Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sharp Sharp 46" Class Full HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, LC46SB54U

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sharp Sharp 46" Class Full HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, LC46SB54U

Sporting a fine piano black finish and full HD 1080p picture quality, this HDTV will be perfect for any living room or family room. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sharp 46" LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation89%24 out of 27reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sharp 46" Class Full HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, LC46SB54U

100% Satisfied

05/01/2008
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This LCD is great. I am very happy with my purchase. Plenty of hook up`s, very nice sound, and a super SHARP picture make this a great choice.
I tried a 42" Philips LCD 1080p, and a Sanyo 42" LCD 1080p. The Philips had a great picture, but i was very unsatisfied with the sound. The Sanyo was ok, but was lacking menu and control options, So I decided to spend a few more bucks and all I can say is WOW! You get what you pay for. This set has super rich colors. The menu is simple to use and makes it very easy to make adjustments or changes.
I don`t have anything negative to say about this set or the purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for Sharp 46" Class Full HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, LC46SB54U

Overwhelmed...

11/17/2008
By ,
Sacramento
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a Vizio 41 inch flat telly last Christmas. I loved it. Sept 15th of this year it was stolen (home invasion) and I was heart-broken. Finally, after waiting and researching, I saw a Vizo 46 inch for sale at the same price as the 41 inch. Wowie! I had my heart all set and gung-ho to get my Vizio 46 inch telly. Last minute, I ask the young clerk, what he thought. "Which is the better." as I noded to the display of televisions. With out a doubt, hands down, the SHARP 46 inch. Oh, yeah!
Picture is incredible. Colors are so rich and lushes. Resolution in crystal clear. The contrast is 7500 cintrast ratio compared to most that are only 2000/3500 contrast ratio which gives a better and smoother look to the screen during movement or action. Great volume and volume control. Get this...The black is really black. I never realized what that meant until now. It's energy efficient which is a plus. When you turn it off, there is not light that stays on and drains your electricity. I truly am thrilled with this SHARP television. Did, I mention that it's only 3 inch thick. Oh ,my goodness! Oh dear, this modern technology is mind boggling.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 3 for Sharp 46" Class Full HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, LC46SB54U

Very Exceptional

11/30/2008
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this TV on 11/21/08. I loved it. It has some of the best sound on a TV I have ever heard. The picture is just wonderful. Unfortunately I jumped the gun and purchased it right before the Thanksgiving sales. There was a Sony Bravia 46" at the same price. I ended up exchanging it and buying the Bravia because I had just purchased a Sony Blu-Ray player and, besides the excellent picture, they sync wonderfully. Sony Bravia, Sony Blu-Ray... Anyways lookin back in comparison this Sharp has 7500:1 Dynamic compared to the Sony 2500:1 contrast ratio and the Sharp has a 6 ms response time compared to the Sony 8ms. The big seller to me though was that the Sony has 3 HDMI inputs compared to the Sharp's 2 because I have an XBOX 360, Cable box, and a surround sound that need HDMI. Too small of a differene to notice for me but some may gripe. The Sony's "blacks" are darker and richer in my opinion but all in all I would love to have this Sharp back. Too close to call in an overall battle but life or death this Sharp means business.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Sharp 46" Class Full HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, LC46SB54U

Excellent Value

09/06/2008
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this LCD 2 weeks ago, and are thoroughly pleased with our purchase. I was a little hesistant at first due to it only having 2 HDMI inputs; however, since I am using an AV receiver (Onkyo TX-SR606) there was really not a need for more than 1 because all of my inputs are routed from the device to the AV receiver and then sent via 1 HDMI cable to the LCD tv.
The color on this LCD is very good, especially when viewing Blu-ray DVD's. When used with an antenna, the "over the air" HD channels are stunning! I currently subscribe to Directv and I am planning to upgrade to the HD package. The sound is also good, but I use my AV receiver to really get outstanding surround sound.
I shopped around for quite some time before actually purchasing this model. I purchased a wall mount and placed this unit above my fireplace above the mantel. It is the perfect size and looks great in the living room.
I would also recommend purchasing the Wal-Mart 2 yr. extended service plan (only $79.88 on this model). It covers a lot of things-just hoping I never have to use it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Sharp 46" Class Full HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, LC46SB54U

