Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for ION Ion Cassette Tape-to-MP3 Converter

ION Ion Cassette Tape-to-MP3 Converter

The Ion Cassette Tape to MP3 Converter can help you to transfer your favorite tunes to a new modernized format. Now you can relive memories and preserve classic songs quickly and easily. The Ion tape converter works with your computer to create digital tracks. It includes a dubbing deck that can copy tapes, and features Audacity recording software for both Macs and PCs. The plug and play design of this cassette deck converter allows you to plug in the USB cord for quick connection your computer and makes it possible to listen to your favorite old songs on an iPod or MP3 player. It is designed to work with Metal and Cr02 tapes. This item makes it easy to transfer all your cassette albums to your personal digital music collection. You can also connect it to your home stereo system by using RCA cables.
Average Customer Rating:
3.7 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation80%16 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 9 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ion Cassette Tape-to-MP3 Converter

Cassette to MP3 Converter

03/05/2010
By ,
North Carolina
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Once installed the product is very simple to use. The links in the instructions went to dead webpages, so I had to look around and find the right pages. Also some of the documentation is incomplete. The product seems to work well, but the ones writing the instructions and the general information have likely only used it in sanitized settings and not the real world. They need to take it to their cousins house (who isn't highly computer literate) and try to follow the instructions and get the updates from the websites. One of the included manuals was for another product...not much help. Quite a few holes in the directions. I had trouble and I've had run my own computer services company for over fifteen years. If you don't mind wading through weak documentation, you'll probably like the product.
For what it does, it seems to be a good product.
If you need to convert cassettes to MP3's it works fairly painlessly.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ion Cassette Tape-to-MP3 Converter

BIG Disappointment-ALREADY RETURNED!

05/30/2009
By ,
Broward County, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was really looking forward to using this product. I have a large library of Cassettes I wanted to turn to CD/MP3. I got the unit home and within an hour, the tapes started wowing/fluttering and going slow. It wasn't the tapes as I have 4 other cassette players that none had the problem of playing the same tape in. Also, unless you are a time expert, with the way the software is set up, it's a guessing game for the beginning of every song you split tracks on. You either have a long pause from the time you hit start and the song begins or you clip the beginning and have to start over again. I returned the product within 24 hours of receiving it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ion Cassette Tape-to-MP3 Converter

Ion Cassette Tape-to-MP3 Converter

10/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product to have Ion Cassette Tape-to-MP3 Converter, hooked up with a receiver and CD player with speakers is great to have for your music system .
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ion Cassette Tape-to-MP3 Converter

not so good product

08/07/2008
By ,
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this converter in July, and was so excited. I love to listen to audio books and have many cassettes that I would like to covert to MP3 files so that I can listen to them on my MP3 player. But when I hooked it all up and installed everything, it took over my computer. From that point on, my CD player wouldn't work, speakers didn't work. I realize that it has to shut down things in order to work but, it didn't tell me how to put it back, and when I tried, it didn't work, so I had to set my computer back to an earlier date in order to get the thing off my computer, and allow my speaker and CD to work again, and the files it made were really full of static, so I have not been happy at all with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ion Cassette Tape-to-MP3 Converter

Needed Space

02/08/2009
By ,
Tracy, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is great if you are wanting to get rid of cassette tapes but you don't want to lose all the music you purchased only to repurchase it in some other media form. The Tapes2PC allowed us to transfer all the music onto our computer and our portable hard drive backup.
The only downside is how long this process takes. You basically are listening to every tape as you transfer it to your PC. It brings back memories burning them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ion Cassette Tape-to-MP3 Converter

Plug & Play Ease

01/01/2014
By ,
Northwest Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good product ! Easy to use East to set up Inly set back when recording tape to mp3 if you have the auto file "checked" if there is a pause of silence tape2 PC will "stutter" and "skip" at that space. You have to stop and start a new recording unless you have auto file unchecked, then it works like a charm. Great tool if you plan on archiving your tapes to mp3!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ion Cassette Tape-to-MP3 Converter

great product

06/02/2008
By ,
Lexington,N.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a great product for cassette owners,saves a fortune from buying cd's of the cassettes you already own,also,when not copying cassettes,it doubles as a cassette player.the product works very well so far,recordings turned out wonderful
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ion Cassette Tape-to-MP3 Converter

Does exactly what I wanted.

