Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony - 900mhz Nursery Monitor and Receiver

Sony Sony - 900mhz Nursery Monitor and Receiver

The Sony Baby Call Nursery Monitor lets you keep an eye on the baby even when you are away from your baby. It has a 900 MHz monitor with receiver that helps you keep track of babys activities. The Sony 900mhz Nursery Monitor features the reliable five sound sensor activity lights that alerts you when the baby is making sounds or when the receiver is out-of-range or when the battery gets low. Use the belt clips to attach the baby monitor to your belt, and you can go on with your usual chores. The 900 MHz technology of the Sony Baby Call Nursery Monitor increases the coverage area, letting you work at further distances from your baby. The Sensor baby monitor has 27 channels that use FM transmission system with channel selector to locate the clearest channel that is free from interference. To eliminate extraneous background noise, and enhance clear transmission, the baby monitor uses voice activation mode.
Average Customer Rating:
4.144 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(346 Reviews) 299
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
223
4 stars
50
3 stars
15
2 stars
16
1 star
42
Customer Recommendation81%279 out of 346reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 95 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
223
4 stars
50
3 stars
15
2 stars
16
1 star
42
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony - 900mhz Nursery Monitor and Receiver

ABSOLUTLY PERFECT

04/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tried other monitors, cheaper ones thinking they are all the same, they are NOT all the same. This monitor is perfect! I gave the other ones away and decided to try this one and it is absolutely perfect. It stays charged for a long time, and trust me you do not want a baby monitor that you have to change batteries out in, I tried that and I would never do it again. This one has a great range, it picks up sound wonderfully, it is water resistant so I can take it into the kitchen. It is everything I could want or need in a monitor. Someone said in one of these reviews that they had problems with some kind of sound theirs was making? I don’t know mine has never done anything like that, any monitor or radio or computer speakers will make sounds periodically if you keep a cell phone close to it, even if you are not getting a call or a message. Anyhow, the point is that I LOVE this monitor and I would recommend it to everyone that needs a really good monitor. It is everything you could need really.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony - 900mhz Nursery Monitor and Receiver

Great Monitor!

05/15/2010
By ,
North Charleston, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We registered for this monitor for our firstborn and since I'm not ready to give it up before baby #2 comes along we bought another one. It's lightweight and VERY sensitive to baby sounds. At first when you are needing reassurance that your baby is breathing you can just crank it up full blast and it will pick up your baby breathing in his/her nursery. Then, once your baby is a little older and you are only going in there for overnight feedings you can turn it down. Finally, when your little one sleeps through the night you can turn the volume down and rely on only the light up feature to monitor your baby (if you are like me and sometimes "think" you hear your baby and don't want to go barging in there in the middle of the night you can just glance at the monitor and see if the lights are on.) This monitor has allowed me not to hover over my sleeping baby and actually get some sleep myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony - 900mhz Nursery Monitor and Receiver

Quality monitor

11/11/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm completely satisfied with this monitor! One of the things I was most worried about was that since it uses the 900 mHz frequency, there would be interference with our cordless phones which also use that frequency. We have not had any interference at all. The voice activation feature works very well. We use a white noise machine in our daughter's room, yet it only turns on when she makes a sound if we have it set to "voice activation." We have no issue with going out of range, and we live on a one acre lot. I like that there is no flimsy antennae on top that can be bent and broken by my older kids--that's what happened to the FP Light N Sounds monitor I had. Really sturdy, quality product and I strongly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+103points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony - 900mhz Nursery Monitor and Receiver

Wonderful Monitor

03/23/2009
By ,
Colorado Springs, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we are very pleased with this baby monitor system. My son (9wks) and daugher (7 1/2 years) share a room and she sleeps with the radio on. It does NOT pick up any of the voices from her story CD's or from the radio station. However, when the baby makes a peep it will click on (voice activation) and we are alerted before he can wake her up! I would HIGHLY recommend this monitor system. It has no interference except when used next to my at&t cellphone as it receives a txt message or phone call, but walking away from the receiver makes it stop chirping/scratching.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony - 900mhz Nursery Monitor and Receiver

very pleased

02/19/2009
By ,
Troy NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this monitor as a caregiver for my elderly mother. I especially appreciate the feature of the voice activation position. I don't have to listen to all the other noises but just her voice when she needs me in the night.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony - 900mhz Nursery Monitor and Receiver

Purchased as a back-up - very unhappy.

