Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Emerson Emerson 19" Class LCD SDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Emerson Emerson 19" Class LCD SDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner

View your favorite televised programs on this bright 19" standard-definition screen. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of an HDTV. Otherwise, the picture quality of an HDTV without an HD source may not be much better than that of a standard-definition TV. Please contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade to HD programming.
Average Customer Rating:
3.955 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation80%71 out of 89reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Emerson 19" Class LCD SDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner

PRECFECT T.V. GREAT PRICE

05/06/2009
By ,
Las Cruces,NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I just bought this t.v today at WM, We all love it nice for our little room, the sound and picture is perfect, our 17month daughter likes it as well, she keeps trying to touch it. Eventhough it doesn't have the HDMI outlet it is great for a little room. The picture is perfect, we dont have cable and it pickup alot of channels,some channels we couldn't get before when we would use the analog box.It does a component in the back to hook up to a computer tower,well our does. I would highly reccommed this t.v for anyone who doesn't wanna spend much on a HDTV, plus it is really light i was surprised, it also comes with the remote and stand for the t.v, 90days in store warranty. A store associate told me the that the VOZIO t.v aren't that good and they blow out in a few months,so she recommend us to get this instead. Thanks to her.
Just get it and try it out if you don;t like it you can always take it back. Perfect for a little room, the sound and picture are perfect. Thanks Walmart for unbeatable prices. I hope this helps you guys.
My husband uses this to play this xbox360 games on too,looks great.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Emerson 19" Class LCD SDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner

Don't Buy!!!!!

01/09/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS TV!
The screen on this tv splits in half to where you can see half the picture on one side and colored lines on the other!!!
SEE PHOTO
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 3 for Emerson 19" Class LCD SDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner

I Like It!

12/08/2008
By ,
Dallas, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had mixed feelings about choosing this model after reading all the reviews on this product. It seemed like people who reviewed it loved it or hated it mainly because of sound issues. I had planned on a 22" unit, but when I saw this unit with all the features it had for the discounted price I chose it, thinking how important is that extra three inches of screen in my ten by eleven foot home office/computer room/spare bedroom?
Setup was simple and quick. In less than thirty minutes I had it unpacked and hooked up with satellite, on air, and a DVD home theater system. The picture quality is awesome. Even without the home theater Dolby surround sound activated, the unit's sound quality is good. Probably, people that are unhappy with their sound have just taken the unit out of the box and turned it on without configuring the audio options. Cranking up the bass, treble, and stereo options makes all the difference in sound quality from this set.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 4 for Emerson 19" Class LCD SDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner

Bought for Kids Bedroom

10/09/2008
By ,
New Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pretty good TV. I purchased this for my boys bedroom when the old tube tv broke. I love that this is so light and easy to move around. Took it out of the box, put 2 screws in for the stand, and plugged it in...very simple set up. My boys have a Sony playstation that I connected to this tv and it works great. I like the sleep mode and screen orientation options on the remote. I have Comcast cable but not the HD prgramming so I only rated the screen based on standard digital which was good, but i wouldn't say excellent...bet the HD would look a ton better! however for the kids room, they don't need that extra luxury...until they are older and realize the difference :-) I compared this to the Polaroid 19 in tv that had similiar features, but I felt this Emerson was of better quality. I hope I made the right choice!! extra features...has a pc connection so you can use this as a monitor and and extra gaming connection so the kids can have 2 accessories plugged in at the same time...their old tv only had 1. This is a really good TV so far...so I gave it 4 stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 5 for Emerson 19" Class LCD SDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner

Great value

09/18/2008
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my son's birthday. It is the perfect size to sit on his dresser. The picture is nice. (We have Directv, but no HD hook up in the kid's rooms, so I can't vouch for the HD clarity) This television was so easy to set up, too. I like the slim look, and black color. I would recommend this for an apartment, kid's room, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 6 for Emerson 19" Class LCD SDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner

Good Bedroom HDTV

12/15/2008
By ,
Youngstown, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this TV for Christmas for my bedroom. Its perfect for the room size and the picture is great even with a HDTV antenna for free over the air HDTV. As in other reviews the sound is not spectacular, but for the bedroom its loud enough and I only turn it up half way. I mostly use the TV to watch football and its perfect, even with the fast action. One downside is no HDMI hook up, but it has a 15 pin hook up for your computer to use as a monitor. It also has Vid 1 and Vid 2 for 2 video set ups. It only has one antenna coaxial input though and its located on the side of the TV, not the back, which would let you mount the TV on the wall easier. Over all I am pleased with the purchase and would recommend this TV to others as it is a good value, but for only bedroom or small room applications only. Also easy to set up, about 10 minutes!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 7 for Emerson 19" Class LCD SDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner

Buyer BEWARE Lacks HDMI input!!

10/29/2008
By ,
S.D. CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The price, size and built in HDTV tuner were unbeatable, and believe me, I shopped around. My only mistake was, that when I read the sales placard, it stated that it was a 720 HDTV , and that it was. Through no ones fault but my own, because of this , I assumed that this meant it had an HDMI input , WRONG!! Therefore my advice to you is , check your components connectivity, before you purchase this or any other HDTV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 8 for Emerson 19" Class LCD SDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner

Poor quality

12/04/2008
By ,
Bremerton WA.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this Tv set and found that the picture and sound was terrible and adjustment allowence was minimal. I thought that the terrible picture was due to a defective set so I took it back and exchanged it for another one. On both sets the picture was blurry and less than adaquit, especially for an HDTV hooked up to a cable connection. I checked my connections and adjustments and also made sure I removed anything that could cause interference and nothing improved with this set. I was likewise, not impressed with the tunner and found it to pick up minimal frequencies. I was so unsatisfied with this TV that I took it back. I purchased a new TV at walmart. It was a less expensive tv than the Emerson. Now I couldnt be happier. Avoid this Emerson TV. You can get a better quality set even for the price if you look around.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Emerson 19" Class LCD SDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner

