Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sanyo Sanyo 46" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, DP46848

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo Sanyo 46" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, DP46848

ENERGY STAR ® Products that are ENERGY STAR-qualified prevent greenhouse gas emissions by meeting strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The ENERGY STAR name and marks are registered marks owned by the U.S. government, as part of their energy efficiency and environmental activities. Shipping Note: This item is shipped via a freight trucking service. The company will call you to schedule a delivery appointment, so ensure someone is home at the scheduled delivery time. Please note that this item is available for curbside delivery only, and will not be moved into your home or garage. We recommend you have help available to move the item to its final location.
Average Customer Rating:
3.986 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
10
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation73%51 out of 70reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
10
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sanyo 46" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, DP46848

Best bang for the buck!

06/01/2008
By ,
Ames, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Background
Unlike some AV enthusiasts who shop for the latest and the greatest, I held off my HDTV purchase until I finally have to: my 32" old CRT TV is dying. My condition of TV purchase are the followings: 1) cheap but with reasonable features, 2) can work within my existing home theater environment, and 3) can display 1080p. For example, I don't really need Picture-in-Picture, but I need to be able to change picture aspect easily. I don't want to toss out my otherwise working receiver just so I can use HDMI, which is lacking on my existing one. Also, since I waited long enough, 1080p should be my reward.
Shopping
Given these preconditions, there are only limited choices in the 40-47" range 1080p HDTVs made from Sony, Vizio, Sanyo and Magnavox. At both 42 and 46 inches, Sanyo's offerings are the cheapest. So that satisfied price limit. Originally I wanted to buy the 42" Sanyo, but when I went into local Walmart to check out all the TVs on display, the 46" one looks better than all other TVs there (which include Vizio and others). Later I went to Sanyo and other vendors' website to check their TV spec., I realized that my eye did not fool me: the Sanyo 46" has got a 3500:1 contrast ratio, better than their own 42" (2000:1) or 52" (1500:1). With regard to competing offers, the Vizio's 42" is good (2000:1), but their 46" is not competitive ($100 more expensive, 1000:1, and *without* dynamic contrast feature). The dynamic contrast feature was missing from the 46" Vizio model Walmart sells, which surprises me since their 42" has that. This feature helps improve contrast in an all dark or all bright situation, but won't be able to do much if your image spread the whole light intensity range.
Result
So I bought the 46" Sanyo for about a week now. It is easy to hook it up to my existing home theater environment. One complication compared to previous CRT TV is that now the Sanyo TV will not be just at the final passive video output end, but it will also produce digital audio which can be fed to my receiver to generate surround sound. So my connection now is to get the video from my receiver to the new TV, and also send the TV's digital audio via a coaxial digital audio cable back to my receiver.
Pros
1. Extremely satisfying video quality at 1080p. Our local public TV broadcasts most of their programs in HDTV 1080p, and that picture was really great. I think the auto picture mode work fine, but you can also choose to manually adjust picture settings. I bought the Blu-Ray Terminator2 disc which comes with a home theater calibration feature, that helped me adjust this TV.
2. No nonsense extra features; the user manual is easy to read and basically what I expect from a CRT TV replacement; you don't have to set the time on the TV, for example (why was that "feature" needed on a TV is beyond me).
3. The remote has an easy button Pix which switches among four different aspect video modes to suit your particular TV station signals. Still, many local TV stations broadcast in 4:3 ratio and having such a button on the remote saves a lot of trouble; note that the Vizios require you to go into the TV menu system to change this.
Cons
1. Just one composite/s-video input; I wish I could have another one for old DVD connection since the Macrovision DVD protection prevents my DVD video to be routed through my receiver. However, if you will be buying a new Blu-Ray or DVD upscaler this won't be a problem since you can use one of the three HDMI connector. On a side note I bought the PS3 as my Blu-Ray player and I like it.
2. The remote's up and down channel buttons do not stay within the type of signals you are selecting. For example, if you push up while you are in the last digital channel, it jumps to video input rather than the beginning of the first digital TV channel. Similarly, if you push down while you are in the first digital channel, it goes to the analog TV channel. There is also a INPUT button to switch signal types, so I would have limited the channel selections within each type if I had designed this remote. This is just a minor problem since you can also use the number keys to jump back to the beginning channel.
Conclusion
Over in all, this is the cheapest 46" HDTV 1080p I can find, and its value and quality is definitely not the cheapest. I highly recommend this TV if you are thinking about replacing your old CRT TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+27points
Review 2 for Sanyo 46" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, DP46848

