Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Holmes Holmes True HEPA Allergen Remover

Holmes Holmes True HEPA Allergen Remover

The Holmes True Air Purifier eliminates 99.97% of airborne allergens, which are as minute as 0.3 microns. This purifier uses the Arm & Hammer enhanced filters that help to eliminate common house hold odors. It works efficiently to get rid of dust, pollen, pet dander, mold, and, smoke from the air as it passes through the filter. Four different speed settings let you adjust it for various conditions. The digital display with timer allows you to automatically run the air cleaner for up to 16 hours. The filter monitor alerts you when there is a need to change the filters. This purifier can be fit against a wall or into a corner though it is small enough to keep on even tabletops. CADR rated, this allergen remover is recommended for rooms up to 256 sqft.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(119 Reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
27
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation95%112 out of 118reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 119 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
27
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Holmes True HEPA Allergen Remover

Extending the life of the expensive filters

12/01/2010
By ,
Sherman TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this product for two years and overall have been very pleased. My only complaint was that I needed to replace the HEPA filters more frequently than "advertised" and they are EXPENSIVE! I was speaking to a friend of mine who does HVAC installation and he suggested that I purchase a 14x25x1 HEPA 1900 Rated Air Filter and tape it to the outside of the machine as a pre-filter.
WHOLA!!! A 14x25x1 Filtrete 1900 Microfiltrate HEPA filter costs approximately $20.00. I cut it to fit the intake area, and taped it around the sides with duct tape. Yes - it is ugly. But I have not had to replace the internal filters in over a year. I replace the 14x25x1 filter every 3 months. Interestingly - you can actually watch the outside filter get increasing dirty each day - which lets me know if I need to change it sooner or can go a little longer. THE AIR FLOW THROUGH THE SYSTEM IS NOT REDUCED, nor is there an increased workload on the motor to overcome the additional filter. The net result is a much improved filtration of air, and amuch reduced annual costs of filters.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+207points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Oakland, CA
Thank you!
Posted 01/12/2014
I have been following your tip. And have replaced the front filter only once in the year I have had my unit. I am only now having to replace the inside HEPA filter. I did also replace the cardbon filter when I replaced the front filter, but that cost very little. Thank you for the money saving advice!
+1point
Customer Avatar
McAllen, TX
Re: Extending the life of the expensive filters
Posted 05/24/2013
I love this product and have done what this person suggested. The only difference is that I purchased white colored duct tape. LOOKS GREAT! This is a must buy.. I give it 5 stars!!!! :) going to purchase 2 more for my home :)
+3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Holmes True HEPA Allergen Remover

Oh my gosh! These have made a world of difference

10/11/2009
By ,
Lawton, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in in 50+ yo house. I used to wake up nauseated, and my family exhibited chronic coughing.
Within an hour, we discerned a marked decrease in respiratory distress.l
Now, I have one in each bedroom, and in the family room. Noise? Certainly better than us all hacking non stop at night!
BTW, don't let the HEPA filters clog! The carbon filters function quite well as "pre-filters," extending the main HEPA filters' life, and reducing the maintenance cost from $80 a month to $12!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+111points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Venice, Florida
I Own 4 Holmes/Bionaire Towers
Posted 05/16/2012
These are a life saver. The only way I can sleep without getting a sinus headache and awakening congested and with my face "blown up" is by having it on all night in a closed room.
There are two great coupons out for Holmes/Bionaire (10 and 20 dollars each) expiring 6/10/12 from coupons.com, so I am going to buy a small version for my car to use with an inverter on long trips and a new one for my bedroom, as my four towers (Holmes HAP422) are at least that many years old if not older.
A very good investment!
To keep the hepa filters clean, I run them with the Arm and Hammer carbon prefilters. This way I replace the carbon filters perhaps twice a year, and replace the hepa filters when I am flush. :)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Holmes True HEPA Allergen Remover

saved my life.....

