Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Therapure Therapure HEPA Air Purifier 90TP201TW01-W

Therapure Therapure HEPA Air Purifier 90TP201TW01-W

The Therapure HEPA air purifier delivers the advantages of triple-action purification. The permanent HEPA-type filter takes out particles in the air for easier breathing. The UV light in the Therapure air purifier kills germs, and the Photo Catalyst filter takes out VOC fume,s which are found in paint and carpeting.
Average Customer Rating:
4.446 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(298 Reviews) 264
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
210
4 stars
50
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation90%269 out of 298reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
74 Questions | 273 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
210
4 stars
50
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Therapure HEPA Air Purifier 90TP201TW01-W

Enjoy the Product!

08/17/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the product & have no problem with it. I've already had 3 weeks with the product, but my only problem is when do I know to change the filter? I've checked several times the filter and it doesn't seem so dirty yet :/ I love the filter becuz I don't have to worry about purchasing filter separately as I did to my humidifier. The air quality in my small bedroom is much better I do admit. Wouldn't say the dust is completely out of reach, but in a certain way our breathing doesn't seem stuffy or the dust is not so much in the air as heavy as it was before. I would recommend this product to anyone who feels that they need a better breathing in the environment. It's helped me and my child. Must add that I'm not crazy about the fact that one has to change the UV light eventually whenever the UV light burns out I guess. Was never mentioned in the website when I purchased it. Thanks Walmart for having such a wonderful product despite a few small little things that were left out, I do enjoy it. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Therapure HEPA Air Purifier 90TP201TW01-W

Excellent Product

07/23/2012
By ,
charleston sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I moved into a very old apartment complex and after 10 days, I developed upper respiratory problems. I had sinus problems and a nasty cough that persisted. I knew it wasn't a cold because it did not get better or worse over time. I felt it was something about the air quality in the apartment because when I went outside, the symptoms cleared. It could have been 1 of dozens of things from mold to bacteria to dirt and dust. What can the complex do? After coughing up a dark mucus for a week, I decided to purify the air. I had never heard of Thera Pure before I saw it on the shelf, but the size and cost convinced me to purchase one. When I got home I turned it on and left for a few hours. I know this is scientifically unlikely, but when I returned, I felt better. I have had the Thera Pure Purifier now for a week and all my symptoms have cleared. I cannot say the Thera Pure is the reason but it is the only change I made. I have no idea what caused the symptoms but they have disappeared. Great product! Highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Therapure HEPA Air Purifier 90TP201TW01-W

Does the job very well, a little noisy.

02/12/2011
By ,
League City, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a bit leery of posting this review because I have had the item less than a month, but so far the results have been good. We literally got this thing because my wife, our cat, and myself all have allergies. Thankfully none of us is allergic to the cat right? Anyway, the first night we used it the sniffling, sneezing, and watery scratchy eyes stopped. Now we keep our house clean, but with all the coming and going, and the fact we live in coastal Texas, there is no telling what is in the air, this thing got it clean. So far we have been able to stay off of the allergy meds to boot! The fan is a little noisy, but it mostly seems like white noise, and is somewhat calming to listen to when trying to get to sleep... One very annoying thing is that I had mine shipped to store because Walmart.com said there were none in stock in the store, come to find out not only was there one in store, but it was $2.00 less than at Walmart.com! Not that it is a lot of money, but double check the stock in store before you buy online...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Therapure HEPA Air Purifier 90TP201TW01-W

impossible to get uv lamp

06/01/2008
By ,
Lexington, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product I purchased in store was delightful to use. It surpassed my expectations. It does exactly as it claims. My problem arose when the UV lamp quit working. I first called to order the lamp direct from the company. They kept saying it was on backorder. Several months later I called again and was given an answer that it had been shipped. Supposedly my customer number was incorrect and it was sent to another address. When I e-mailed the company direct with a complaint, I got no response. I was also disconnected twice while being on hold for extended periods of time. It was also very hard to understand anyone in customer service. The companies customer service is at the bottom of the list as far as I am concerned. I wish Wal-Mart had access to the UV lamps that I could purchase from them. I would have bought 2 more of these from Wal-Mart if I could have gotten the UV lamp.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+149points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
buffalo
not impossible
Posted 10/09/2013
its not impossible, they sell them on amazon.com for $8.99
0points
Customer Avatar
Columbia, TN
I also have a Therapure Air Purifier
Posted 07/15/2013
When my UV lamp bulb burned out, I tried contacting the company, but got the runaround. So, I looked in my owner's manual for the purifier and got the part number for the UV bulb. Then I Googled the words UV lamp bulb plus the part number. I found a company called "Purely Products" (www.purelyproducts.com) and was able to purchase the bulb through them. Hope this helps.
+1point
Customer Avatar
GA
UV LAMP
Posted 08/14/2012
Go on the net and you will find a UV light for your Therapure at 1/2 the price the company will charge you.
-1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 5 for Therapure HEPA Air Purifier 90TP201TW01-W

