Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Samsung Samsung SC-DX103 Black ~ Mini DVD Camcorder w/ 2.7" Widescreen LCD, 34x Optical Zoom, & SD Memory Card Slot

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Samsung Samsung SC-DX103 Black ~ Mini DVD Camcorder w/ 2.7" Widescreen LCD, 34x Optical Zoom, & SD Memory Card Slot

The Samsung SC-DX103 Black DVD Camcorder captures your most treasured memories on DVD discs — no more bulky videotapes or tangled wires. Media Type: DVD-R, DVD-RW, DVD+R DL (8cm).
Average Customer Rating:
3.89 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(145 Reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
50
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation79%114 out of 145reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
50
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Samsung SC-DX103 Black ~ Mini DVD Camcorder w/ 2.7" Widescreen LCD, 34x Optical Zoom, & SD Memory Card Slot

Do You Know Full Quality?

01/13/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Is An OK Samsung Digital Camcorder! The Quality On The Screen On The Camera Is VERY Different Than The Quality As It Shows Up Online (Youtube) Or On The TV When Sharing A Video. I Mean My 3 Year Old Cannon Digital Camera Has Better Quality Once The Video Is Online! I DON'T Recomend This Camera At All To Anybody Who Wants A Top Notch Picture Quality Camera Not An Bit Scratchy Picture! Please
See My Video To See What I Mean!
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 2 for Samsung SC-DX103 Black ~ Mini DVD Camcorder w/ 2.7" Widescreen LCD, 34x Optical Zoom, & SD Memory Card Slot

Love This Cam

09/19/2008
By ,
Hornbeck, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always wanted a camera that I could take still digital pictures and record on DVD. This camera is great and meets all my expectations.
There is only one thing I don't like and that is when it is on the SD card it takes a little longer to get ready to take pictures. With a little patients I have worked that out. Just wish Wal-Mart would carry replacement batteries. Thank You Samsung and Wal-Mart.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 3 for Samsung SC-DX103 Black ~ Mini DVD Camcorder w/ 2.7" Widescreen LCD, 34x Optical Zoom, & SD Memory Card Slot

Don't do it!! horrible camcorder

11/05/2008
By ,
Republic, Mo.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first this little camcorder seemed to be everything I needed. Compact, easy share files, decent features, good quality video, and the option to write to DVD or memory card. However after using the camcorder just a few times many problems came about. When trying to view my video the camcorder would lock up and I would have to remove the battery to gain any function back. When it did allow video playback it often took a long time to load. Using the photo option resulted in horribly pixelated images, and the shutter speed would often loss the subject if they moved at all. Many times the pictures were corrupt and I couldn't retrieve them. Taken video was about the same. I was able to only record about 4 - 10 minutes on a disc and it would produce a write error. This was very frustrating because sometimes I would have recorded a lot video only to lose it all. Buyer beware!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 4 for Samsung SC-DX103 Black ~ Mini DVD Camcorder w/ 2.7" Widescreen LCD, 34x Optical Zoom, & SD Memory Card Slot

Download to computer HARD 2 DO

06/26/2008
By ,
Jackson MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an ok camera; first one since disk are now being used.
The only thing that I do not like is it does not free flow, it makes chapters on what you record. Then to get it to a regular size disc you have to download movie maker on old computer because it doesn't work well with vista(have it on new computer) & I had major issues with that. So the only way I can get my videos on a big DVD is to use a VCR/ DVD dubbing combo unit. I have to finalize my minni DVD, transfer to a tape and then record it on a DVD. All my mini DVD's that are finalized can not be reused...good thing if DVD gets damaged the mini is a back up BUT now I have to find storage for mini DVD's.
I do like the size of it and how it is a camcorder able to take still photo....perfect for the single parent BUT photo quality needs improvement.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 5 for Samsung SC-DX103 Black ~ Mini DVD Camcorder w/ 2.7" Widescreen LCD, 34x Optical Zoom, & SD Memory Card Slot

Easy to travel with

05/05/2009
By ,
jackson,ms
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Item was purchased to capture moments of my daughters ballet & tap classes which it captures great shots but this camera does not work well for still pictures. Still it is a great camera for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 6 for Samsung SC-DX103 Black ~ Mini DVD Camcorder w/ 2.7" Widescreen LCD, 34x Optical Zoom, & SD Memory Card Slot