12/17/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would describe my self as extremely allergic, to just about everything, especially cats!!! I take allergy medications always did a decent job, however my wife wanted a cat and for whatever reason she tricked me into getting it. WORST DECISION EVER! my life was a living nightmare for the first month having it, it effected our relationship, I looked like a drug addict because my eyes were always puffed up and red and itchy! I was sneezing non stop, my throat would close up, I was'nt able to sleep. It was a nightmare to say the lease! allergy pills did'nt seem to work that well, we went out on a limb buying this as a last resort if it did'nt work I told her we had to get ride of the cat, I read reviews on REAL hepa air purifiers and they were all $600 plus dollar and there is no way I would ever spend that type of money. From the first few hours we had this on I noticed a HUGE difference, ever since I have been fine. This thing saved my life!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Holmes True HEPA Allergen Remover

Fresh Air - low price

03/12/2011
By ,
IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second air purifier and I honestly love it. I debated on paying the $399 for the Oreck and decided to give this more inexpensive one a try after it was recommendetd to me by a friend. Even though my first purifier is made out of mostly metal and plastic and this one is made of a lower quality plastic in comparison to the material it is made, I find that I like this one even better. It has 4 settings and I just love it on the highest one and leave it there all the time. If you want it to be more quiet then a lower level 1-3 will take care of that. I have been using this new one for 3 weeks now and I am thinking about getting one more for the downstairs area. It does take filters and I confess that I do take my hand held vac on low to suck out the dust/cat hair a couple of times on the prefilter before I change it out. This one takes the same size filters as my first one and if you keep the black charcoal outer filter clean or changed out the hepa filter stays clean and lasts so much longer. Great product at a great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Holmes True HEPA Allergen Remover

Great Air Purifier

04/14/2014
By ,
Birmingham, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have used this air purifier now for over 2 weeks, works exceptionally well in our rec room. Like being able to replace the pre-filters and HEPA filters. Replaced a unit with a "Permanent" filter that could not be cleaned (except vacuumed) and could not find a replacement for. Another nice feature of this unit is the fan is a squirrel cage type, which we use in our forced air for our computer servers. Squirrel cage fans move more air and have bearings on both sides of the air mover. Noise is minimal for the amount of air being moved through the unit. Ease of filter installation/replacement is simple and the cost of the replacement filters are reasonable. This unit is the best we have found so far, highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Holmes True HEPA Allergen Remover

Good product for the price

01/26/2014
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not sure about durability - haven't had it very long. Seems to be working effectively.
Little noisy - but I run on low sitting at night and it's not bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Holmes True HEPA Allergen Remover

Very cheaply made . Easily broken. I returned it.

03/01/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very cheaply made . Easily broken. I returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Holmes True HEPA Allergen Remover

love

03/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Product DuesWayOutSays. I UseItAllNight AveHaven't HadToChangeTheFilter Yet. HaveHadItFOr 3mo. SoFar. WeHaveA NewBaby & 2 DOgs That Sleep In Our ROom. d
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Holmes True HEPA Allergen Remover

My wife and I are happy with this purchase

04/12/2014
By ,
Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife has a hard time breathing so we think this is an excellent purchase. We have it in our bedroom. I also purchased another Holmes air purifier for our family room. It is a larger model. Pay
attention to the square footage rating before buying one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Holmes True HEPA Allergen Remover

HAP 726

02/09/2014
By ,
Mount Sinai, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great air purifier love it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Holmes True HEPA Allergen Remover

Everyone Should Own One!

09/20/2010
By ,
Orange County, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This HEPA purifier is great! I've struggled with allergies all my life. My husband is lucky enough not to have any allergies. My doctor had been recommending for years that I purchase a HEPA air purifier for my bedroom, but I just could not justify the price, and I figured my allergies would always be the way they have always been. After looking at the HEPA filters online at Wal-Mart I decided to buy this model and I couldn’t be happier. The first night we used it my husband and I both woke up and exclaimed to each other, “My nose isn’t stuffy!”
The unit is a great price and is a reliable brand. I did my research before buying & Holmes got the best consumer reviews. About an hour before bed we turn it on the highest setting (#4) and let it run. When we’re ready for bed we turn it down to the lowest setting (#1) while we sleep. I was concerned about the square footage the unit said it cleaned as we have an open floor plan (our bedroom is about 400 sq. feet) but I don’t feel like we need a larger unit. I cannot tell you what a difference it has made for my allergies! I wake up with a clear head, feeling great. My next step is to purchase a smaller one for my office. I have already told my mom, sister and grandmother they are getting this air purifier for Christmas, I think even those without allergies (like my husband) can benefit from this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Holmes True HEPA Allergen Remover
04/22/2009
By ,
Simpsonville, SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
You will fall in love with this this the first time you use it but as soon as you have to replace the filters for the first time you mine as well be buying a brand new unit. This unit requires 2 filters each which are around 20 bucks a piece but you can by a 2 pk for about 34 bucks then on top of that you will need the carbon filters that come in a box of 4 they are 10 bucks. Point being you are better off buying a unit with a permanent washable filter. This thing is a money trap if you want you use it all year round.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Belton, SC
Voiselle2b
Posted 12/01/2012
So from your research and experience which air purifier is the best deal when you consider filter cost and performance?
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Holmes True HEPA Allergen Remover