09/28/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you have a wall or bed in your home, this monitor will not work for you. While the volume is great and the monitor is very good at picking up every little noise, overall it is difficult to use. I have to prop it up on a roll of toilet paper on my nightstand (which is the same height as our bed). If I don't set it up higher than the matress, it clicks every 5 seconds because it is almost "out of range". We've tried switching channels and it didn't work. If we set it on an endtable and put our drink near it, it will click. It beeps and clicks that it is going out of range when we sit outside on the patio. Our daughter's window is directly above us, so really the only thing between is the outside wall. We only purchased this because or original monitor #First Years True Choice Premium Digital Monitor# took a dive out of nowhere. Even considering the fact that we had to send it back, I would by that monitor 100 times over before I bought this one from Sony.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony - 900mhz Nursery Monitor and Receiver

Sony Baby Monitor

01/03/2011
By ,
Galesburg, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Let me start by saying, it works. As opposed to not working at all. The clarity of voice is very good. You can make out every word spoken. This unit does have an adjustable volume control knob on the receiver end. At this, the praise stops.
1. It comes in a molded plastic wrap that you have to cut in order to get it out and use it, so if you want to return it you can't put it back in the original package.
2. The range is FAR less than the boasted 600Ft. I can barely get 40Ft. without the range alarm beeping at me, and this is line-of-sight.
3. Sensitivity is not adjustable. IT determines what you hear and VOICE isn't the only thing that will set it off. The crib creeking, air purifier, whatever.
On the positive side, cell phone doesn't bother it, cordless phone doesn't bother it. 900mhz is a good idea. Just a bit more range and adjustability would be better.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony - 900mhz Nursery Monitor and Receiver

Do not waste your money

11/30/2012
By ,
Murrieta, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ok first let me say that I have never felt the need to leave a bad review on anything, but I'm hoping to stop at least one person from buying these and being driven as crazy by them as I have been. These monitors are the worst! We had Fischer Price first and they worked great except that the battery on them stopped charging about two years into having them. We figured Sony makes other great products so the monitors must be good too. That was a bad assumption on our part. Basically, they have bad static and I find myself moving them around constantly to find a good spot. Taking it outside in the yard is not going to happen. It often sounds like the monitor in the movie Signs. My worst complaint is at night while I sleep the monitor either clicks or has these bursts of static that actually wake me from sleep. Having a baby wake you up is one thing but the monitor too? Do not wast your money, buy ANYTHING else!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony - 900mhz Nursery Monitor and Receiver

Very Satisfied!

11/17/2010
By ,
Plant City, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm completely satisfied with this monitor! Bought this to use in caring for my dad who has terminal cancer. As his care giver I needed to be able to monitor him at all times moving around the house and out side without disturbing him. This works perfect. I love that I can monitor every noise or just voice, it works so well I can here his breathing if I choose to use that setting. Have not had any problem with hooking up, channels or settings, very easy to operate. I use it when I'm outside in the yard, hook it on my waistband and it works perfect. You can have a little interference moving around due to other equipment, however, it did not interfere with the monitoring at all! LOVE THIS PRODUCT! It does everything it promises and a great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony - 900mhz Nursery Monitor and Receiver

Not just for babies

03/21/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this product to help save me steps while taking care of my husband who is recovering from an illness. We have a large 2 story house and I always worried when I was too far away to hear him if he needed help. The monitor is always with me now and I don't have to be afraid. All he has to do is call my name. It's the best. I have no problems at all with static. I now have peace of mind and so does he. I wish I had bought this months ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony - 900mhz Nursery Monitor and Receiver

Does exactly what it says!

