Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Stansport Stansport Outfitter Series Ultra-High Output Propane Stove

Stansport Stansport Outfitter Series Ultra-High Output Propane Stove

The Stansport Propane Stove features two ultra-high output, 25,000 BTU burners for quick heating. The four and a half-inch burners are designed with their own wind shields to protect against problems caused by the wind. The stainless steel lid and drip pan make clean up quick and easy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.542 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation98%47 out of 48reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 21 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Stansport Outfitter Series Ultra-High Output Propane Stove

Great specs, but very shoddy construction

06/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My stove arrived in a pristine box but incredibly a clear scrape/scuff on the stove lid that someone at the factory had clearly seen and tried to "hide" by spray painting silver paint over the speckled silver finish in that spot. How anyone could think they could box and ship a damaged product as new is incredible! I'm usually impressed by Walmart but not this time. I will be returning the stove
I had bought it based upon excellent specifications and good price, and reading that it is made by the same plant and the equivalent of the CampChef Everest except for a silver vs red casing. But a badly manufactured stove isn't worth the savings...
On a positive the stove arrived more quickly than they estimated.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Stansport Outfitter Series Ultra-High Output Propane Stove

big burners ,good adjustable flame,decent price

01/07/2014
By ,
tucson
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lots of room for big pans,super cooker burners,easy light and clean. great value for the price considering its manufactured in china. seems considerably better in performance and much cheaper in cost than any other i've tried including the coleman instastart which had defective igniters rigth out of the box.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Stansport Outfitter Series Ultra-High Output Propane Stove
09/18/2013
By ,
Brenham, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Made this purchase for a recent camping trip to New Mexico and Colorado. The wife loves it. Easy start with electronic ignition, large burners and cooking area, flame is adjustable from simmer to high heat. The grill is easily removed to enable cleaning of the stainless steel drip pan. The lid and side wind screens are are coated or painted silver. Not stainless steel. They are a little on the light side as far as construction goes, but are sturdy enough and function well.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Stansport Outfitter Series Ultra-High Output Propane Stove

THE best at the best price!

09/09/2013
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After watching the review on this stove we bought it. Best choice ever, delivers as promised. Great power when needed but also infinite control just like it says, hi to low even very low flame without going out. Very satisfied.
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Stansport Outfitter Series Ultra-High Output Propane Stove

Stansport outfitter 50,000 BTU Propane Stove

08/01/2012
By ,
Lompoc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inspect your stove when you get it for quality control, as customer service is great when exchanging. I am very pleased with the one I purchased, it performed better than expected, with a group size of 8 in a receint camping trip we have taken. I purchased a blue rhino bottle, and a 12 foot hose, separately, so I do not have to replace those little 1 lb. bottles so often. The stove boiles water remarkably faster than the competition camp stoves. Projects the heat to the pan much better than my old stove, whereas my old stove the flame would go around the pot, and it would seem like it would take forever to heat, this one directs the heat to it. Stainless Steel top, makes cleaning up a breeze. The instant light is a plus, no need to look for a lighter, or matches to light it. All around a good investment. Check out the "Stansport Outfitters Series Camping Stove Review" on youtube and see for yourself. Walmart has the best price that I have found so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Stansport Outfitter Series Ultra-High Output Propane Stove
08/22/2011
By ,
Southwest Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had many Coleman type stoves before (I'm 67 yrs old) and have been camping for many, many years. As the world turns, the old white gas stoves have ridden into the sunset and propane stoves have taken over. The typical propane camp stove does not have the heat output necessary to quickly boil pots of water. I am very pleased with this stove, I like the larger burning unit and the easyly adjustable and responsive gas control valves for fine adjustments to the flame and the heat output is great on high. My only CON (so far) is the unit has a pezio-electric self lighter. In the dew of the morning, the knob is stiff and your fingers slip. Therefore match lighting is required.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Stansport Outfitter Series Ultra-High Output Propane Stove

Good buy

03/19/2010
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product based on overall reviews and am very happy with the purchase. There were a couple of reviews that referenced sharp edges - that problem was apparently fixed by Stansport as I did not have that issue. Doing comparisons, the BTU factor is what sold me on this one and I was not disappointed. Really heats up quick, and let's face it, all these things are, are two burners hooked up to propane. Only drawback is these are a little larger than your standard Coleman, so a griddle is really stretched out between the two burners - but worked. I would highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Stansport Outfitter Series Ultra-High Output Propane Stove

Not the best quality...

