Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Simple controls and powerful features make it easy to record high-quality videos on 3" DVDs or Memory Sticks. Highlights include a 40x optical zoom, Super SteadyShot image stabilization, 2.7" touch panel and Super NightShot Plus. It's also compatible with Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional, XP Home, XP Professional and Vista computer operating systems.
Average Customer Rating:
4.645 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(172 Reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
129
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation96%165 out of 172reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
129
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

A very good product to buy.

09/03/2008
By ,
Ashburn VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first camcorder and it is great for the value, size and simplicity. I have been recording and playing the recorded DVD with the aid of a DVD player without any problems. I would definitely recommed this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Handycam 610

01/17/2009
By ,
Berea KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice and easy to use.I love it .wish I had one before now.Glad that I bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Excelllent Camera!!

02/26/2009
By ,
Long Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very user friendly!! I'm no electronics wiz but I opened up the box, charged the camera and started using it! Mainly I wanted a video camera that would record onto a mini dvd that I could pop into DVD player and watch easily. No annoying adapter needed or weird cassette thing. Tip- You have to finalize the mini DVD on the handi-cam before you are able to play it in a DVD player.. this means no more erasing and rerecording after finalizing it. Quality excellent and so is sound. I shopped around and found Walmart had the best price tag- also purchase the soft case for handi-cam. The handi-cam is so small, fits snuggly in one hand. LOVE IT!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 4 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

A Truly Handycam

06/06/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camcorder is very easy to use. If you take the time to read some basic insturctions it will work well out of the box. As the directions state, a tripod is essential for long range, steady, 40X shots. The lens gathers light well. After taking pictures in a low-light, indoor situation the results were better than expected. Media storage on both disk and memory chip was as expected. I used a brand of disk other than Sony and had to format them, but the on screen step by step process was easy to follow. Finalizing the disks is also easy to follow and they played on both my PC and Sony DVD player. The provided battery is adequate to record about two 30 minute disks or a 2 gig memory chip (purchased extra) before recharging--it hasn't run down completely while recording. The computer program loaded quickly and as expected. Registration via the USB connection to internet was quite simple. This is a very simple to use camera if you just read the instructions, and it's well worth the price paid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 5 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Easy to use

11/11/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great! Love it, I actually borrowed by sisters camcorder and liked it so much, I finally bought my own.
Shanna
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 6 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Great camcorder

11/11/2008
By ,
Oneonta, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camcorder was great. I liked this camcorder because of the the zoom capablities and the different formats in which you can save images or video.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Great Camcorder

05/25/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to operate - user friendly. Touch screen very helpful and options for additional lens a bonus.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 8 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Sony Camcorder

06/09/2008
By ,
Indpendence, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is easy to use, has great sound and video quality. It is worth every cent that it cost! I have already recommended this product to all people I have come in contact with while using it! It's great to have all the options that it has for recording. I think that is one of it's major strong points.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Sibt camcorder

07/05/2008
By ,
Enid, Ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good, I haven't gotten to edit or the
other features but it takes great video.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

The quality is awesome

12/04/2008
By ,
Clarksville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this camera, I just purchased this to send videos of my son to my parents and family-in law, because they live in PR. I already made a video and I love it. I burn the video in a DVD to send by mail and I know they are going to love it. I just have a little complaint and is not about the camera, is the software that came with to transfer video from the camera to the computer and edit them. It was a little complicated to understand how to do it, and I'm good with computers, so if you r not good at comp, you may have problem. And also, I tough that the mini-dvd would be read on the computer, but no, I have to transfer the video to the computer, and you have to be careful, because that is gonna take too much space on your computer and you have to delete everything after you burn a dvd, if you don't your computer is gonna be so slow, unless you have a lottttt of hard drive space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 11 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Easy to Use

01/05/2009
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this camera, We have just switched from a VHS recorder that seen its last christmas to the Handy Cam. The quality was great and it is so very easy to use.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 12 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Fantastic! Buy this!

01/10/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't believe this camcorder! It has so many features in comparison with other similar camcorders. Easy to use immediately, but so much more to make the videos of your life. Look no further!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

GREAT DEAL

01/19/2009
By ,
northwest illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I, have not had any problems with this camcorder it works great. A popular brand name and a fair price and there are several attachments that can be connected to this camcorder that Sony makes. This camcorder will hold up to a 16 GiG memory card and it is compact and easy to use i love it. I recommend this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

sony handycam

05/10/2008
By ,
New Berlin, Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is fairly simple to use. I have not tried everything the camera will do yet, but the picture & sound are very clear.
Worth every penny I spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Sony DCR-DVD610 DVD Handycam Camcorder

05/27/2008
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First camcorder ever! Very easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

It;s a Sony!

07/06/2008
By ,
Bonita Springs,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ease of use. features and connectivity. this prodct has everything the average person would come to expect for a camcorder.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 17 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

So very easy to be used!!!

10/05/2008
By ,
Conyngham, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this camera. I have not purchased a video camera in almost 10 years. My previous camera was also a Sony. I used this camera in Disney world for 10 days and was amazed on the ease of use, the zoom is fabulous and records fireworks with no problems. I only took it out of the box 5 days prior to vacation. It took beautiful video of my 3 children. Highly recommend this product if you are not a good camera person but want great video!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 18 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Wonderful product!

11/13/2008
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All I had to do is plug it in and go. I did have to look up where to plug it in, but that has been it. It is very user friendly and I would recommend it to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Great product for the money

12/05/2008
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything I expected and more. It is ready to use out of the box and so easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 20 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Easy to use

04/15/2008
By ,
fort.campbell, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the handycam, its easy to use and the videos come out wonderful. If you want a easy to use and good quality product this is it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 123 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next