Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Brinkmann Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

Brinkmann Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

You can enjoy slow-cooked barbeque and authentic smokehouse flavor with the Brinkmann Smoke 'N Grill Charcoal Smoker. The black smoker grill makes cooking fast and easy. Equipped with two chrome plated steel grills, it can hold up to 50 pounds of food. It has a front door which is tightly hinged, so that no heat escapes - the result is delicious smoked flavor. The heat indicator takes out the guesswork, whereas the wooden handles make it easy to handle the grill. This charcoal smoker grill is just right to serve yummy grilled recipes for a large gathering.
Average Customer Rating:
3.978 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(135 Reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
76
4 stars
25
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation81%109 out of 135reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 116 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
76
4 stars
25
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

5 Stars! Great Smoker!

05/27/2011
By ,
WICHITA, KANSAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Smoker and a great price, this thing is plenty big for a first time smoker, I read reviews on people complaining about the door to add coals and wood is too small, its seems to work fine for me, you only add coals once every hour and a half if that, I added a few heavy hand full’s of coal twice in 5 hours of smoking, get some Kingsford chips a small bag is 2.99, soak them in water/ dry and throw them on it will smoke for about 20 min or so each time 2 hand full’s, if I knew smoking was this easy I would have been doing it a long time ago, 39 bucks at my Wal-Mart, get a chimney starter it saves tons of time and food taste better with no lighter fluid.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+157points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TIFTON, GA
What is a chimney starter?
Posted 06/27/2012
What is a chimney starter?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

Good product, better price!!!

06/18/2012
By ,
Hagerstown, Md
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I never used a smoker before. I am a Diners, Drive In's and Dives addict and most of what they do is barbecue/smoking meat and I wanted to give it a shot. My father in law and I always talk Triple D so I thought on a whim that for Fathers Day my wife and I would buy him one.
I bought non lighter fluid infused charcoal, lighter fluid, Jack Daniels infused wood chips and for my first time smoking, I kept it simple. I only had about 6 hrs so I chose chicken leg/thigh and some country style ribs. I did a shake and bake style rub with some seasoned salt and some chicken rub and fired up the smoker. Just used water in the pan, no added marinades. Temp never got above halfway through "ideal" but also never got below "ideal" either. Six hours later we dug in and was ecstatic how good it turned out. It was absolutely an experiment and would do lots different but re the review summary, "good product, better price".
In fact, I am on line now buying my own!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

good value

06/27/2014
By ,
va beach va.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good product especially for the money
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

Great! But follow instructions!

06/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great... Even though I used half the suggested amount of charcoal, the flavor was good; just took longer to smoke because it wouldn't maintain the ideal temperature. More charcoal yields higher heat so don't skimp on the charcoal. I have no complaints, but be patient with assembly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

Great product, great price.

03/09/2014
By ,
Hollywood, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my second purchase of this item. The first was 15 years ago! That is how durable this smoker is. It works great and is easy to use. We smoke chicken, ham, turkey, fish. It saves money, you can smoke your own meats and create gifts baskets for friends and family on holidays. I would recommend this to anyone who likes smoked meats or who wants to try their hand at smoking meats. At this price you can't lose!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

5 star with some changes.

03/14/2013
By ,
MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this smoker. I have had it for about 2 years and use it often. I have found some ways to improve the design however which are pretty simple. The first one I found searching the internet and that was to mount the support legs on the outside of the smoker rather than the inside. If you do this you need to purchase 2 or 3 patio bricks to support the charcoal pan, these bricks are cheap. Use the bricks to support the charcoal pan then when you need to add charcoal just lift the entire smoker off of the bricks/ charcoal pan, add charcoal, and replace smoker over coals. You can also put a small grill rack in bottom of charcoal pan to improve airflow under coals. I like to control the airflow so I usually seal around lid with rolled up aluminum foil. I drilled 3 holes in the lid and installed a round damper so I can control the upper airflow and temperature easier. To make clean up easier I usually buy a $1 aluminum pan to place the meat in on the smoker racks. All of this may sound like a lot of trouble for a smoker you purchase but the additions really don't cost much and can help the performance of the smoker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

First time BBQ smoker...

03/07/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I maded the decision to purchase the Brinkmann smoke n grill over the weber because of the price. Also, the Brinkmann has been rated as one of the best smokers. Set up was easy...just follow the instructions and be sure to cure your new smoker. My only advise is to load up the charcoal pan full of charcoals. Then, add a few hot charcoals from a charcoal chimmey. You get a much longer burn. Do not use lighter fluid...it will only shorten the burn time and you'll have to add more coals. Also, purchase a meat thermometer. You don't not want to open the lid and lose hit during the smoking process. Besides the tips, I smoked my first chicken thighs and they turned out great! Next step is pork shoulder. Enjoy and good luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

Very nice grill

07/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice grill for the little time I had it, it was stolen from my yard the next day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