09/30/2010
By ,
Cape May NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This monitor really is invaluable, it has rechargeable batteries, holds a charge for a long time. The voice activation mode is really nice. The last monitor I had of a different kind always had alot of static noise, this one is silent unless the baby moves or makes a noise. I totally love and recommend this unit!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony - 900mhz Nursery Monitor and Receiver

best monitor

03/27/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this monitor is my 4th monitor that i have bought frm walmart by far this is the one that works. the other 3 jus made alot of static or beeping thats it out of range when the parent monitor isnot that far away. i have bought the fisher price glow in the dARK,GRACO N LEAVANA NOW THIS SONY MONITOR and it does what i expect. no static no beeping. the speaker is loud which is good because i want to hear the very low sounds to high sounds that my newborn making. thank god i dont have to run about back n fourth to return monitor that cant do the job.. i highly highly recommend this monitor... try it youll love it!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony - 900mhz Nursery Monitor and Receiver

Great audio monitor

05/24/2011
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We originally bought this monitor to use when our infant son was napping somewhere other than his crib, since we had a video monitor for the crib. However, the video monitor stopped working after 2 weeks. Now we use this monitor regularly. I hang the monitor beside our son's crib, and we can take the receiver anywhere in the house with us. The range even extends out to our front porch.
I use the voice activation setting during the night when we turn music on in the nursery. We don't have to listen to the music over the monitor, but if our son starts crying it picks up instantly & we can hear him easily. It's especially nice for watching TV after the baby is in bed for the night.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony - 900mhz Nursery Monitor and Receiver

Perfect for my needs

03/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 2 story house and this works in the front yard, the back yard, and the whole house. Great range for it. Picks up the slightest of noises. I can hear my 4 month old start moving in her crib while cooking dinner in the kitchen. Great value, and no more worrying that she's awake and getting into trouble while I'm busy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony - 900mhz Nursery Monitor and Receiver

Keeps me awake

12/21/2010
By ,
Moore, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This monitor makes loud chirping noises randomly. It has nothing to do with the baby making noises. It wakes me up in the middle of the night. I've changed the channels numerous times. I though i finally found the right channel, but the chirping started again. Don't use this one. I'm getting a different brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony - 900mhz Nursery Monitor and Receiver

Only static and interference

10/18/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am reading reviews of other monitors to try and find one to replace our Sony. We thought the Sony would be great but has been the worst one we have ever had, We get nothing but interference and static and have tried it at 3 homes, the parents and both grandparents. We have a Fisher Price one that works fantastic, and a Summer one with the video that is perfect too.
We are returning it and trying to find another one that will work. Glad it has been good for others as it is so aggravating to deal with the monitor situations.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony - 900mhz Nursery Monitor and Receiver

DON'T carry by the loop on top (antenna)

05/09/2012
By ,
UT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had this monitor for nearly three years and until about a month ago I loved it. All of a sudden it started getting really fuzzy and when my son calls me I can't understand what he's saying. I took it apart to see if I could figure out the problem and it appears to be an issue with the antenna. The owner's manual clearly states that you should NOT carry the monitor by the loop on the top (that's where the antenna wire is). Unfortunately, it's the best way to carry the monitor so that's what I've always done not to mention the fact that it's a loop on the top of the monitor that just screams "carry me with this little handle". Anyway, if you're willing to NOT carry it by the loop on the top, it's a great monitor but it's a bit slippery and big for my hand to carry it any other way. Yes, there is a belt clip but it's too heavy to hang from anything other than jeans.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sony - 900mhz Nursery Monitor and Receiver

Excellent Product

11/04/2010
By ,
Northern Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 3rd monitor that I've owned and also the least expensive of the 3. It has really great reception. I can go outside or over next door and it works great, unlike the others. My favorite feature of this product is that there is absolutely NO static. When you begin to lose reception or have brief interferance (as occationally happens with them all), instead of sending the loud annoying static thru the speaker, it has a warning beep. What a great idea! The thing is so lightweight that I didnt think that their could possibly be rechargable batteries in it but there were and they hold a charge for a long time. The only way that this monitor could be improved is if the main unit in the babies room had backup batteries, however, we lose power so little that this is not a big deal. This would be great for you or as a gift. I've owned it 2 months and I'm impressed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony - 900mhz Nursery Monitor and Receiver

great

07/22/2011
By ,
DeLand,fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this in my work. I take care of the elderly. This is great to put in their room so they can call if i am needed. I don't have to invad their privacy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony - 900mhz Nursery Monitor and Receiver

a good product

05/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this product for a few weeks only and i do like it. The sound is clear, I can even hear my baby move in his sleep. So far it a good buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 283 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next