The best air filter that I've owned!

07/27/2010
By ,
Valdosta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned at least at least 15-20 air filters and I like this filter better than any of them. I have a lot of birds and dust can be deadly to birds. Birds also generate a lot of dust.
I have 5 filters, in my garage, that need repairs, and they were more expensive than this one. I like the UV feature and the very small footprint of this filter. I bought one, for the bird room, but I liked it so much that I'm keeping it in my bedroom!
I just placed an order for another one that will be for the birds, pun intended! This filter generates little noise even on high, compared to others.
There are only two things that I question. For capturing dust, that eventually falls to the floor, I prefer the exhaust air to be blown upwards. I also like pre-filters as they can extend the life of the more expensive main filter. I have already been vacuuming my filters even though the manual says to replace them when dirty. Vacuuming filters works well and it extends the life of the filters.
One could argue that having to also vacuum a pre-filter might be too much work, so it depends on how you look at it. My perfect filter doesn't exist, but this one comes closer, to my ideal filter, than any that I've tried and seen. You will be very pleased with this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+156points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Therapure HEPA Air Purifier 90TP201TW01-W

I feel tricked!

04/14/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited when I found this product on Walmart.com and even more so when my husband said we could purchase it. I have been looking for a while for an air purifier that does all the therapure claims to without the emission of Ozone....however, after getting the product home and reading the leaflet, I noticed that the product was put out by Ionic Pro.. I did some research and called the company where I was informed that this model IS an ionizer (a feature which cannot be turned off) and DOES emit Ozone (the claim is 1 part per billion)....the product is going back to the store. Even if it does work as well as some say, I feel that this information is something that should have been readily available on the advertisement for this product. It is not Walmart's fault at all, but rather the company for not disclosing this information. Many of the reviewers on here, like myself, were excited at finding a "safe" air purifier.....and they have every reason to believe that it IS safe since no where in the packaging does it admit to being an ionizer or admit to producing Ozone...those are answers I actually had to call the company to get!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
California
Incorrect Information
Posted 08/26/2013
I actually have this unit and love it for the very reason that the Ionizer has a button to turn it off or on. Its great for a quick clean 20 min clean, then I turn off the Ionizer and use the hepa the rest of the time. You aren't going to find an aircleaner that does what an Ionizer does without a Ionizer. If you do, let us all know what you found :)
0points
Customer Avatar
TX
OK Product
Posted 12/19/2011
This product worked excellent for approximately 10 months. I always turned it on the medium fan setting with the U.V. light on every night and I would turn the entire unit off in the morning after I woke up. The U.V. light went out (would only flicker) after about 10 months. By the time I got around to replacing the U.V. light the unit was 12 months old and out of warranty. The new U.V. light bulb I installed would also only flicker. I bought yet another U.V. light with the same result. So, it looks like something electrical that provides power to the U.V. light stopped working properly. The fan still works on all three settings. Contrary to what one of the really negative (one star) reviews said, I found that when I called Envion Products that this unit DOES NOT emit ANY ozone because it does not have an ionizing unit in it. That seems logical to me based on the information I have. Should the product have had a longer life I would rate this a 5 star.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Therapure HEPA Air Purifier 90TP201TW01-W

Works very well

05/22/2009
By ,
Tyler TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband has allergies and has really noticed an improvement since we bought this for our bedroom. We are planning to buy at least one more for the living room. On "low" it is noiseless. On "med" or "high," it makes a rather pleasant "white noise."
I would highly recommend this product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Therapure HEPA Air Purifier 90TP201TW01-W

Love it!

