Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Simple controls and powerful features make it easy to record high-quality videos on 3" DVDs or Memory Sticks. Highlights include a 40x optical zoom, Super SteadyShot image stabilization, 2.7" touch panel and Super NightShot Plus. It's also compatible with Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional, XP Home, XP Professional and Vista computer operating systems.
Average Customer Rating:
4.645 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(172 Reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
129
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation96%165 out of 172reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
129
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Great Camera!

06/25/2008
By ,
Senatobia, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this camera less than a week ago, But it passed my tests with flying colors. This camera is just awesome, I use it for paranormal investigation, Like Ghost Hunters. And this is a great camera for the job. I have to use it in total darkness and it lights everything up very well and with no actual light. I love the night shot and super night shot. Even though when you have both NS and SNS on the video looks a little choppy and is delayed on the lcd screen, but still worth it and if you use just NS then the video is crystal clear. I love the touch lcd screen as well. I'd recommend this camera to anyone, It's cheap, a great value and just a all around great camera!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Fantastic Little Camera!

06/27/2008
By ,
McAllen, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to use and understand. Forget the instructions, have fun and play with the camera, you'll learn just about everything you need to know. I used the instructins only if I got stuck and I'm not a tech guru. I only had the camera a few days and went to Alaska, used it all the time there. Walmart has the best value for your money, I checked everywhere before I purchased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Nice Product

08/18/2008
By ,
Perryopolis, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this before we went on vacation and have had it now for about a month. I really like it and its easy to use. I havent had a camcorder for a few years now, and boy have they changed! I was able to use this camcorder with little reading of the manual. The touch screen is a very nice feature, in addition to the record and zoom buttons also being located on the edge of the screen for ease of use. We actually bought a different camcorder before this one and I ended up returning it for this one. Recording directly on DVD's is also a nice feature. I give this a "thumbs up" for sure.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 4 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Great Cam

01/07/2009
By ,
Houston,Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this cam for Christmas, used it when "Santa" put the presents under the tree and a few times took it to the deer lease and captured both my two boys first hunt. Good choice so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 5 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

good camcorder

12/11/2008
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good all purpose camcorder that is light and easy to use. The still shots are good, and the night shots feature ensures you do not miss good pictures.
The ability to download to your computer is great,
and I have no problem playing the DVD-R disc in
DVD player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Great Buy

04/11/2009
By ,
Dawsonville,Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picked the camera up just in time to take to the beach. We just finished watching playback on the videos. Really enjoy this product. Easy to use and very reasonable prices for discs and memory sticks. Can't wait to use again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Love it!!

04/07/2009
By ,
Lawton, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this camcorder! The picture and sound are so clear. My boyfriend races on a dirt track, and I used this to record his races - It is so easy to use. :-) I would highly recommend it to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 8 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

camcorder

12/17/2008
By ,
santa rosa nm
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the only complaint i have is that i ordered 60 min disks on line and recieved cassettes and will not be able to do the school christmas program, as there is no place in santa rosa to purchase them. sa far as the product itself i really like it. i have found it easy to understand the set up and using it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Excelent Produduct

04/29/2008
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this to record my newborn and so far it's been GREAT!!!! The image is clear and colorful. I completly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Excellent Investment

12/18/2008
By ,
Bethlehem, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The sony camcorder was a great investment for our family. We are very please and so easy to use straight from the box.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

great product

12/18/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very pleased with the overall camera, wanted a small easy to use camera and this one was the answer. you can never go wrong with a sony.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 12 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

easy to use

12/20/2008
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not one that likes to spend time reading directions and I did not have much time when I got the camera before I was going to use it but I was able to film very quickly. Battery doesn't last long but with accesory kit I got a second one so it recorded for a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Fantastic! Buy this!

01/10/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't believe this camcorder! It has so many features in comparison with other similar camcorders. Easy to use immediately, but so much more to make the videos of your life. Look no further!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Sibt camcorder

07/05/2008
By ,
Enid, Ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good, I haven't gotten to edit or the
other features but it takes great video.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

It;s a Sony!

07/06/2008
By ,
Bonita Springs,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ease of use. features and connectivity. this prodct has everything the average person would come to expect for a camcorder.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 16 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

EASY TO USE/COMPACT

05/02/2008
By ,
RICKMAN, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PRODUCT IS VERY EASY TO USE AND COMPACT WHICH IS WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR IN A CAMCORDER. ALSO LIKE THAT IT TAKES STILL PHOTOS. THAT WAY YOU DO NOT HAVE TO CARRY BOTH A CAMCORDER AND DIGITAL CAMERA TO EVENTS OR VACATIONS.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 17 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Great Camcorder

02/21/2009
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I dont usually write reviews but I feel this video camera is great. I was worried because the cost was lower then alot but Sony has done it again. Do know that you need video discs to record video and then if you want to take pictures you need to purchase a memory stick. I didnt because only using for video. Very easy to setup and use. I also love that when you take a video it shows it on the screen and you can touch the one you want instead of fast forwarding forever. One downfall that I can live with is the battery does not last very long but long enough to do what you need . Great quality if your looking for simple and easy to use !! Great buy !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 18 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Fantastic Camera Bundled for Great price!

09/01/2008
By ,
Chelsea,MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this camera! After searching numerous stores and reviews, I decided on this camera. While searching for the best deal I came to Walmart where the bundle with the case and disks CANNOT be beat. I was recording my children with this camera right out the box. If you just looking to record precious memories and good time at a great price, this is for you, I think that a professional camera person might use this as a backup, but its good enough for me. The one issue that I have with the actual camcorder is that the battery drains WAY too quickly! If you take anything away from this review, buy the bundle. It comes with a spare battery which you will use. If you have to buy a battery by itself, it will cost you $50-$60 bucks. The other issue I had with this actual purchase was the packaging of the camcorder, one word, three syllables "HORRIBLE". I bought a vacuum filter at the same time I bought the camera and it had better packaging and came in a bigger box than the camera. The camera was basically thrown in a box and shipped off, thank the people from Sony for at least having the common sense to package their own product properly. My advice for anyone buying a camcorder, get the bundle, get the extended warranty and enjoy recording, this is the best bang for you buck!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 19 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

A very good product to buy.

09/03/2008
By ,
Ashburn VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first camcorder and it is great for the value, size and simplicity. I have been recording and playing the recorded DVD with the aid of a DVD player without any problems. I would definitely recommed this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD610 Silver DVD Camcorder, 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" Touch panel LCD, Memory Stick Slot

Excellent product

07/07/2008
By ,
Gary, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so pleased with my hanycam. It takes wonderful movies. The color is great on the T.V. It is very easy to use. Even my 7 year old grandson can use this camcorder and take good pictures. It is a really good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
1-20 of 123 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next