Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Element Element 19" Class LCD HDTV with Built-in Tuner , FLW-1920B

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Element Element 19" Class LCD HDTV with Built-in Tuner , FLW-1920B

Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of an HDTV. Otherwise, the picture quality of an HDTV without an HD source may not be much better than that of a standard-definition TV. Please contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade to HD programming.
Average Customer Rating:
4.238 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation86%18 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Element 19" Class LCD HDTV with Built-in Tuner , FLW-1920B

Great HD TV! Great price!

06/25/2008
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this television for my son to use with his Xbox 360. We needed a high definition TV to take advantage of the HD output of the Xbox 360. I was amazed by the image quality of this TV. The image quality is much better than my more expensive 20 inch LCD computer monitor. This TV could serve as a TV as well as a computer monitor for those without a tuner in their PC. It is also an attrative product. There is a full compliment of connections on the back making this TV virtually future-proof. It has one HDMI connection, one component video connection, one composit connection and a VGA connection. Of course it has a conventional cable TV connection as well. It comes with a full-featured remote control and it includes the codes needed to make the remote work with most brands of satelite boxes and cable boxes. The bottom line is this is a great TV for a great price. I hope to see more products from Element!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 2 for Element 19" Class LCD HDTV with Built-in Tuner , FLW-1920B

Didn't make the cut...

11/03/2008
By ,
Delaware, OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this item on Saturday afternoon and returned it Sunday evening.
Overall the design of the TV was good, and I didn't have any complaints about the build quality of the unit.
Using a progressive scan DVD player (outputting 480p) connected via the component video cable produced very good picture quality.
I do not have cable or satellite service, but I receive great HD signals over the air through my rooftop antenna.
1080i broadcast HD looked great on this little TV. The picture was sharp, and the colors were vibrant.
Unfortunately I can not say the same for local stations broadcasting in 720p over the air. The TV almost acted like it couldn't keep up with the video signal. The audio consistently was a split second ahead of the video, and the video motion was not smooth. Scrolling ticker text was jerky, as was the motion of football players and racecars.
Had the 720p broadcast video been as good as the 1080i video, I would still have the unit.
Instead I exchanged it and upgraded to the 19" Philips unit, which is not suffering from the above problems.
-M
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Element 19" Class LCD HDTV with Built-in Tuner , FLW-1920B

Good but not what I expected...

08/12/2008
By ,
Lucinda, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This TV does not have very good picture quality being a HDTV. My Standard D. TV has a better picture than it on most channels. I was amazed at its incredibly bad pictures for a HDTV. Even so all channels are atleast viewable on the TV and it gets a few more popular channels with pretty rich quality (such as ABC, Disney, etc.) This is through Cable though it might have a better picture through satellite. Even so it still should have a better picture than an SDTV.
This being said, I have HDMI cables and it works very great with those. It was incredibly better with the HDMI cables. It is a shame though that HDMI cables can only be used to watch movies and play video games.
If you have satellite TV then this is definetly a great TV for you. Cable it is alright. If you have a basic Ant. then this TV will be great for you.
Iw ould really recommend this product if your only going to use it mainly for video games.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Element 19" Class LCD HDTV with Built-in Tuner , FLW-1920B
06/07/2008
By ,
Melrose, Mn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice picture quality, and sound. A little more that I wanted to spend but worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for Element 19" Class LCD HDTV with Built-in Tuner , FLW-1920B

Element LCD & Tivo Remote

07/21/2008
By ,
Selma, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am VERY DISAPPOINTED that the Element branded LCD TV does not use standard remote codes to allow my Tivo remote to control the power & volume of the Element LCD as it did with my previously owned TV. I am now forced to use 2 remotes. Given this discovery and calls to support, I am currently reconsidering my purchase yesterday, and may return the unit back to the store to exchange it for another manufacture. Elements technical support was not helpful. Tivo's technical support was not helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Element 19" Class LCD HDTV with Built-in Tuner , FLW-1920B

Nice TV

08/13/2008
By ,
NW PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a bedroom TV but had my concerns about the size and viewing distance. This TV provides everything I was looking for. I had sold all my CRT TV's and had a new 32" LCD in the living room but missed having one in the bedroom. I may have to get a second one like this for the den...if the price comes down anytime soon, I will have another one. The picture very bright and sharp. The sound is not bad considering it's transmitted through speakers not unlike those in transistor portable radios. I plan on a low-priced Surround Sound System in a very short time so the sound isn't an issue for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Element 19" Class LCD HDTV with Built-in Tuner , FLW-1920B
09/07/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The quality of image is very good. The 1080i image quality is very clear. I use this with my PS3 via HDMI, and the image quality is crisp. The TV's innate algorithm/ability to stretch/scale images is very good as well. I love the TV's ability to pull up "guide" information on free-off-the-air HD channels and give you a schedule of the day's upcoming shows (HD signals with a regular antenna). I am very satisfied with this purchase. Changing from a standard definition TV to an HDTV is a big improvement, especially for HD appliances like PS3's/Blu Ray players.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Element 19" Class LCD HDTV with Built-in Tuner , FLW-1920B