Grade A

07/03/2008
By ,
Fall River, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This model is one of Sharp's most recent introductions to the LCD market, which is why it is difficult to find reviews for it online. The picture quality of the LC46SB54U w/out HD connected is decent, but not outstanding...as it is a mid-grade model (Non-Aquos). However, with the HD connected, the picture quality is amazing...Very clear, beautiful rendering of colors, including deep blacks and bright whites. I strongly recommend modifying the factory picture settings, making sure to significantly reduce the sharpness to roughly (-7), and also reduce the brightness and backlight settings, to achieve the optimum picture. The 6ms response time makes it so there is minimal ghosting when watching sporting or fast moving events. This was a common problem for LCD's in general, which Sharp did a great job fixing. Thus far, I am very pleased with my investment in this television...It actually looks better than many of the top models offered by other brands that have been on the market over the past year or so. I strongly recommend purchasing this TV...Great Price...Great Quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Sharp 46" Class Full HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, LC46SB54U

Excellent HDTV

11/28/2008
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had my doubts when I chose this LCD HDTV over the Sony Bravia. I compared them side by side at the store and it seemed the Sharp Picture quality was better but this was in the store. When I took it home I was pleasantly surprised that the picture quality was even better when I hooked it up to my HD cable box. I later found out this TV had a 7500:1 contrast ratio as compared with the similar Sony that only has a 2500:1 ratio. This made the Sharp far better at displaying rich color, especially during sports and cartoons. You can really see the difference. Sound Quality was also a lot better than expected. Didnt even hook up the surround yet and it sounds great. Just remember to adjust the bass, and trebble at higher volumes. I would recomend this TV over the Sony 46". Oh and the price wass right too!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Sharp 46" Class Full HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, LC46SB54U

disappointment

11/30/2008
By ,
Maine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After much research, my husband and I purchased this TV on 11/23. After hooking it up to the HD cable box on 11/24, the picture was not at all impressive. The speakers had a loud chiming noise coming from them. It would silence after a while, and would return after turning the channel. Also, the picture would flicker quite a bit when set on a channel. Maybe we were unfortunate, and purchased a defective TV. We exchanged the TV for a Sony Bravia, and are so glad we did. We are both sitting here, amazed at the picture. The channels without HD are still better than the HD channels on the Sharp. This sharp was a huge disappointment.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Sharp 46" Class Full HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, LC46SB54U

NO REGRETS

11/30/2008
By ,
COLLIERVILLE TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched the internet reading reviews on many TV's from many stores for several weeks and finally decided this was the best TV for the money. I have no regrets. It performs beyond expectations. The colors are great and and the clarity is good. The sound is ok but I don't have surround sound. If I did it would probably sound better. I do have a have my earphones attached because I am hearing impaired. Understand however that some programs are not as good a quality as some others but that is not the TVs fault. Especially old movies etc. I have Comcast with a HD box. It was easy to set up. I did buy the extended warranty for 2 years just in case. I highly recommend this TV. I am ashamed to say we keep this TV on all the time except when we are at work but it has never failed us.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Sharp 46" Class Full HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, LC46SB54U
10/22/2008
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this tv. We have owned it for two weeks and the picture is very good. The major problem is you must have great cable reception or you will get a constant flickering, blue light at the top of your screen on certain channels as the unit searches for more power. Unfortunately, these are channels we typically view. I called support and was told Sharp requires alot of cable power and I should contact our cable company to request a booster. I did and they added one. Problem persists so I guess there is no fix. I believe the tech support because we never have a problem when watching dvd's. It seems so strange because the channel and volume selection (the ominous blue light) flickers on these channels even though the picture seems so perfect. This is a definite design flaw Sharp will have to address because the word will certainly get out and people will avoid this product. I searched online and found another person who voiced their resentment as this problem drives them to the verge of insanity. Decidedly, this annoyance may force us to take it back and exchange for a Sony or Vizio. We have a few more weeks to decide. This is a $1500 investment (with tax and additional warranty) and decisions have to be made that we will have to live with. What a shame when it has such terrific potential.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Sharp 46" Class Full HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, LC46SB54U