02/01/2010
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this product. On high, it has a soft purr, which I love. Helps me sleep better. Only drawback, I was going to buy one for my living room but the directions say not to use around candles because the soot is not good for the purifier. Since I burn lots of candles in my living room, decided it wouldn't be a good idea to have one in there. So it will just stay in my bedroom!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
rohnert park, ca
instead of candles
Posted 06/04/2011
try the Scentsy brand..it's food grade wax that burns in a night light style power pottery stand. I luv mine and i don't have to worry about the candle soot :)
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Therapure HEPA Air Purifier 90TP201TW01-W

A very helpful product

06/05/2009
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this based on the reviews! I was having lots of headaches and was also pregnant so I thought it would be a good investment for the baby & I. I think it makes my place smell fresh and clean. It does clean up the air and odors well. I've recommended it to friends. I definitely sleep easier!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+165points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Therapure HEPA Air Purifier 90TP201TW01-W

Awesome!!

03/25/2009
By ,
WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not going to write a book like these other people.
You can't even tell this thing is on! 2 Labradors and after 2 days their smell is gone! Less dust in the air and easier to breathe. Big house and this thing works!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+108points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Therapure HEPA Air Purifier 90TP201TW01-W
04/17/2008
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband came home with this the other day and I must say at first I was a bit leery. I've read that a lot of purifiers are just glorified vacuum cleaners and all it would take is a good vacuum cleaning to basically perform the same function. I guess my counter to that would be...okay, but wouldn't it be better to have the vacuum running all the time then? So I've given this about a week to see if it's made a difference. I'm a seasonal allergy sufferer and the day before we put it in the living room I was sneezing like mad because of all the pollen beginning to float around. I haven't sneezed once since we turned it on. I also noticed that when we vacuum the funky smell that emits from the sweeper doesn't linger, nor does the smell from diaper changes! The purifier seems to take care of that too. Over all the air in the room smells much cleaner. Pretty happy with this product so far. I'm not yet sure about the whole killing of viruses and bacteria thing and now that we're heading into summer we may not get to find out if it reduces any kind of sickness until flu season rolls around again. I know some water purifiers have the UV light and they do an excellent job at removing bacteria, my parents have one on their well and I can tell you first hand that the UV light works. So I'm definitely curious to see how this concept works in this type of product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Therapure HEPA Air Purifier 90TP201TW01-W

Good for the money.

03/12/2010
By ,
Red Hook, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this recently and like it. Its not one of the best purifiers, but for me it works. It does take odors out of the room. I was brewing really strong coffee today and about 10 minutes later you couldn't even smell the coffee anymore. The high setting is loud. It sounds like a fan going. The low setting is almost totally silent,which I really like. I just wait until we go to bed to put it on high, since its located in the living room. I would recommend this to someone who has allergies or odors in this home. If you have asthma or a serious medical condition I would recommend getting a true HEPA purifier. This is just a HEPA type purifier and isn't meant for ppl with serious issues. But, this is generally a good product for the money. I like the UV lamp, the only thing I don't like is that its mercury based. So, be careful not to break it. Overall this is a good product for the money. Its obviously not an A+, but it works well for my needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Therapure HEPA Air Purifier 90TP201TW01-W

So far so good

12/29/2013
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this purifier for my 2year olds room since he has allergies to dust, mold and dog dander. It's nice and quiet on the low setting and on the high setting it's a normal fan sound. We've put it in our master bedroom during the day and within 20min. I literally saw all the particles in the air disappearing. I love that is has a washable filter so I can choose whether I want to clean it myself or buy a new one after it's been used and washed too much. I'm very happy with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Therapure HEPA Air Purifier 90TP201TW01-W

Great Value

01/16/2014
By ,
Buffalo, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had the purifier for less than two weeks. I don't notice a difference in the air quality in the bedroom because I don't breath any better, but I'm sure it is doing what it is supposed to do.
On low, it is very quiet. I'm a light sleeper and it does not bother me. The unit is big and I had to be careful where I put it in the room...it has to be a foot away from the walls and (of course) not near any curtains. You also don't want it any place where it's in the traffic path. I don't have any empty wall space in the bedroom, so I put it in front of the dresser and then when I turn it off, I put it away in the corner. The fan might be a nice addition in the summer months when it warms up in the East!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Therapure HEPA Air Purifier 90TP201TW01-W

