Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Emerson Emerson 19" Class LCD HDTV/DVD Combo with Built-in Digital Tuner, LD195EM8

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Emerson Emerson 19" Class LCD HDTV/DVD Combo with Built-in Digital Tuner, LD195EM8

Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of an HDTV. Otherwise, the picture quality of an HDTV without an HD source may not be much better than that of a standard-definition TV. Please contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade to HD programming.
Average Customer Rating:
3.712 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
23
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation75%55 out of 73reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
23
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Emerson 19" Class LCD HDTV/DVD Combo with Built-in Digital Tuner, LD195EM8

Hook Up PC Speakers

11/17/2008
By ,
Evansville, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just bought this TV for the bedroom two weeks ago. First off.. I called Emerson.. the TV did not have any HDMI connection for HD TV.. Emerson told me that this model.. while able to receive analog and digital signals with the tuner is NOT an HDTV. The 19" model that sells for 228.00 at Wal-Mart IS HDTV. That aside.. the picture is fantastic.. the DVD player is great.. TAKE THE TIME and change the factory settings on the picture.. READ the owners manual. The only downside.. the sound reminded me of an old AM radio. I noticed the TV has a Stereo Headphone jack.. so I picked up a pair of Altec PC speakers.. plugged them in.. and WOW... this little set is now our go to for watching movies on the built in DVD. I spent just under $15.00 for the speakers.. and just was amazed. Far better now than our big set in the living room. So.. if you buy this TV.. go a few aisles over and pick up a good pair of computer speakers and plug them in. Wal-Mart has the Altec Lansing speakers with a sub woofer for under $25.00.. that set up just rocks.. and set the DVD player to Surround 1.. you will be amazed. Would recommend this TV to anybody.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 2 for Emerson 19" Class LCD HDTV/DVD Combo with Built-in Digital Tuner, LD195EM8

Great TV, Great Value

06/01/2008
By ,
Parkland, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent picture quality, light and compact. The sound could be better but for a kitchen counter, it is perfect. Great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 3 for Emerson 19" Class LCD HDTV/DVD Combo with Built-in Digital Tuner, LD195EM8

Emerson,service is not their game !!

02/10/2009
By ,
Quakertown PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought an Emerson tv with DVD player. TV was 3 months old , on the third movie the DVD player stopped working.I followed the warranty procedure , took the TV to an authorized service center. They ordered the parts to fix it three times. Emerson never sent the parts. I called Emerson , they told me the parts were not available for their authorized service center. (Imagine that ) and that they will not send me another TV, or give me a refund or send the parts to repair it , or would they pick the TV up to fix it them selves. 6 months later I picked the TV up from the service center and went to Walmart with this problem with Emerson ( Where I bought the TV ). The people at Walmart listened to my problem and took the TV back , gave me store credit towards another TV ( NOT AN EMERSON ) A BIG THANKYOU TO WALMART. To anyone thinking of buying an Emerson, DON'T it's not worth the aggravation if it stops working.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
0points
Review 4 for Emerson 19" Class LCD HDTV/DVD Combo with Built-in Digital Tuner, LD195EM8

Awesome TV, close to perfect!

08/16/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with my purchase. Set up was easy, and the manual is very clear. I am using regular cable, and this television has great picture quality. The screen resolution is sharp and the colors are great. A downside is that with LCD TVs darker scenes and images are a little harder to make out. The sound is what you would expect for a small TV, not great, but not bad either. This is easy to fix with small computer speakers. I used my old tiny Sony computer speakers, and now my sound is superb. I love the built in DVD player. It is very convenient, and worth the price. I have not tried using my PC with the TV, yet. If you plan to, make sure you buy or already own a VGA and a mini-audio cable. The TV’s remote control does take a little time to get used to because the buttons aren’t arranged as they usually are. Its size and lightweight makes this TV ideal and safe for kitchen, bedroom, or dorm use. If you are looking for a small TV, this one is wonderful. I defiantly recommend buying this TV over a slightly bigger one (22” to 26”) because you will get a better quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Emerson 19" Class LCD HDTV/DVD Combo with Built-in Digital Tuner, LD195EM8

