Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Plano Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Plano Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Keep fishing gear organized with the Plano Tackle Box 8616. This tackle box is made with more bulk storage space and larger trays, making it a must-have fishing accessory. Designed to protect tackle in a variety of shapes and sizes, it features a large hip-roof-style box and a deep bottom storage area. Secure side brass latches provide an additional safeguarding feature. An integrated lure tray and cup holders on the box lid are more convenient attributes. Measuring in at 20 inches in length, 11.25 inches in width, and 10.75 inches in height, this Plano Tackle Box has six trays that can create from 38 to 46 compartments, making it a practical storage solution for the hobbyist or home organizer needing to put away small items. 
Average Customer Rating:
4.313 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation88%73 out of 83reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 21 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Value

04/19/2014
By ,
19973
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trays are good and it's sturdy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Broken and Cheap!!!

04/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was a porly made product... made in the USA, total dissapointment!!! It will be sent back.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

This is very compack I am enjoying it

03/13/2014
By ,
west palm beach
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is exactly what I wanted, every thing fits in it and is durable
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Great Buy!

06/01/2013
By ,
Garden City, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned 3 Plano boxes over the years, still have two, and then bought this one sight unseen. All have been high quality and this one is no exception. It's the smallest I own now, but I wanted something I could leave in the back of my Jeep once filled with items from my shallow inland lake and deep water Great Lake boxes. This box offers plenty of room for a dozen or more small lures plus a dozen and a half medium to larger ones and a dozen large ones. Trays are scaled down for the size of the box so medium to large lures with fat bodies may not fit, but the shallower trays leave room for a deep bottom that can hold medium size reels, bottles of baits, and tall spools of line, or a flask for refreshments. At the clearance price it's a great box for a beginner to grow into, at any reasonable price its a great box period!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Huge!

01/30/2009
By ,
perryton, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i didnt expect it to be this large it has tons of room
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

OK, but don't load it heavy....

08/13/2008
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You get what you pay for. I do alot of bottom fishing so I carry alot of rigs, hooks weights, scales etc and I suppose there is a limit. :) My handle snapped with what turns out to be (according to my scales) 22lbs of tackle/gear. A nice box with good features but for me, not heavy duty enough for a full weekend of catfishing. Plenty of room for lures, etc. Good for the all around fisherman, just be care ful how much you put in!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

excellent buy

03/10/2011
By ,
Wichita, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really nice, big tackle box but not too big and the cost doesn't set you back. There are a few brands out there that are similar but the quality is not as good. I owned one of these 30 years ago and was thrilled to find that they still make it. Great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Broken already

04/25/2009
By ,
IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I liked the roominess of this box, and the price of this one compared to the other Plano (9606) that looked similar was less than half of that price.
BUT, the connectors, especially the pivots, that connect the shelves are cheap and poorly designed and broke withing the first week. I did not overload the box or abuse it.
I think the $40 or $50 model (9606) looked like these pivots and arms are riveted. I'll have to look at it more closely in person next time I goa store that carries it.
Now I have the hassle of finding the receipt to return this, empty all of my nicely organized tackle, and have to buy a better box to put it in.
Don't wast your $$ or time on this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Multi-Use!

08/04/2008
By ,
LaPorte, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not just for a tackle box! I was sick of the selection of makeup cases! For the same price I got one twice as big, more pratical and more organized. So - guys - buy one for your ladies...they may look at you funny but tell them what it's for and they'll think you're a genious! I fit 2 curling irons, 1 hairdryer, 2 brushes, 1 shampoo, 1 conditioner, 1 hairspray, all of my makeup, nailpolish, etc for a trip. Works like a charm!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

The one and only tackle box you need.

06/14/2011
By ,
Mohave Valley, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best hard case tackle box on the market. I has all the room you need for lures, hooks, extra reel, extra fishing line, just has room for everything. No need to have to carry another tackle box, it is very well made, even has cup/can holders built in the top! I also like the feature of no clear plastic on the outside, so nothing gets over-heated on the inside. The very low price doesn't reflect the quality, it is very very well made. So, do yourself a favor and get one of these great tackle boxes, YOU WILL BE GLAD YOU DID!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Like an 80's boombox for your tackle.