Awesome Pic

05/23/2008
By ,
Canon City, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replaced a (52") Magnavox rear projection TV.
Have not yet upgraded to DirecTV HD....after plugging it in, I wonder if I really need to. Awesome picture using S-Video from my existing DTV box. Also bought a RCA 1080i upconvert DVD player. Connected via HDMI, this thing was absolutely crystal clear.
I highly recommend at this price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 3 for Sanyo 46" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, DP46848

Great Value HDTV

04/30/2009
By ,
East Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This set had the best picture...brightness, color, contrast of all the sets on display in the store. But they were out of stock. The on-line order came on time and the set required no set-up other than plugging in and connecting the cable. Picture quality was as good or even better than the set in the store. And for a price 2-400 dollars less than other sets! The built-in speakers are just adequate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 4 for Sanyo 46" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, DP46848

Not a good look...

12/19/2008
By ,
New York, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I just read a review from another buyer that sums up my experience thus far with this TV. I never do reviews on products, but I just wanted to reiterate this so buyers will be aware that this is no isolated incident.
I have had two of these TVs in less then a month.
The first had a spot of a few pixels that never changed color.
The second TV, just died this morning. I can hear the audio but the picture flashed once on startup never to return. I am a computer tech, so yes I checked EVERYTHING in my power.
Many of these TVs are defective apparently, there is a review from another guy how received a Sony for the equal price of the Sanyo from Walmart.
Lets hope they will be as accomodating with me tomorrow, when I take this junk back.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Sanyo 46" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, DP46848

Sanyo 46"

11/09/2008
By ,
Washington State
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you don't have HD box, don't purchase this tv. It is being returned as we speak. Picture quality was awful except for cartoons. The color was nice sometimes but a very grainy picture.
It got better if you shrunk the picture down but why pay for a 46" to watch a 32" and have a big black border.
Channels were slow to change and we hated the remote.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 6 for Sanyo 46" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, DP46848

Lousy Picture Quality

12/29/2008
By ,
Bloomfield, NM
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lousy Picture Quality
I bought this Sanyo 46” 1080p LCD as a Christmas gift for the family. I paid $1098.00 for it. It was easy to setup and easy to use; it just did not have a great picture. Sometimes it was good, but other times lousy; from one scene to the next. The picture was bright; it was just sort of grainy and washed out whether watching digital SAT or DVD, it didn’t mater whether hooked up with HDMI, component, S, or composite video cables. It does not give you much control over the picture quality, just very basic control settings. I used to be a Cable TV and Satellite installer, so I know how to make a set look good, but I could not get this one right. I returned it to Wal-Mart for an exchange. The Visio 47” 1080p LCD was on sale. It was $215.00 cheaper, 1 inch larger, and came with a free HDMI cable (30 – 60 $ value). My family opposed me wanting to exchange the Sanyo, they thought it was fine, but they were definitely sold when they saw the difference in the picture quality after I setup the Visio. It may be that the Sanyo I had was defective, I don’t know. But it would have driven me nuts and I would have driven them nuts, so were all thrilled with the Visio.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 7 for Sanyo 46" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, DP46848