SAD

06/22/2011
By ,
Shelbyville, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was not overly impressed with this smoker. I chose it based on price and reviews, so I only have myself to blame. You get what you pay for with this particular smoker. The reviews that I had read were great and so for the price I got this for my husbands father's day gift. First off there were no holes or any way to release the ash off the bottom of the coals as you're cooking. The coals will smother in the ash if you're smoking all day as we were, so my husband had to improvise. Second there was no vent or way to regulate the heat inside. This would have been a nice added feature, but I guess I needed to buy a more expensive one for this. Overall it is made of good quality material and it arrived in a timely manner as well as easy to assemble . You can fit a lot of food in it, just a bummer you can't really get to the bottom rack without removing all food and rack above, this caused some issues as well, but our first meal did turn out to be a success.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

For the novice smoker

07/10/2014
By ,
Topeka, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product if you are beginner smoker. Easy set up, and perfect for my needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

This product has potential

06/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product was just left by my front door just before the weakened, probably because all the damage that the product sustained. I absolutely needed the product this weakened, or I would have returned it. The body had the worst damage, deep long scratches, large dents/small dents, I keep trying to leave pictures but I can't even Upload 1, after 3 tries I stopped, gateway kept timing out. You send me an email that I can respond to, and I will send you some pictures of the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

Excellent for a beginner who never used it.

07/07/2014
By ,
N. Dinwiddie, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased it for my boyfriend who always kept talking about a smoker he is loving it can't get him to stop using it now lol. Very good purchase I must say.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

Average smoker

07/06/2014
By ,
erlanger, ky.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Average smoker for a beginner, could use some design adjustment & a temp gauge with degrees on it instant of warm/ideal/hot!! If you buy this buy a surface temp. gauge you'll need it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

good starter smoker, but...

01/23/2013
By ,
Provo, UT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This isn't a bad smoker but it isn't really usable right out of the box. This was my first smoker and I had a very hard time getting the temperature up over 200 which is about the minimum to smoke safely. I moved the legs the outside and added legs to the charcoal pan so it stands independently. This allows me to life the smoker off the charcoal. The little door on the side really isn't practical for adding lump charcoal. I drilled some holes in the charcoal pan to allow better air flow and this helped get the temperature up a lot. The temperature gauge that ships is useless as it doesn't have the actual temperature. I simply drilled a new hole and installed a new one.
Once I had done these things it worked like a champ. I have used it for more than 2 years now and it has made some amazing meals.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sacramento
where di you purchase temp gauge
Posted 04/23/2013
I want to thank you for that info, it will be very helpful in my purchase, if you would be so kind to tell me where you purchase the gauge and what kind I would deeply appreciate it,. again thank you
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

Excellent smoker!

07/05/2014
By ,
Houston, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble few pieces! Love this smoker!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

poor

07/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This smoker was delivered to my son as a gift and was dented up an not able to use it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

Great Product!

12/23/2010
By ,
Bay Saint Louis, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This smoker was a great price, easy to put together, and looks more valuable than what I paid for it. We have used it once so far, and the meat turned out great! Only thing I would change on newer models is an easier way to add more coals to the bottom. Right now we have to take all the trays out to add more. The access door on the side isn't quit low enough for this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

Great, but understand better options.

07/07/2013
By ,
Los Banos, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to prevent hauling my Weber smoker to camping trips, if it breaks or I lose somethig, it is 1/8 the cost. This thing more than does the job and doubles well as a small volume grill, but understand 2 design features that would make a more expensive smoker a better option for someone who uses it frequently.
1) The fire pan is difficult to service when smoking in comparison to the type where you can lift the top off. Having used better (and more expensive) smokers, it is definitely nice to have the upper section lift off the fire bowl so you can service the fire more easily.
2) Temperature is difficult to control in comparison to higher quality smokers, which have temperature control valves that let air in and air/smoke out, which also helps you control oxygen to control the speed that your smoker chips burn. The Thermometer on this smoker doesn't show actual temperature, only "warm-Ideal-Hot". This is not ideal for finesse smoking like a brisket, etc.
Bottom line this is a great, but entry level smoker. You can cook great food on it, it's just a matter of what features you want.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

too difficult to use. burns or doesn't cook at all

05/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
its so difficult to use. takes a whole bag of charcoal and you have to start the charcoal in a starter bin and then dump it in the smoker. when you dump it in the tray falls off on the ground and you have a mess of hot charcoal in the bowl and you cannot pick it up and put it back on the rack. If you fill the water bowl with water the meat will never cook. if you don't fill it with water the meat burns in no time at all. too much trouble I will stick with a regular charcoal grill. not to mention all the smoke rolling around your back yard burning your eyes and permeating your clothes. Not worth it. If you want bbq go to dickey's
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sorry, you need training
Posted 05/16/2014
You just need someone to show you, you're doing it wrong, that's why you're having problems.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

Best bang for the buck!

06/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This grill is the ultimate cooking device. This single device allows you to cook a variety of different foods in a variety of different styles. I have been using a charcoal smoker for over 20 years and would never have anything else. I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 115 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next