Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Plano Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Plano Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Keep your fishing gear organized and ready to use with the Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle box. This high-quality container is made with lots of bulk storage space and large trays for your gear. It is a handy tool for various types of fishermen, from novice to advanced. It is designed to protect tackle in many shapes and sizes against the environment. The Plano tackle box features a large hip roof that opens up to provide ample space. It has a deep bottom storage area for keeping larger gear separate. The Plano hip-roof tackle box also features brass latches on the sides. These provide additional security safeguards for your favorite pieces. It has an integrated lure tray that keeps your items organized and available when you want to switch them out. It even has cup holders on the lid, giving you a convenient place for your beverages. It measures 20" in length so the box is large enough to carry your fishing items without being cumbersome.
Average Customer Rating:
4.321 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
71
4 stars
21
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation87%95 out of 109reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 29 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
71
4 stars
21
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Was this actually made by Plano?!!!

05/21/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
In my 54 years of buying Plano products I have never seen such cheap low quality from Plan as I got in this box. Actually had to repair it so it would even function as the trays were broken upon arrival. Plastic modeling was thinner than my other Plano boxes and obviously didn't pass Plano's normal QC processes. I had bought two at such a low price. One to give to my friend, but, after repairing the first one I just tossed the second in the trash as there was no way I could give such a lame box to my friend..
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Nice large center open box.

04/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with the price and the box. I do a lot of fishing for different fish, salt and fresh water and I got tired of taking multiple boxes with me. I still keep my saltwater gear in a separate tackle box, but this box is plenty big enough for me to fit everything I need for virtually all of my fresh water needs. I really like the center opening because I can see and get to everything in the bottom of the box without removing half the stuff to get what is at the back of the box. I also carry a large selection of some serious big gear, and usually have 2 or 3 pounds of weights, so the big box works really well. Very happy overall.
The box is a little tricky to latch at first, but once it's closed the clips insure that the box won't open accidentally. The clips are also pretty heavy, so I don't have any reservations about the weight I'm putting in it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

THE BEST ESPECIALLY FOR PRICE

05/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The latches hold and the room is wonderful
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

05/21/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Large box- Good deal for the price
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Great

05/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great tackle box, would recommend this to anyone who loves to fish.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Great Value

05/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An outstanding value. Plano quality, six trays, unbelievable price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Best Deal Ever Bought 3 of Them! So Happy

05/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
you can store a tone of stuff in one
i bought 3 of them, filled them up and labeled them, now im thinking of getting a couple more, they are so nice i could gift them and look like i spend a bunch more.
anyhow, at $15 get em while they are hot.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Great Buy!

06/01/2013
By ,
Garden City, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned 3 Plano boxes over the years, still have two, and then bought this one sight unseen. All have been high quality and this one is no exception. It's the smallest I own now, but I wanted something I could leave in the back of my Jeep once filled with items from my shallow inland lake and deep water Great Lake boxes. This box offers plenty of room for a dozen or more small lures plus a dozen and a half medium to larger ones and a dozen large ones. Trays are scaled down for the size of the box so medium to large lures with fat bodies may not fit, but the shallower trays leave room for a deep bottom that can hold medium size reels, bottles of baits, and tall spools of line, or a flask for refreshments. At the clearance price it's a great box for a beginner to grow into, at any reasonable price its a great box period!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Huge!

01/30/2009
By ,
perryton, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i didnt expect it to be this large it has tons of room
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

excellent buy

03/10/2011
By ,
Wichita, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really nice, big tackle box but not too big and the cost doesn't set you back. There are a few brands out there that are similar but the quality is not as good. I owned one of these 30 years ago and was thrilled to find that they still make it. Great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Many, many uses

03/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I make jewelry and was tired of having to drag everything out to view when creating a piece. I stored EVERYTHING in the box and had room for more. I love being able to open it and see all my pieces at once without having to rummage through things I don't need. I pick it up and carry it where I need it without it taking up much space. When my husband seen it he was so impressed that I ordered him one for all his (okay some of it's mine) fishing tackle as his box got cracked. My children even chimed in on things they could use one for. Other reviews stated using it for loom jewelry, traveling case, etc. The uses for this box are endless and for the price WELL worth it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

fantastic tackle box great price

03/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a great box for the money it has loads of room and its built tough out of heavy grade plastic and brass.not to mention the option to get a brass name tag to affix to the lid to personalize and identify it as your box.plenty of tray storage and a generous bulk area in the bottom this box has it all especially if you're like me and are not fond of the newer boxes with the removable latching trays they never seem to have enough bulk space.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

OK, but don't load it heavy....

08/13/2008
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You get what you pay for. I do alot of bottom fishing so I carry alot of rigs, hooks weights, scales etc and I suppose there is a limit. :) My handle snapped with what turns out to be (according to my scales) 22lbs of tackle/gear. A nice box with good features but for me, not heavy duty enough for a full weekend of catfishing. Plenty of room for lures, etc. Good for the all around fisherman, just be care ful how much you put in!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

This is very compack I am enjoying it

03/13/2014
By ,
west palm beach
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is exactly what I wanted, every thing fits in it and is durable
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Excellent light tackle storage

04/25/2014
By ,
Central Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought 2, 1 for my freshwater tackle, 1 for my daughter for all her fishing needs. Plenty of different size trays, large bottom storage for extra reels, trays, etc.. Very happy with purchase, very reasonable price from Walmart
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Broken already

04/25/2009
By ,
IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I liked the roominess of this box, and the price of this one compared to the other Plano (9606) that looked similar was less than half of that price.
BUT, the connectors, especially the pivots, that connect the shelves are cheap and poorly designed and broke withing the first week. I did not overload the box or abuse it.
I think the $40 or $50 model (9606) looked like these pivots and arms are riveted. I'll have to look at it more closely in person next time I goa store that carries it.
Now I have the hassle of finding the receipt to return this, empty all of my nicely organized tackle, and have to buy a better box to put it in.
Don't wast your $$ or time on this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Value

04/19/2014
By ,
19973
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trays are good and it's sturdy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Multi-Use!

08/04/2008
By ,
LaPorte, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not just for a tackle box! I was sick of the selection of makeup cases! For the same price I got one twice as big, more pratical and more organized. So - guys - buy one for your ladies...they may look at you funny but tell them what it's for and they'll think you're a genious! I fit 2 curling irons, 1 hairdryer, 2 brushes, 1 shampoo, 1 conditioner, 1 hairspray, all of my makeup, nailpolish, etc for a trip. Works like a charm!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Nice...

06/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used Plano tackle boxes for years. This one is great,nice size. Can still get the name plate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

tackle box

05/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lots of storage and well made
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 95 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next