, I do reccomend!!! If your on the line of a yes or no I would deffinitly say GO FOR IT!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Polaroid 40" LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLX-04011C

Awful Choice!

10/03/2008
By ,
Fayetteville, Wv
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I owned this tv for 14 months before the control board inside it burnt out. The cost of replacing it was more than I paid for the tv. Horrible experience with Polariod's customer service as well. If you are going to buy this brand, Make sure you get the extended warranty..
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
0points
Review 15 for Polaroid 40" LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLX-04011C

Great!

10/28/2008
By ,
San Francisco, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this TV around 2 weeks ago, and so far so good! It was kinda pixely at first, but I was able to change the sharpness setting and now it looks great. And at this price, how can ya lose? I LOVE this TV, & hope to have it for a lonnnggg time. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Polaroid 40" LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLX-04011C

JUNK

10/11/2008
By ,
Mesa, Arizona
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tv is junk. I replaced a 36inch crt tv I had for over 11 years with this piece of junk. The volume of the speakers were horrible and the television completely died after a year and a half of use. It is garbage. DO NOT BUY
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Polaroid 40" LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLX-04011C

Good buy

09/20/2008
By ,
Farmington, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have this TV for about 11 months and I am really happy with it. No problem so far. The picture quality is good. The only thing I saw is the price drop which is kind of normal I guess in electronics.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Polaroid 40" LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLX-04011C

Polaroid 40"

09/28/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchase the Polariod on a Saturday and on Sunday the TV had sound put no picture  We went back and purchase Sanyo instead. We haven't had a problem since.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Polaroid 40" LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLX-04011C
10/20/2008
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our second large screen Polaroid TV and the picture quality on both are excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Polaroid 40" LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, TLX-04011C

will not Last long

07/08/2010
By ,
ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
control box went out after 3yrs... 750.00$ for a new control box...do not buy POLAROID!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-1point
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next