Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Audiovox Audiovox 7'' Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, D1708ES

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Audiovox Audiovox 7'' Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, D1708ES

Two screens provide twice as much fun for viewers. In addition to movies, you can also view photos and listen to CDs or MP3 discs. Additional highlights include built-in stereo speakers, rechargeable battery, car headrest mounting bag, vehicle power adapter, necessary cables, remote control and carrying case.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation59%19 out of 32reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Audiovox 7'' Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, D1708ES

Great Product

12/03/2008
By ,
Woodstock GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This dual DVD player is great. We haven't had any problems with ours yet and we've had it 7-8 mo. The kids love having a TV right in front of them. It has made traveling much more enjoyable to us. The ONLY two downsides are 1. the main screen doesn't fold back so if you're seats sit close to the front seat, your child will be able to reach the buttons. I have a 4 and 2 year old. I put the main screen infront of my 4 year old. He leaves it alone. The other screen. I put infront of my 2 year old and she has left it alone to this point. The other downside is switching the DVD's. It is difficult while driving (driver CANNOT DO IT) I would recommend only putting in longer movies rather then short cartoons. Otherwise, this product has been wonderful. It's easy to put up and take down. The straps can be a little hard depending on your headrest, but you can make it work. The battery also works well. We used it on a plane trip from GA to CA and it was wonderful!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 2 for Audiovox 7'' Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, D1708ES

Absolutely Disappointed.

11/08/2008
By ,
Chapmanville, WV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased the product online. Got it a week later put it in my vehicle for my kids. The next day on a trip to a birthday they watched it for about 45 minutes it worked perfect. After the party we go to turn it on and on of the screens stopped working. It had power and you could hear the sounds but there was no picture. Took it back the same day. Dont think I'll purchase this brand again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 3 for Audiovox 7'' Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, D1708ES

Not for us

03/27/2008
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product was not for us. I purchased the portable DVD player with dual screen b/c I have a 3yr. old and a 1 yr. old and we do a lot of traveling. The way the TV has to sit exposed on the back of the seat in the car was not ideal. It does not fold like our other TVs did, so my kids would press and kick the exposed buttons.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for Audiovox 7'' Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, D1708ES

Good product

03/30/2008
By ,
Green Bay, WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product was a challenge to mount in the vehicle and changing the disc is a challenge, but my boys are thrilled with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 5 for Audiovox 7'' Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, D1708ES

Good car player

06/03/2008
By ,
Raleigh, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I took this player for a 10 day vacation from NC to FL (Disney World) and on a cruise ship to the Western Carribean. It held up to 20+ hours of use in the car and days of use in hotels and on the boat. It has the video game inputs so you can also connect your PS2 or portable video game to it like I did. The wirings are simple and has good organization. It came with a carrying case and all attachments needed to secure to the car headrests. Volume loudness is sufficient. Contrast is good. My gut feel is that if you take good care of it (don't drop it, don't spill on it, don't step on it, don't leave it in the hot/freezing car), it will last a long time. I recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 6 for Audiovox 7'' Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, D1708ES

Beware

06/09/2008
By ,
Kenosha, WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this product for 3 weeks if that and already having a problem with it. The single screen started to look fuzzy today, then just stopped working!!! I am not happy with this. Also when you plug everything into the screen the cords don't seem to fit all the way in....very strange. One other problem that I am having is that if you are buying this for a mini van to put on the back of the seats it really does not fit. The single screen hangs ok but the main unit does not work right at all!! My child holds the main unit to watch a movie. I am very disappointed that 3 weeks have gone by and now it don't work. PLEASE BE CAREFUL OF THIS PRODUCT!!
Good Luck!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Audiovox 7'' Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, D1708ES

Inconvenient Access

03/21/2008
By ,
Northern Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
In order to change the DVD, you have to unplug the power cord and completely pull the unit from the bag because the cloth strip holding the unit to the bag covers the lid that pops up for disk insertion. You would have to pull over to change a DVD. Also, the bag that holds the unit can only be attached properly if your front seat has armrests, which my Jeep Liberty does not. In my car, the unit would hang unsecured and be jostled with every bump and turn. I sent the unit back and opted for an interior roof mounted system. It cost $500 more than this dual screen player, but with no cords running between the seats and to the front of the car, it's worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Review 8 for Audiovox 7'' Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, D1708ES

OK, but could be better....