10/12/2008
By ,
Calif
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall this stove works; heats liquids and cooks food quickly. So out in the field it is great.
BUT...
Cheaply built!!
The wind shield hinges were held in place with tiny screws set into plastic stuffed into the shields. Most were floating around the stove when I got it. Replaced these with brasing rod, now how easy would that have been in the first place?
Sharp edges; cut myself while cleaning the stove. I'm sure there is something that could be done to limit this. One omited step to keep costs down!!
Only one of the starters works, need to use a match to light the left side.
Like I said it does cook well, is large enough to use large pots and pans, like the high heat capacity. Overall I like the stove, once I fixed the hinges, and watch how I clean it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Stansport Outfitter Series Ultra-High Output Propane Stove

This is a great campstove!

10/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this stove as a gift for my son and he loves it! I have an older model, which has been great for me since I've owned it. These stoves are rugged, well made and trouble free - which is what is needed when camping. I would highly recommend this product for anyone who's serious about camping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Stansport Outfitter Series Ultra-High Output Propane Stove

Powerful stove

07/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first thing I did when I got my stove was to use two pressure cookers to get some of our garden veggies ready to freeze. This stove was faster than my regular range and all the heat stayed outside. Then I took it camping. Great for boiling water at high altitude. I think I made the right choice. I bought a ten foot hose to attach it to a larger tank but I didn't need it for my weekend trip. However, I will be using a larger tank for a week long trip.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Stansport Outfitter Series Ultra-High Output Propane Stove

Good stove but not as pictured

04/08/2014
By ,
Kansas City, KS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered this stove but was disappointed to find that it was a newer, cheaper built version that was different than pictured and was damaged in shipping. It has a silver, hammer finish lid and side wind guards, not stainless steel as pictured and does not have legs. The drip tray IS brushed stainless steel, which is good. There is only one latch, not two. The igniter is a turn style, not pushbutton. Mine arrived with a big dent in the top lid. I ended up returning it to a local Walmart- easy with the shipping receipt. I ordered instead the Texsport Kamen stove from Walmart and love it- it's a slightly older version of this but is built a little better and is as pictured.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Stansport Outfitter Series Ultra-High Output Propane Stove

Quite the cooker !

08/04/2014
By ,
Near Huntsville, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I agree the top cover (Lid) could be a little sturdier ! With that being said, know that the stove itself is very well built ! The flames can be adjusted just as easily as your house stove. The burners are inset enough that even without the lid and side panels up you have a wind block. I was able to use my 13" cast iron skillet and the 5 qt pot at the same time, without having to lay the top down or opening up the sides of the stove. It is nice to know you can if you need to. I actually put these burners to the test. I had a fan set up to blow straight on the burners, turned the stove on and let the fan blow on high and the fan never blew the flames out, didn't even make them flicker. There is a "handle" on the stove, it is an indention on the bottom at the front for your fingers to fit for easier carrying. The design makes clean up a breeze ! The regulator isn't an issue if you know how to wrap a wash rag or something similar around it and secure it in the bottom of the stove to the rack with a tie of some sort, I use bread ties. Over all I have no complaints with this stove. I am thinking of getting another one before the prices go back up. I hope this helps someone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Stansport Outfitter Series Ultra-High Output Propane Stove

Huge power, great price, solid build.

