Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox 52" 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 52MF437S/37 - Energy Star Compliant

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox 52" 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 52MF437S/37 - Energy Star Compliant

Shipping Note: This item is shipped via a freight trucking service. The company will call you to schedule a delivery appointment, so ensure someone is home at the scheduled delivery time. Please note that this item is available for curbside delivery only, and will not be moved into your home or garage. We recommend you have help available to move the item to its final location. This TV is NOT Available in Stores Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Magnavox 52" LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation96%25 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox 52" 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 52MF437S/37 - Energy Star Compliant

Great 52" LCD even better price

05/27/2008
By ,
AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I LOVE this TV. We were kind of worried about not getting to see it in person before we bought it, but for the features and price, we couldn't pass it up. We would have to spend $500 or more to get a comparable model at a local electronics store.
On HD (720p and especially 1080p) it is absolutely beautiful. It looks great on upconverted DVDs and over the air HD. We love watching BlueRay and playing PS3 games on it. It can really show you just how bad 480i standard broadcast quality really is too; although, it does a nice job of processing the lower quality images and trying to make them look better. We'll probably ditch the standard satellite and upgrade to HD sat soon.
The sound is what we expected for a TV (not super great, but fine to watch normal TV with). I guess manufacturers figure if you're going to have a nice big TV, you will probably have a decent sound system to get the full effect.
The menus are easy to navigate, and the setup and customization is too.
This is a fully loaded TV that is an excellent value and really performs. My sis and brother in law have an identical model and love theirs too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 2 for Magnavox 52" 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 52MF437S/37 - Energy Star Compliant

Very, Very happy with this TV

11/30/2008
By ,
Lawrence, Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually bought this 10 months ago for under $1800 including tax, it was the best bargain at the time and believe me I looked all around! I bought it for the Superbowl and it was actually delivered and set-up 2hrs before the game. Other than that game, (my team lost), the tv has been outstanding. 10 months later and I'm still getting compliments. I got the HD cable box from the cable co., (ask them for the HDMI cable and they give it to you for free), and I cant believe how great the clarity is and watching sports is unbelievable. I was a little skeptical about buying something online I hadnt seen(the reviews helped). I'm glad I did, this tv rivals most anything out there and for a lot less money. It has a nice sleek modern look to it and the glass stand is sturdy. It also has 3 HDMI hook-ups, although I use it to watch movies and television, you can also hookup your computer and any game sytem you might have. The only cons, which is really nitpicking, are the remote, (kinda flimsy), and the sound could be a lot better, but lets face it, a tv like this needs a home theater system anyway, (Maybe this Superbowl). This is without a doubt the best deal anywhere. OUTSTANDING!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 3 for Magnavox 52" 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 52MF437S/37 - Energy Star Compliant
09/30/2008
By ,
Bedford, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We spent 5 months looking for the right tv for us and after all the homework, we picked this one. This tv is the best for the price. No other store we looked at could offer name brand, features and quality for this price. We love it! This tv is everything we were looking for and more. Do your homework, but I bet you come back to this one in the end. We did.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 4 for Magnavox 52" 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 52MF437S/37 - Energy Star Compliant

big let down

06/27/2008
By ,
Indianapolis IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I did a lot of home work looking for a new TV. Iam happy with the price I paid and the delivery time was a week early.
I have had this TV for over a month now and it has been broke since the day I recived it. Dont get me wrong the picture is fine the sound is terrible. I have had a repair man out to my home 3 differnt times and they still cant fix the sound. The last trip to my home they finally got it to play without shuting off. Its only playing on 1 speaker but its playing. The help line with Magnavox was not very helpful when I called them for help. Iam sorry I spent my money on this TV....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 5 for Magnavox 52" 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 52MF437S/37 - Energy Star Compliant

LOVE IT!

10/01/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As with other reviewers, the sound could be better, we feed it through our stereo and have surround sound, so no biggee! The only thing is that it is an HD TV. If you don't have an HD package on your TV, you will notice that the channels are not so crisp. Even with an HD package you don't get ALL HD channels, so some of them are still blurry looking... But the ones that are HD... Let's just say it is just like being at the concert, ballgame or race - WOW!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 6 for Magnavox 52" 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 52MF437S/37 - Energy Star Compliant

Awesome TV

08/25/2008
By ,
Chaska, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is simple. The high quality of the brand name Magnavox combined with the fact that this TV is loaded, made this purchase a no-brainer. I shopped around and found many other smaller TV's at higher prices. I started shopping for a 47" - 50" plasma. When I came across this 52" LCD from Magnavox, and it cost me less than smaller plasma TV's, I couldn't believe it. It's an awesome TV and Walmart made the purchase smooth and easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 7 for Magnavox 52" 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 52MF437S/37 - Energy Star Compliant
08/15/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Haven't had a chance to watch much TV or movies on it yet, but Guitar Hero and other Wii games look and sound awesome.
We just have standard cable, no digital or HD (yet) and the picture is still good, not quite outstanding, but good. Picture is awesome with DVDs and the Wii.
Shopped all over and it was the best price for this size TV I could find. I am very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 8 for Magnavox 52" 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 52MF437S/37 - Energy Star Compliant

