Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Brinkmann Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

Brinkmann Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

Enjoy slow-cooked barbeque and authentic smokehouse flavor with the easy-to-use and large capacity Brinkmann Smoke 'N Grill Charcoal Smoker. This outdoor cooking center is perfect for backyard gatherings. You can cook enough meat to feed everyone and probably still have some room left over for smoked veggies and other side dishes. This barbeque charcoal grill has a fully hinged chrome door that seals tight to hold in the heat. You'll appreciate the wooden carrying handles that stay cool and are securely attached to the grill. Inside this Brinkmann charcoal grill, you can cook up to 50 lbs of food at once. There are two chrome-plated grills, an upper and lower, so you can use the bottom for a ham or turkey and the top for hot dogs and patties. The grill comes complete with an easy-to-read internal temperature gauge.
Average Customer Rating:
3.972 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(141 Reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
78
4 stars
27
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation81%114 out of 141reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 121 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
78
4 stars
27
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

5 Stars! Great Smoker!

05/27/2011
By ,
WICHITA, KANSAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Smoker and a great price, this thing is plenty big for a first time smoker, I read reviews on people complaining about the door to add coals and wood is too small, its seems to work fine for me, you only add coals once every hour and a half if that, I added a few heavy hand full’s of coal twice in 5 hours of smoking, get some Kingsford chips a small bag is 2.99, soak them in water/ dry and throw them on it will smoke for about 20 min or so each time 2 hand full’s, if I knew smoking was this easy I would have been doing it a long time ago, 39 bucks at my Wal-Mart, get a chimney starter it saves tons of time and food taste better with no lighter fluid.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+171points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TIFTON, GA
What is a chimney starter?
Posted 06/27/2012
What is a chimney starter?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

Good product, better price!!!

06/18/2012
By ,
Hagerstown, Md
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I never used a smoker before. I am a Diners, Drive In's and Dives addict and most of what they do is barbecue/smoking meat and I wanted to give it a shot. My father in law and I always talk Triple D so I thought on a whim that for Fathers Day my wife and I would buy him one.
I bought non lighter fluid infused charcoal, lighter fluid, Jack Daniels infused wood chips and for my first time smoking, I kept it simple. I only had about 6 hrs so I chose chicken leg/thigh and some country style ribs. I did a shake and bake style rub with some seasoned salt and some chicken rub and fired up the smoker. Just used water in the pan, no added marinades. Temp never got above halfway through "ideal" but also never got below "ideal" either. Six hours later we dug in and was ecstatic how good it turned out. It was absolutely an experiment and would do lots different but re the review summary, "good product, better price".
In fact, I am on line now buying my own!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

Surprisingly Effective For The Price

09/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my third one of these. The only reason I've had three is because I keep moving and "will" the smoker to a friend or neighbor as I leave (otherwise the moving van smells like smoke). I've used far more expensive smokers - several, in fact - and produce at least as good - if not better - results with this $50 wonder from Brinkmann. If you'd have told me an "unsealed" smoker (the bottom is open) would work as well as a sealed one, I'd have laughed in your face. Well, the joke was on me. This little baby cranks out some great smoked meats and 'cue. If you work it right, you start it, get the smoking chips/chunks going, pack it full of meat, and forget about it for several hours. Let the smoke do it's stuff. Then enjoy the results.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

5 star with some changes.

03/14/2013
By ,
MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this smoker. I have had it for about 2 years and use it often. I have found some ways to improve the design however which are pretty simple. The first one I found searching the internet and that was to mount the support legs on the outside of the smoker rather than the inside. If you do this you need to purchase 2 or 3 patio bricks to support the charcoal pan, these bricks are cheap. Use the bricks to support the charcoal pan then when you need to add charcoal just lift the entire smoker off of the bricks/ charcoal pan, add charcoal, and replace smoker over coals. You can also put a small grill rack in bottom of charcoal pan to improve airflow under coals. I like to control the airflow so I usually seal around lid with rolled up aluminum foil. I drilled 3 holes in the lid and installed a round damper so I can control the upper airflow and temperature easier. To make clean up easier I usually buy a $1 aluminum pan to place the meat in on the smoker racks. All of this may sound like a lot of trouble for a smoker you purchase but the additions really don't cost much and can help the performance of the smoker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

Great product, great price.

03/09/2014
By ,
Hollywood, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my second purchase of this item. The first was 15 years ago! That is how durable this smoker is. It works great and is easy to use. We smoke chicken, ham, turkey, fish. It saves money, you can smoke your own meats and create gifts baskets for friends and family on holidays. I would recommend this to anyone who likes smoked meats or who wants to try their hand at smoking meats. At this price you can't lose!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

First time BBQ smoker...

