Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Rubbermaid Rubbermaid Black Medium Mailbox

Rubbermaid Rubbermaid Black Medium Mailbox

The Rubbermaid Black Medium Mailbox is a safe choice to protect your mails from the elements. Featuring a durable polymer construction, this weather-resistant mailbox will not rot, dent, or rust - so is sure to last long. The rear door ensures for safe retrieval of mails, while the red flag lets you know when a mail arrives by coming up. This Rubbermaid mailbox is spacious enough to hold magazines, newspapers, and small parcels.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation88%53 out of 60reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 58 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rubbermaid Black Medium Mailbox

Good item, easy to install

02/17/2014
By ,
Southern Tier NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a new mail box after a snow plow took out the old one, but left the post and cross arm intact. This box fit right on the old standard cross arm. I took the cross arm of the post to pre-drill starter holes for the screws that attach it to the cross arm, then reattached that to the post. It has slots for eight screws to attach to the cross arm but you could probably get by with 6 or even 4. The only thing I had an issue with was the little yellow flag that is supposed to pop up when the door is opened by the mailman, so you can see that mail was delivered. I couldn't figure out how to attach that and left it off but our box is so far away it would be hard to see anyway. Very happy otherwise.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rubbermaid Black Medium Mailbox

Works well

04/08/2014
By ,
Singlefather
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this mailbox . It is constructed very well and should last for years . It was easy to install in place of my old metal box that rusted out in 10 years .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rubbermaid Black Medium Mailbox

Love the box, but poor design for attachment.

03/25/2010
By ,
Dallas PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The guy who designed the box for size, shape, flags, and etc gets a A+ The guy who designed the bottom of box to attach to something gets a F+
I think it was done on purpose to make you buy the matching post that attaches to it. I spent an hour carving and cutting A 2X10 peace of wood to fill in the WHOLE BOTTOM so it fits secure. You could just use a 2x4 or a 4x4 and later install another after it gets knocked off or box breaks.
I love the box just wished they didn't make it so complicated to attach SECURLY-SOLID. Its a big box and a 2x4 will not handle the wind and wet snow and etc over years of use especially when full.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Memphis, TN
I like the mount
Posted 06/21/2013
We have had one of these mailboxes in front of our house for well over 11 years. It may be around 20 years old. It is mounted on the Rubbermaid post that was designed for it. Twice, someone has knocked the box off the post - probably some young prankster. It takes about 5 seconds to line it up and pop it back in place. No tools, and no damage when it is knocked off. The post itself still looks new. The box has seen so much sun it is rotting. Time to finally buy another one. And if the post ever wears out, I'll get another one just like it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Rubbermaid Black Medium Mailbox

excellent product

03/06/2010
By ,
McDonough Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are in need of buying our second one. The first one just snapped a door hinge bolt, after 11 great years of service.
It is the only mailbox that I will buy.
As a Rural Mail Carrier, I also love it, as magazines, large envelopes, photos and smaller packages can be placed in, without folding or potentialy damaging the mail.
Also, if you receive a lot of mail,,,,,this is your box to have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rubbermaid Black Medium Mailbox

The best mail box

12/17/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a rural mail carrier I can tell you this my choice of mailboxes. It is the perfect size, lasts many years. has a "you've got mail" signal on it and is overall great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rubbermaid Black Medium Mailbox

Mailbox

03/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The mailbox is an exact copy of the one I have. Mine was hid and broken.
Surprised that it is still available. It is the perfect mailbox. A little larger that standard but not too large.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rubbermaid Black Medium Mailbox

Great Mailbox

11/09/2010
By ,
sunderland, ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Large enough to handle small packages, nice and sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rubbermaid Black Medium Mailbox

A good one!