06/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had two concerns about this product: other reviews mentioned that there was no secure way to store the pressure regulator, and that the assembly quality was poor.
Pressure Regulator: sure enough, there are no clips or anything to hold the regulator in place when the stove is in storage. But anybody can grab an old washcloth and two binder clips in 5 minutes time. I did just that and my pressure regulator stays quietly in place inside the stove.
Assembly quality: at least one review mentioned loose parts. My unit was all tight except for two joints. The side wings have some play where they attach to the base. What I find, though, is that the play makes it easier to snap the wings into the cover, when standing it up as a wind break. And I think the play is not poor assembly, but good design: they are loose enough to allow easy attachment to the cover. Every other screw or joint or hinge I checked was rock solid, and the two wings were similar in the amount of play.
Conclusion: my test burn was good, I am satisfied that my two concerns are not a problem, and I cannot wait to fire this baby up with my attachment hose running to the full-size grill tank. Burn, baby, burn.
Did I mention 50,000 BTUs for less than eighty bucks?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Stansport Outfitter Series Ultra-High Output Propane Stove

Excellent replacement for our Coleman stoves!

08/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our Boy Scout troop had (3) Coleman propane stoves that needed to be replaced again - they just wouldn't heat up that fast & seemed like there was only HIGH & OFF settings on the regulator. The adults, and the boys, were tired of all the burnt grilled cheese sandwiches & having to wait for water to boil. After doing some on-line research we decided to purchase (2) of these stoves & try them out.
We recently spent a week at summer camp & were completely amazed at how well this stove performed: the speed at which it heated a large pot of water, the ease of clean-up, no matches needed to light it, and the ability to truly have a LOW flame with the responsive flame settings.
We will be purchasing another one to replace the last Coleman stove in our trailer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Stansport Outfitter Series Ultra-High Output Propane Stove

Camping stove

03/05/2010
By ,
State College, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm impressed with the BTU outputs, and they can be throttled down to a very low heat. The weight is not too much and the wind shields should work just fine. Yes, there are some sharp edges but a little sanding will solve than. The carrying handle is a recessed opening for finger tips; I would rather have a hinged- bale type. The bush-button ignition works like a charm. Will begin using it on our numerous camping trips.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Stansport Outfitter Series Ultra-High Output Propane Stove

Great Camping Stove, Very Powerful!

06/27/2012
By ,
Napa, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This thing is a power house. It boils water with ease. You have to keep an eye on what your cooking if you aren't used to cooking with this many BTU's. It is equivalent (if not more powerful) to a standard gas range that would be installed at home. Make sure you bring plenty of propane as it will empty a 1lb bottle in less than 30 minutes if you have both burners at full throttle.
The reason I knocked one star off is because in the picture it shows the lid and side baffles as stainless steel (or a stainless look alike), but the lid and sides are painted/powder coated. Not a deal breaker but it wasn't expected either.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Stansport Outfitter Series Ultra-High Output Propane Stove

This is a GREAT camp stove!!

05/16/2011
By ,
Evans, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had multiple camp stoves but this one puts them all to shame. I've taken it camping twice, both times I was completely satisfied with it's perforance. It's easy to clean, starts with one click and cooks fast and even. I would highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Stansport Outfitter Series Ultra-High Output Propane Stove

almost great

01/05/2009
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice stove, with the exception of the wind guards. They are held on with screws that fall out. I just threw the screws out and used wire to fasten the guard to the stove. Other than that, the stove is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Stansport Outfitter Series Ultra-High Output Propane Stove
07/13/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Both burners light with one click of the starter. At 25K BTU's per burner, this stove will heat food VERY fast.
The stove's edges are sharp as indicated by other reviewers, but since I was aware of that issue before buying (other reviews) that was not a problem. A dollars worth of emery cloth, twenty minutes time, and the sharp edges were gone.
I am happy with the purchase and would do so again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Stansport Outfitter Series Ultra-High Output Propane Stove

Wonderful!

04/28/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Water boiled very quickly for our traditional campout spaghetti dinner -- in about 10 minutes vs the 30 minutes it would take on our old camp stove. The stove is bigger and heavier than our old one. Great value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1 2 3 Next