Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Jarden Holmes HEPA-Type Tower Air Cleaner

Jarden Holmes HEPA-Type Tower Air Cleaner

This Holmes tower air cleaner is stylish and functional. It utilizes a HEPA-type filtration, which helps remove up to 99% of airborne particles as small as two microns from the air passing through it. Filtered particles of this size include household dust, pollen, mold spores and pet dander. The slim tower design allows placement in almost any area of the room.
Average Customer Rating:
2.857 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation50%7 out of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Holmes HEPA-Type Tower Air Cleaner

It just moves the air around.

11/07/2008
By ,
Asheboro, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have severe allergies, so I recently looked into purchasing an air purifier. I didnt want the cheapest, and couldnt afford the most expensive. So I purchased this product, although it was more than I wanted to pay. I thought id give it a shot, the description sounded like just what I needed. It was NOT. I had it in my bedroom 12ft by 12ft room. It showed no results after two or so weeks. It basically just sucked in air and blew it out, I know I have alot of dust in my home and I expected alot more than I received out of this product. The grand total was 70 some dollars. It takes TWO replacement filters every 3 months. It doesnt tell you that on the box! Two replacement filters are $26.00. What a rip off! I returned it to the store, and am feeling very relieved. I think im going to try the Ionic Pro! I hope this was helpful to you all. DONT PURCHASE this product. Waste of time and money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Holmes HEPA-Type Tower Air Cleaner

Excellent; best I've found

08/25/2009
By ,
Coconut Creek
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This air filter is outstanding and is my second one. It's powerful, quiet and manages to do extremely well in the largest of rooms. Now that Arm & Hammer is making the filter cartridges...it's even better than ever and removes that mustie smell. I've been running my new one for 3 months now and just looked at the pre-filter....DISGUSTING. To think that we were breathing all of that into our bodies all night long. Absolutely highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Holmes HEPA-Type Tower Air Cleaner

fresh air at last

03/05/2009
By ,
STOCKBRIDGE,GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this unit yesterdayand within a hour I could tell that it was easier to breath in my living room area.The air was much more crisp. thanks!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Holmes HEPA-Type Tower Air Cleaner

Great product for the price

10/07/2009
By ,
San Antonio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I don't have bad allergies (etc), but I always noticed dust building up in my room & I hate dusting. I haven't dusted since the day I bought this unit. I clean the prefilter (shake it out) every couple of weeks & its always covered in dust.
The unit is pretty silent on low setting, but on medium or high you definately hear it. Its not loud, its just not silent. I actually prefer the white noise it offers because it's soothing & blocks out my roommate's loud tv. :)
The only drawback is that the filters are expensive and you're supposed to replace them every 6 months.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Holmes HEPA-Type Tower Air Cleaner

A Good Choice

08/30/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When at home I leave it on "LOW," because that's the quietest setting. Not as powerfull as a full-ionizer of the same size that retails for about $500-$600, but I needed the pre-stage filters. Full-ionizers, if you have a few good "zaps," slowly fail over time, (in my experience.) When I leave I crank it up to "HIGH" and when I come home the air is fresh and clean and I've very little dusting to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Holmes HEPA-Type Tower Air Cleaner

You can buy better

07/19/2009
By ,
Punta Gorda, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've had this unit for over four years and find that it does indeed collect a lot of dust, dog hairs, etc. It isn't very quiet, but I actually like the "white noise" for when I'm sleeping. The down side is that the filters get dirty quick and need replaced every few months at between $25 - $28 for two filters (uses TWO!). Also, the long plastic door that you must remove to get to the filters was a pain to take off and especially put back into place. Mine broke and has been held together by rubber bands! I'm looking at buying a new purifier; one with the true HEPA filter that you replace only 1x year.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Holmes HEPA-Type Tower Air Cleaner

Poor Quality

08/08/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had this for 6months when i realized one of the fans was put in the wrong way. I took it apart and rotated the fan to blow the right way.
1 year later, the bottom bearing on the motor went out from the vertical weight of the two fans.
Something was always wrong with the motor regardless of the speed setting, as it would pick up speed then slow down again, pick up speed the slow down again then pick up speed and stay for a few hours and then slow down again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Holmes HEPA-Type Tower Air Cleaner

Holmes HEPA tower

02/24/2009
By ,
Denver,Co
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After reading the other reviews and owing this product for 5 years and having 4 pets in a small house..... OK, There are quieter units,they cost more. There are better units,they cost more.
Bottom line , its a good inexpensive unit!
Ours collects fur,dust and lint because I clean it every week..if it didn't work the filters wouldn't be dirty.
If noise is a concern get a better unit,I don't think its that noisey.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Holmes HEPA-Type Tower Air Cleaner
02/06/2009
By ,
Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Total junk! After running this product for three days straight, nothing picked up on the filter..Nothing! I wouldn't buy this product..I just returned it today and for an extra 30 bucks I got another Allergen Remover from Holmes it's a hap726-u and I love it. Spend the extra money and get something better then this. Unless you want a fan blowing dirty air around
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Holmes HEPA-Type Tower Air Cleaner

Noisy

02/10/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The box advertises quiet on any speed but it's a complete lie. Brought it home and plugged it in... sounded like a jet airplane ready for takeoff. Immediately unplugged it and returned it. Looking at other air purifiers now.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Holmes HEPA-Type Tower Air Cleaner

Junk!!

11/20/2008
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The base on the unit is very small and is top heavy and is prone to falling over. Fan bearings are pore quality! Mine didn’t last a year with regular filter changing and the fans still seized up!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Holmes HEPA-Type Tower Air Cleaner

works great

08/08/2008
By ,
elgin,il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my bedroom is 18x10 including walk in closet and master bath. this product is working very well for me. it is quiet and i recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Holmes HEPA-Type Tower Air Cleaner

trash

07/31/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this 2 weeks ago and I should've read the comments from everyone else b/c it worked one day and was horrible the rest!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Holmes HEPA-Type Tower Air Cleaner

cleans air

01/09/2009
By ,
Guyton Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this traps dog hair and dust from the room . I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.