04/18/2008
By ,
Wamego, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price, this is pretty good. Not top of the line by any means (one screen is a little hard to read text on). I bought the primarily for the kids to watch on trips. Where it's lacking over other car DVD players is that you have to disconnect all of the cord and then take the unit out of the bag/holder just to change out a DVD (unlike slot loading DVD players or other bags that don't go over the DVD door). Also the on/off switch and the volume are on the side of the unit which are covered by the bag/holder when in the car. If using this outside of the car as just a personal DVD player, it would be fine, but in the car its a bit of a pain.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Audiovox 7'' Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, D1708ES

Love it!

03/31/2008
By ,
Adkins, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This portable DVD player worked wonderfully for our recent 11 hour car ride with our two boys (6 and 3 yrs). The only negative thing I can say about it is that the main unit where you put the DVDs in, doesnt stay in it's case very well when hanging from the headrest (sometimes we found it would try to slide out of the case). The volume controls and inputs are also difficult to reach on the main unit, because the travel case covers them up. All in all, for the price I would highly recommend it to a friend. Wish the set came with headphones, but we just purchased those separately.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Audiovox 7'' Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, D1708ES

Good Quality

07/01/2008
By ,
Carlisle, PA.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product performed very well for us on our recent trip, It was very easy for our children to use and was of good quality. There are some issues when it comes to hanging the main unit on the seatback or headrest, the unit does not sit well in the case when it is hung up. There was also an issue of the cords dangling about the feet of our children, this was especially precarious getting in or out of the vehicle. All in all we took it everwhere from the vehicle, to the hotel, to the park and it worked beautifully. It was well worth the money spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 11 for Audiovox 7'' Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, D1708ES

Why not to buy this

10/26/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We received this product for a long car trip in order to assist our 4 year old with the long time being stuck in the car. The product finally arrived and it didn't work at all! My husband brought it back to our local Walmart and instead purchased the Polaroid dual screen player, which works great by the way, and we onlyhave problems with certain DVD's. We were very disappointed that after all the waiting we still had to go to the store before our trip and return the original player.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 12 for Audiovox 7'' Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, D1708ES

Terrible....stay away

05/18/2008
By ,
Washington
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this for a road trip for my 5 yr old. After about 2 hours it stopped working and it will not play a dvd. Now we were gone for 2 weeks on a road trip, its a good thing my daughter can entertain herself as this did not work for the whole trip. stay away from this product. Now I just got back and have to go and return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 13 for Audiovox 7'' Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, D1708ES

worked great for the price

03/25/2008
By ,
Elverson, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just got back from a 12 hour (each way) trip with my 2.5 year old daughter and this DVD player was terrific! Easy to install and remove. I was concerned that the sound might not be loud enough, but it was fine and we didn't have it turned to full volume. Picture was great. Great value for the money - I'm so glad we got it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Audiovox 7'' Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, D1708ES

Loved it

06/17/2008
By ,
Eastsound, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just went on a road trip from northern Washington to Disneyland and Sea World and San Diego Zoo, we used the dvd player all the way there and all the way back. We had no problems with it at all. It was totally worth the money. My two kids (6 and 10) were great in the van for those many hours of driving.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 15 for Audiovox 7'' Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, D1708ES
07/21/2008
By ,
iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think this is a good value for the money. The sound is loud enough for the kids to hear the movie but does not interfere with the adults listening to the radio/cd. It is cumbersome to change the movie but all else considered, it is a great investment if you travel a lot with family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 16 for Audiovox 7'' Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, D1708ES

1/2 good

06/28/2008
By ,
Fenton, MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When the product arrived all attempts to make the two screens work were unsuccessful. So, instead of having two screens available for the two kids in the back seat as they travelled to our family reunion just one screen works. Now we have to figure out how to get it replaced.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Audiovox 7'' Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, D1708ES

Good

03/20/2008
By ,
st augustine fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently bought this for my 11 month old. She used to scream all the way home from daycare. It is very easy to use and fits great in the car. The only problem is all the wires. My daughters carseat is still facing backwards and she kicks at all the wires. But works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Audiovox 7'' Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, D1708ES
08/24/2008
By ,
Massachusetts
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product to entertain my kids on a trip to the beach. I guess I should have tested it before we left. Easy to assemble, the only problem was that the second screen didn't work. I will be returning the item ASAP. Very disappointing.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 19 for Audiovox 7'' Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, D1708ES

Not What I Expected

03/03/2008
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The second screen does not have it's own battery. If you travel in an airplane you cannot use both screens. I had to purchase an additional battery for the second unit. Other than that the product works well.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Audiovox 7'' Dual-Screen Portable DVD Player, D1708ES
09/03/2008
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a trip saver. We had to travel with a 5 & 7 year old and once we put the movie on, the kids were intent on the movie instead of each other. Would recommend this product
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1 2 Next