Great TV experience

10/31/2008
By ,
jackson, ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this Sharp tv for one week now and have been very pleased with my investment. I did not compare the display with others in a store; I did all my research on-line and ordered the tv on-line. I figured I would pay a little more for a Sharp (the earliest innovator of LCD technology), and even though this is not an Aquos model, this tv has everything I need. Looks awesome hooked up to PS3 games (have not watched a Blue-Ray movie yet though), and Dish HD satellite reception is very good as well. I highly recommend this tv if you are looking for a quality LCD flat screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Sharp 46" Class Full HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, LC46SB54U

Bad Egg

11/11/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Was really excited to get a 46 inch Sharp tv. Took it home and was amazed at how great the picture was. Have it hooked up to ps3 via hdmi cable, have hd dvr hooked up via hdmi cable, and have my laptop hooked up to the tv as well. Everything looked top notch on the television but after about 3 weeks, a thin red line going down my television appeared. Kind of a hasle, going to have to take it back to Walmart... Glad I kept my receipt. Scary Situation if I didnt have it. Hopefully it was just a bad egg, and the next one I get will work for me
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Sharp 46" Class Full HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, LC46SB54U

Would not recommend

11/06/2008
By ,
Upstate NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this tv last night, looked great in the store. Very easy to hook up and get working with all components. Once hooked up, picture was amazing. After 1 hour of watching it, the picture went on the screen. We started getting weird colors and lines all over the place and the longer it was on, the worse it got. Initially felt it was a great investment, however an hour later we have decided otherwise and are returning it. Would not recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Sharp 46" Class Full HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, LC46SB54U

An excellent HDTV

11/07/2008
By ,
Grove, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first LCD HDTV, so I can't compare it to others I have owned, but we have been very satisfied with everything about this TV. The picture and sound are excellent, the HD definition is great.
The remote control is user friendly. I would highly recommend this Sharp TV. It is lightweight and easy to move. It has numerous input jacks and HDMI inputs. For the money, I don't think you can beat it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Sharp 46" Class Full HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, LC46SB54U

An all-around great value

08/08/2008
By ,
Gruver, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having used the product for approximately six weeks now, I am convinced that I made the right purchase. Picture quality, sound, and features (offerings and ease of use) all surpassed my expectations (not to mention a perfect fit on my mantle). Of course, the premier test was how it handled pre-season football and the Olympics...it gets an A+.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Sharp 46" Class Full HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, LC46SB54U

Buy it!

11/29/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this item on the Black Friday special and its truly an amazing TV. I personally think that it gives the competitors a run for their money. The TV looks awesome when playing my XBOX 360 in vibrant mode and I love fact that the TV has a USB input so you can update your set with the newest software updates down the road
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for Sharp 46" Class Full HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, LC46SB54U

Psst...Want a great 46" TV?

10/22/2008
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having "settled" for this model in lieu of other choices that weren't available in store (not Walmart), I am very satisfied with the quality and ease of use of this product. Start-up was easy, and the picture and sound are excellent using my DirecTV HD services. Great item from Sharp at a great price. Highly recommend!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Sharp 46" Class Full HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, LC46SB54U

GREAT TV

11/27/2008
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a Sony LCD in my room, so when I went shopping for a t.v for the family room I was focused on a Sony until my eyes caught the crystal clear picture from this Sharp 46" LCD. The details are spectacular. I highly recommended this TV to anyone looking for a LCD...Better than Sony...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Sharp 46" Class Full HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, LC46SB54U

VERY SHARP

11/05/2008
By ,
Atl,Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I order this product on-line which was a breeze,very easy to hook up, to HD cable, picture quality is off the chain, watching sport was so life like, i also have it hook up to surround sound system, which give it a theater fill, a good investment
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 19 for Sharp 46" Class Full HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, LC46SB54U
11/19/2008
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great purchase. The Sharpe 46" meets everything I was looking for in an HD TV. I purchased the TV before it went on Sale. Once it had arrived, I was given the new sale price. Can't beat that.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Sharp 46" Class Full HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, LC46SB54U

Defective

11/18/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought this TV and it was defective. The screen had orange lines and a bar from top to bottom 24/7. We are returning the product. I do not know if it is the brand or only mine was defective.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next