Space saver

06/05/2008
By ,
taylorsville, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with size of Tv and picture quality is excellant.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 6 for Emerson 19" Class LCD HDTV/DVD Combo with Built-in Digital Tuner, LD195EM8

Good TV

02/13/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This TV is for my children's room and it is great. They are able to use the tv by themselves and are able to operate the DVD no problem. The only issue is the sound is tinny, but on all the LCD TV's we own the problem is the same. I don't necessarily think the problem is with this particular TV, but a proble with all flat screen LCD tvs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Emerson 19" Class LCD HDTV/DVD Combo with Built-in Digital Tuner, LD195EM8

Honest Opinion

03/01/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Having this tv for a few months i have to say it is good to own. The price is fair for this product. The sound is good but for my opinion i would have to say its better for a small bedroom than a living room. The picture is something that u can enjoy it, if you dont like the picture u can always adjust it. For the only flaw that i have with it is with the games, it has a very tiny delay time. The delay isnt so bad for any other games besides guitar hero, The delay is something you have to get use to, after you get use to it youll be fine. So all in all this is a good product to buy and i do recommend buying it. Remember this is my own opinion ur experience will be different from mine so remember that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Emerson 19" Class LCD HDTV/DVD Combo with Built-in Digital Tuner, LD195EM8

You do need PC Speakers, :)

02/16/2009
By ,
New York, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a small TV/DVD combo for my bedroom, and came across this one. The previous review was EXTREMELY helpful, and just as he suggested, I purchased the Altec speakers and VIOLA! He wasn't kidding, you truly do need speakers, unless you like the AM Radio sound (I don't, have a Sony Bravia in my living room and live for sound). Aside from that, picture quality is perfect, as is the built in DVD. Once you READ THE MANUAL, and follow the set-up instructions, you're good to go. I had no problems whatsoever with my set. If you're gonna complain, as some have, then splurge the big $$ on an expensive set. Great deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Emerson 19" Class LCD HDTV/DVD Combo with Built-in Digital Tuner, LD195EM8

A good buy with some limitations

04/29/2009
By ,
Midwest Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Having previously purchased an Emerson 19" Class LCD HDTV (Model SLC195EM8), I was already aware of the limited audio out capabilities -- no standard stereo L & R outputs. I am running out of the headphone jack into a stereo system, and the sound is great. Changing channels is quite a bit slower in Digital mode. My biggest disappointment was that, although listed as an HDTV on the Walmart web site, the TV is not an HDTV. It is capable of receiving HD signals and converting them to standard format. No bid deal -- I don't intend on getting an HD provider, but Walmart should not list it as an HDTV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Emerson 19" Class LCD HDTV/DVD Combo with Built-in Digital Tuner, LD195EM8

Good product for a short time

10/13/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tv Dec 2006, the TV was great for the price. But it only lasted til Oct 2008. Emerson was not helpful at all with getting the TV fixed. Thank god I purchased the extra warranty but now I have to ship the TV to their shop to have it repaired. This TV had very low usage time. They seemed to be making TVs more disposable these days. I won't buy an Emerson every again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 11 for Emerson 19" Class LCD HDTV/DVD Combo with Built-in Digital Tuner, LD195EM8

Taking it back

11/03/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Just bought the emerson tv/dvd combo yesterday.
First off, there are no codes to program with my satellite remote control. Emerson was no help at all, none. Dish wasn't either. Said no codes available for that tv. That's why I use one remote for a tv...don't want to use a different one just for sound etc. As far as audio goes. It is terrible. The little under the counter set I have in kitchen is much better. So, it's going back asap. I won't be purchasing another Emerson product again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 12 for Emerson 19" Class LCD HDTV/DVD Combo with Built-in Digital Tuner, LD195EM8