A noticeable difference!

09/21/2013
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Might be a little early to review since I've only had this for about a week, but so far, very good! After one day I could definitely notice and feel a difference in the air in my large basement room. This unit seems to move a lot of air, enough that I don't feel bad at all for not getting the larger model. This unit might be loud for a small to medium sized room. It sounds like...a fan...and if it's on speeds 3 or 4 I have to either turn my TV up to hear it over the unit better or turn the fan speed down to 2 or 1. Again, this is in a large basement room. At night I like to have it run on the lowest speed as it works for some good white noise/background noise. I'm hoping that this unit reduces the amount of dust I see around the room. It gets bad rather quickly. I find myself dusting every 3 or 4 days so only time will tell if this unit helps reduce the dust or not. But either way the air feels cleaner already and feels so much better to breathe. I'm coughing less and feeling less irritated. Another thing I like is that this unit blows a pretty solid stream of air, so the air in my room is moving now and feels less stuffy. Noticeably cooler too which I like. I wouldn't say the build/materials/quality is cheap overall, but it looks and feels a little bit cheap to me, but then again, I'm picking about the things I buy. But it should be solid enough to last a long time if you are not dropping it or abusing it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Holmes True HEPA Allergen Remover

(e.g. A very helpful product)

04/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Holmes True HEPA Allergen Remover

good for the price

12/05/2013
By ,
central new york
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works good bought a black one of theses and it had motor trouble. Put a furnace filter in front of the intake and it will cut down on the replacement of the inside filters
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Holmes True HEPA Allergen Remover

dont work 4 me

11/25/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i have asthma and my daughter and i are allergic to dust. had it for about 3 wks now and i still get tightening of chest and hard to breathe at night. i let it run all night but still have asthma acting up. i dunno ill give it more time i guess.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Holmes True HEPA Allergen Remover

One night and already can feel the difference!

08/25/2011
By ,
Buffalo, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow, I read all the reviews on this purifier and decided to give it a shot. I've just moved into a home where there were cats before, and I am severely allergic. Every night I'd spent in the house until last night, I woke up with asthma problems midway through the night and would be all stuffed up with difficulty breathing by morning. I ran this last night for about 4 hours before bed on high and then left it on the sleep mode overnight - what a world of difference. I slept straight through and woke up feeling completely normal. I am so impressed that I don't usually rate products but felt I should for this one!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Holmes True HEPA Allergen Remover

Allergen Remover

03/12/2010
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this unit last month to put in the cats bathroom, due to all the litter dust. At night, took it into the bedroom. From the first night, we noticed a remarkable improvement in the quantity and color of the morning phlegm that most people wake up choking on. I actually just came online to order 3 more units! I want one in each room, so I don't have to lug the unit from room to room. The filter replacements will be expensive, but what price do you put on the air you breathe every second?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Holmes True HEPA Allergen Remover

Good value

12/09/2009
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had many air cleaners and this one has impressed me more in a week than most have in months. The highest setting can be as loud as other air cleaners but the middle setting will push more air than most and you can barely hear it. I've bought several other air cleaners and after purchasing this one, I'd say spend the little bit of extra money on it. You can really tell it's circulating air through it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Holmes True HEPA Allergen Remover

Holmes HEPA Air Purifier

10/02/2008
By ,
Chillicothe, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As alway, Holmes has another winner! I bought my Purifier in September 2008 and it is well worth the $$. What a difference it has made regarding my allergies and typical household odors. LOVE this product, AND the Walmart pricing!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 100 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next