Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coghlan's Coghlans Solar-Heated Camp Shower

Coghlan's Coghlans Solar-Heated Camp Shower

Enjoy a warm shower on a cold day while youre on a camping, hiking, or trekking trip with the Coghlans Solar Heated Camp Shower. This shower can hold up to five gallons of water, which means you can take a warm shower thrice or four times when the shower is full. The water gets heated up by the sun in just three hours without requiring batteries. The hot water camp shower can be hung down using the included cord for convenience. The Coghlans Solar Heated Camp Shower is lightweight and compact, so can be conveniently stored in your vehicle. Easy to maintain and easy to use, this portable solar camp shower is made of non-toxic PVC material, making it a completely durable, reliable, and safe choice. Get this solar camp shower filled with water, relax under the soothing warm shower, and have fun while camping with your friends and family.
Average Customer Rating:
4.359 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation96%51 out of 53reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 36 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coghlans Solar-Heated Camp Shower

Works well

08/25/2008
By ,
Oak Creek, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great product for camping. It heats up fast and hot. The shower nozzel is a little hard to control and the valve system seems like the part that will wear out or break easiest, but for the price, it meets my expectations. We're using it as a primary shower right now as we are camping out while building our house. As long as it holds up, we will definately use it for future camping trips.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coghlans Solar-Heated Camp Shower

Solar Camp Shower

01/13/2009
By ,
SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I go to the sand dunes every year to ride for a week and camp during that time. I have always just gone that whole week without a shower (ew, I know, I always get that reaction). This year, my girlfriend bought me the Coghlans Solar-Heated Camp Shower. Before we went riding one day, I filled it with water and went riding. When we returned that evening, it was warm, still a little chilly when poured over us, but a lot better than the water in the jugs we had. I am sure it would have gotten a lot warmer if the outside temperature had gotten above 70*. My girlfriend also bought me the Ozark Trail Shower Utility Room to use with the solar shower. The biggest problem I had was when the bag hung in the shower tent, I had to almost get on my knees to wash my head and upper body. Overall, the shower worked great and I would recommend it to anyone considering it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coghlans Solar-Heated Camp Shower

Deployment Fav

05/03/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son is a Marine deployed to Afghanistan and conditions are HOT HOT HOT with little opportunity (or time) for showering. Wet wipes are okay but water to actually rinse away sand and dirt is what my son wanted. I found a $43 solar shower at a camping supply place and then a friend found this online... I ordered four of them and shipped them three days later. It took over two weeks for them to arrive but they were the most popular box in the company that day! It's hot enough that 5G water is good for a shower pretty fast and every guy in the company got a shower that first day... I got a great big thank you and was thrilled. I'm sending four more as soon as I get them!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+79points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coghlans Solar-Heated Camp Shower

solar hot water

06/14/2009
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had ONE camp shower for about 10 years. It can last that long. The only 'problem' I have ever had is getting it raised high enough to get under the shower spray. I shortened the hose the shower head is on by cutting it. For one person you dont have to fill it full and I say this becaues it is heavy for me to lift high and hang up if too full. Honestly, you could use it to save energy by shutting off the water heater all summer long. I have used it more than once at home when the water heater or the well went out. IT"S GREAT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coghlans Solar-Heated Camp Shower

Solar shower works great!

07/18/2012
By ,
Washington State
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this solar shower to use while camping because my hair gets gross after one day. Plus I could use it if our water heater ever goes out. So we haven't gone camping since I bought the product, but I had to try it out. So I rinsed it out with warm water and baking soda like they suggested and then filled it up with cold tap water and put it on a flat surface in the sun. I left it for three hours and it worked great! I tested it out in my regular shower and the only thing it needs is a clip to hold up the shower tube so it doesn't drip when you clip it shut. I also decided to reinforce the handle with duct tape after reading some of the other reviews. I hope to use this shower every time we camp and maybe for washing dishes also. I noticed that the plastic smell still lingered after the first use though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coghlans Solar-Heated Camp Shower
09/09/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used indoor. Ordered two; they worked great as a temporary hot water source until I could get a new water heater installed. The water is actually hot! I would have enough for dishes and the tub. When filled they are heavy so I was concerned about hanging them, so I didn’t. I just laid it on a side table and drained as needed. Make sure the clip on the hose is tight or it leaks. Christmas is coming; I will be getting these for the hunters in my family. Water takes so long to boil at high altitudes, will be nice for them to have hot water after tracking deer all day. Price is perfect; can’t see 'em using the little shower cap that is included.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coghlans Solar-Heated Camp Shower

OK, hard to fill but serves the purpose

09/05/2011
By ,
Hendersonville, N.C.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have used similar shower bags in the past. The problem I have with this one is the filling of the bag with water. Where I need to use this bag there is only slow moving water available in a creek and it doesnt' work very well trying to get the bag full of water by submersing it. I had to go to a neighboring house and ask to borrow water from a pressurized spigot to fill it. If you have to have water under pressure to fill it, why would you need the shower bag in the first place? Once it's full, it's fine. The water gets warm (not hot) and the shower head puts out a good stream. If you need a hotter shower you can always put some water on the camper stove and mix it with warm water already in the bag; you'll probably need a funnel. It seems pretty sturdy. Decent buy for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coghlans Solar-Heated Camp Shower

Solar Shower Test

07/30/2010
By ,
Santa Maria, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I received the Solar Shower bag, I tried it at home on a sunny day. Filled bag 1/2 full and laid it on a sunny spot for about three hours as recommended on the instructions. After the three hours, the water was very warm and the shower head functioned properly. The real test will be when we go camping and use it there. We camp in a Pop-Up trailer and we hope to use the hot water to wash the dishes.
For the price it's worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coghlans Solar-Heated Camp Shower

Does what it was designed to do.

