Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Simple controls and powerful features make it easy to record high-quality videos on 3" DVDs or Memory Sticks. Highlights include a 40x optical zoom, Super SteadyShot image stabilization, 2.7" touch panel and Super NightShot Plus. It's also compatible with Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional, XP Home, XP Professional and Vista computer operating systems.
Average Customer Rating:
4.645 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(172 Reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
129
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation96%165 out of 172reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
129
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

A Truly Handycam

06/06/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camcorder is very easy to use. If you take the time to read some basic insturctions it will work well out of the box. As the directions state, a tripod is essential for long range, steady, 40X shots. The lens gathers light well. After taking pictures in a low-light, indoor situation the results were better than expected. Media storage on both disk and memory chip was as expected. I used a brand of disk other than Sony and had to format them, but the on screen step by step process was easy to follow. Finalizing the disks is also easy to follow and they played on both my PC and Sony DVD player. The provided battery is adequate to record about two 30 minute disks or a 2 gig memory chip (purchased extra) before recharging--it hasn't run down completely while recording. The computer program loaded quickly and as expected. Registration via the USB connection to internet was quite simple. This is a very simple to use camera if you just read the instructions, and it's well worth the price paid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Sony Camcorder

06/09/2008
By ,
Indpendence, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is easy to use, has great sound and video quality. It is worth every cent that it cost! I have already recommended this product to all people I have come in contact with while using it! It's great to have all the options that it has for recording. I think that is one of it's major strong points.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Excellent

08/02/2008
By ,
Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the most user friendly camcorder. The price was very reasonable. We would definitely recommend this product to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 4 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

A GREAT BUY!

08/02/2008
By ,
armagh, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WE BOUGHT THIS PRODUCT JUST BEFORE WE WENT ON VACATION THIS YEAR. TO BE HONEST, WE DIDN'T READ THE MANUAL ON HOW TO WORK IT, BUT IT WAS SO EASY TO USE, WE FIGURED OUT ON OUR OWN!!! PLUS, I LOVE THE FACT THAT WITH JUST THE FLIP OF A BUTTON YOU CAN TAKE STILL PICTURES AND USE IT AS A VIDEO CAMCORDER WITHIN SECONDS!! IT'S NICE THAT I DON'T HAVE TO CARRY MY DIGIAL CAMERA AROUND W/ THE CAMCORDER. IT'S SOOOO EASY TO USE AND LIGHT WEIGHT. I DON'T HAVE ANY BAD THINGS TO SAY ABOUT THIS PRODUCT. IT WAS FOR SURE WORTH THE MONEY!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 5 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Easy to Use

01/05/2009
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this camera, We have just switched from a VHS recorder that seen its last christmas to the Handy Cam. The quality was great and it is so very easy to use.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 6 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Great product for the money

12/05/2008
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything I expected and more. It is ready to use out of the box and so easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 7 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Love it!!

04/07/2009
By ,
Lawton, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this camcorder! The picture and sound are so clear. My boyfriend races on a dirt track, and I used this to record his races - It is so easy to use. :-) I would highly recommend it to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 8 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

The quality is awesome

12/04/2008
By ,
Clarksville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this camera, I just purchased this to send videos of my son to my parents and family-in law, because they live in PR. I already made a video and I love it. I burn the video in a DVD to send by mail and I know they are going to love it. I just have a little complaint and is not about the camera, is the software that came with to transfer video from the camera to the computer and edit them. It was a little complicated to understand how to do it, and I'm good with computers, so if you r not good at comp, you may have problem. And also, I tough that the mini-dvd would be read on the computer, but no, I have to transfer the video to the computer, and you have to be careful, because that is gonna take too much space on your computer and you have to delete everything after you burn a dvd, if you don't your computer is gonna be so slow, unless you have a lottttt of hard drive space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 9 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Great camcorder

01/06/2009
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great purchase for us. It works great and is easy to use. I really like that it will do still pictures also. I would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 10 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Great Cam

01/07/2009
By ,
Houston,Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this cam for Christmas, used it when "Santa" put the presents under the tree and a few times took it to the deer lease and captured both my two boys first hunt. Good choice so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 11 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Great Buy

04/11/2009
By ,
Dawsonville,Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picked the camera up just in time to take to the beach. We just finished watching playback on the videos. Really enjoy this product. Easy to use and very reasonable prices for discs and memory sticks. Can't wait to use again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Very Nice

06/17/2008
By ,
Hawthorne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this item like a month ago and so far works well, still not familiar with the features but ofcourse takes a while to learn everything since its a high technology gadget.
I won't purchased any brand but sony because its very reliable, sounds is very good, the picture quality and very handy. All I can say is five stars!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Great Quality

01/08/2009
By ,
New Orleans, La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased item as Christmas present. The entire family loved it and was able to immediately operate it. Very functional and user friendly. Price was competitive and product is superior.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 14 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

good camcorder

12/11/2008
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good all purpose camcorder that is light and easy to use. The still shots are good, and the night shots feature ensures you do not miss good pictures.
The ability to download to your computer is great,
and I have no problem playing the DVD-R disc in
DVD player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

LOVE THIS CAMCORDER!

01/08/2009
By ,
Johnstown, Ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this camcorder to use to record my little boys milestones in life, and I also use it to record my hubby's truck pulls. It is absolutely wonderful, touch screen, and the nighttime shots are perfect. I am so excited to get more use out of this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 16 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Great camcorder

01/08/2009
By ,
little rock ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great buy for the money--you can't go wrong with sony--touchscreen is cool--night vision is good and not old school green color---takes great pics and videos--easy to use
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 17 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Great Camera!

06/25/2008
By ,
Senatobia, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this camera less than a week ago, But it passed my tests with flying colors. This camera is just awesome, I use it for paranormal investigation, Like Ghost Hunters. And this is a great camera for the job. I have to use it in total darkness and it lights everything up very well and with no actual light. I love the night shot and super night shot. Even though when you have both NS and SNS on the video looks a little choppy and is delayed on the lcd screen, but still worth it and if you use just NS then the video is crystal clear. I love the touch lcd screen as well. I'd recommend this camera to anyone, It's cheap, a great value and just a all around great camera!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

great product

12/18/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very pleased with the overall camera, wanted a small easy to use camera and this one was the answer. you can never go wrong with a sony.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 19 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

easy to use

12/20/2008
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not one that likes to spend time reading directions and I did not have much time when I got the camera before I was going to use it but I was able to film very quickly. Battery doesn't last long but with accesory kit I got a second one so it recorded for a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Easy to use

04/15/2008
By ,
fort.campbell, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the handycam, its easy to use and the videos come out wonderful. If you want a easy to use and good quality product this is it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 123 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next