Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox 42" Class 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 42MF437B/37

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox 42" Class 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 42MF437B/37

This TV is NOT Available in Stores Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Magnavox 42" LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%39 out of 39reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox 42" Class 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 42MF437B/37

Great TV, Great Deal

03/31/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TV is great looking cosmetically. Picture quality is outstanding. TV was easy to set up and use. Great buy! Money well spent...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 2 for Magnavox 42" Class 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 42MF437B/37

Wow!

04/21/2008
By ,
Windham CT.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Off the bat the reason I made this purchess was for gaming and movies, Blu Ray and DVD. All I can say is I'm amazed at the difference in picture quality both for Blu Ray and my PS3 games, regular DVD's are a bit tricky some look fine using the full screen but others require switching the screen size (mostly to 4:3). Most of the complaints I had researched regarding flat panel TV's involved the sound. This Model at least has a sound bar the length of the screen and I have not needed to raise the volume over 20 (out of 100). the only thing that bothers me about this tv is that it throws off a lot of heat, other than that it was a great value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Magnavox 42" Class 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 42MF437B/37

Easy for a beginner!

04/19/2008
By ,
Fairview, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TV was set up entirely by myself (except part of directions that say you need 2 people). Directions were very clear..follow all the steps exactly as written and you will not have a problem. The picture is fantastic! Have never had a TV of this type and size and it is wonderful! Once again Magnavox has stood up to its name.
Only drawback is that we had it delivered to home because i could not carry it myself. Instead 2 men delivering it only 1 girl was sent so we had to help carry it anyway! We could have picked it up at the store and saved the delivery charges!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Magnavox 42" Class 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 42MF437B/37
04/30/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought the TV a couple of weeks ago or and so far it performed really well in all aspects. It was the best available deal for the money. Very happy with the picture and sound. The delivery to the store was quick - even earlier than expected, and it was easy to pick up. Connecting it was relatively easy - the only issue is tight inconvenient space on back to plug in all the cords.
Of course, you need to have a true high quality source (HDTV program on the cable, a really good DVD) to get the full advantage of the 1080P resolution.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 5 for Magnavox 42" Class 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 42MF437B/37

Great TV

04/17/2008
By ,
Mount Pleasant, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this product on a rollback for $998, and it was a great deal for a full HD 42 inch TV! it was a pain to get it in the car (I would suggest to bring a truck or SUV if you can to take it to your home) but it was easy to put together once you read the instructions and i am very much satisfied with this product, best deal I have seen! One personal minor issue, I wish that it had more speaker outlets directly on the TV for hooking up bigger speakers along with the stock speaker. This is a grrrreat deal though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Magnavox 42" Class 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 42MF437B/37

Awesome TV

04/11/2008
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This television is awesome; great picture, clear with no glare. We do not have cable or sattelite but there are many options if you do have these things. We watch many DVD's and the only thing I have noticed is the sound is not excellent... now this is not saying it is bad because it's not. We have yet to get it on our stand yet and perhaps when we get this done the sound will be much better. Great televison so far!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Magnavox 42" Class 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 42MF437B/37

Picture is great

04/18/2008
By ,
Houston, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV for two reasons: 1) it's made in America and 2) the reviews were great.
I can honestly say that the picture is great when viewed using the HD channels and the non-HD channels display as expected.
With a little assistance from the Site2Store associates I was able to get the TV in the back seat of my 4 door Honda Accord, much to my surprise.
So far so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Magnavox 42" Class 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 42MF437B/37

Great Tv for a Great Price!

06/03/2008
By ,
Pittsburgh PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 Stars 5 Stars!!! Thanks WalMart! The only thing that we found to be missing were the assembly screws and tools. Somehow, this was not in the OEM packaging. But we retro-fitted the unit with on-hand screws until the OEM mailed the replacement parts! They (replacement parts) were at our home in two business days! Thanks Magnavox!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Magnavox 42" Class 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 42MF437B/37

Great Value - 1080P

05/09/2008
By ,
SW Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit is part of the Philips family.
It's features and perfomance are equal to those of more expensive 42" LCD TVs.
The sound is not breathtaking, but that's pretty normal in this product space.
One caveat: the packaging is *way* bigger than I expected, and the box indicates it can't be laid flat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Magnavox 42" Class 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 42MF437B/37

Young at heart

04/22/2008
By ,
Harrodsburg, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the TV online with intentions to purchase a Wii systems also. We were able to get the Wii at our local WalMart store shortly after delivery of the TV. The new TV allowed us more room in our den, which opened space to use the new Wii. The TV is great, and the game is very good on the new TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Magnavox 42" Class 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 42MF437B/37

Great Value!

05/24/2008
By ,
50312
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv is fantastic for the price. HD channels are crystal clear and blue ray looks fantastic. Playing video games like xbox or pc is also amazing. I regularly play the new Grand theft Auto 4 and World of Warcraft and the quality is something you would not expect from such a low priced item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Magnavox 42" Class 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 42MF437B/37

Great TV for the money

05/26/2008
By ,
DeMotte IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this online after shopping around for awhile. Lots of features and display options. It can use any kind of signal input you can think of. Definately best used with HD signal though. Also has a VGA port so I use it as an external laptop monitor. Great TV for the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Magnavox 42" Class 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 42MF437B/37

Good Bang for the Buck

05/30/2008
By ,
North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Price and Great LCD picture, but some features are lack luster such as the sound having a delay from my reciever and the automatic picture feature always changes while watching movies or TV. other than that its a really good quality 1080p for under $1k.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Magnavox 42" Class 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 42MF437B/37

great tv

05/13/2008
By ,
ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this tv is amazing.since i bought it i just sit and stare at the amazing hd picture.if you dont have hd you do not know what you are missing.the colors are so vibrant.the price was right and the tv has lots of easy to use features
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Magnavox 42" Class 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 42MF437B/37

OK, but....

04/21/2008
By ,
Lemon Grove, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the most part this TV is great. Sound, features are both terrific, however - if you sit too close you lose picture quality. It's great if you are 6'-7' or more away from the screen, closer than that it doesn't work for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Magnavox 42" Class 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 42MF437B/37

proud of myself!

05/29/2008
By ,
Williamstown, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did the research and compared prices, quality and features and although the sound is average (needs some extra speakers for that "theater" sound quality), it has one of the best picture I've seen on 42" 1080p, true HD TVs!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Magnavox 42" Class 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 42MF437B/37

Great value!

05/23/2008
By ,
Hartland, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
limited assembly and easy to do. Very responsive to remote. Good picture with standard definition via cable. Can't wait to see it with HD box. Sound is good. Did a good amount of comparison and it's an excellent price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Magnavox 42" Class 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 42MF437B/37

I love it

04/23/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it... I use it as my computer monitor... the only thing is that it don't have pip (Picture in Picture).. but for the looks of it I don't think any new HDTV have pip.... I guess I can live with that. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Magnavox 42" Class 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 42MF437B/37

Marvelous Magnavox

05/05/2008
By ,
New York City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best HDTV LCD that I have ever seen. The color is clear and crisp, the packing and shipping was excellent, and it is a theatre experience each time I turn on my TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Magnavox 42" Class 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 42MF437B/37
06/05/2008
By ,
Buffalo, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product like it very much. May want to offer the TV with an option not to get the stand and save money. I had mine put up on the wall and didn't need it. Just a thought
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next