06/02/2010
By ,
Houston
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First of all, it was a really good price for what you get, and it does heat the water. You just have to remember that five gallons of water is HEAVY, and the shower works on gravity, so you will need to be able to lift the thing up and have something pretty sturdy to tie it to. A tree with an appropriate branch would be idea, but we didn't have that. Maybe some kind of accompanying tripod like stand would be a good idea.
It is a good product though. Be careful not to let the hose fall while transporting or it will leak of course. A really good use for us is the beach, to rinse off the salt water and sand before we get in the car.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coghlans Solar-Heated Camp Shower

A hot shower if you have sun.

07/11/2010
By ,
Maywood, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For years we took a shower using a cooler filled with warm water. We placed the cooler on top of our van and ran the hose down. We boiled water on the fireplace and mixed the hot with the cold to get the correct temperature.
With the Solar Heated Camp Shower you might get your water too hot if it is left in the sun all day while we are hiking, but, it is a minor problem, as cold water can always be mixed in to get a proper temperature. On cloudy days, we are no worse off than we were before since we can still heat water on the campfire.
Of course this Solar Heated Camp Shower takes so much less storage space than an empty cooler, that it is a joy to store. Plus, you can leave it in the van with 4 gallons of water in it while you drive to your campsite. It is not wise to leave 4 gallons of water in a cooler in the back of your van while driving over rough ground.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coghlans Solar-Heated Camp Shower
08/24/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used shower while camping in Colorado. Temps in 30's at night, but with a few hours sun during day the shower was warm and worked to clean self and equipment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coghlans Solar-Heated Camp Shower

great shower

05/31/2009
By ,
cypress, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product worked well to heat enough water for one nice long-lasting shower. The water heater in my RV broke a long time ago and this is a very affordable alternative.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coghlans Solar-Heated Camp Shower

Worked Fine

09/17/2008
By ,
NE Corridor
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This worked fine in Walmart's OzarkTrails shower tent. The only real problem is that the hose tend to kink, which can prevent water flow. If the shower was very high (which it can't be in the tent), this might not be a problem. If you hang it in the OT tent, it is rather low - you have to kneel to get your hair wet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coghlans Solar-Heated Camp Shower

Good Investment!

05/18/2008
By ,
Va Beach, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for camping and it worked perfectly. I filled it with freezing cold water, laid it flat on a table in the sun, and a few hours later I had a nice hot shower in the middle of the woods. Great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coghlans Solar-Heated Camp Shower
08/31/2009
By ,
maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it works.........easy to use ....easy to store..........and .......it works........
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coghlans Solar-Heated Camp Shower

Camp Shower

07/08/2012
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This item in general is good quality and made well. It heats water in the sun in about 3 hours depending on it's location. It works better if you lay it down on a car roof or something level with a towel under it. It was too heavy for me to carry full, so make sure to put it in the area you intend to shower before filling. I used a gallon plastic milk container to fill it but try different things to find what works best for you. Don't expect a full force shower as you would have at home in a conventional shower, but it's fine for what it is. The only complaint I have about it is that the clamp that closes off the water leaks in mineCarolAnn, so make sure to put the hose up higher than the unit so it can't leak out. Other than that, it's a good buy for the money
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coghlans Solar-Heated Camp Shower

Great shower for the prices, for the woods

09/06/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This shower is a great item to have when camping its light weight and small to pack, fill the entire bag and let it sit in the sun all day and that water is super warm and feels great to rinse off. the only thing i have to say is the spout is a little tough, my friend had a different brand where the water came shooting out, where this one if the tube is even bent a little it makes it hard for the water to come out but other than that i highly recommend purchasing this if your camping site has no showers
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coghlans Solar-Heated Camp Shower
08/31/2011
By ,
union city, ca
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall idea is good but quality is not. The hose remained pinched even when straightened, even with a little pressure on the bag the valve opened and water spilled out, the valve leaks and the plastic handle is very thin. Since the plastic is thin, the water warmed up easily even without direct sunlight. Good product only if willing to but a new one after 1-2 uses.
Oh and since the plastic is thin, the filled water bags had to packed in a cardboard box which took up additional trunk space.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coghlans Solar-Heated Camp Shower

Very Very Handy Product!

09/03/2010
By ,
Columbus, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this camp shower. It works really good. Water flows out very good and freely. The only thing is that the clamp that pinches the hose is not strong enough. It does leak just very very minimally. Not enough to fill a small bowl that is how small the drip is. It could really use a turn on and off valve instead. And could also use a place to hang the shower nozzle. It could use a hook or clamp to hold the nozzle. But other than that it is great and does the job wonderfully!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coghlans Solar-Heated Camp Shower

Heats but...

10/19/2012
By ,
North Carolina
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The down and dirty...
PROs- it does heat the water relatively well even in sub-70s temps., Holds enough water for three or more quick showers
CONs- on/off clip is "ok" at best. Keep the shower head up to prevent leakage, Also the "rope" broke and I had to tie it up after the first use. Lastly, when using a camping shower tent it hangs relatively low so a normal size guy will need to get on his knees to wash his hair.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1 2 3 Next