Nice 720p HDTV

06/12/2008
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The box didnt say hdtv but if you know a bit of tech you'll see the resoultion is like 13** x 7*** and if that last number is higher than or equal to 720 then that tv is 720 p thus it is hd!! Anyway tv works good for the month i've had it but since i don't have a hd gaming system or player i havent' been able to test that part of it just the tv channels they are functioning as it should. Note this tv doesn't have any HDMI ports but does sport a VGA port and supports hd signals from gaming consoles and players through it's composite port (the red, green, blue one). while having a good amount of ports in the back Overall good tv but me being techy i'm looking for prices to drop to get a bigger TV just cause.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Emerson 19" Class LCD SDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner

disappointed

10/18/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recently purchased the 19' to replace my old TV, well unless your prepared to purchase a home theater system --forget about hearing your shows.
The sound quality is the worst of any set I have ever owned,if you turn the volume up you get a loud buzz, the picture at full screen is only half the the 19' I am very disappointed --If I wasn't stuck with a driving distance of over 75 miles I would gladly return this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 11 for Emerson 19" Class LCD SDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner
01/08/2009
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the 14" RCA SD tube set in my shopping cart ready to replace the old kitchen TV set. When I found this set for a few dollars more, LCD and HDTV. The picture in the store was fantastic, but you expect that. When I got it home and hooked it up to the cheapest HD antenna I could find, the picture still looked FANTASTIC ! I found this on a roll back price of 198.00 It is a great TV for the money. Only drawback is no HDMI input. But for a kitchen TV I wouldn't have used that anyway. You won't be disappointed in the picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Emerson 19" Class LCD SDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner

Great bedroom TV

07/21/2009
By ,
Greensboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great buy if you need a TV for your bedroom or guestroom. It's light enough that you can move it around the house too. I actually ordered the SDTV & got the HDTV. No biggy...........it works fine with cable. The sound is a little weird to me b'cause I'm used to TV's with the large cabinet on the back. Other than that it's a great buy. Very easy to operate; just read the manual. TV comes with batteries & remote.
Also easy to hook up & the jacks are on the back which is a plus with me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Emerson 19" Class LCD SDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner

Nice TV

07/23/2008
By ,
Visalia, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, this was a great TV and a great Price. The picture quality was excellent. The only drawback is that the sound quality is what I consider 'poor'. I'm sure that if you are using it in a quiet room with no other distractions you may find it to be fine but we used it in our gym and if you have the treadmill going you must turn the volume all the way up. (& its not that our treadmill is exceptionally noisy!)
I suppose that a person could attach speakers to help with this problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Emerson 19" Class LCD SDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner

Humming sound

06/09/2009
By ,
Chelan, WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought this tv for a small bedroom. The picture was good but when it was quiet at night and we were listening to the TV there was a high pitched humming/whining sound. We decided to return the TV and then found out that we were never charged for it (we bought several other high priced items and did not add up the prices to notice we weren't charged enough). We could have kept it as it was free but would not have felt good about that and the noise still would have bugged us.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Review 15 for Emerson 19" Class LCD SDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner

Good value

07/05/2009
By ,
Raleigh, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price, it's not a bad t.v. I purchased it for the bedroom. The picture is good but the sound leaves something to be desired. It was easy to set up. However if you have Directv, their remote is not compatible so you'll need to use both remotes, the t.v. to turn on/off and sound and the Directv remote for changing channels. Directv says that's because this t.v. is so new, they don't have a code to program their remote to the t.v.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Emerson 19" Class LCD SDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner

love the picture

12/28/2008
By ,
Schenectady, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i was looking for a flat screen to fit on my bakers rack in the kitchen. I have had emerson's before and have always liked and trusted them for quality; and this is no exception. the picture quality is wonderful, very clear. however, the sound is tinnie until it warms up; that is the only negative. but once it warms up its ok, not great but ok. however, i would recommend this product for its quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Emerson 19" Class LCD SDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner

Sound is terrible.

01/04/2009
By ,
Elgin, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This TV was a disappointment. The sound was terrible. To hear the TV from more than 6 feet away, you had to put the volume at 80% or more. The quality was also bad. At factory settings, there was no bass. We tried setting the treble to lowest and bass to highest, and the sound was still flat and mono level. We tried the TV on satellite and over-the-air. There was no difference. The TV was returned….
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 18 for Emerson 19" Class LCD SDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner

Not a good buy

06/01/2009
By ,
OKC, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this TV as a Christmas present for one of my children to use in their room. The TV worked for only three months then quit working at all. I called Emerson with no luck at all. The company that owns Emerson will not let you ship it back to them but only wants you to use local dealer authorized repair shops, which for me is over 80 miles away. Stay away from Emerson Products.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Emerson 19" Class LCD SDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner

Not bad for price

12/22/2009
By ,
Michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I just needed a TV for simple viewing. For the price, this TV is satisfactory. The only slight "problem" I have encountered is that occasionally when I press the volume button, the TV will change channel instead. Yes, quite odd but nothing extremely drastic. It only happens once in a long while. If you need a TV just to view the news in the morning (like I do), then this TV will do.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Emerson 19" Class LCD SDTV with Built-in Digital Tuner

great value

12/04/2008
By ,
cleveland, ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this emerson tv is an excellent value. easy to setup, and very easy to use. picture is very good on analog reception and excellent on digital reception. sound is good.
i bought this for my sons bedroom. the picture on some of his video games is just outstanding as the scenery just jumps out at you.
we have had this tv for about two weeks. i would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 71 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next