Very nice set

09/30/2008
By ,
Charlotte NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW!! This is the first large screen set I have purchased. I love it! The picture is fantastic. It is easy to program and operate. The price was very reasonable and delivery was prompt. It has several input jacks for DVD, game systems, ect. This set actually receives channels I didnt know I have. I hope to get another for the family room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Magnavox 52" 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 52MF437S/37 - Energy Star Compliant
08/11/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If the image is not in HD, the quality is so poor that you will want to return it. Luckily, the HD switchover for all commercial tv programming is coming soon and I won't care about this flaw. For the massive size of this lcd tv, the price is great! You can't beat it. If you are looking for top quality picture, or watch your tv from close range, this would not be the tv for you. Overall, I like the tv and since I watch from 25 feet back, it works very well for me. The tv clicks on and off at random times during the day and night when it should be turned off. It probably happens a few times each day and may be due to some short. I will contact the manufacturer to see if this is something of major concern.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Magnavox 52" 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 52MF437S/37 - Energy Star Compliant

Great t.v. and value

09/20/2008
By ,
Florence, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped on line and local ads before purchasing through Walmart. The reviews from the other buyers and the reviews I saw on another seller's website convinced me to take a chance of ordering this t.v. when I hadn't seen it. The price was unbeatable! The t.v. is HUGE! The delivery convenience was nice too. I am very satisfied with the quality of the t.v. I also contacted Walmart's customer service dept with a question about delivery and they were very helpful, kind and pleasant. It was delivered timely, as promised.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Magnavox 52" 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 52MF437S/37 - Energy Star Compliant

Great HDTV for the price

08/12/2008
By ,
Santa Rita, Guam
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This HDTV was delivered to Guam via Triple B Freight Forwarders, received it about three weeks after the initial delivery from Walmart and it was worth the wait. Saved over a $1000.00 when compared to local HDTV prices. I am very happy with picture quality, but sound quality does suffer in DVD mode, I'm sure 5.1 theater sound will resolve this issue. One issue though, I live on Guam but was charged a California Tax, hopefully Walmart will reimburse this charge after I contact them about this
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Magnavox 52" 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 52MF437S/37 - Energy Star Compliant

Excellent Value

07/28/2008
By ,
Cambridge, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this tv for about a month and it exceeds my expectations. Excellent value, very good picture,
love the energy saver and the automatic screen format-which eliminates the black lines I've seen on many other sets. Can't wait for football season.
My only problem was set-up, this tv is heavy and bulky, it takes two men to move it, just like any other set this large.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Magnavox 52" 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 52MF437S/37 - Energy Star Compliant

Good HDTV

07/26/2008
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The picture, sound, looks of this are very appealing. We had a 52" Samsung that 'died' after 4 years and spent $$$$$ to have it repaired with no luck. TV's are now major purchases and should last longer. We bought the extended warranty on line for this TV. Very convenient way to, hopefully, insure against future problems. This is, overall, a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Magnavox 52" 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 52MF437S/37 - Energy Star Compliant

lot's of TV for the money

08/14/2008
By ,
Cullman, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great picture, sound leaves a little to be desired
Have hooked up to Dish Sat., hope to upgrade soon to Dish HD. Lots of features standard. Have near HD DVD to hook up and try usuig Hi-speed HDMI cable. Don't scimp on cable! Get the best you can afford...it pays. Would buy this TV again...Get help setting up..it is heavy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Magnavox 52" 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 52MF437S/37 - Energy Star Compliant

Great color

08/20/2008
By ,
Bismarck,ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv met our expectations. We did have to have the cable guy come over to do whatever he had to do to make channels come in high definition. We will be buying a surround sound system in the future, but for now the speakers in the tv will do.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Magnavox 52" 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 52MF437S/37 - Energy Star Compliant

tv

08/31/2008
By ,
McAllen texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tv is great! We looked for over a month and this was the best one for the price. The picture is really nice and sound is great. Great to watch football. If you are looking for a good tv. go for it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Magnavox 52" 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 52MF437S/37 - Energy Star Compliant
09/10/2008
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic television with a great picture and wonderful features. You will not be disappointed with this TV!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Magnavox 52" 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 52MF437S/37 - Energy Star Compliant

Good Value

09/13/2008
By ,
Orlando
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product was a good buy for the money. Get a surge protector because they don't like lightning.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Magnavox 52" 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 52MF437S/37 - Energy Star Compliant

good product

09/21/2008
By ,
El Monte,California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product is very good except the sound need to be more surround system type.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Ratings-Only Reviews for Magnavox 52" 1080p Full HD LCD HDTV w/ Digital Tuner, 52MF437S/37 - Energy Star Compliant
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Picture Quality
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Sound Quality
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Features
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5