03/07/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I maded the decision to purchase the Brinkmann smoke n grill over the weber because of the price. Also, the Brinkmann has been rated as one of the best smokers. Set up was easy...just follow the instructions and be sure to cure your new smoker. My only advise is to load up the charcoal pan full of charcoals. Then, add a few hot charcoals from a charcoal chimmey. You get a much longer burn. Do not use lighter fluid...it will only shorten the burn time and you'll have to add more coals. Also, purchase a meat thermometer. You don't not want to open the lid and lose hit during the smoking process. Besides the tips, I smoked my first chicken thighs and they turned out great! Next step is pork shoulder. Enjoy and good luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

SAD

06/22/2011
By ,
Shelbyville, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was not overly impressed with this smoker. I chose it based on price and reviews, so I only have myself to blame. You get what you pay for with this particular smoker. The reviews that I had read were great and so for the price I got this for my husbands father's day gift. First off there were no holes or any way to release the ash off the bottom of the coals as you're cooking. The coals will smother in the ash if you're smoking all day as we were, so my husband had to improvise. Second there was no vent or way to regulate the heat inside. This would have been a nice added feature, but I guess I needed to buy a more expensive one for this. Overall it is made of good quality material and it arrived in a timely manner as well as easy to assemble . You can fit a lot of food in it, just a bummer you can't really get to the bottom rack without removing all food and rack above, this caused some issues as well, but our first meal did turn out to be a success.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

Great! But follow instructions!

06/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great... Even though I used half the suggested amount of charcoal, the flavor was good; just took longer to smoke because it wouldn't maintain the ideal temperature. More charcoal yields higher heat so don't skimp on the charcoal. I have no complaints, but be patient with assembly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

Ok product

10/16/2014
By ,
Fort Polk, LA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It was a gift for my husband, it's an ok product. But was bent when we got it, making the lid difficult to put on.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

good starter smoker, but...

01/23/2013
By ,
Provo, UT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This isn't a bad smoker but it isn't really usable right out of the box. This was my first smoker and I had a very hard time getting the temperature up over 200 which is about the minimum to smoke safely. I moved the legs the outside and added legs to the charcoal pan so it stands independently. This allows me to life the smoker off the charcoal. The little door on the side really isn't practical for adding lump charcoal. I drilled some holes in the charcoal pan to allow better air flow and this helped get the temperature up a lot. The temperature gauge that ships is useless as it doesn't have the actual temperature. I simply drilled a new hole and installed a new one.
Once I had done these things it worked like a champ. I have used it for more than 2 years now and it has made some amazing meals.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sacramento
where di you purchase temp gauge
Posted 04/23/2013
I want to thank you for that info, it will be very helpful in my purchase, if you would be so kind to tell me where you purchase the gauge and what kind I would deeply appreciate it,. again thank you
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

Good smoker

10/10/2014
By ,
Lewisville, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Brinkman is a very good smoker. Meat is so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

Arrived bent up

09/20/2014
By ,
Covington, WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The smoker arrived bent up from shipping I'm assuming. It arrived early which is good and the local walmart took it back with no problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

Great Product!

12/23/2010
By ,
Bay Saint Louis, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This smoker was a great price, easy to put together, and looks more valuable than what I paid for it. We have used it once so far, and the meat turned out great! Only thing I would change on newer models is an easier way to add more coals to the bottom. Right now we have to take all the trays out to add more. The access door on the side isn't quit low enough for this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

Great, but understand better options.

07/07/2013
By ,
Los Banos, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to prevent hauling my Weber smoker to camping trips, if it breaks or I lose somethig, it is 1/8 the cost. This thing more than does the job and doubles well as a small volume grill, but understand 2 design features that would make a more expensive smoker a better option for someone who uses it frequently.
1) The fire pan is difficult to service when smoking in comparison to the type where you can lift the top off. Having used better (and more expensive) smokers, it is definitely nice to have the upper section lift off the fire bowl so you can service the fire more easily.
2) Temperature is difficult to control in comparison to higher quality smokers, which have temperature control valves that let air in and air/smoke out, which also helps you control oxygen to control the speed that your smoker chips burn. The Thermometer on this smoker doesn't show actual temperature, only "warm-Ideal-Hot". This is not ideal for finesse smoking like a brisket, etc.
Bottom line this is a great, but entry level smoker. You can cook great food on it, it's just a matter of what features you want.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

Best bang for the buck!

06/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This grill is the ultimate cooking device. This single device allows you to cook a variety of different foods in a variety of different styles. I have been using a charcoal smoker for over 20 years and would never have anything else. I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

Great lil Smoker

03/01/2011
By ,
Glendora
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are a novice such as i am this is a great lil smoker. It helped me win our family cook off with a nice smoked brisket. Plus the price is just right.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

good value

06/27/2014
By ,
va beach va.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good product especially for the money
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

smoker grill

02/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second one that I have owned and the first one lasted 8 years so they last and make the best smoke flavor of any
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

Brinkman Smoker

04/03/2011
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This grill is an outstanding grill for my needs. Smoke a turkey and ribs at the same time and yet the flavor of the meat was tasty and juicy. Highly recommended for someone who enjoys real smoke flavored BBQ.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brinkmann Smoke'N Grill Charcoal Smoker

Smokin' Grill and Smoker

08/09/2011
By ,
Ahoskie, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First, regarding the top, it is not meant to fit snub. Read that a different brochure. Also you have to let coals burn before putting on meat and putting on the top. Otherwise, coals will die out. I have used multiple times already and there is a learning curve. Botton line, I love it. Ohhhh, try some turkey legs seasoned and wrapped in foil. Good eating.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 121 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next