Better quality with another brand

03/12/2009
By ,
Kernersville, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
OK we have had this TV for about 2 weeks now and it has not lived up to our expectations. We were so excited to get everything hooked up but was very disappointed almost immediately. We have the HD reciever through the cable company so no one can say this guy was probably just watching regular TV and not HD, but complaining for no good reason. Oh no. We got all the hook ups and HDMI cables, etc. The TV is advertised as 1080P right? It is definately in 1080I. At some point when I was randomly hitting buttons on the remote, I came to a screen that said plain as day 1080I which is NOT what I thought we purchased. The TV itself along with the box it came in clearly displays 1080P everywhere. So the picture is nowhere near as good as it SHOULD be. Also we thought we were having bad luck with 2 different movies when the sound kept going incredibly staticy like a cell phone with very bad reception. But sure enough as I was just now trying to watch Hells Kitchen, it went all crazy again on me. The TV itself also gets very very warm. The heat radiates about 2 feet away from it. My point folks....... my gut instinct told me to spend the extra $200 and get a Sony Bravia. I was very hard headed thinking I could use that extra money towards a blu-ray player. I should have listened to my gut. Thankfully, Wal-Mart has a very generous return policy and I will be exchanging this set for that Sony Bravia that I really wanted in the first place.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 8 for Sanyo 46" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, DP46848
01/29/2009
By ,
va.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would not reccomend this tv to anyone. The picture quality is awful and the remote is very difficult to program. only owned it a few days and i would like to send this set back. very discusted with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 9 for Sanyo 46" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, DP46848

STAY AWAY FROM THIS!!!

03/21/2009
By ,
NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I DON'T EVER GET TO SAY WHAT I THINK, BUT TODAY IS MY DAY. STAY AWAY FROM THIS TV!! IF YOU READ DESCRIPTION ON THIS YOU WILL SEE WHAT I MEAN. IS THIS TV A 2000:1 CONTRAST RATIO? OR IS IT A 2500:1 OR BETTER YET, A 3500:1. DO THEY REALLY KNOW? THE DESCRIPTION STARTS WITH A 2000:1, THE BOX SAID 2500:1, THEN THE SPEC SAID 3500:1. REGARDLESS, THE TV IS WORTHLESS. EVERY TIME WE TURN IT ON, IT HAS NO SOUND, SO YOU GO THROUGH AND END UP HAVING TO RESET THE WHOLE THING. MOST OF THE ANALOG CHANNELS ARE MUCH BETTER THAN THE DIGITAL, AND YES I UPGRADED MY CABLE BOX. MY HUSBAND HAS A THING WITH REMOTES, IF THEY DON'T DO WHAT HE THINKS THEY SHOULD HE WILL DESTROY IT, THANK GOD I WAS SMART ENOUGH TO HIDE THIS ONE. WE DIDN'T EVEN GET A MANUAL WITH THIS TV.. IN DOING SOME RESEARCH, YOU CAN GET A BETTER TV, WITH BETTER CONTRAST RATIO, (LIKE 30,000:1) BETTER FEATURES AND ALL AT BEST BUY OR HHGREGG, AROUND THE SAME PRICE. SO THIS THING IS GOING BACK, WE HAVE HAD IT ALMOST A MONTH, WE THOUGHT IT WAS US, BUT WHY WOULD I BUY A 46" LCD HDTV TO WATCH A 32" PICTURE? AND THE PIX FEATURE, WHEN YOU GO UP AND STRETCH IT, EVERYTHING GETS OUT OF WACK. GOOD LUCK IF YOU DO GET ONE THAT WORKS HALF WAY.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-5points
Review 10 for Sanyo 46" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, DP46848

