Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Plano Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Plano Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Keep fishing gear organized with the Plano Tackle Box 8616. This tackle box is made with more bulk storage space and larger trays, making it a must-have fishing accessory. Designed to protect tackle in a variety of shapes and sizes, it features a large hip-roof-style box and a deep bottom storage area. Secure side brass latches provide an additional safeguarding feature. An integrated lure tray and cup holders on the box lid are more convenient attributes. Measuring in at 20 inches in length, 11.25 inches in width, and 10.75 inches in height, this Plano Tackle Box has six trays that can create from 38 to 46 compartments, making it a practical storage solution for the hobbyist or home organizer needing to put away small items. 
Average Customer Rating:
4.296 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(98 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
62
4 stars
20
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation87%85 out of 98reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 24 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
62
4 stars
20
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Nice large center open box.

04/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with the price and the box. I do a lot of fishing for different fish, salt and fresh water and I got tired of taking multiple boxes with me. I still keep my saltwater gear in a separate tackle box, but this box is plenty big enough for me to fit everything I need for virtually all of my fresh water needs. I really like the center opening because I can see and get to everything in the bottom of the box without removing half the stuff to get what is at the back of the box. I also carry a large selection of some serious big gear, and usually have 2 or 3 pounds of weights, so the big box works really well. Very happy overall.
The box is a little tricky to latch at first, but once it's closed the clips insure that the box won't open accidentally. The clips are also pretty heavy, so I don't have any reservations about the weight I'm putting in it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Well made for it's price category

06/18/2014
By ,
SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The photo in the ad is accurate. However, do not expect much versatility with the adjustable dividers. They are supplied but it does not offer much modification which is not really needed anyway. The bottom of the box offers a good amount of storage. I put a standard pair of binoculars in turned long ways with the wide side facing the end of the tackle box. That left about an inch or two free space on the side. Length wise there was room for about 1 & 1/2 more binoculars to reach the other end of the box. There was 2 to 3 inches free space from the binoculars to the bottom of the trays when closed. So, for me that provides satisfactory storage for a tackle box. I bought the box on sale at 1/2 price but at it would be well worth it at msrp.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Nice...

06/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used Plano tackle boxes for years. This one is great,nice size. Can still get the name plate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

tackle box

05/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lots of storage and well made
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Excellent light tackle storage

04/25/2014
By ,
Central Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought 2, 1 for my freshwater tackle, 1 for my daughter for all her fishing needs. Plenty of different size trays, large bottom storage for extra reels, trays, etc.. Very happy with purchase, very reasonable price from Walmart
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Value

04/19/2014
By ,
19973
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trays are good and it's sturdy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

This is very compack I am enjoying it

03/13/2014
By ,
west palm beach
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is exactly what I wanted, every thing fits in it and is durable
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Great Buy!

06/01/2013
By ,
Garden City, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned 3 Plano boxes over the years, still have two, and then bought this one sight unseen. All have been high quality and this one is no exception. It's the smallest I own now, but I wanted something I could leave in the back of my Jeep once filled with items from my shallow inland lake and deep water Great Lake boxes. This box offers plenty of room for a dozen or more small lures plus a dozen and a half medium to larger ones and a dozen large ones. Trays are scaled down for the size of the box so medium to large lures with fat bodies may not fit, but the shallower trays leave room for a deep bottom that can hold medium size reels, bottles of baits, and tall spools of line, or a flask for refreshments. At the clearance price it's a great box for a beginner to grow into, at any reasonable price its a great box period!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Box it up

06/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lots of storage space and compartments for lures in this box. Seems to be a great value for the price. Since it is brand new to me, time will tell how the plastic tray hinges hold up over time. My old tackle box had metal hinges which held up for about 15 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

handy dandy lil box

06/21/2014
By ,
bemidji mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's very spacious and that it very light, also its great that it comes with cup holders. I would recommend it to anyone. Yes it doesnt come with tackle in it because its just an advertising thing that they do and plus if there was tackle that got included in it they would say it comes with the tackle. But I am happy the way it is. Great handy dandy lil box for all your great work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Just what I wanted.

06/27/2014
By ,
Garden City, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just what I was looking for. Good price and delivery time. Very happy with this purchase
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

real big

06/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent, bigger than i really needed
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

What a piece of junk!

06/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Made of cheap plastic. It fell apart the first time I used it. Good luck trying to get in touch with the manufacturer. I am returning it right back to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Huge!

01/30/2009
By ,
perryton, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i didnt expect it to be this large it has tons of room
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

cheep plastic

06/21/2014
By ,
denver co
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
have a old Plano tackle box strong this box is very thin will not stand up to fishing for very long.
returned it to store
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Enough storage for a professional

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great box for the price, multiple lure storage with no tangled hooks, will last for many years as it's plastic and has brass latches, , no trays to lift out, box is very light even though it has huge volume for storage !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Fantastic

06/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent price for quality. I am actually using this for a sewing basket. It totally meets my needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

excellent buy

03/10/2011
By ,
Wichita, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really nice, big tackle box but not too big and the cost doesn't set you back. There are a few brands out there that are similar but the quality is not as good. I owned one of these 30 years ago and was thrilled to find that they still make it. Great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Broken and Cheap!!!

04/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was a porly made product... made in the USA, total dissapointment!!! It will be sent back.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Not what I expected

05/04/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
New to fishing, and newly retired. I was looking for the tackle box to be filled as displayed in the ad's pictures, I placed my order and when the box was delivered empty...well the Jokes on me...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 84 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next