02/08/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a large collection of Old Time Radio programs on cassette tape that I wanted to convert to digital format. After a little internet searching I found this item on Walmart's site. I was a little put off by how expensive that it would cost, but I have such a large collection that I figured it would be worth the cost. It has met all my expectations so far. Another obstacle that I had was that I didn't have any speakers that I could plug into the back and listen while the machine was recording. I primarily use a headset but unfortunately that doesn't work. I was able to plug it into my laptop and have the recording come through it's speakers. So everything is working out since I can still use my main PC while recording on my laptop. I did go through some trial and error fine tuning the quality and volume of the recordings, and it only took a few minutes. Overall I'm quite pleased with how the process is going. The quality is amazing and it's a perfect way to convert all these old classics into the new era of media. I am very happy with my purchase, and I would recommend it to friends and family that have a bunch of old cassettes still. 5/5
Some Cons: Some trial and error required to get the process perfected.
The process is a bit time consuming
Some basic computer knowledge is required (was not a problem for me, but computer-illerate people might have trouble)
The Price is a little expensive at over $100
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ion Cassette Tape-to-MP3 Converter

Disappointing

06/23/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The instructions are vague and the time commitment to produce a CD is too long. The has to be a better way. Don't waste your time and money.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ion Cassette Tape-to-MP3 Converter

Very good equipment

05/15/2008
By ,
OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use.
very good for OS Vista
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ion Cassette Tape-to-MP3 Converter

OK product

01/12/2009
By ,
Atlanta
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product was pretty much what I expected after reading all the reviews. It's not great, but is the best thing for the money. The recording quality has been pretty good so far, if you know how to change the gain, make sure noise reducer is on. It is a very large pain to have to pay attention to the recording so you can manually seperate songs. There is no high speed recording. I bought this for my 78 year old father, whom I had to teach how to use iTunes, but he is very excited about saving the music from his 25 year old tapes.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ion Cassette Tape-to-MP3 Converter

This one works

07/12/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I tried a low priced competitor to this product. After sending the second one back because it did not work I ordered this unit and was pleasantly surprised. It worked as advertised. I have used it to convert several tapes to CD and am quite satisfied with them. The only complaint I have is that its software is directly connected to iTunes. I would like to be able to use it with either my Nero or Creative software. Still looking in to that.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ion Cassette Tape-to-MP3 Converter

Great Product!

10/08/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading some of the reviews here, I decided to take the jump and try it out. I'm so gald I did! Transferring the cassette to MP3 is very easy and the quality is great! The one issue I have is that the software requires you to transfer the files to iTunes first. There is a work-around using Audacity, but it's not in the manual.
You won't be dissapointed with this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ion Cassette Tape-to-MP3 Converter

Great Product

11/09/2010
By ,
Livermore, cA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine converts my cassettes into dvd's in no time and is very easy to use. I recommend it for those that are not computer literate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ion Cassette Tape-to-MP3 Converter
07/25/2012
By ,
manteca, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the software was easy to download, but you need itunes account which was not a problem, very satisfied with product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ion Cassette Tape-to-MP3 Converter

Very pleased with this product.

07/21/2008
By ,
Elm City, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleased with the sound quality of the files I converted from cassette tapes with my new ION Cassette Tape-to-MP3 converter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ion Cassette Tape-to-MP3 Converter

great for the home or office

04/07/2014
By ,
Beverly Hills Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works perfectly
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ion Cassette Tape-to-MP3 Converter

Nice!

03/07/2014
By ,
Atlanta, Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a nice product, but I didn't give it 5 stars because the instructions can be a little confusing.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ion Cassette Tape-to-MP3 Converter

OK Hardware; HORRIBLE Software

06/15/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I spent several hours trying to copy a tape to my HD using the software that came with this unit. It was a NIGHTMARE!
I purchase other converter instead. The TaoTronics converter is great help converting tape to MP3. It’s easy to use. The software can be installed in just a few seconds. Simply plug the Cassette Player and press play and it will start recording instantly.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ion Cassette Tape-to-MP3 Converter

good idea if it works

06/29/2008
By ,
alexandria ky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Installed okay but does not work. As soon as I have time for a 2-4 hr phone call , I'm going to call their help desk and see if we can get it working okay. My computer is only 6 mo old so my end is not out of date or whatever.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.