A Great Value

12/28/2008
By ,
Portland, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked this unit up during a pre-black friday sale and it has exceeded all my expectations. The picture quality is fantastic. I'm using this for over the air TV, DVD (Blu-ray and standard upconvert), direct connect to a computer, and a PS2. All of them display beautifully. It was very easy to setup and install and there are lots of connection options (3 HDMI, 3 component video, 1 composite/s-video). I would have liked to see the composite/s-video available on 2 more inputs, and a VGA connection would have simplified my computer connection, but still ample options. Also, the sound quality is good, but nothing exceptional. It doesn't replace a good surround sound system. The remote is very easy to use. Simple and uncomplicated. The built-in digital TV tuner is a nice feature as well. This has been a phenomenal value. I'm very glad to have it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Sanyo 46" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, DP46848

SUPRISED

01/26/2009
By ,
LAKELAND,FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WE PURCHASED THIS FLAT SCREE LCD JUST IN TIME FOR THE SUPER BOWL, SO FAR SO GOOD. I GUESS IT WAS A GOOD VALUE FOR THE MONEY. JUST DID A LITTLE RESEARCH BEFORE PURCHASING AND WAS AMAZED TO FIND OUT THE DIFFERENCE IN LCD AND PLASMA TV'S. JUST MAKE SURE THAT YOU PURCHASE THE NEEDED CORDS BECAUSE THEY DO NOT COME WITH THE TV, BUT BRIGHT HOUSE PROVIDES THEM AT NO ADDITIONAL COST
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Sanyo 46" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, DP46848

I Love my 46"TV

11/11/2008
By ,
Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My new 46" Sanyo was very easy to hook up. It was so nice to go to the Sanyo Web site and have such good instructions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Sanyo 46" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, DP46848

Good Value - Mediocre TV Picture

11/23/2008
By ,
Middle of the country
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this at a Pre Black-Friday sale for about $800. I thought it would be worth the risk for that price on a screen this size. I have had it setup in a mid-size master bedroom for about two weeks.
The fact of the matter is the picture quality for all signals below 1080p are fair to middling, at best, on this set. I have digital cable (Cox), an hd dvd player, and a PS3, all hooked up to this set via HDMI cables. The picture quality of HD movies at full 1080p via either the PS3 blu-ray or HD DVD look good on this set.
Unfortunately, anything below the 1080p signal is very grainy (especially noticeable closer that 10 ft from the screen). This includes the HD channels delivered from the digital cable set top box with a confirmed 1080i signal. Standard definition (480p) is almost unwatchable from anywhere inside of 10 feet from the television. Customization options for the picture also seem extremely limited. Text on the cable guide appears blurry regardless of picture setting ( this could be Cox's fault, but this feature looks much better on other HDTVs in the home).
I have not yet attempted to connect a computer or lower-end game consoles (Wii or PS2) to this monitor. I have not configured any component or composite connections. Nor have I attempted to connect any analog sources or any over-the-air HD stations. So, I can't really comment on those applications.
Sound quality is good enough for stand-alone applications. This is actually pretty good compared to several higher end sets that almost require a separate audio set up to be heard as intended. Decent base-level and voices come across clear and understandable from all sources. Noise leveling function actually appears to work via HDMI (i.e. no overly loud commercials).
As a side note: This set has a very nice variety of options for captioning that allows for the control of how your subtitles appear on the screen. Text performance is varied, but with the large number of choices of fonts, colors, transparency options, etc., you can customize this feature to suit your needs to a tee. Very nice touch IMO.
In summary, console games and movies from a true HD source are good looking and have decent sound. There are a good number of connections, and a large screen size for a bargain price.
If using this in a mid-size home theatre or entertainment room (12-18 feet viewing area) for high-def movies or games is the main intention of this set, you may have found yourself a good deal.
However, I would warn against this set for everyday TV watching in a smaller room, as the picture quality does not support up-close standard-def (or even higher def) cable signals very well. Good luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Sanyo 46" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, DP46848