Great if you love yellow

05/31/2008
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I do not recommend this camera at all. I received it the day before my friend's graduation, and the still photos I shot with it were terrible...everything had a yellow hue. I had it set on auto, but the auto setting did nothing. I adjusted it manually,and everything was still yellow. I called the support line, and they tried to help, but it still did not work. I finally returned it. The video capabilities were great, but the still photo shots were not.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Review 7 for Samsung SC-DX103 Black ~ Mini DVD Camcorder w/ 2.7" Widescreen LCD, 34x Optical Zoom, & SD Memory Card Slot

Easy to Use

04/10/2009
By ,
Canton,MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-Very easy to use camcorder.
-This is my first camcorder, and I am kind of an impatient person. I did not feel like reading the directions to figure out how the thing worked,and well basically I just grabbed the "Quick Guide" gave a quick little glance and was able to figure out how to use the camcorder within the first 5 minutes of having it.
-Fits nicely in your hand with the hand strap.
-Recorders good quality video.
-Easy play-back.
-Very good price.
-I also like how you just put in the Mini DVDs right into the Camcorder and do not have to mess with a memory card (unless you want to do it that way, as it also has this option)
I would recommend this product, for this price.!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 8 for Samsung SC-DX103 Black ~ Mini DVD Camcorder w/ 2.7" Widescreen LCD, 34x Optical Zoom, & SD Memory Card Slot

Used for Christmas

12/31/2008
By ,
Southwest VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I decided this would not meet my needs because the footage is not easy to edit. If you just want to shoot and watch your DVD, it might work for you. I want to edit and create movies, so I need a camera that records to MiniDV. Focus and color would be problems for any user. This camcorder did not appear to focus well in auto-focus mode - I got blurry shots of nearly everything. The color tones were not good in average indoor light, and low-light conditions made the footage almost unwatchable. Buttons are well-placed and easy to use. Maybe a good entry-level camcorder for low-tech users?
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Samsung SC-DX103 Black ~ Mini DVD Camcorder w/ 2.7" Widescreen LCD, 34x Optical Zoom, & SD Memory Card Slot

Awesome

01/01/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camcorder is awesome. Very good picture and video quality. I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Samsung SC-DX103 Black ~ Mini DVD Camcorder w/ 2.7" Widescreen LCD, 34x Optical Zoom, & SD Memory Card Slot

Don't waste your money!

02/01/2009
By ,
North Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Please, pay the extra $100.00 and go for another camcorder. The biggest problem is this product will not finalize the disc when you are finished recording. Without finalizing, there is no way to watch what you have recorded on a dvd player. Also, the battery life is only 30 minutes or less. I went through disc after disc, recording my kids at the zoo and the fair, vacations and just in the backyard, only to find that the disc wouldn't finalize. Search this product online and you will see others having the same problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Never
0points
Review 11 for Samsung SC-DX103 Black ~ Mini DVD Camcorder w/ 2.7" Widescreen LCD, 34x Optical Zoom, & SD Memory Card Slot

Camcorder

01/16/2009
By ,
Stony Point, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i know it seems simple to buy something and expect it to be so easy to use and maintain and buy stuff for, i guess its no longer the days of vhs where you can find the correct recording media EVERYWHERE for a relatively inexpensive price. I like this product but i guess being stuck in the stone age and having to look all over to find dual layer discs to record on has kind of kept me from using it very much and with very limited space on the micro sd cards i have refrained from using it like i had originally planned to.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 12 for Samsung SC-DX103 Black ~ Mini DVD Camcorder w/ 2.7" Widescreen LCD, 34x Optical Zoom, & SD Memory Card Slot

Good product

10/10/2008
By ,
Jena, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the camera five days before my daughter was born and tried it out at work to insure its quality. I work on an oil drilling rig and the night shots where some what disapointing. The camera had a hard time focusing (at night only). The day shots where awesome! I haven't used the built in still shot camera yet, so I can't help you there. The only problem I found is it takes a long time to turn off after you recorded something sometimes up to one and half min. Over all I would recomend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Samsung SC-DX103 Black ~ Mini DVD Camcorder w/ 2.7" Widescreen LCD, 34x Optical Zoom, & SD Memory Card Slot

Save your money for something else.

