Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Simple controls and powerful features make it easy to record high-quality videos on 3" DVDs or Memory Sticks. Highlights include a 40x optical zoom, Super SteadyShot image stabilization, 2.7" touch panel and Super NightShot Plus. It's also compatible with Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional, XP Home, XP Professional and Vista computer operating systems.
Average Customer Rating:
4.645 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(172 Reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
129
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation96%165 out of 172reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
129
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

EASY TO USE/COMPACT

05/02/2008
By ,
RICKMAN, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PRODUCT IS VERY EASY TO USE AND COMPACT WHICH IS WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR IN A CAMCORDER. ALSO LIKE THAT IT TAKES STILL PHOTOS. THAT WAY YOU DO NOT HAVE TO CARRY BOTH A CAMCORDER AND DIGITAL CAMERA TO EVENTS OR VACATIONS.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 2 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

sony handycam

05/10/2008
By ,
New Berlin, Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is fairly simple to use. I have not tried everything the camera will do yet, but the picture & sound are very clear.
Worth every penny I spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Very easy to use camcorder

05/29/2008
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am really enjoying my camcorder. I have been using it all the time. It is very easy and the quality of video seems to be very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 4 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

A Truly Handycam

06/06/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camcorder is very easy to use. If you take the time to read some basic insturctions it will work well out of the box. As the directions state, a tripod is essential for long range, steady, 40X shots. The lens gathers light well. After taking pictures in a low-light, indoor situation the results were better than expected. Media storage on both disk and memory chip was as expected. I used a brand of disk other than Sony and had to format them, but the on screen step by step process was easy to follow. Finalizing the disks is also easy to follow and they played on both my PC and Sony DVD player. The provided battery is adequate to record about two 30 minute disks or a 2 gig memory chip (purchased extra) before recharging--it hasn't run down completely while recording. The computer program loaded quickly and as expected. Registration via the USB connection to internet was quite simple. This is a very simple to use camera if you just read the instructions, and it's well worth the price paid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 5 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Sony Camcorder

06/09/2008
By ,
Indpendence, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is easy to use, has great sound and video quality. It is worth every cent that it cost! I have already recommended this product to all people I have come in contact with while using it! It's great to have all the options that it has for recording. I think that is one of it's major strong points.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

LOVE IT!!!

06/19/2008
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read reviews on how easy and small this was and they were all right! I love it! Im very happy I choose it because Im one of those people who hates to resd directions and this can just be used straight from the box
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

very nice

06/30/2008
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camcorder is very nice and very handy. Easy to use and nice video!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

A very good product to buy.

09/03/2008
By ,
Ashburn VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first camcorder and it is great for the value, size and simplicity. I have been recording and playing the recorded DVD with the aid of a DVD player without any problems. I would definitely recommed this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Easy to use

11/11/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great! Love it, I actually borrowed by sisters camcorder and liked it so much, I finally bought my own.
Shanna
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 10 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot
12/01/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handy and good for right handed person. some people are left handed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 11 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Handycam Camcorder

12/02/2008
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome camera, easy to use, compact, and great picture quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 12 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

great product

12/18/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very pleased with the overall camera, wanted a small easy to use camera and this one was the answer. you can never go wrong with a sony.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 13 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

awesome product for da money!

12/29/2008
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this camcorder for my wife for christmas this year. This camcorder definitely has the best quality in video that I have seen from any camcorder...I would guess best you can get besides going high def. I would highly recommend this camcorder. ANd its a Sony so you get what you pay for ya know.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 14 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Modern technology is great....

01/01/2009
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item for a trip with family and I must say I really enjoyed this item. I am clueless to modern technology so with the help of my children I found this to be very useful. Although I have used the item only twice I have found nothing negative to say. It did just what I needed and more. My sister really enjoys the digital replay touch screen (the more). Another advantage to modern technology it helps to find moments without fastforwarding or rewinding through the whole tape. A very good purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 15 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Money Well Spent~!!!

01/02/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recieved this camcorder as a Christmas gift from my hubby. Our old one was also a Sony, but it was recording on Hi8, which made it an official antique as far as camcorders go...ha!
This new one is abolutely amazing! I was shocked when I found out how much it cost. I can't say enough about the value of this camcorder! It's money well spent. Great bang for your buck!!
The camcorder itself is very simple to use, the quality of the video is excellant and easy to watch, copy onto your PC, etc.
I highly recommend this camera!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Great Quality

01/08/2009
By ,
New Orleans, La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased item as Christmas present. The entire family loved it and was able to immediately operate it. Very functional and user friendly. Price was competitive and product is superior.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 17 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Great camera!

01/12/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use. Great sound quality. I would highly suggest this camera to parents trying to capture special moments. Be sure to have a marker to write on the discs what is on them is case you don't have time to make a label right away.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 18 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Love This Camcorder!

02/04/2009
By ,
Oregon, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a Camcorder look no more. We bought this and use it every day. To work with, it is really easy to use. The pictures I uploaded are taken with the Camcorder, in the camera feature. My husband and I are really glad we made this purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Excelllent Camera!!

02/26/2009
By ,
Long Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very user friendly!! I'm no electronics wiz but I opened up the box, charged the camera and started using it! Mainly I wanted a video camera that would record onto a mini dvd that I could pop into DVD player and watch easily. No annoying adapter needed or weird cassette thing. Tip- You have to finalize the mini DVD on the handi-cam before you are able to play it in a DVD player.. this means no more erasing and rerecording after finalizing it. Quality excellent and so is sound. I shopped around and found Walmart had the best price tag- also purchase the soft case for handi-cam. The handi-cam is so small, fits snuggly in one hand. LOVE IT!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 20 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Love It

02/28/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have really liked this camera. It is easy to use and has produced good quality images. I recommend using the memory stick. You can store more. I got a 4g card and it seems to be good enough. I also like that it is so small and compact.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 123 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next