Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Simple controls and powerful features make it easy to record high-quality videos on 3" DVDs or Memory Sticks. Highlights include a 40x optical zoom, Super SteadyShot image stabilization, 2.7" touch panel and Super NightShot Plus. It's also compatible with Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional, XP Home, XP Professional and Vista computer operating systems.
Average Customer Rating:
4.645 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(172 Reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
129
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation96%165 out of 172reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
129
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

GREAT DEAL

01/19/2009
By ,
northwest illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I, have not had any problems with this camcorder it works great. A popular brand name and a fair price and there are several attachments that can be connected to this camcorder that Sony makes. This camcorder will hold up to a 16 GiG memory card and it is compact and easy to use i love it. I recommend this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Love It

02/28/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have really liked this camera. It is easy to use and has produced good quality images. I recommend using the memory stick. You can store more. I got a 4g card and it seems to be good enough. I also like that it is so small and compact.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Easy to use

04/15/2008
By ,
fort.campbell, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the handycam, its easy to use and the videos come out wonderful. If you want a easy to use and good quality product this is it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 4 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Excellent

08/02/2008
By ,
Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the most user friendly camcorder. The price was very reasonable. We would definitely recommend this product to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 5 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

A GREAT BUY!

08/02/2008
By ,
armagh, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WE BOUGHT THIS PRODUCT JUST BEFORE WE WENT ON VACATION THIS YEAR. TO BE HONEST, WE DIDN'T READ THE MANUAL ON HOW TO WORK IT, BUT IT WAS SO EASY TO USE, WE FIGURED OUT ON OUR OWN!!! PLUS, I LOVE THE FACT THAT WITH JUST THE FLIP OF A BUTTON YOU CAN TAKE STILL PICTURES AND USE IT AS A VIDEO CAMCORDER WITHIN SECONDS!! IT'S NICE THAT I DON'T HAVE TO CARRY MY DIGIAL CAMERA AROUND W/ THE CAMCORDER. IT'S SOOOO EASY TO USE AND LIGHT WEIGHT. I DON'T HAVE ANY BAD THINGS TO SAY ABOUT THIS PRODUCT. IT WAS FOR SURE WORTH THE MONEY!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Very Nice

06/17/2008
By ,
Hawthorne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this item like a month ago and so far works well, still not familiar with the features but ofcourse takes a while to learn everything since its a high technology gadget.
I won't purchased any brand but sony because its very reliable, sounds is very good, the picture quality and very handy. All I can say is five stars!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

LOVE IT!!!

06/19/2008
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read reviews on how easy and small this was and they were all right! I love it! Im very happy I choose it because Im one of those people who hates to resd directions and this can just be used straight from the box
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Sony Dvd camcorder

10/06/2008
By ,
Pompton Lakes N.J.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its Small, super easy to use! I'm a tart when it comes to eletronics....but I feel like a pro with this one! sound is great, playback....fantastic! cant ask for better....buy this one...its worth every penny!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

So very easy to be used!!!

10/05/2008
By ,
Conyngham, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this camera. I have not purchased a video camera in almost 10 years. My previous camera was also a Sony. I used this camera in Disney world for 10 days and was amazed on the ease of use, the zoom is fabulous and records fireworks with no problems. I only took it out of the box 5 days prior to vacation. It took beautiful video of my 3 children. Highly recommend this product if you are not a good camera person but want great video!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 10 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Love it!

11/30/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first camcorder so I wasnt sure what to expect. I found it very easy to get started with. Video and picture quality are excellent. There are more features on it than I will ever use. I do recommend and extra battery and to buy sony dvd's. When using other brnds, you get an anoying message every time you start to record. Just much simpler with Sony brand. Love this camcorer and would highly recomend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 11 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

awesome product for da money!

12/29/2008
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this camcorder for my wife for christmas this year. This camcorder definitely has the best quality in video that I have seen from any camcorder...I would guess best you can get besides going high def. I would highly recommend this camcorder. ANd its a Sony so you get what you pay for ya know.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 12 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Excellent Product

12/29/2008
By ,
Ottumwa, Ia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this camcorder the first week of December and it has gotten a Lot of use!!! I got it right before my oldest daughters first dance recital and didn't even read the instruction manual and it was soo easy to use. The manual was easy to understand and I love the fact it can take still pictures as well. I would reccomend buying an extra battery as the one that comes with it does not last very long, but it is well worth the money!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 13 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Great Camera!

06/25/2008
By ,
Senatobia, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this camera less than a week ago, But it passed my tests with flying colors. This camera is just awesome, I use it for paranormal investigation, Like Ghost Hunters. And this is a great camera for the job. I have to use it in total darkness and it lights everything up very well and with no actual light. I love the night shot and super night shot. Even though when you have both NS and SNS on the video looks a little choppy and is delayed on the lcd screen, but still worth it and if you use just NS then the video is crystal clear. I love the touch lcd screen as well. I'd recommend this camera to anyone, It's cheap, a great value and just a all around great camera!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Excelent Produduct

04/29/2008
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this to record my newborn and so far it's been GREAT!!!! The image is clear and colorful. I completly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

WONDERFUL!

08/14/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super easy to use. Started filming treasured moments immediately:) Love this camera!!! Very worth the price!! Love Love Love everything about this camera!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Fantastic Little Camera!

06/27/2008
By ,
McAllen, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to use and understand. Forget the instructions, have fun and play with the camera, you'll learn just about everything you need to know. I used the instructins only if I got stuck and I'm not a tech guru. I only had the camera a few days and went to Alaska, used it all the time there. Walmart has the best value for your money, I checked everywhere before I purchased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot
12/01/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handy and good for right handed person. some people are left handed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 18 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

EASY TO USE/COMPACT

05/02/2008
By ,
RICKMAN, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PRODUCT IS VERY EASY TO USE AND COMPACT WHICH IS WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR IN A CAMCORDER. ALSO LIKE THAT IT TAKES STILL PHOTOS. THAT WAY YOU DO NOT HAVE TO CARRY BOTH A CAMCORDER AND DIGITAL CAMERA TO EVENTS OR VACATIONS.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 19 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Great for family

04/28/2009
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted an easy to use, quick start camcorder that I could also use to take still photos with. This was perfect! I easily started shooting as soon as I charged the battery and put in the dvd. I definitely would recommend. The pictures are clear, it is easy to use, pictures/video of my young son are wonderful for the memories that I wanted to capture.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Nice Product

08/18/2008
By ,
Perryopolis, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this before we went on vacation and have had it now for about a month. I really like it and its easy to use. I havent had a camcorder for a few years now, and boy have they changed! I was able to use this camcorder with little reading of the manual. The touch screen is a very nice feature, in addition to the record and zoom buttons also being located on the edge of the screen for ease of use. We actually bought a different camcorder before this one and I ended up returning it for this one. Recording directly on DVD's is also a nice feature. I give this a "thumbs up" for sure.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 123 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next