12/19/2012
By ,
Greenville, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This thing's a beast! I ordered it site-to-store and when I went to pick it up I thought they grabbed the wrong shipping box. But yeah, the tackle box is definitely enormous. It had more than enough space to hold everything I previously had to lug around in three two-tray tackle boxes. My only concern is that it doesn't feel very sturdy. I haven't field-tested it yet, but I worry it will begin to degrade after only a few uses. Holding it and walking around, it just "feels" cheap if you know what I mean. Kind of flimsy, with plastic pieces where metal should be. But for $15 it was definitely, well hopefully a good investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

A Utilitarian Product and Great Value

12/27/2008
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two of these "tackle" boxes and recently gave a third one to my son as a Christmas present. I like the size and internal layout of the boxes both for fishing tackle and miscellaneous gun cleaning supplies and tools. Thus, the two boxes. My son saw the tackle box was adaptible as a guncleaning box, and wanted one. I have now purchased three of them, and think they are a great value.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box
07/19/2008
By ,
pittstown,nj
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is a great product but the only thing i dont like about it is the design of the capartments because some are to little and some too big. and for only like $2.50 you can fill out this form that comes in the box (in the bottom when u purchase) to get a custom nameplate with what ever you want it to say. otherwise this is makes a great tackle box!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Love it

01/21/2009
By ,
Philly, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never gone fishing in my life, nor do I intend to go fishing, but I bought this box for my makeup collection. It works great for this purpose...I especially love that the spots in the box are different shapes...very helpful. For the price it can't be beat!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Best Tackle Box

12/27/2008
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had an earlier version of the Plano tackle box for about 20 years. Dropped it from 9 feet up and broke it. :o(
Got the new Plano for Christmas. Only difference is the shelves are not quite as wide as the older box. But this is definately a keeper. If you need a large box to carry everything this is the one to get.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

8616 Tackle Box

04/21/2009
By ,
Lamar, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Plano box is rugged and built to last. Plenty of room, opens easily, every item is visible. I highly recommend this product. Previous owner of a smaller plano tackle box which has lasted me many of years and is still in great working order. Thanks Plano for the great products you make available. Joe
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Great Price for a tackle box very large .

05/02/2012
By ,
kenosha
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this tackle box from plano tackle company and thought it was not going to be good , But Im supprised . I was going to buy a vintage umco tackle box , but at the going price on ebay for 100.00 Im pasing it up . it took four days and arived at the store , walmart could of just shipped it to my house if they were going to use fed-ex it makes no sence .Well back to the qualty of the box its great ,I cant complain for 18.00 with tax . It looks very cool and you have 6 trays to store your lures in . Im unsure if its worm proof but you can place your plastic worm in a zip bag . Over all I very pleased with the box . I would recommend one to anybody that would ask about it .
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

nice light duty box

04/17/2011
By ,
Sioux Falls, SD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A nice box for the money but if you need a heavier duty on, Plano makes the same box in heavy duty for more extreme use. This one is nice if you don't overload it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Great for model trains

12/05/2009
By ,
Sandusky, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this product to store "stuff" for my model trains. Bits & pieces fit nicely in top trays, with ample room in the bottom for my dremel type grinder, and air brush. I grew up in an era when you took care of your belongings as money was tight. If you expect a $60.00 box, buy a $60.00 box and be done with it. Fellow train club members are always asking where I purchased this, and I refer them to Walmart. Cabela's in Michigan is asking a heck of a lot more for this exact item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Plano 8616 Six-Tray Tackle Box

Unbelievable amount of storage space

08/26/2010
By ,
Gainesville, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this tacklebox to store miniture modeling tools and small train and track parts and accessories. The design of this box allows the user to qickly find what he wants without having to contend with the frustrating chore of digging through a bunch of items just to find one. Everything is out in the open for easy spotting and even easier access. Great product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next