Great Budget TV

07/16/2008
By ,
El Paso, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't like reviewing, and I was offended no one has given this TV its due. We are on a tight budget and had to replace our old set. After countless hours researching online, I went into the store and looked at each TV including all of the specs. This was a stand out for price and performance.
Pros: The obvious of course, price! This is a new model this year and has the latest 3d and motion rendering circuitry, so there is nearly no pixilation during quick movements. Includes more than enough inputs, as seen in the specs. This set needs no calibration or adjustments and worked out of the box with factory settings very well. This set displayed Dish Network HD broadcast/Local HD broadcast very well, and has decent SD quality as well. With the on board digital tuner I was able to receive local HD broadcast with only an old handidown antenna. Also has 3 modes for energy saving that still manage to display a great picture, which I leave on the most conservative setting to save on utilities. Stereo speakers are as good as other televisions in this category, but I usually choose to use my separate surround sound.
Cons: Very limited and simple menus/features (a pro for the non-tech savvy). While there is a good picture and the basic adjustments like brightness, I always like to play with and tweak settings. The remote, while easy, seems a bit odd and clumsy. This set included no additional equipment such as HDMI cables etc. An internal antenna would have been nice, as I am not a fan of the rabbit ear look.
Just for full disclosure, we only have 1080i video through component input, so I have not been able to fully test all the HD modes. We have not had any issues with the television at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Sanyo 46" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, DP46848

46 inch tv

09/18/2008
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TV is good with dish and should be better after I am able to afford HD service - Good with DVDs - female customer service person was very helpful re date of arrival - male delivery person very pleasant and helpful
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Sanyo 46" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, DP46848

Buyer Beware!

08/11/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buyers beware! TV would not power on after 5 mos and needed a new power board ; at 2 years old it now needs a whole new LCD screen because the picture is dark and fuzzy. Will cost more to fix than to buy a new one. Sanyo won't do a thing as the 1 year warranty is over.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Sanyo 46" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, DP46848

A Good Value

08/08/2008
By ,
west coast, florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV is everything I expected it to be. I am just an average TV viewer- not a fanatic by any means. I did quite a bit of research before I bought it, so I felt confident I knew what I was getting. If there is a negative side, it would be that it does not have picture in picture. But it does have 4 different size screeen options, which I was not aware of. The sound is just okay, nothing spectacular, but I am planning to hook it up to surround sound as soon as I can afford it. Overall, this is a good value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Sanyo 46" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, DP46848

Very grainy

12/04/2008
By ,
Grand Rapids, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I waited in line for this TV for 8 hours because it was on sale for $798 and when I got home and hooked it up I was immediately disappointed. It is large and bright which is good but with SDTV it comes in very very grainy. Its bad enough for me that I have returned it and bought a panasonic plasma 42 inch 720p. Now when I had my dvd upconverter hooked up with an HDMI cable it did look very good. Same with my xbox 360 with only high definition cables. My recommendations are go with the plasma even if its only 720p. 1080p will only look slightly better if you have a blue ray player, which to me isn't worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Sanyo 46" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, DP46848

dont buy it

12/16/2008
By ,
boulder, colorado
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
this sanyo tv is horrible ive had 2 of them just go dead within 4 months first time i dealt with walmart which they were very helpful but to fix the problem the 2nd time i had to deal with sanyo
there customer service is absolutely horrible it took them 3wks i ran thru hoops to have them tell me to finally take it back to walmart if you do decide to buy this television plz make sure to buy the extended warranty as the tv is very cheaply made and seems to be mass produced for walmart
buy another brand for just a few dollars more defently don't buy sanyo unless you want a dead product in a few mths it may be a great price but its horrible quality
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Sanyo 46" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV with Digital Tuner, DP46848

Excellent TV

06/23/2008
By ,
Toledo, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV and it is amazing. After a year of reading TV reviews and trying to find the best deal for my money this TV did all that and more. The only complaint I have is that the remote is a little to simple and could use more deatures directly built onto it. But that is just a personal preference and the remote overall is still very user friendly. For the money I also purchased the extended service agreement just to make sure I have an extra few years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 65 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next