What a deal

11/24/2008
By ,
Mascoutah, Illionois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this TV today. Very easy setup. Only had to put the stand onto the TV. The speakers are not very good. Not a problem, since I bought the TV for the bedroom. I only watch it when my neighbors are to loud. I love the DVD player as part of the TV. I bought my first DVD player about a year ago. I had a TV in the bedroom, but I wanted to be able to watch DVDs. Now I can. Very good picture, and the instructions are easy to follow from the manual. For the price it can't be beat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 13 for Emerson 19" Class LCD HDTV/DVD Combo with Built-in Digital Tuner, LD195EM8

Not so good

01/30/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was given this TV for Christmas 2008 and I was SO disappointed. It picked up very few channels and the sound quality was TERRIBLE. Someone described it as an old radio sound and they were SO right. For a kids room it may be ok but if you are looking for overall good quality, I DO NOT recommend this TV. I took it back and went to Sam's and bought a Magnavox 19" and I love it!!! It was a little more money, but well worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 14 for Emerson 19" Class LCD HDTV/DVD Combo with Built-in Digital Tuner, LD195EM8

not so good

12/03/2008
By ,
North Olmsted, OH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
nice light weight TV, easy to set up, sound alright.
Tried to play DVDs that I have recorded from TV, most of them don't play, although the manual says the player plays DVD R and RW, it DOES NOT.
Played a store bought DVD, had to adjust all settings, picture was all red/blue/purple and way too dark.
I will probably return it for a different one. WalMart gives me 15 days to decide. I have it for 3 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Emerson 19" Class LCD HDTV/DVD Combo with Built-in Digital Tuner, LD195EM8

Great Value

03/05/2009
By ,
Pensacola, Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this product via Walmart Site to Store service and had it in 10 days. The T.V. itself is easy to set up and with my Dish Netwirk connection the picture is great. I took someone's suggestion and also ordered the Altec PC speakers. I could not be any happier with my selection. Only hope that i can say the same thing a year from now. I ended up spending about half of what i thought i would.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Emerson 19" Class LCD HDTV/DVD Combo with Built-in Digital Tuner, LD195EM8

Poor

11/12/2008
By ,
Lake Havasu City, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought it today, hooked it up, and it goes back tomorrow. Picture is passable, sound is about as good as a radio from the $1 store, and the DVD player will not play video CDs (like every other DVD player I've used will). Since I bought it for my wife's playroom for her to practice her video CD karaoke, it is useless.
Very disappointed at the poor quality overall.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Emerson 19" Class LCD HDTV/DVD Combo with Built-in Digital Tuner, LD195EM8
02/24/2009
By ,
Toledo, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wasn't sure if I wanted to get this product because I didn't know how good the quality would be. But for the price I said "what the heck." It's in my kitchen and I am very satisfied so far. As for the sound I guess if I wanted to I could add surround sound or something. Overall, I'm satisfied and it shows a nice picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Emerson 19" Class LCD HDTV/DVD Combo with Built-in Digital Tuner, LD195EM8

PLEASE Read reviews B4 purchasing TV!! (I DIDN'T)

04/15/2009
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this last Oct 08, and I should had returned it but somehow I decided to keep it. It's not worth it. TV is very nice, HOWEVER, the VOLUME always goes down in the middle of the show, etc. The Digital channels can be heard better, but the regular channels (cable) must turn volume higher in order to listen to.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Emerson 19" Class LCD HDTV/DVD Combo with Built-in Digital Tuner, LD195EM8

Poor Speaker Sound

03/20/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The speaker system is inadequate. Because it had a DVD included, my cable system remote (FIOS) was unable to comply with the various product numbers and we are limited to how high we can adjust the volume. Some programs, perhaps those that are not HD, sound muffled and we have to strain to hear what is being said.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 20 for Emerson 19" Class LCD HDTV/DVD Combo with Built-in Digital Tuner, LD195EM8
12/21/2008
By ,
Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice little TV with DVD player. Bought for bedroom and do wish it was a few inches bigger. Picture is fairly clear, just don't stand right in front of it. Plays DVD's real well. Could have been priced cheaper for the size but at the time I didn't want to spend any more. Overall would recommend for a small room.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next