12/21/2008
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had to get a free standing mailbox because our town required it, so we didn't want to spend a lot - but I didn't want one of those really ugly ones, so we opted for this one.
It was really easy to install - my husband put it in in about 30 minutes (together with the pole that holds it). It looks pretty good, and appears to be sturdy even though it's plastic.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rubbermaid Black Medium Mailbox

Great Item

11/30/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets my expectations for an outdoor item
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rubbermaid Black Medium Mailbox

Best Mailbox Ever

05/17/2010
By ,
Central IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you want to be your postman or woman's new best friend, get this mailbox! Virtually every package or envelope will fit into this box with very little effort or distortion. Our postmen and women have told us many times how much they love this box. It is easy to open, yet closes securely, it stands up to winter after winter of severe weather with little fading or wear. This is the 2nd one of these we have had. The only reason we are replacing our original one (which is about 12 years old) is because someone broke off the red flag. It is easy to install, too, even without the rubbermaid bracket and/or post. An excellent product for an excellent price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rubbermaid Black Medium Mailbox

Nice mailbox

04/03/2010
By ,
Converse, In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered this mailbox on line and was very satisfied with it. There is even a little 'flag' that can be attached to let you know when the mail has arrived...I love that. We can look out our window and see if the mail has come yet.
The mailbox is larger than our other one and therefore can even hold some larger packages that normally would be left at our front door.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rubbermaid Black Medium Mailbox

Rubbermaid mailbox

01/28/2009
By ,
West Bloomfield, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed to replace a broken mailbox and looked for a larger one. This fit the bill perfectly. Large envelopes and small boxes will fit without being crushed in by the letter carrier. The box seems to be sturdy and well made. Being on a rural route, this is very important to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rubbermaid Black Medium Mailbox

Very durable

03/06/2011
By ,
Syracuse, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this mailbox to replace the identical mailbox I have owned for the past 19 years. The only reason for replacement is the lack of driving skills of our new town snowplow operator! Easy to mount. No maintenance.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rubbermaid Black Medium Mailbox

Very functional!

10/02/2013
By ,
Buffalo Grove, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It really does its job! Sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rubbermaid Black Medium Mailbox

Great Value, but WARNING

01/06/2013
By ,
Charlotte, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great box for the money. My first one lasted 12 years, until a hole was worn in it, where the door meets the box top. I would have given it 5 stars, if not for that. That was disappointing, but I still replaced it with the same box. WARNING - The box does not come with the bracket to mount on the post. You need a special mounting bracket that comes with the post designed for this box and sold separately. This was not a problem for me, when I replaced my first box though, since the bracket was still good. I just popped it off, and put it on the new box.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rubbermaid Black Medium Mailbox

well made

09/17/2013
By ,
newville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I owned one of these mail boxes for 20 years. The only reason I needed to replace it was because some one ran into my old one and wiped it out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rubbermaid Black Medium Mailbox
08/31/2013
By ,
Arlington TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a gift and exactly what the person wanted, for the right price!
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rubbermaid Black Medium Mailbox

MAILBOX

10/17/2008
By ,
KNOTTS ISLAND , NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IT IS JUST WHAT I WANTED. THE MAIL PERSON CAN LEAVE MAGAZINES,ETC AND NOT HAVE TO BEND THEM. NOTHING IS WORSE THAN HAVING TO UNBEND A MAGAZINE TO READ IT. PACKAGES FIT WELL. IT IS CONSTRUCTED WELL. HOPE YOU LIKE IT TO.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rubbermaid Black Medium Mailbox

proved the test of time

07/22/2013
By ,
MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had this mailbox for the past 10 or 12 years.
It has held up well with MN snowplows.
I decided to get a new one because it was starting to look faded.
Rubbermaid are good products......this mailbox is proof of that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rubbermaid Black Medium Mailbox

Nice large sized mailbox

05/28/2013
By ,
Rochester, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a replacement box for one that had been here since 1994. The new version has a nifty lever that can be placed on the left or right side of the box to show whether the mail has been delivered. Now, you don't have to go out in the rain or snow to see if your mail has been delivered.
I just wish that the mounting bracket had been available at Walmart. I had to go elsewhere to purchase the bracket.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next