Does not clean anything

12/15/2013
By ,
Toms River
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had purchased this purifier for I am a smoker, besides that I live in a apartment that seems to not move around smells including cooking odors. I bought this product and was excited when it arrived. Well this unit is horrible! You may as well use a fan cause thats all it does is push the air from one area to another. The odor from cooking did not even clear out besides forget the smoking from a cigarette. I actually blew the cigarette smoke right to the unit and it went over it not even into filter of the unit. I am now back outside with my smoking and within 2 days returned this unit. I did not purchase this from walmart for it was on sale cheaper at another store. Sorry Walmart! I read the reviews from this site however and thought I should allow others to know my experience with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Therapure HEPA Air Purifier 90TP201TW01-W

Therapure HEPA Air Purifier

12/29/2010
By ,
Newark, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good air purifier for the price. I like that its filter is permanent and is cleaned by vacuuming it rather than having to buy expensive replacement filters.
It has three speeds and when it's on low, you don't even hear it running. On high, you can hear the fan but it's not annoying. It would be nice if it came with a replacement bulb or they should be available in the store, but overall, this is a nice air purifier and I'm satisfied with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Therapure HEPA Air Purifier 90TP201TW01-W

Mixed Review

03/12/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Be aware that this is a HEPA **TYPE** air filter. It is not a HEPA air filtration system. If a medical professional has recommended a HEPA system, this is not for you. I bought both this system and the Honeywell system because there were renovations occuring in my home and I was physically ill from the air pollution. I was also going crazy from the dust. I put this system in my bedroom because it was touted as very quiet and the need for air filtration was lower there. It is very quiet - almost soundless. I was skeptical of the alleged ability of the UV light to kill germs, but it does seem to help. I would not use this in an area with intense air pollution because it is just not up to the job, but for an area with normal indoor air pollution levels, it's adequate & very quiet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Home
normal indoor air pollution
Posted 02/27/2012
but for an area with normal indoor air pollution levels
Just asking what do you concider "normal"? thank you.
Mike
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Therapure HEPA Air Purifier 90TP201TW01-W

Does wonders

02/28/2010
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these for my kids rooms, but this size is more for a larger room like a living room. I am buying smaller units for the bedrooms. With this unit, there is less dust, our allergies are down and it really eliminates odor. Our hamster cage smells all the time, but the air purifier kills those odors. There are 3 fan settings and the higher the setting, the louder the fan noise. But it is not loud like a vacuum, just white noise. You can vacuum the filter, so there is no cost in replacing filters. Highly recommend this product. Do site to store and save on shipping. Stores don't stock them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Therapure HEPA Air Purifier 90TP201TW01-W

Love it

04/26/2011
By ,
pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this because of smoke and dust. It works awesome, my place doesnt not smell like smoke anymore, it also blows out air so it is like a fan too, low is very quite, medium is just like having a fan on, and high is alittle loud but i usually keep it on medium and when i go to bed i put it on low, just need to vac. it once a week. I would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Therapure HEPA Air Purifier 90TP201TW01-W

Dont buy a gimmick!

05/09/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The UV-C lamp is a gimmick. Yes UV-C lights kill germs but only when they cross the beam of light, which is small. You know what else kills germs? Lysol. It also does it more effectively than this thing will.
This purifier doesn't have much air intake. The intake side is fairly small so it's not grabbing a lot of air. It's basically a fan with a filter and a UV lamp. The only quiet speed setting is the low setting and it barely pulls any air in. You really have to have the unit on med or high for it to do anything. Also, it has a weird plastic smell. Maybe that wears off, but i'll never know because I took it back after 2 days.
I bought a Holmes HAP726 allergen remover. This thing is a beast. It pulls air pretty well, which is the whole point in an air purifier. It also has 4 speed settings. The lowest setting (which is fairly quiet) pulls more air than the highest setting on the Therapure 201. The intake on the Therapure could barely hold a piece of thin paper against it on high, the Holmes model has no problem with that on the lowest level.
The Holmes model is also a TRUE HEPA filter, which is important. The Therapure is a "hepa type" which is held to less standards than a true HEPA in regards to the size of the particles it can filter out.
Seriously, if you're going to spend $100 on an air purifier don't waste it on this model. Buy the Holmes HAP726. Also, I don't work for Holmes, I promise :).
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 265 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next