Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Shop-Vac Shop-Vac 5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Shop-Vac Shop-Vac 5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum

Two benefits of this 5-gallon wet/dry vacuum are the quiet operation and the new low-profile design that helps prevent tipping. From Shop-Vac, 2.0 peak hp, model No. 5840427.
Average Customer Rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation90%43 out of 48reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Shop-Vac 5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum

Easy accessability

12/07/2009
By ,
Kingston, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was expecting the shop vac to be a bit smaller but other than that it works well. I originally wanted the 1.5 gallon but Walmart didn't have it online so I chose a bigger size rather than smaller because the reviews on the smaller 1.0 gallon said it didn't blow. It was easy to assemble, has good suction and very light.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 22 for Shop-Vac 5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum

Nice Father's Day Gift

07/06/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband asked for this for Father's Day. I had no idea what he was asking for until I went on the Walmart.com website. So speaking for my husband, he has said that it is "awesome" and is a good value; a great starter Shop-Vac (I guess he's planning to upgrade someday!). Very good for detailing personal automobiles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 23 for Shop-Vac 5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum

Great for pet hair!!!

03/14/2009
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this vacuum to pick up pet hair prior to using my regular vacuum, as my regular vacuum chokes on any amount of pet hair. I am totally satisfied with this product. It does not come with a crevice tool, however a standard diameter allows the crevice tool from my other vacuum to work just fine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 24 for Shop-Vac 5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum

Could be better

03/02/2010
By ,
North Charleston ,SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This vaccum is a powerful little thing but it tips over to much and the filter disk won't stay in place. I used it alot with 5 rotties cleaning up after their play time .Then it made a loud noise and won't work any more. I'm going to buy the next size up...also I want a crevice tool this has none.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 25 for Shop-Vac 5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum

very convenient

11/09/2010
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was tired of hauling the house vacuum outside to clean the car, pumphouse, and shed. This vac answered ALL my problems, AND was extremely affordable! It even does a great job on my dogs (Golden Retriever and Chesepeak Retriever) they love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 26 for Shop-Vac 5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum

Don't buy this product

10/23/2010
By ,
Columbus, Oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this to clean up wet carpet messes (such as pet and children messes) because of the price. Well it doesn't suck up the mess at all. It doesn't even suck up dry messes. It is going back to the store tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 27 for Shop-Vac 5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum

This is an excelant product for a single person

07/15/2010
By ,
Syracuse, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this because my daughter borrowed my large Shop Vac and didn't return it. I no longer needed a large one and this one is the right size for me now. It is very powerful and is very light weight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 28 for Shop-Vac 5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum

not very helpful

02/24/2009
By ,
ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
this product does not have a very powerful suction. I have replaced the filter and foam and still I get little suction. Also the lid comes off very easily. I would not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
-3points
Review 29 for Shop-Vac 5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum

Awsome Product

10/31/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product was easy to use and works great. Would recommend to anyone. Do wish that it had come with more attachments though but it is just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 30 for Shop-Vac 5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum

Great Product

05/26/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This shop vac is definitely worth the price I paid. Very powerful but still contact & the wheels make it totally easy to use & move around freely.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 31 for Shop-Vac 5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum
08/04/2008
By ,
wv
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
vacuum alright but cost a little more than it is worth, is a little bulky, cheaply made, but it is quiet. should have more vacuum for a 2hp.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 32 for Shop-Vac 5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum

Great Value

10/05/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My only complaint is that the snaps to hold the shop vac together isn't as sturdy as I'd like it to be. Other than that, it works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 33 for Shop-Vac 5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum

So far so good

05/31/2010
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this shop vac for my carpeted front porch. Runs quiet and doing a good job. Only used dry, haven't need to use wet yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 34 for Shop-Vac 5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum

Shop-Vac 5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum

11/26/2008
By ,
Ivanhoe,Ca.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's nice but falls over easly other then that its good, although I wish it came with a srap to carry it around with.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 35 for Shop-Vac 5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum

Too weak for basement cleanup

03/02/2010
By ,
Utica, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tips over easily and too weak for a simple job like basement cleanup....Cannot expect much for that price I guess....
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 36 for Shop-Vac 5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum

Clean Sweep

04/30/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product exactly as expected and works better than expected. Lightweight and suction is top notch. Would buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 37 for Shop-Vac 5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum

compact

10/11/2009
By ,
Port Royal, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Doesn't take up a bunch of shop space for something you only maybe use a couple times a month.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 38 for Shop-Vac 5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum

Does a Great Job

06/20/2009
By ,
Irving, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice vacuum, good power & picks up well. Very pleased with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 39 for Shop-Vac 5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum

Good Value Vac

05/16/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great vac but clogs easily. Strong suctions and easy to carry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 40 for Shop-Vac 5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum

It's a shop vac. need I say more?

02/01/2009
By ,
Burton, Mich.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If it had a crevice tool I would be even happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
21-40 of 44 total reviews