Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Simple controls and powerful features make it easy to record high-quality videos on 3" DVDs or Memory Sticks. Highlights include a 40x optical zoom, Super SteadyShot image stabilization, 2.7" touch panel and Super NightShot Plus. It's also compatible with Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional, XP Home, XP Professional and Vista computer operating systems.
Average Customer Rating:
4.645 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(172 Reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
129
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation96%165 out of 172reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
129
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

A very good product to buy.

09/03/2008
By ,
Ashburn VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first camcorder and it is great for the value, size and simplicity. I have been recording and playing the recorded DVD with the aid of a DVD player without any problems. I would definitely recommed this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

sony handycam

05/10/2008
By ,
New Berlin, Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is fairly simple to use. I have not tried everything the camera will do yet, but the picture & sound are very clear.
Worth every penny I spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Love It!!!

05/11/2008
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera is wonderful. This is the first camcorder we have owned and I wouldn't have any other. It does everything we need. The touch screen is great too. Very small and fits in my bag with my digital camera just perfect. It is so simple to just plug it in the TV and watch what was just recorded. I would recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 4 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

GREAT! A+++++++

05/12/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because I have a 1 year old and now a 2 day old! this is great! Easy to use and perfect size!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 5 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

GREAT CAMERA

05/12/2008
By ,
MARQUEZ,TEXAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I REALLY LIKE THIS CAMCORDER. I THINK IT DOESE A GREAT JOB.LITE & SMALL EASY TO CARRIE ANY WHERE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Great camcorder

11/11/2008
By ,
Oneonta, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camcorder was great. I liked this camcorder because of the the zoom capablities and the different formats in which you can save images or video.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Easy to use

11/11/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great! Love it, I actually borrowed by sisters camcorder and liked it so much, I finally bought my own.
Shanna
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 8 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Wonderful product!

11/13/2008
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All I had to do is plug it in and go. I did have to look up where to plug it in, but that has been it. It is very user friendly and I would recommend it to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Need Help about this Product?

01/16/2009
By ,
Dalton, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought mine online just right b4 Christmas, I got it 2 days earlier than theysaid I would. I took it out of the box and turned it on and just started recording. Its very lightwieght, the zoom is GREAT...The picture taking isn't all that wonderfull though, you have to be in a VERY WELL LIT ROOM. A few days B4 you get the product you will have to go and get a 2G or 4G Memory PRO DUO. Also you will need to buy 3 inch Mini-DVD....You can record either on the Stick or the CD, I use the STICK for the Picture taking though lol. AND REALLY PAY ATTENTION TO THIS PART : You DO NOT have to get SONY DISC for your camcorder...ANY of them work JUST FINE...and the OTHERS are CHEAPER TOO. Well I hope this was helpfull, b/c it took me 3 weeks of researching B4 I decided to just go ahead and buy this one. I'm glad I did, and you will be too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 10 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot
07/10/2008
By ,
Miami Gardens, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In love this camcorder, very easy to operate and the price was excellent. I'm very please.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 11 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Going to the races

11/10/2008
By ,
Lehigh Acres, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
im headed to Homestead, FL for the final race of the year.(2008)...handycam in hand and ready to go...i purchased this camcorder on the excellent recommendation of a great friend that works for Sony...i trust her judgement and cant wait to start using it....i even paid the overnight shipping just so i would have it in time....will let you know later how it goes!!!....thanks for the great price Walmart!!!
GO (48) JIMMIE!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 12 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Handycam 610

01/17/2009
By ,
Berea KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice and easy to use.I love it .wish I had one before now.Glad that I bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

GREAT DEAL

01/19/2009
By ,
northwest illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I, have not had any problems with this camcorder it works great. A popular brand name and a fair price and there are several attachments that can be connected to this camcorder that Sony makes. This camcorder will hold up to a 16 GiG memory card and it is compact and easy to use i love it. I recommend this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Fantastic!

05/19/2008
By ,
Bensenville, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camcorder is easy to use and the picture quality is amazing! I also love the fact that I can play the disks right on my TV without doing anything to them!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Great value for the price

05/18/2008
By ,
san marcos, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price with all the new hard drive camcorders this is a great tool. Especially with the on-lind mini dvds that work on this camcorder/camera along with the sony memory stick.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Awesome Camcorder

11/17/2008
By ,
Bardstown, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camcorder was bought in replacement of an older camcorder and I love it. I love the touchscreen and how easy it is to use. My daughter is six months now and I never know when I need it so I carry it in my purse. I love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Excellent Product

03/19/2008
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned 3 camcorders now. I have enjoyed all.This one is great, the size, the simplicity, everything. I used it straight out of the box(I still have not read all instructions). I love the ease of watching on a dvd player. I look forward to using it even more than I ever did the others because of the size, also because I can make still pictures.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 18 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot
11/17/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading several reviews, was not sure about buying this camera. After using, however, it had met all my expectations so far. I have a 3 and a 4 year old and my main purpose of buying was just to be able to capture precious moments. Camera has worked great so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Good Price-Good Product

11/16/2008
By ,
someplace in Montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall, I am pleased w/my purchase of this Sony camcorder. It seems to be doing the job that it was intended to do. No major problems yet. I discovered that I could not create "still" images directly onto the disc. I will have to purchase some "memory sticks" in order to do that. I like that it is really compact and light-weight, and it fits really well in your hand; and is not big and bulky. Be careful not to bump the unit while it is formatting a blank disc. This can interrupt the formatting process; and the disc will be wasted. This has already happened at least once. Could have just been a "bad" disc. Don't know yet. Will find out with more use and experience of the product. Good luck and happy filming.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 20 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

OUTSTANDING CAMCORDER!

09/21/2008
By ,
St Clair Shores, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an AWESOME item! Very easy to use!
Lots and lots of features! Built very well and looks really nice! BEST price on-line too!
I would reccommend a 4GB or 6GB Memory Stick PRO Duo and upgrade the battery (only to ensure longer recording capabilities. As with all camcorders, battery life is cut alot with increased use of zoom).
Digital camera is best used with tri-pod.
All in all, this is the absolute BEST price and product in camcorders!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
+1point
1-20 of 123 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next