04/19/2009
By ,
Simpsonville, SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not user friendly. Cannot simply make your own copies of the mini DVDs to regular sized DVDs. When recording on mini discs, you get about 45 minutes of record time. When recording on SD card, cannot view the file on the computer without a special program. Have never been so disappointed with a product. When emailed Samsung about help with these issues, you get an autogenerated response thanking you for your comment but no answer to your questions. Wish I had saved my money for another product.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 14 for Samsung SC-DX103 Black ~ Mini DVD Camcorder w/ 2.7" Widescreen LCD, 34x Optical Zoom, & SD Memory Card Slot

BLACK FRIDAY WASTE!!!!!

11/28/2008
By ,
Columbia, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Walmart had these on sale for $179 Black Friday. I stood in line for 45 minutes, just to get home, pull it out, and find that the button you push down to make the DVD slot open doesn't work. My husband went back to Walmart, bought another one, just for it to do the same thing!!! Called Samsung, and apparently they had gotten alot of calls reguarding the same problem. Needless to say, it will be returned. This was a waste of time getting in line for this "BLACK FRIDAY DEAL".......!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 15 for Samsung SC-DX103 Black ~ Mini DVD Camcorder w/ 2.7" Widescreen LCD, 34x Optical Zoom, & SD Memory Card Slot

Do not buy!!!

11/29/2008
By ,
New Hampshire
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product on BF this year for $179. Later that day I figured I'd play around with it to see if I liked it. The instructions are horrible! It's very noisy! The DVD wouldn't play on my computer and when I put it in my DVD player it skipped horribly! Plus it felt very cheap in your hand and left fingerprints all over the black shiny part. I returned it that day and bought the JVC hard drive one that had on sale for $250. I LOVE that one!!! I will leave a review for that one too! ;)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 16 for Samsung SC-DX103 Black ~ Mini DVD Camcorder w/ 2.7" Widescreen LCD, 34x Optical Zoom, & SD Memory Card Slot

Great Bang for the Buck

04/04/2009
By ,
Joliet, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The compact & light-weight design is easy to handle with any size hand. The best thing about the mini digital camcorder is that I haven't found anything bad about it! I still have my first camcorder which is a 8 lb VHS. To think of all those years I lugged that thing on my shoulder! This little one is pleasure to use and the resulting video is awesome! We have used it on low and high resolution. No complaints at all! I would recommend this make & model definitely!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Samsung SC-DX103 Black ~ Mini DVD Camcorder w/ 2.7" Widescreen LCD, 34x Optical Zoom, & SD Memory Card Slot

Good for price

05/27/2009
By ,
Navasota, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought ths camcorder for family events. I like it. The only problem I have with it is when recording it blurs in and out on some spots. Then when I finalze it and play back on my dvd player is cuts out when watching it. I haven't taken still pictures yet so not sure how that comes out. Overall it is a good camcorder for the price. Just wish they had more disc with more minutes and battery life on it. It is good for just recording the kids play around the house.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 18 for Samsung SC-DX103 Black ~ Mini DVD Camcorder w/ 2.7" Widescreen LCD, 34x Optical Zoom, & SD Memory Card Slot

Great Camcorder for the price

05/24/2009
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this camcorder. The video image quality is great, and it is user friendly. So user friendly, my young kids can operate the camera with ease. The options for recording video on either SD card or disc create versatility to transfer the media to your computer. I have found replacement batteries at Wal-Mart. The only downfall is the still photo quality is not great, but that's what cameras are made for... Last but not least, the price is right!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Samsung SC-DX103 Black ~ Mini DVD Camcorder w/ 2.7" Widescreen LCD, 34x Optical Zoom, & SD Memory Card Slot

Poor investment

01/02/2009
By ,
Kentucky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We currently have a video camera that takes the small cassette tapes. Didn't like having to transfer them to DVD. Purchased this camera which records on the small DVDs. The picture would not focus if there was anyone moving in the picture or if you were not zoomed in close. We tried many ways to get the picture better but the quality was still poor when we watched the DVD later. I would not recommend this. Spend the extra and purchase a camera with the harddrive.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Samsung SC-DX103 Black ~ Mini DVD Camcorder w/ 2.7" Widescreen LCD, 34x Optical Zoom, & SD Memory Card Slot

Great price

01/06/2009
By ,
Easley,SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Camcorder works very well in bright areas, not very good for recording in the house after dark unless all the lights are on. Very easy to operate. Recording looks grainy on card unless you put it on S/D. Disc recording it very nice. Easy playback on tv without having to finalize disc. I'm very pleased with the purchase. Walmart had a awesome price compared to other retailers and it came with the bag and a memory card as a bundle. I only needed discs. Great deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 115 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next