Very Pleased

12/28/2008
By ,
Northern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first bought an Emerson 19" flatscreen tv and sent it back because it sounded like a transister radio. It gave me a headache. So I shopped around and read reviews before buying the Element tv. The sound quality is very good, especialy compared to the Emerson and I am pleased with everything about it. Another good feature is the stand underneath the tv snaps into place easily unlike the Emerson that you have to put together with screws to hold it in place.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Element 19" Class LCD HDTV with Built-in Tuner , FLW-1920B
09/07/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I dont usually like to buy off brands but we just needed a small tv for the bedroom. TV looks good , works well. My only complaint is that the tv stand does not come off, the flat base does come off but not the extenison from the base of the tv so when wall mounting this tv there is still a piece that extends down from the tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Element 19" Class LCD HDTV with Built-in Tuner , FLW-1920B

Nice little tv

01/24/2009
By ,
Morrisville, VT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this for our bedroom. We bought a wall mount for it and it fits perfect. Upgraded from a 13" bulky tv. My only con against this tv is that the leg that snaps into the stand is not removable when you mount it to a wall mount. Looks a little gaudy, but all other aspects of the tv make this a non factor really.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Element 19" Class LCD HDTV with Built-in Tuner , FLW-1920B

Only Worked for 2 Days!

12/31/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought the TV on Tuesday, by Thursday it stopped working. First it cut off on it's own. I turned it back on thinking I had the timer on it, and 15 mins later it cut off again and never came back on!!!!!!! All I got was a black screen and a buzzing sound! You get what you pay for!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 12 for Element 19" Class LCD HDTV with Built-in Tuner , FLW-1920B

A good choice

12/29/2008
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very nice and a good buy. It loads slowly at startup, but has great features in all other aspects. It wall
mounted nicely, just had to remove one screw to
take off the stand assembly neck that hangs down
from bottom.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Element 19" Class LCD HDTV with Built-in Tuner , FLW-1920B

Mom likes it

12/29/2008
By ,
Dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My mother wanted a small television for her bedroom. This worked out great. After spending a few minutes setting it up, she was ready to watch. Nice picture, good sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Element 19" Class LCD HDTV with Built-in Tuner , FLW-1920B

Very Good Tv

01/20/2009
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a very good tv for the price. It has great picture and the sound is a little bit lacking, Im going to buy surround sound to make it sound better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Element 19" Class LCD HDTV with Built-in Tuner , FLW-1920B

Good for the Money

09/15/2008
By ,
Whitwell, Tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the money I spent, I am very satisfied with it, picture and sound are good, Lightning fast shipping and was very easy to set up.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Element 19" Class LCD HDTV with Built-in Tuner , FLW-1920B

Great tv

01/31/2009
By ,
Illinoid
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like the tv. It has a nice picture. The sound is great too. Highly recommended
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Element 19" Class LCD HDTV with Built-in Tuner , FLW-1920B

Fine Product !!!!!!!!!

01/29/2009
By ,
Middle River, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item was very affordable and the quality for the cost is amazing!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Element 19" Class LCD HDTV with Built-in Tuner , FLW-1920B

Good bargain for a secondary TV in a small room

01/03/2009
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV because I was looking for a small TV to replace an older malfunctioning standard definition TV in my den/home office. As I have digital cable with HD programming and a large premium brand flat panel TV in my living room (my main TV viewing area) I wanted a similar viewing experience without spending a lot of money. When hooked to cable I am very satisfied with the picture and sound quality. I do not have an antenna so I cannot speak to the reception capabilities or picture quality if you do not have cable. Out of the box I was not satisfied with the sound quality as others have mentioned but after spending a few minutes playing with the audio settings in the setup menu I was able to adjust them to my personal preferences.
I would recommend this TV as suitable for a smaller room that is not your primary TV viewing area but keep in mind that it is a basic "no-frills" HDTV and you should not expect the same experience that you get from a larger more expensive HDTV. However this TV does have the bonus of having an HDMI input which is rare for a unit in this price range so DVD's look excellent when the DVD player is hooked up via HDMI. Also, this TV does very well at stretching a standard definition TV signal (4:3 format) to fit the widescreen (16:9) display with minimal distortion.
Regarding the reliability issue mentioned in another review I eliminated this concern by purchasing the two year extended warranty/service plan. Unfortunately because we have developed a "disposable" mentality, nothing is manufactured to the quality and reliability standards we expected from products manufactured a few decades ago. I don't expect this TV to last the 20+ years I used the TV replaced by this purchase but for the small investment of the extended warranty I know that I can get a least 2 years without any repair expenses or having to replace a defective unit at my own expense. All things considered that brings the total cost of ownership to less than $10 per month even this TV only lasts 2 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Element 19" Class LCD HDTV with Built-in Tuner , FLW-1920B
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5